844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-2SJ7
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy

Whether you're on your porch, near a campfire, or in a crowded tour bus, this throwback Gretsch flat top guitar is the perfect size for casual strumming.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great Guitar For The Money" submitted October 10, 2014

By Christopher R in Rockville Centre, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music Teacher
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've had mine for a few months now. I ordered this because I've always wanted one of those old crackerjack catalog parlor guitars. Since Grestch doesn't really do a lot of low end stuff I figured they won't put out a piece of garbage. For $150 you can't go wrong. I use the guitar at home and while teaching my private lessons. Sure the finish isn't the best, but it plays and sounds amazing right out of the box. What I love most is the spot on intonation and its ability to stay in tune. Especially after a day's worth of lessons and constant in and out of the car all day. This thing stays in tune better than any other guitar I own...and I've got quite a few. I can't say it enough. For $150 you can't go wrong! Grestch totally bailed it with this one.
25 of 25 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Killer Guitar!" submitted February 6, 2016

By Dave S in Pheonix, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 26 years
Music Style: Punk rock, country, blues and rock and roll.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am in love with this guitar, it plays well out of the box and the action is perfect. Don't let the price fool you, this guitar is for real. I have a $1,600 Takamine that sounds like butter, but honestly this is my go to acoustic now. I must say though if you are looking for a full bodied guitar sound this is not the guitar for you, this guitar has more of a vintage sound. It has the same tone qualities as Jack White's Gibson.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Took my blues away" submitted March 16, 2014

By Adam Vanwinkle in Antioch, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 8yrs, guitar jam at home
Music Style: Blues, rock and of coarse bluesrock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First off I could not believe how fast my order arrived to my door! Litteraly next day delivery and I only paid for standard shipping. Awesome!. Now about this guitar... At first glance I was a little unsure about how it would sound and play as it looks like a 150$ guitar.... Tuned it a half step down ( as I do on all of mygitars), and gave it some blues runs... I couldnt believe my ears and or fingers!! This thing is killer! Not one fret buzzed right out of the box and the intonation was spot on! It comes with an allen key to adjust the truss rod but I have not yet bothered with a set up because it plays so smoothely the way it is!. This baby tunes nicely and the machine heads feel tight and solid. I highly recomend this guitar to anyone interested in a parlor size accoustic. Buy it! You will not be sorry!
35 of 37 people (94.59%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This guitar is a lot of fun" submitted February 16, 2016

By Sean C in woodstock, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar
Music Style: everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar sounds great and is fun to play. Mine was quite playable out of the box and was difficult to put down. Sounds great to my ears especially for bluesy stuff. Sounds cool with a slide as well. This came with phosphor bronze strings on it and they seem to work well. I put some silk and steels on and they sound great too! I like everything about this guitar, especially the price. Just an excellent travel or jam on the couch guitar.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT guitar and GREAT company." submitted November 8, 2017

By Thomas Bailey in Connersville, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 39 years on guitar and piano
Music Style: Rock,classical,jazz and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar day before yesterday,and received it today. I bought a "blemished" model to save $25..and I've been all over this guitar and found the blemish. A small..REALLY small mark,like from a marker,along the bottom about 1/32" long. You have to strain to see it!! Now for the guitar: It's beautiful,plays extremely well and within 5mins I'm in love with it!! I've played a ton of parlor guitars in my life,but this one beats them all. Great finish, construction and sound. Definitely a blues players dream!! As for zZounds...this is my first order thru them,and I am EXTREMELY pleased !!! Free 2 day shipping,low prices,payment plan with no credit check and this guitar was DOUBLE boxed and padded. I couldn't ask for more,and want you to know that you've earned my future business! Ty ty ty!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gretsch Jim Dandy Parlör guitar" submitted February 9, 2017

By serge p
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Im a self taught guitar player
Music Style: Folk,Grunge,Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: I played this in a guitar store recently as i was looking for a smaller guitar with something different to offer and that hopefully sounded good and i found it in this little baby!,she sings and plays nicer than almost any other acoustic I've had,and I'm totally serious!!,this thing kicks butt!,well done Grtesch...love my Jim Dandy!.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Jim Dandy Parlor guitar" submitted March 20, 2015

By John H in Butler, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: since grade school. Just a dabbler, for fun and enjoyment of music. Harmonicas, guitar, mandolin.
Music Style: /Christian, rock, blues, folk, old-time, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I liked this guitar right out of the box. A little tuning and she was ready to play. I was surprised by the deep tone of this guitar and the quality for the price I am pleased, a wonderful instrument. Ordered this guitar and it came the next day! Now I need a case.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cool little blue box machine" submitted September 24, 2017

By serge perruzza in Perth, NA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Im a self taught guitar player who's passion is the acoustic guitar.
Music Style: My own style
Back to Product Information
Overall: i bought this little gem after trying and playing quite a few acoustic guitar in all shapes and sizes and the prices to match but when i came across the Jim Dandy i loved it immediately!,it just played and felt right,it definitely has its own unique sound and vibes and after i had mine converted by having my luthier install and fit a vintage sound hole pickup and volume knob on it this thing kicks butt!!,this is a keeper for me as you don't need to spend big amounts of money to get a cool guitar, Gretsch Jim Dandy proved that.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fun little guitar" submitted August 1, 2017

By waylon w in hazel green, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar was better than expected when it came in (super fast). Plays well with minimal buzzing, haven't set it up yet. The sound is bright but at the same time has a little more bass than expected. It's light and comfortable to sit on the couch and play, well worth the price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very nice" submitted September 16, 2017

By Casey Shelton in ardmore, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years.
Music Style: Rock, Christian,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this for my daughter for guitar class in school. It's actually a pretty nice guitar, however it's not a Martin or Taylor, but for the price it is above what I expected. I play it at night when she goes to bed and for a parlor sized guitar it has good volume, tone, and warmth. Would definitely buy again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-2SJ7. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!