Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Parlor Flat Top Acoustic Guitar

Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Parlor Flat Top Acoustic Guitar

Whether you're on your porch, near a campfire, or in a crowded tour bus, this throwback Gretsch flat top guitar is the perfect size for casual strumming.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted February 6, 2016 by Dave S in Pheonix, OR
"Killer Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am in love with this guitar, it plays well out of the box and the action is perfect. Don't let the price fool you, this guitar is for real. I have a $1,600 Takamine that sounds like butter, but honestly this is my go to acoustic now. I must say though if you are looking for a full bodied guitar sound this is not the guitar for you, this guitar has more of a vintage sound. It has the same tone qualities as Jack White's Gibson.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 26 years
Musical Style:
Punk rock, country, blues and rock and roll.
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2016 by Sean C in woodstock, MD
"This guitar is a lot of fun"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar sounds great and is fun to play. Mine was quite playable out of the box and was difficult to put down. Sounds great to my ears especially for bluesy stuff. Sounds cool with a slide as well. This came with phosphor bronze strings on it and they seem to work well. I put some silk and steels on and they sound great too! I like everything about this guitar, especially the price. Just an excellent travel or jam on the couch guitar.
Musical Background:
guitar
Musical Style:
everything
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2014 by Adam Vanwinkle in Antioch, CA
"Took my blues away"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off I could not believe how fast my order arrived to my door! Litteraly next day delivery and I only paid for standard shipping. Awesome!. Now about this guitar... At first glance I was a little unsure about how it would sound and play as it looks like a 150$ guitar.... Tuned it a half step down ( as I do on all of mygitars), and gave it some blues runs... I couldnt believe my ears and or fingers!! This thing is killer! Not one fret buzzed right out of the box and the intonation was spot on! It comes with an allen key to adjust the truss rod but I have not yet bothered with a set up because it plays so smoothely the way it is!. This baby tunes nicely and the machine heads feel tight and solid. I highly recomend this guitar to anyone interested in a parlor size accoustic. Buy it! You will not be sorry!
Musical Background:
8yrs, guitar jam at home
Musical Style:
Blues, rock and of coarse bluesrock
39 of 41 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2014 by Christopher R in Rockville Centre, NY
"Great Guitar For The Money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had mine for a few months now. I ordered this because I've always wanted one of those old crackerjack catalog parlor guitars. Since Grestch doesn't really do a lot of low end stuff I figured they won't put out a piece of garbage. For $150 you can't go wrong. I use the guitar at home and while teaching my private lessons. Sure the finish isn't the best, but it plays and sounds amazing right out of the box. What I love most is the spot on intonation and its ability to stay in tune. Especially after a day's worth of lessons and constant in and out of the car all day. This thing stays in tune better than any other guitar I own...and I've got quite a few. I can't say it enough. For $150 you can't go wrong! Grestch totally bailed it with this one.
Musical Background:
Music Teacher
38 of 40 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2019 by Gunner H in Tooele, UT
"Sweet vintage tone I have been searching for!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My Jim Dandy parlor guitar arrived today. I just got home from a week long trip for work exhausted and thought well I will just unbox my new guitar and try it out in the morning. Six hours later lol I still didn't want to put it down. This guitar has a great tone for blues. The set up was dead on and it plays so easy. I never expected it to play so good and sound so sweet for this price! Check out the videos on you tube so you can hear the unique tone of this guitar and if it's for you I highly recommend it!
Musical Background:
Jam at home and with friends.
Musical Style:
Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2017 by Casey Shelton in ardmore, OK
"Very nice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this for my daughter for guitar class in school. It's actually a pretty nice guitar, however it's not a Martin or Taylor, but for the price it is above what I expected. I play it at night when she goes to bed and for a parlor sized guitar it has good volume, tone, and warmth. Would definitely buy again.
Musical Background:
25 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian,
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 24, 2017 by serge perruzza in Perth, NA
"Cool little blue box machine"
i bought this little gem after trying and playing quite a few acoustic guitar in all shapes and sizes and the prices to match but when i came across the Jim Dandy i loved it immediately!,it just played and felt right,it definitely has its own unique sound and vibes and after i had mine converted by having my luthier install and fit a vintage sound hole pickup and volume knob on it this thing kicks butt!!,this is a keeper for me as you don't need to spend big amounts of money to get a cool guitar, Gretsch Jim Dandy proved that.
Musical Background:
Im a self taught guitar player who's passion is the acoustic guitar.
Musical Style:
My own style
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 19, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Nice, handy little guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Gretch Jim DandyThis guitar is what it is, no more no less. It’s a great beginners guitar. But I’ve been playing for near 50 years and I like it — a lot. First, it isn’t really a travel guitar. It is a 3/4-size parlor guitar and really more like a single 0 style guitar. But it remains a compact sized guitar. I just keep it around and handy to grab anytime I want. It’s very handy. I can run exercises, work out a new song, work on licks, and just plain noodle around. It is ideal. AND, if I revive my solo acoustic act I’ll likely use it for a couple of tunes. This guitar has a particular sound to it that to my ears is much like blues guitars used by Big Bill Broonzy, Sun House, Robert Johnson, and just too many others to name. It has that kind of cheap, jangling sound similar to the cheap guitars they used. So I have in mind a couple of Big Bill Broonzy tunes that I’ll likely do live with this guitar because it sounds like his guitar when I compare with the recordings I have. It will be fun and a nice change of music and sound. I did upgrade the tuning machines to some Stew Mac vintage style. Much better than the originals. But other than that I’m very happy with this guitar on a multitude of levels. Great bang for the buck.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2017 by waylon w in hazel green, AL
"Fun little guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar was better than expected when it came in (super fast). Plays well with minimal buzzing, haven't set it up yet. The sound is bright but at the same time has a little more bass than expected. It's light and comfortable to sit on the couch and play, well worth the price.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2015 by John H in Butler, NJ
"Jim Dandy Parlor guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I liked this guitar right out of the box. A little tuning and she was ready to play. I was surprised by the deep tone of this guitar and the quality for the price I am pleased, a wonderful instrument. Ordered this guitar and it came the next day! Now I need a case.
Musical Background:
since grade school. Just a dabbler, for fun and enjoyment of music. Harmonicas, guitar, mandolin.
Musical Style:
/Christian, rock, blues, folk, old-time, country
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2017 by Thomas Bailey in Connersville, IN
"GREAT guitar and GREAT company."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar day before yesterday,and received it today. I bought a "blemished" model to save $25..and I've been all over this guitar and found the blemish. A small..REALLY small mark,like from a marker,along the bottom about 1/32" long. You have to strain to see it!! Now for the guitar: It's beautiful,plays extremely well and within 5mins I'm in love with it!! I've played a ton of parlor guitars in my life,but this one beats them all. Great finish, construction and sound. Definitely a blues players dream!! As for zZounds...this is my first order thru them,and I am EXTREMELY pleased !!! Free 2 day shipping,low prices,payment plan with no credit check and this guitar was DOUBLE boxed and padded. I couldn't ask for more,and want you to know that you've earned my future business! Ty ty ty!!
Musical Background:
39 years on guitar and piano
Musical Style:
Rock,classical,jazz and blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2017 by serge p
"Gretsch Jim Dandy Parlör guitar"
I played this in a guitar store recently as i was looking for a smaller guitar with something different to offer and that hopefully sounded good and i found it in this little baby!,she sings and plays nicer than almost any other acoustic I've had,and I'm totally serious!!,this thing kicks butt!,well done Grtesch...love my Jim Dandy!.
Musical Background:
Im a self taught guitar player
Musical Style:
Folk,Grunge,Blues
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to