Ibanez AEB10E Acoustic-Electric Bass
BACK IN STOCK

Ibanez AEB10E Acoustic-Electric Bass

The Ibanez AEB10E is a solid acoustic bass for a great value. With Fishman Sonicore pickups and a spruce top, the AEB10E sounds great amped or acoustic.

Overall User Ratings (based on 58 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(58)
Submitted April 22, 2005 by a customer from utmb.edu
"This one delivers!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I was just looking for an acoutic electric bass to play unplugged with friends, but will probably be using this more than I originally planned. It is just that good.
Sound
Bright solid tone without any low end loss. I play mainly jazz and folk and it provides a warm expressive sound unplugged for small acoustic sessions. Plugged in it is just as impressive. The Fisher SST pickups provide full range and there is no feedback. I tried a lot of different acoustic-electric basses before buying and this had the best sound for the dollar.
Features
The on-board tuner is a nice touch and easy to use. The use of AA batteries instead of nine volts is a big improvement.
Quality
The fit and finish are good and wood selections really deliver in the tone.
Value
Good sound, good features, beats out others in the same price category.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with service, but web site for Ibanez is very helpful.
The Wow Factor
Black with nice mother of pearl inlay and binding.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
jazz, blues, folk
91 of 93 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"Buy This Bass!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't imagine looking to upgrade from this instrument; It's all I need and more.
Sound
Great sound, mellow and clear. Holds its own unplugged better than many higher-priced instruments. Plugged in, the high end is a little bit weaker than I'd like, but for the money, this bass is fantastic.
Features
On-board tuner and eq are great. I also like the fact that it uses AA batteries.
Ease of Use
Great action right out of the box. I find it a little harder to play than my (Fender knockoff) electric, but not as much as I would have guessed.
Quality
This is a really well-made instrument. It's solid, and you can tell they paid attention to the details. This bass is beautiful--I have the natural finish model, which is gorgeous. My only regret is that sometimes, I wish I'd opted for the black. Its high-gloss finish is really beautiful.
Value
I played a lot of acoustic/electrics before I bought this one. The only better instruments were much, much more expensive. In its price range, nothing can touch this bass.
Manufacturer Support
Don't know. Never had need for support
The Wow Factor
I love this bass!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Ska
32 of 33 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2014 by John T in Roanoke, VA
"Ibanez Acoustic Bass AEB10"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been really happy with this bass, plays nice, sounds good, looks good, finish and quality of contruction is good. Neck is very slim and easy to play. One of the strings that came on mine was busted and I replaced them with a set of Earnie Balls which sound good and after breaking in they stay in tune fairly well. The pickup and controls are easy to use as is the tuner. Unplugged it is great to be able to pick up by yourself for a few minutes or to take on vacation, etc. Playing with my bluegrass band I definately have to plug it in, but we practice with a small PA and the acoustic guitars, etc. plugged in. The sound pklugged in is very big and full. I got it in the dark violin sunburst which I think is very pretty.
Musical Background:
Playing bass for 40+ years, currently practice with the trio weekly and play gigs once a month or so
Musical Style:
Bluegrass
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2008 by a customer from suntrust.com
"Great Guitar...Great Price....Great Features.....Great SOUND!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So far, I can't really see anything bad to say about it except some of the materials used for the on-board tuner, battery compartment, and audio levels. It is a very nice looking guitar...and MUCH Lighter than your traditional electric. It has a wide range of sound ability....without the cost and bothers of pedals.
Sound
Between the audio levels on the amp and then again on the guitar itself...there is diverse array of sounds you can achieve with this guitar. You can sound like a traditional electric....or acoustic as a stand-up. Acoustically....it's not very loud...but for back porch music...it's pretty good! (Get a cube amp.....at least.)
Features
The on-board tuner can identify any chromatic note thus making open tuning possible (not that I do). The phase button gives the sound a very deep resonance much like an electric bass.
Ease of Use
This guitar is very user friendly - you can accomplish many sounds with the audio level adjustments. The action is low and the frets seem reasonably spaced around medium length.
Quality
I'm hoping the tuner and phase buttons will withstand the constant contact, and I hope the plastic casing for the batteries do not break. All of these features seem a little flimsey.
Value
So far, I believe it is a tremendous value for it's sound and abilities.
Manufacturer Support
I didn't need to address Ibanez for support...but it wasn't easy finding a case for this. I had to order one on-line...which meant I had the guitar almost a week worried about transporting it without a hard case. zZounds had the best overall price, in stock and speedy delivery!
The Wow Factor
Playing an acoustic/electric bass adds spice to our Americana band. One would think of 70's style folk music with all acoustic guitars...or even a mariachi band in the least....until you crank up the electric amps behind them!
Musical Background:
Performing Musician - Studio Musician
Musical Style:
Americana, Blues, Rock (Bass only)
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2016 by Joseph M in Puyallup, WA
"Cautious, Hopeful and Surprised!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
About 30 years ago, I placed an order for a custom bass. It looked absolutely beautiful but it didn't play well at all. So I sent it back for two adjustments that I knew they wouldn't be able to correct and I ended up getting my money back. I say all this to point out I vowed to never take a chance ordering instruments via mail. So I'm cautious because I've wanted an acoustic bass for quite some time and when I saw the Ibanez AEB10E and it low price, I decided to break my VOW and order that damn bass...lol. So now I'm hopeful because their were a lot of people who wrote great reviews, which nudged me to make the purchase. Now that I've had it for more than two weeks, I'm pleasantly surprised because this plays extremely well, I have a little fret buzz but I can tell that it's not going to take much effort to adjust the truss rod!!!!
Musical Background:
I've played music for a little over 49 years and I play a few instruments. And I have played professionally a few years ago.
Musical Style:
Everything except acid rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2020 by Eric T in Milan, TN
"Great Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is so easy to tune, holds the tuning, has a great built-in preamp, and the action is so low it's on the verge of non existent. This is the 3rd one of these that I have owned and this last one has been the best yet. Highly quality with a low cost.
Musical Background:
Very basic player for 16+ years. Just play with a friend for fun.
Musical Style:
Stoner rock.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"AEB10E Ibanez Bass Guitar worth the price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't think I will get anything else. It's what I wanted in a bass guitar.
Sound
Really good sound out of the guitar, for the price. The low E string is a bit twangy, but overall it's expressive and has good volume.
Features
Built in tuner, not too easy to get into the green light for perfect tune, always seems to be sharp or flat slightly.
Ease of Use
The guitar easy to use, manual was fine. Right out of the box it's playable.
Quality
The bass guitar very well made for the price range. No flaws or imperfections. Very well put together.
Value
It's a great value for its price.
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed any service from the makers.
The Wow Factor
I play violin, upright bass, cello, etc., and the dark violin sunburst color of the bass guitar instantly attracted me.
Musical Background:
musical hobbyist
Musical Style:
classical/bluegrass
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"Oh yes. Supreme."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Here's the deal. I bought this baby as my first bass. Okay, I know what many of you are thinking: "What the hell is his problem? You're supposed to buy a squier or something as your first bass -- this guy is breaking the fundamental rules of metal \m/!!" That's definitely what every guitarist and bassist told me when I talked to them about it: "It's a waste of money! You can't hear it over other instruments! It's way too expensive! It's just not metal." Here I am, thinking that opinions could be helpful. To hell with that, and to hell with the nay-sayers! I like the sound of acoustic, I like the idea of acoustic, and I like a challenge. They say that playing the acoustic guitar makes you better on the electric. I believe this still holds up for the bass. I don't regret buying this thing in the least. I'm immensely happy that I did. It's attractive, solid, sounds great... nearly all that I could want from it.
Sound
It is loud in comparison to the Fenders (and other brands) of the same price. You probably won't be loud enough to knock women's clothing off, but I don't think you could beat the sound for the price: the lows are warm, and the highs are sweet.
Features
It's got Fishman pickups, a nice EQ/pre-amp (mine has a tuner in it)... I don't think there's more I could ask, really.
Quality
The bass itself is beautiful and well-constructed. The tuners are solid, the neck is solid, the body is solid, everything is _solid_. The inlays and black gloss are sexy, quite frankly. I don't really like the plastic that the EQ's panel and knobs are made of, but you can't have everything, and that seems to be a fishman trademark anyways.
Value
500 seems a bit high, but considering it's of considerable quality in comparison to others in the price range and lesser, its very much worth the 350 that's listed here at this store. It's a good alternative to the ovations, if you're on a budget.
Manufacturer Support
N/A, but I've heard good things.
The Wow Factor
YES. I bought this thing so I could make it emanate it's delicious aural love with my artisan-esque fingertips under the gaze of moonlight! It is both practical and luscious. Yes. I said luscious. If you have a problem with it, take it up with my manager.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
AlterNative, old Rock.
24 of 27 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"Great Bass for a doublebass player!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
It's great..I was looking for an acoutic bass guitar that I could relax and play in the evening..since I am a double bass player. I put D addario nylon tapewound. It's really spectacular.
Features
ok
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz and Classical
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
Ibanez AEB10E Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this while I'm deployed to Afganistan. I have two Michael Kelly acoustics at home (Dragonfly and Firefly.) I would reccomend the MK over this one. Though this one is easier to play with the shorter scale, the sound could be a little better. Honestly, for the price Michael Kelly is the way to go.
Sound
The sound isn't bad, has some fret buzz. I'm putting Ernie Ball earthtones this week.
Features
Onboard tuner is a nice feature. It's probably my favorite thing about this bass.
Ease of Use
The 32" scale makes this ideal for a first bass.
Quality
The finish isn't bad, but could be better.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock, country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 4, 2019 by john Wooldridge in Farmington, MO
"Better Bass than I expected!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased the Ibanez AEB10E acoustic bass with a worried mind, but once I received it, I couldn't be any more pleased! My new bass is nearly perfect for me! It's easy to play, action is fast and frets are smooth! Great buy!!
Musical Background:
45 yrs playing guitar and bass
Musical Style:
country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2016 by Robert J
"Fathers Day Gift"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wonderful finish and sound on all but the E string. Going back for exchange after luthier looked at it. Other than a dud first time out if the E didn't buzz like a bee hive it would be perfect. Hopefully the replacement is straight if so this guitar is fantastic.
Musical Background:
play at home and with friends
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2017 by Phil M in Wauwatosa, WI
"First Bass"
I wanted to try playing bass; a friend steered me to this bass and this retailer. Great experience, great bass.
Musical Background:
Played guitar for over 40 years, with friends, with bands, for church
Musical Style:
Hard rock, post rock, metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2009 by a customer from jammin1.net
"Pretty good except for the sharp frets"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Again, my only real complaint is the fret issue, otherwise I would give this a 7. I think you would have to pay a whole lot more to get something better than this. I bought it mainly to use for living-room jams or to practice on when I'm away from my rig, and it works great for that. If you make money playing an acoustic bass, you probably should spend a lot more.
Sound
The sound is pretty good. I haven't played it through an amp very much, but it holds its own unplugged for living-room jams.
Features
The built-In tuner is pretty convenient. This is a lower-priced bass, so I don't know what other 'features' anyone could expect.
Ease of Use
I would have given this a 7 if it wasn't for the razor-sharp frets (see quality section). Other than that, this thing plays pretty good.
Quality
Made in China. The edges of eight of the frets are very sharp. I've cut my fingers doing slides. Maybe this problem is unique to my bass, but there is no way that anyone inspecting this at the factory could not have known about this. I can fix this with a file, but you shouldn't have to... I have the flat natural finish model, and when it was new there some blotches of overspray on the back of the neck that felt pretty rough. But it smoothed out after a couple weeks of use.
Value
I don't know much about other items, nobody stocks acoustic basses at the local music stores. But I think this one is reasonably priced.
Manufacturer Support
I'm not going to spend the money to ship this to their support location so they can fix what should have never left the factory in the first place. It is cheaper for me to fix it than the cost of shipping.
The Wow Factor
Cheap acoustic basses are not very sexy
Musical Background:
Active Bassist
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Metal,
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2006
"Best Acoustic Bass Ever"
This is deffently the best for the price and u cant go wrong buying it
Sound
Sounds awesome unplugged or plugged into an amp got great highs awesome lows
Features
got a good built in eq u can have total control of the sound from it
Ease of Use
im used to electrics and i had no trouble pickin this up and jammin on it
Quality
good sturdy
Value
best acoustic bass for the money
The Wow Factor
looks cool love the black
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2006
"Sweet Bass guitar, any bassist would be proud to own!"
Features
Built in tuner this acoustic/electric is awsome!
Quality
Finish is BEAUTIFUL! But like all things black, you'll have to keep it wiped down or else those pesky fingerprints add up.
Value
$350.00 for an acoustic/electric? Awsome price for an awsome guitar!
The Wow Factor
The minute I saw this black beauty I had to have it!
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.