Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Hartke LH1000 Bass Amplifier Head (1000 Watts)

Hartke LH1000 Bass Amplifier Head (1000 Watts)

Drive your bass rig with this 2x500-watt amp head. With a 12AX7 Class A tube preamp circuit, and XLR DI, Speakon and 1/4" outputs, it's ready for any gig.

Overall User Ratings (based on 33 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(33)
Submitted November 30, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Perfect amphead for the gigging musician"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If this product was lost or stolen I would upgrade to the kilo. They're both great amps
Sound
This amphead is awesome. I play bass in a pop punk band and its got the sound I need. I jam to other styles of music. Funk, jazz, blues and metal its great for everything.
Features
It doesn't have as many features as the kilo but I still got a great tone from it
Ease of Use
Its simple. A baby can use it
Quality
Bulletproof. Seems like this thing will last forever
Value
I usually say you get what you pay for but this head is cheap in price and the quality is great
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them
Musical Background:
ive been playing bass for 9 years
Musical Style:
everything
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2010 by a customer from rocketmail.com
"Love Hurts!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Provided great tone... before one of the amps crapped out on me.. I play through a Hartke 2x15 and a 4x10. Massive Sound! I'm a firm believer that great sound is more of a combination of wood and fingers..
Features
One of the reasons I bought this was becuase it did not have "too many" knobs, too many bells and whistles. I like things simple. This head is simple "but" provides great tone.
Ease of Use
So simple to set up. Power cord, 2 speaker cables or 1 speakon connection.. bass, mid, treble, boost.. simplicity at its best
Quality
I have only had this head about 7 months and the right side amp crapped out on me. I have bragged to soo many people about this head, the simplicity, the tone, the massive amount of power it produces.. then one side quits working. I love the amp, hate this happened. If not for this, i would score it an 11 on a 10 scale
Value
If I would not have had any problems so far, I would have asked them to put an "11" on this scale. I bought this as a blimish item from zzounds.. never did see a blemish.. lol.. only paid 359.00.. a steal!!
Manufacturer Support
I'm going with a 4 here. One guy I spoke with at Samson sucked and another was more than helpful. Also, I live about 2 hours southwest of Memphis. The closest repair center that will acutally perform the warranty work for me is a 5 hour drive.. "one-way" or I can send it back but they have a a 4-6 week turnaround time on the warranty work. Soo not satisfied with this!!!!
The Wow Factor
sexy, sleek, and heavy - I want it fixed and back on stage with me :(
Musical Background:
Professional - its my living
Musical Style:
Modern Country, Rock
38 of 39 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2017 by Ken S in West Haven, UT
"Wow!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very impressed. After selling my gigantic Ampeg rig last year to downsize due to a bad back, I felt I would never get the sound I was after. Ordering this head, site unseen and never hearing it, I went totally off of past reviews. I have to say, this head is fantastic! Powerful, punchy, and just a rich tone. Very straightforward and easy to plug in and find your sound quickly. The mono bridge feature is nice. I'm running it through a Hartke 4X10 cabinet and I'd swear there was twice the cabinet behind me. This thing keeps up with a live (and very loud) drummer with headroom to spare. Great Product Hartke!
Musical Background:
Played professionally for 30+ years.
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, country, and blues.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Hartke, where have you been all my life?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't plan on buying another amp anytime soon, this amp does everything I need it to.
Sound
If you're looking for a loud, warm, clear bass sound with lots of headroom then this is the Amp for you. I really love this amp. It sounds a lot like the old Bassman I was using, but when I turn it up it doesn't get fuzzy and distorted. It really has a great sound to it.
Features
I like the 3 Band EQ, no overthinking or messing with a bunch of slider switches. I pretty much just set it flat and adjust the volume. The limiter and Bright switches are pretty cool, but I personally don't use them. The two modes, Dual Parallel and Bridged are pretty cool too. I use a 4x10 and a 1x15 cabinet and the balance knob is a really cool feature too.
Ease of Use
This thing is idiot proof. Four knobs and volume, just plug and play.
Quality
I would definitely invest in a rack case for this amp, but other than that it is quite sturdy. I've dropped it(in the rack case) and had it knocked over, etc. and have had absolutely zero problems with it. I gig with this amp 2-4 times a month and it has yet to let me down.
Value
For the money you cannot find a better amp. You're paying like $.50 a watt. Compare this amp to other tube preamp/solid state power amp style amps from guys like GK, Ampeg, and Mesa and this amp is a better buy for a much easier pricetag.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to use customer support, but Larry Hartke himself has published his phone number on the talkbass forums a couple of times. You don't see anybody else doing that.
Musical Background:
Professional Bassist with 15 years experience
Musical Style:
Punk, Rock, Metal, Country, Blues, Folk
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2018 by Robert Brown in Seattle, WA
"4 years and still loving it"
Not big on giving reviews but I've had this Amp and the Hydrive 410 and 115 cabs and I'm in heaven and the neighbors love me. Seriously I have had neighbors come over and hangout just to listen to this cab when I'm practicing. The band loves the low end punch and I've never raised the volume more then a 5 to keep up with our heavy drummer. When I make his kit shake he just laughs! Love the tone, have played thru almost everything in the past 30 years and for the price you can't beat it. Run a Bongo HH 5 string and a Fender Roscoe Beck and can create any tone you need. The cool thing is when I go play out other bassist want to take her a spin. And I've seen several go out and get the same rigs set up. Enough said!
Musical Background:
40 years of nothing but Bass
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Soul and what ever makes you bounce!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Hartke LH1000"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This unit should last me for a while, powers my single and dual cab configs.
Sound
I just got this unit before my last gig. It has plenty of power for my Ampeg SVT 410. Really sweet tone regardless if I'm using my active eq Peavey Cirrus or my fretless Jazz bass. Great sound, and a great deal
Ease of Use
Just set it and forget it
Quality
Very well made, bullet proof
Value
Great value for the money
The Wow Factor
Male
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic rock, funk and jazz
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2014 by russell l in Pittsburgh, PA
"Hartke LH1000 Bass Amplifier Head "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this unit to replace an older system I had. This unit is all I will ever need, it has the power to handle any size gig and it has a very clean sound, exactly what I have been looking for. Only have one volume knob sort of scared me at first, but this unit doesn't need a master volume to get it the sound I want. Using a older Line 6 Bass pro floor pedal in the effects loop, and two cabinets( 4x10 and a 15) at 1/3 volume bridged and I blown away byt the power and clean sound this amp offers.
Musical Background:
Playing for 30 years, have played in all sorts of bands. Heavy metal, alternative to dance pop. Play bass guitar and lead guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, hip hop, funk, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2014 by Anthony H in West chaY, NY
"Hartke LH 1000"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this bass head for almost six months now. This head is fantastic for players that only want to move a few knobs and go. Very simple to set up and so far it seems very reliable. I've noticed when you first switch it on It doesn't produce sound right away. After a few seconds of being switched on its good to go. I am very pleased with this product. It is my first hartke and I will likely buy from this brand in the future.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 8 years. I played gigs with a metal band for 4 years. Mostly play at home now.
Musical Style:
Thrash metal, death metal, black metal, and some rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2019 by Allan M in Tulsa, OK
"Good Sounding Reliable Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp for a practice rig for out band room. Paired this with a Fender Bassman 410H cabinet that has been updated with new speakers and horn driver. And it sounds great. We take it out to gig in small/medium clubs when our bass player wants and use it all the time in rehearsals. I did change out the preamp tube to a JJ 12AX7. Anyway It's a good sounding amp and we have not had any trouble with it.
Musical Background:
Professional Guitar Player
Musical Style:
Rockabilly Rules
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2013 by Charles Tottress in Owasso, OK
"T-Bone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've played many different amps and pre-amps before this one and now...Its the only amp I can be comfortable with. 1 yr. ago the circuit board fried,and I had to use a back up amp for 6 months (it was horrible).After the repairs the difference is crystal clear.This Hartke LH1000 Bass Head has the deeper tones for fat sounds...clean snaps for funky playing...and clean lows so that no sound gets lost during live performances. I recommend this head so much...that I bought another one just in case I fry the motherboard again.
Musical Background:
Iv been playing for 30 yrs,bass is the only instrument I play,I play with a smooth jazz band..also for my church
Musical Style:
R&B/Funk/Jazz/Gospel/Christian/
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2012 by Steve W in Thousand Islands, NY
"What I expected.. Simple and clean"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I first started bass I picked a Hartke 5000 but ended up trading it.. Through the years I experimented with others such as SWR, AMPEG and Fender.. Recently my AMPEG SVT with 3 prior repairs crapped out on me again.. I had a larger gig coming up with little money in my pocket.. I was searching through all the brands but the only one that made sense was this Hartke with a payment plan. $125.00 a month aka /$31.00 dollars a week for 4 months for 1000 Watts?!?! It really was an easy choice.. I feel like I've stolen this thing because this sound is better then any of the 1000 dollar amps I've tried and had in the past.. The only thing I've done to it was replace the pre amp tube even though it sounded terrific with the stock one I just wanted more warmth. I'm very pleased with this amp and with zzounds... Shipping was extremely fast here in the east coast.. I don't think I'll ever get another brand amp again...
Musical Style:
Reggae, Rock, Ska, Blues and funk.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2013 by ernie oskey in Islamorada, FL
"Hartke LH1000"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So far so good,I needed more power to run my Ampeg,6/10.I also wanted the vintage sound that the tube preamp,delivers.only complaint is that it is heavy.I wish it had a mute switch
Musical Background:
40 yrs
Musical Style:
Rock ,country, Clasic Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2012 by John H in Salina, KS
"Awesome Power Bass Amp - Hartke LH1000"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is very powerful, but still in a nice budget range. It has way more power than the Peavey Tour 700 I was using before it malfunctioned for the 2nd time. I am considering purchasing a 2nd one for my home studio.
Musical Background:
I have been playing bass guitar for about 20 years. I have done live performances, but mostly jam with my band for fun.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Southern Rock, Funk
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2014 by russell lancaster in Pittsburgh, PA
"Hartke LH1000, Clean Power for all levels of players"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing clean, reliable power at a decent price! I've know about Hartke for years but never played through any of their equipment, until now. I ordered the LH1000 through zzounds and was blown away as soon as I plugged it in to my 4x10 cabinet and my 1x15 stack. All the power I could ever need. Great tone, just what I was looking for
Musical Background:
30 years experience playing guitar, Bass, Keyboard and percussion
Musical Style:
Ruck, Blues, Metal, Alternative, Jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2013 by Daniel Jeffries in 3092 county rd 37, AL
"excellent amp....excellent price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best amphead i have ever used. Very clear tone. Has just the featufes that i need. Nothing extra just what i need.
Musical Background:
playing 23 years ...mainly at church in praise band
Musical Style:
Christian
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Clean Power"
will have to play with it for a couple years to rate it. If it stays as is then V G
Sound
Noisless, Powerfull, Simple
Features
No usless dials and switches.
Ease of Use
Set all tone strait up(5)and control the tone at the guitar (w/active p ups).
Quality
Time will tell.
Manufacturer Support
Heard it is V G
The Wow Factor
What? get outa here *,*
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues/rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 6, 2014 by Andres V in Bellflower, CA
"I'm a fan!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been gigging with the LH1000 paired with a Hydrive 4x10. It's very solid and punchy tubed amp. Let the tubes warm up and after about 15 minutes of playing you'll hear this thing growl! I'm a fan!
Musical Background:
Ibanez SR and Spector Legend. Gig 2-3 nights a week for 4+ a night. Bass for 6+ years.
Musical Style:
Norteño, TexMex, Funk, Pop
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Big Boy Gear for a Simple Mans Pocket !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i just did my homework any took a chance and it worked out great so far
Sound
HARTKE LH 1000 is a home run hit with this amp, i just recieved it today 1 day early, packaged to arrive un hurt,and i must say that i am pleasently suprised,it`s built like a tank but not overly so, i rate it up there with the heavy hitters in the industry i`ve used a svt 4 pro all summer and that actually what i wanted i rolled the dice and chose this amp and i`m glad i did the tone is great the power is there to be about all you need unless your victor wooten, by the way he uses 2 on stage !
Features
the only thing i`m missin is a compressor but i`m kind of glad it does`nt have to many bells and whistles, i believe the more parts or componets a unit has the more chances that something can go wrong !
Ease of Use
every new addition takes getting used to but i dont think this will take anyone that long it only has the 3 band equalizer a brite switch and the sweep for the cabs just get to know where the sweet spot is for you and what you are using i have a 4-10 cab and a 115 from a different company !
Quality
at this price with the quality it has i will probally just get another one just like it !
Value
the best value that i know, and i`ve played a bunch of different amps i`ve been looking all summer to find out which way i wanted to go
Manufacturer Support
no, hopefully i wont, but if so i`ve heard that they are really good
The Wow Factor
looks great ! i think the appeal should come from the music not the gears appearence i like it to have a clean look
Musical Background:
bass player
Musical Style:
jazz,r&b,funk,classic rock,reagge
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2012 by paul f in davidson, NC
"Hartke LH1000 "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Powerful and simple.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 17, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Unleash it`s real potential"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The only reason I gave it a 6 rating is that the tube that comes with it is bullet proof but not very musical at all change the tube and the sound Quality will improve ! I rate mine a 9 wait until the tube is out of warranty take it to an authorized tech and get it replaced and you will be amazed on the sound it really can produce !
Musical Background:
Bass Player
Musical Style:
jazz,r&b,funk,classic rock,reagge
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
Hartke LH1000 Bass Head Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Simple but powerful and not that expensive amp love it
Sound
This amplifier head is awesome easy to use and sounds amazing. Loud and super punchy, you can play any style, overall just a great amp.
Ease of Use
Really easy to use Low mid and High
Quality
Beautiful
Value
Yes
Manufacturer Support
NO
The Wow Factor
I love it
Musical Background:
Band
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2011
"The Real Deal"
Don't even look at or care about other brands.
Sound
Funk, warmth, punch, whatever adjective bass players use, it has it.
Features
LOVE the 3 band EQ..no one really knows what the 10 band eq does and if you do, no one else can pick it out so why bother? Only thing I wish it had was a pre-amp and master instead of just one.
Ease of Use
Step 1: Push power Step 2: Play bass
Quality
You wouldn't want to drop it on your foot.
Value
Felt like I stole something
Manufacturer Support
Larry is the best!
The Wow Factor
Has more sex appeal than Hollie Berry during the early 2000's
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
Funk
45 of 46 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us