Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez AF75 Artcore Hollowbody Electric Guitar

Ibanez AF75 Artcore Hollowbody Electric Guitar

Broaden your sound with the warmth of the AF75 Artcore. This hollowbody beauty plays as well as it looks.

Overall User Ratings (based on 129 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(129)
Submitted February 9, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"An excellent guitar, especially for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't thing I will need to replace this one - it is a keeper and I can see how it serves me for many many years (unless my son accidentally breaks it or something...)
Sound
This guitar has a wonderful natural, unamplified sound - you can almost use it as an acoustic guitar! It has better resonance and sustain and "body" than most 2-3000$ hollow bodies i've tried! The amplified sound is clean but slightly more "muted" than I'd like it to be. Excellent for jazz and guitar solos for soft pop/ rock music.
Features
The guitar seems traditionally built. The model I own does not have a tremolo nor any other accessory. The controls and their layout is satisfactory.
Quality
Seems very well done! the finish is top notch, and there are some fine touches such as the inlays in the neck. There are no "loose ends" in the visible production - it is well finished.
Value
One of the best value per money guitars in current production!
Manufacturer Support
I actually communicated with Ibanez directly. They were available and friendly.
The Wow Factor
It is very appealing. In terms of "sexiness" it is in no way less alluring than exotic 3000$ hollowbodies!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Pop-Rock
54 of 55 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"My dream Semi-Acoustic Guitar"
I am glad in getting this fine piece with such a reasonable price, indeed I think I got a best buy. I will strongly recommend my friends to find the very same model... to be frank I do not want them to have theiur hand on mine.. better for them to own theirs..
Sound
This guitar produce the best sound that I ever have. Thus in my own rating, it is 10. Good melow sound, giving a competible acoustic guitar sound quality.. Last week, I played Epiphone Emperor in a music shop.. I can not see the different.. especially with that kind of low price.. Perhaps my Kung Fu is not up to that level yet.. I strongly believe this model will dominate semi-acoustic market segment of $400 and below.. A huge market worldwide!
Features
I still prefer an original Gibson design.. But the outlook is not bad to me. This is very subjective.. Just to be fair to my piece, I am getting in love with her and sooner or later, she will be prettier than Gibson.. I think so.
Quality
Compared to Epiphone Emporer II. She deserve a 9. Fine surface finishing, smooth bodyline.. Upon proper intonation, she become my buddy.. No doubt!
Value
I am getting it with $240! It worth it!!
Manufacturer Support
Good support in my town (I live in Malaysia, a country from South East Asia). The local dealer own a team of experienced technician. Ibanez should thank this dealer for their excellent services. If you wish to know who is he, send me an email to oseng_my@yahoo.com
The Wow Factor
She is sexy.. Make you feel you wanna grab her in your arm..
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock
33 of 34 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2015 by Herbert J, Fletcher in Solon, OH
"Ibanez AF75 Artcore Hollowbody Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a truly lovely instrument! The finish is impeccable. The appearance is eye catching. Most of all the sound emanating from it is heavenly. And it is so easy to play! This beats an expensive guitar I own. I love this insrument! Money well spent!
Musical Background:
I've been learning for six months
Musical Style:
40's, 50's, 60's, 70's songs and country music for family and self. I'm eighty nine years old. I've danced to a great deal of go
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Ibanez has done it again."
Sound
For the price you can't beat it, a bit of a buzz when I recevived it. I put on some heavyer strings the number 10's I belive and ajusting the action did the trick, the artcore is very responsive a ton of fun to play. I have an old Fender 100 watt tube amp that I use and WOW!!!!!! The hardware is good, looks like Grover tuning heads without any logo, the pick-ups are great, lots of bells and whistles. The finish is beautiful although a little slop under the neck where it connects to the body, I took off the pick guard to get more of the hollow body sound, a fantastic value for the price to get that JAZZ feeling. Ibanez haz done it again.
Features
It came in a cool cardboard box, the only thing I can think that would improve this product is maybe some better tuning machines, but they are pretty good.
Musical Style:
Love.... Jazz, Blues, East-Indian, ethnic, folk, bluegrass, etc., etc.,.......
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2003 by a customer from ozemail.com.au
"An awesome playable guitar at a great price"
Sound
Ever since I
Features
the bridge could have been a little better as it was buzzing a bit, I fixed that.
Quality
the guitar was made very well. The factory quality was unbelievable considering it was made in Korea and the quality control was not bad either. the finish is beautiful I have the transparent blue sunburst. and every one that sees it has to comment and want to play it .
Value
The guitar I think is worth twice the retail price, therefor is great value for money.
The Wow Factor
this guitar oozes sex appeal and sounds just as good
Musical Style:
Jazz- rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2012 by Javier M in DeLand, FL
"Nice Jazz guitar/ great practice guitar"
This guitar has everything you wouldn't expect from an inexpensive guitar. It sounds great in my vox and sounds like a great acoustic on it's own. If your like me, you don't like the rest of the world hearing you when you practice and you don't feel like plugging in every time you do; you don't have to with this guitar. You could play your song on with no amp or phones and then plug in when your able to show off.
Musical Background:
4 years hobby and recording for guitar
Musical Style:
Jazz/ Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2003 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Legend in the Making"
This is the first acoustic-electric guitar I've bought and I'm hoping that this will develop me into a well rounded musician for the many years of music I will continue.
Sound
This is the most clean sounding pure-enthralling-passionate-kick-in-the-face guitar I've ever played. Seriously, this guitar is just an honest expression of good sound. A head-turner if I've ever owned something to do that with, and it's got a great value. Compare this sound with the really high-end sounds and you'll find that this is quite the bang-for-the-buck. Stage performances offer a whallup and it's ease of playing is fantastic.
Features
This guitar has a nice switch that selects which pick up is being used: top/bottom/both. It has two tone dials to adjust the tone for the individual pick ups which is really nice. Its range of sound quality is grand. The materials is very good although fingerprints do leave a mark. I would recommend buying polish and a cloth as you will be using this quite regularly if you own this product.
Quality
This guitar is so crammed with nooks and crannies that I'm worried that if it gets too dirty I won't be able to clean a lot of the small areas very well at all. I've been extremely careful with this guitar because any mark or scratch will be quite noticeable. But it looks like age will make this a legend. If proper care is taken for the guitar then it will be around for a very long time.
Value
As mentioned above, the quality of this guitar is superb and the playability is like silk. This was worth every dollar spent and it shows me as a musician that the very essence of playing and practicality of this instrument opens many doors to refining my skills, and perfecting my abilities.
Manufacturer Support
I have not registered my product. This is my first Ibanez product and I do believe that they are keen on product maintenance and warranty details.
The Wow Factor
I keep my Artcore close to my heart. She's my musical girlfriend for the moment.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Hard/Soft Rock, Alternative, Contemporary
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2014 by Marc Bowers in South Bend, IN
"Great guitar value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been enjoying my Artcore for some time now. After a trip to my longtime guitar tech for a set up, I found the tone and playability to be excellent. i am a blues player and wanted the option to "go hollow" for that mellow feel. This guitar delivers!
Musical Background:
I am 63 (gack!). Been playing for 50 years. Played professionally in my youth, now just an occasional jam band
Musical Style:
Blues, standard tuning and slide in open D.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2017 by Glenn L. Baker in Chillicothe, MO
"TOP OF THE LINE PRODUCT EXCEPT FOR PRICE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
TOP OF THE LINE WOODS, PICKUPS, BINDING AND CASE ASSEMBLED BY REAL TOP CRAFTSMEN AND WHAT A GUITAR THEY TURNED OUT. PICKUPS ARE ARTICULATE AND OUT OF THIS WORLD, FRET WORK IS SPOT-ON AS IS INTONATION, THE LIST GOES ON AND ON. PICK ONE UP AND TRY IT !!
Musical Background:
BEEN PLAYING GUITAR FOR 70 YEARS, OWN NOTHING BUT IBANEZ GUITARS
Musical Style:
I PLAY OLD TIME EARLY COUNTRY AND WESTERN ALSO LIKE TO SPICE THINGS UP WITH EARLY ROCK-N-ROLL, BOOGIE WOOGIES, ROCK-A-BILLY ET
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2014 by Carl S in Cedaredge, CO
"Ibanez AF75"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am very happy with the new Ibanez Af75 that I recently purchased. I found the sound and playability to be very good. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. I found the service fo Zzounds to be everything I wanted it to bee.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 20+ yrs. Play several instruments. Just a casual player
Musical Style:
country some blues and older rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"Coolest ever?"
I love the blue sunburst, and everyone always tells me how pretty it is. This will probably be my main guitar for a long time. I really like it, and it really likes me. All is well.
Sound
The pickups sound real good. I dig it.
Features
It came with a floating bridge, which means you can't take off all the strings at once because the bridge is not attached to the body. I think my bridge has moved slightly and so the guitar isn't perfectly in tune anymore. I might replace the bridge, but it really isn't that big of a deal.
Quality
Awesome inlays, everything is nice and pretty and good.
Value
Feels more like a guitar that costs $400 or more.
The Wow Factor
Blue sunburst? Everybody loves it.
Musical Background:
guitar for two years, in a banD!!! woooo!
Musical Style:
rock 'n' roll all the way
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2009 by a customer from rock.com
"The Most Brilliant Guitar I Have Ever Seen"
I own a Les Paul. Yeah its a good guitar cuz its a legend, but this one is way more fun to just hang around it and jam cuz it has a great sound. I eventually gave this one for my cousin as a beginner, and he's loving every single bit of it. Great for all people, especially hard rock freaks (like myself) out there.
Sound
This guitar has a warm, bluesy sound on its own, but can transform into many different styles like classic rock, hard rock, and heavy metal. Seymour Duncan made this guitar into a badass rocker.
Features
The case I bought along with this was REAL crappy. Well, it's my fault if you think about it.
Ease of Use
It is awesome. No doubt about it. Great versatility.
Quality
This guitar is beautifully crafted. I got the red one, and once I play a gig, at least everyone recognizes the guitar. Ibanez definitely gets a two thumbs-up for this one.
Value
I woulda bought the exact same guitar even if it was like 700 bucks. GREAT value. DO NOT miss out on this one.
Manufacturer Support
I never needed any service after using it for almost 2 years now, and trust me I'm infamous for abusing guitars, and I don't think I won't ever.
The Wow Factor
The color is great (get the red one I swear to god). Definitely sexy guitar. Everyone loves it. The curves are just too wonderful.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Metal, Heavy Metal, etc...
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2005 by a customer from netzero.com
"Unbelievable Price on a Quality Hollowbody"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This will be a great addition to my rig, enabling me to cover the kind of stuff I can't do on my Strat, which is my main guitar now. I would take this over any of the lower price epiphones or the Peavey JF-1. Until you can get a Gibson hollowbody for $320, this is the one to buy.
Sound
Plugged it into a Fender Deluxe tube amp in the store and played for a while. I am a jazz guy and this guitar just SANG from the first note I played. I've owned expensive guitars including a Les Paul and a $3000 Taylor Acoustic. Seriously, this guitar has a great sound for an axe costing under $400! If you put it next to a Gibson 175 would you notice the difference? Probably. But who wants to pay $2500 or more when you can own this for $320?!!
Features
It's a basic hollowbody guitar. Two pickups, volume controls, tone controls, you know. What more do you want? It would be nice if it came with a case but at this price you can go get the best case money can buy and still have some cash in your pocket.
Quality
Is it as good as a Gibson 175 or an Ibanez PM-120, etc.? No, of course not. Is it probably the best hollowbody out there in this price range? Absolutely. For $320 you WON'T be disappointed in the quality. It's actually pretty amazing they can produce such a quality guitar at this price point.
Value
$320. Plays great. 'Nuff said.
Manufacturer Support
Can't speak to this one.
The Wow Factor
I love the brown sunburst. I'm a little ambivalent about the transparent blue. I want want want this guitar. As a matter of fact I'm going to sell my iPod to raise the funds.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock and jazz
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2018 by Chuck D in Flower Mound, TX
"Good entry level Jazz Box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this 3/27/2018, after my Gretsch Streamliner was stolen by a FedEx driver a week earlier and marked it as it was delivered and it was not. but when I followed up a couple days later. I was told by a zZounds customer service rep, that the driver told them he had lost it? So I bought this Ibanez and it is indeed blemished at the neck pocket, just a hair line crack in the finish not the support foundation. the guitar has a very nice acoustic tone and the pickups sound good as well. I recommend prepping the neck nut and the intonation bridge or your strings will not slide smoothly and will hang up and you will be out of tune. the electronics meaning the volume/tone, Input jack and 3way toggle are very cheap but work with a little noise when turning the controls. being in the wholesale / retail business zZounds is paying less than half what it is being sold for in most cases. buy it blemished and save a few dollars...it is a good instrument, plays well and sounds good and I will take it to my next Jazz gig.
Musical Background:
20 Years, Guitar, Bass, Keys. Professional Studio Session Musician and Live Performer.
Musical Style:
Jazz Standards, Progressive Rock, Funk, Neo Soul, Blues, Pop.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2012 by Bubba H in Indianapolis, IN
"Outstanding!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar last month and I am thrilled about its' playability. The quality is unsurpassed in a guitar at this price. True, I will need a professional lutier to set it up for optimum playability, however, out of the box I am astonished at its' quality. Comparable to many guitars at two or three times the price, a solid value.
Musical Background:
I am 49, started playing when I was 14.
Musical Style:
Blues and old school rock.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Glad I finally got this Box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Could this guitar be better? This guitar is great, but I'm sure it could be slightly better. I would buy another one of these if I lost it, or it were stolen. I have looked at other Hollowbodies and this was it. I looked and played others for a year. This guitar is really great.
Sound
I just got mine from and right out of the box it was great. It needed tuning, but no biggy. I played it thru three different amps with different setting and it was very nice. Great jazzy sounds, great classic rock sounds, and I even cranked the distortion on my Marshall and got decent Heavy Metal Sounds. It's got a floating bridge so replace the strings one at a time. I have not replaced mine yet, I'll have to figure out which ones I want on it. I use different strings for different guitars.
Features
Two volumes, two tones, and everything else is nice.
Quality
9 so far, no problems and I bought mine as a B-stock.
Value
Very good, I've played many Hollowbodies in this price range and this was the best, so I got it.
Manufacturer Support
I have not needed to contact Ibanez, and I'm sure the seller will be great if I need to contact them.
The Wow Factor
This was the best looking and most appealing guitar in it's price range. It has nice binding on the body and neck and the inlays on the neck are very nice also. The blue color is very nice, I have been looking to get a guitar with blue in it.
Musical Background:
long time musician, in the process of demo
Musical Style:
rock, blues, metal
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2012 by Bobby H in Indianapolis, IN
"AF75"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar for the price. I am not a fan of the floating bridge. I am going to have to do something about that. The way I play, with my hand on the bridge, I keep moving it and it goes out of tune. Other than the bridge issue, I am very impressed with the quality of this guitar. Plays and sounds very good. I am going to get a luthier to set it up and do the bridge and then I think you could compare it to a much pricier guitar.
Musical Background:
Guitar, violin, bass, and I have played for 20+ years
Musical Style:
I play blues and rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2008 by a customer from msn.com
"great sound for the right price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is my first new guitar and i am glad with purchase but (IF) I replace it would be the af105. i like the sound but the 105 would open my world to another style of play.
Sound
The sound is great. Played in store so when i went to purchase they were sold out.I sought this moldel just because of the sound (artcore) the hollow body works for all styles of music.i wanted the af105 but hey this was half the price. well worth the money.
Features
no extras on this model but for my first new guitar it has been great. wanted the af105 but this is what i could afford.
Ease of Use
i loved the ease of setup. floating bridge. adjustable neck. ease of tuning.
Quality
it looked great i wasnt crazy about red at first but it grew on me and now i think it is good choice.
Value
great construction, great sound, great price
Manufacturer Support
no need for them yet, registration was very easy
The Wow Factor
red wasnt my think , i am not much for flash but hey the red sunburst grew on me.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
no cRAP
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2005 by a customer from knology.net
"Excellent Guitar"
This guitar makes me want to practice more. Might replace only for investment value of a vintage guitar.. Then I may not play it as much.
Sound
I thought the strings that came on it were too light. I wanted a a jazz guitar. This axe deserves heavier strings. Set up is difficult if you plan to change the strings yourself. I'm taking it to a pro. Anyway, tone is absolutley gorgeous!!!
Features
Body is awsome...Laminate resists temperture changes...Still in tune out of the car and into the gig...Hardware is first rate also.
Quality
Excellant... This is a well made Axe, irregardless of cost.
Value
10 all the way..
Manufacturer Support
Not delt with.. no need as of yet.
The Wow Factor
Nice looking guitar on my wall. Brings to mind traditional jazz.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Active Musician
Musical Style:
Jazz, Inspirational
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2009
"If you find one for under $250, buy it."
I will play thid guitar until it fails, and I'll buy another well beforehand so I'll be ready for that event.
Sound
I play jazz and blues, and it is very responsive to the tube amps I use (1969 Gibson, 1997 Tube Works). A very versatile and playable guitar.
Features
The sweep of the tone pots seems greater than normal for this type of guitar. Makes big reverb/10tone solos work great.
Ease of Use
Very playable.
Quality
Fit/finish are great, action and intonation were perfect.
Value
A great value for playing but not a great value for resale. That's only because the new ones are so affordable.
Manufacturer Support
Didn't have to call, so NA
The Wow Factor
Pretty<functionality to me, but it is pretty.
Musical Background:
I play and record using this instrument.
Musical Style:
jazz/blues/rock/metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2006
Ibanez AF75 Artcore Customer Review
Sound
The sound is great. Great blues and jazz riffs, also plays rock/roll like led zeppelin perfectly. Using it with a Vox AD30VT, i love it
Features
it goes out of tune fairly easily....have to tune it once every couple days but thats not hard at all. Its probly just that i havent changed the strings in a couple months.
Ease of Use
really easy to use
Quality
Looks AMAZING, everything is still in great shape and ive had it for about a year.
Value
really good value for a very cheap price
Manufacturer Support
never had to use it
Musical Background:
hobbyist, maniac guitarist
Musical Style:
Classic/hard rock....70's stuff
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The answer"
Unless I go pro (ha ha) this guitar suits my needs and ability perfectly. It will be a long time before I consider looking something else.
Sound
As a on/off again guitar player I'm never sure if I want to go acoustic or electric. I've always wanted to try a hollowbody and now I KNOW. I wish I had been playing this from the beginning! You can play just about anything and it sounds good.
Quality
Haven't owned it long enough to see how it will hold up. But the initial look and feel is great.
Musical Background:
longtime "wannabe"
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, altcountry
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to