Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Gretsch CM1E826 Catalina Maple Drum Shell Kit, 7-Piece
BACK IN STOCK

Gretsch CM1E826 Catalina Maple Drum Shell Kit, 7-Piece

Its 7-ply maple shells with 30-degree bearing edges give the Gretsch CM1E826 Catalina Maple shell kit a warm, vibrant sound with lightning-fast response.

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted February 2, 2015 by Wade N in Jefferson, GA
"Gretsch Catalina Maples are the Bomb!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of all, let me say that ordering this kit from zZounds was a breeze and the payment plan is perfect for me. I ordered this kit (with the Walnut Glaze finish. Beautiful!) from them on a Friday and it arrived at my front door the next Tuesday afternoon. I had previously ordered this kit from another company because they were selling it for $100 less, but after waiting a month and a half with no sign it would ever show up, I finally wised up and ordered from these guys. As far as the drums themselves are concerned, I couldn't be happier! They look incredible but, more importantly, they sound even better. The tone off of the toms was great once I got the top and bottom heads tuned the way I like them and the bass drum is indescribably good. Such a magnificent, low "THUMP!" to it with very little effort. I just tuned it low, put a Kickport in the front (don't know that that was necessary, but it's what I did) and taped a 3"x5" patch of felt on the batter head to take a little of the resonance off and it sounds absolutely killer! I read a previous review that says the 8" tom is useless, but I disagree. It's more of an accent drum, but I've used it as part of the whole kit for 3 gigs now so far and have really enjoyed having that extra "color" to work with. The snare is very good, but possibly my least favorite part of the kit. I have been working on adjusting the head tensions on it though and have been happier since then, so perhaps I just need to put a little more work into it to get the sound that I want out of it. That's a small complaint though and, overall, I would say this kit from this company is a fantastic purchase. I am loving that great Gretsch sound and look forward to years of fun playing these babies!
Musical Background:
Professional drummer with 35 years of playing experience.
Musical Style:
Rock, country or whatever the gig calls for.
73 of 73 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2017 by Bob B in Warwick, RI
"A work of art!"
Just received my Gretsch 7 piece Catalina drum kit today. After much pondering with color choices, I settled for the silver sparkle (new for 2017). Not one shred of disappointment, with not only color selection, but the overall quality of Gretsch drums. I've always wanted and old school kit and finally decided on these bad boys. They are simply a thing of beauty! The sound of the 7 ply maple shells really stand out, are quite versatile and easy to tune. No short cuts taken with this kit, it's very well made with much detail and the hardware is top notch. I'm totally ecstatic with my choice and would highly recommend this product to anyone! Time to earn my badge. Thank you zZounds for helping to make this purchase a most pleasant experience! A top shelf company! I look forward to doing business again with you in the future.
Musical Background:
I've been playing since I was a kid and through the majority of my adult life.
Musical Style:
Rock, jazz, fusion
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2016 by Casey A in Laconia, NH
"Gretsch Catalina"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first brand new drum set I have ever purchased. Have been drumming for about 11 years now, just always purchased used. This is an absolutely awesome kit. Great sounds, after a little bit of tuning and tweaking it sounds perfect. Good resonance, great looks, and have no complaints! And the play as you pay option is awesome. Got the whole kit, cymbals, and hardware shipped to my house in one and a half days! If you were thinking about purchasing this kit from zZounds then don't wait any longer!!!
Musical Background:
Have been playing in multiple bands for the last 8 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian, jazz
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2015 by Alexis Salazar in The Colony, TX
"Gretch Catalina Maple "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW! This Drum set is awesome, from the detail put into it, and the finish all the way to the sound it puts out, I will be using this set for as long as it will let me.
Musical Background:
7 years, drums, guitar and bass, sing, choir, jam at home
Musical Style:
rock, metal ,post- hardcore, death core blues metal core
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 3, 2017 by Robert B in Warwick , RI
"The One"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This kit is well made, with no short cuts with detail! The sound is quite impressive, with serious pop and punch. Even more so if you upgrade the heads, both batter and resonant. I expected nothing less than a great sounding kit from Gretsch and they don't disappoint, at all. Well worth the money!!!
Musical Background:
Many years of drumming experience....
Musical Style:
Classic rock, hard rock and jazz
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2017 by Ed Lowery in Lutz, FL
"Outstanding!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this kit! Great quality for the money. Silver sparkle finish looks better than expected. I may buy another with the walnut glaze finish just to have.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Punk, rock, world beat.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 14, 2017 by a customer from gmail.com
"Gretsch Catalina Maple"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best drum set I have ever owned. I've wanted a Gretsch for years but always settled for something else. Now I finally get to experience that "Great Gretsch Sound"!
Sound
These drums sound AMAZING. I still have the stock heads on (except for the bass drum) and they still sound great! (Thanks Remo!) Warm tone, nice attack, LOUD. The toms are excellent! I was afraid of the rack toms having to high of a pitch (8",10", 12") but they are actually very warm and balanced. Tuned up a little they are very complimentary of each other. The 8" tom is great to use as an accent kind of drum, very distinct high tone, really fun to use. The bass drum is exceptionally good. I immediately put on a new bass drum head, a Remo Powerstroke Black Dot. The tone of this bass drum is just incredible. I put nothing inside the drum at first so I could hear the natural tone of the drum and I was blown away with the overall tone. Warm and punchy, just makes you feel good. A pillow I felt was too much muffling, killed a lot of the tone so I put in an Evans EQ pad for the batter and a felt strip on the reso just to dampen the overtones and cut the sustain a little but still have that amazing thud. Snare isn't my favorite, but I like it. Still have the stock head on that and haven't gave it a good tuning yet so definitely has potential to sound great.
Features
All maple shells, lacquer finish, great hardware. The tom holder in the bass drum even has an extra spot to add in a cymbal arm making it very easy to mount a splash or smaller china right between the to toms. Might seem small but I was pretty excited about it when I saw it. Bass drums hoops are wood and have matching finish. There's even a rubber grip pad on the bass drum hoop so you don't damage it with you pedal and it holds in place! I've never seen that pre-installed before! Sometimes it really is the little things!
Ease of Use
Tunes really easy. Set up was pretty easy. Didn't take long to comfortably place and arrange everything.
Quality
Everything seems to be high quality. Nothing has moved or slipped or fell out of place in any way since I've set it up. Very easy to adjust as well. If there's one thing I've always heard about Gretsch, it's the high quality of their instruments. This definitely holds up to that.
Value
Great value for a 7-piece all maple kit. Similar price range to the PDP Concept maple series, but I've never liked PDP much.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to use.
The Wow Factor
Every time I see this drum set it is visually stunning. The Silver Sparkle finish stands out beautifully. The chrome hardware compliments the finish beautifully.
Musical Background:
8 Years drumming; 7 years of guitar; Studio work, Jam at home, Live performances
Musical Style:
Rock, Indie, Alternative, Blues, Jazz
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2014 by martin j in frazee, MN
"Gretsch Catalina maple shell kit"
I bought the Gretsch Catalina club jazz kit from zZounds 2 years ago,and was so happy with the sound and service I recently bought the Catalina maple kit. The bigger kit is great for larger stages,and the maple tone is awesome.I got the blue sparkle and the finish is great under the lights. The free 8 inch tom really cracks!
Musical Background:
singer- drummer, weekend shows,40+ years
Musical Style:
classic rock,blues,country
24 of 27 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2018 by Nick H in Phoenix, AZ
"Best kit I’ve ever owned."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the kit from another retailer, but I’m about to buy ANOTHER Catalina Maple kit from zZounds to add on. The tone of these drums is simply just killer. I’ve tuned them up, tuned them down, and everything in between, the punch and crack of these Toms is just killer at any tuning. I’m using Evans EC2 heads on all my Toms, still have the Stock Remo Resonant heads, Evans EC2 Reverse dot on the snare and the EMAD Batter and Resonant heads on the bass. Killer kit. I’d buy 10 more if I had a reason to.
Musical Background:
Drummer for 22+ years
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 4, 2014 by Tom C in South Daytona, FL
"Gretsch Catalina Maple 7 piece"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very happy with the Catalina Maple drum kit, quality product, great payment plan, fast delivery, exactly what I wanted.
Musical Background:
Been playing music for 45 years, sax, piano, drums, at home and professionally.
Musical Style:
Rock, jazz, blues, symphonic, concert
20 of 23 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2015 by John McGowan in Morris, PA
"Greschedule Catalina Drum Kit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful set fantastic sounding coupled with Sabian cymbals and DR Hardware Aqua blue sparkle really pops
Musical Background:
Drums Vibes
Musical Style:
Varied
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2015 by Rick Shady in Milwaukee, WI
"Happy Gretsch customer"
Decided that I wanted to go back to acoustic so I bought this shell kit upon selling the E-kit that I had for about 6 years. Picked this 7 piece set up on SPECIAL for $595.00 and added a Sabian ride, 3 crashes , 14" HH's and double base pedals all for about a grand. What a steal! Extremely happy with the sound, quality, and looks of this set.
Musical Background:
I started taking drum lessons in 1964 when I was 14 and have been playing off and on ever since.
Musical Style:
Primarily rock, but also blues and some R&B. I have had one E set and this is my 3rd acoustical set since "64".
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2014 by eric waldrup in RED BANK, TN
"drums"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i bought this kit 2 weeks ago it sounds great the bass drum is un real the killer tone it gives i just put one small clothe in it and it sounds studio ready the 8 in tom is nothing to use really thats why its free but the kit is killer sounding i have played on birch for 23 yrs and now really love the maple sound!!!
Musical Background:
been playing in bands since 87
Musical Style:
all metal punk and rock check out we are all or nothin.com
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2015 by Alexi M in Reading, PA
"Great Maple Custom Drumset"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this Set I was looking for a set of drums i called up a friend who is a professional drummer he recommended me this Kit. I'm glad I listened to him.
Musical Background:
I played Drums ever since i was about 14 years old . Im 36 now eventhough i took a long break. i mainly play in church
Musical Style:
I Mainly play cristian music but can play just about any beat trown at me. This Drum Set was recomended by a friend so i took hi
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Flippin' frustrating!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was expecting all drums to be set up. Oh no. You have to place the skins, rims, etc. yourself. No instructions whatsoever. I have been trying to figure out what nuts and bolts go where. This is beyond frustrating. You would expect to get some kind of instructions after paying $1000. Frustrated!!!!
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to