Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollowbody Electric Guitar

Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollowbody Electric Guitar

Get that jazz-box look plus electrifying Gretsch tone with the G5420T Electromatic hollowbody, complete with Filter'Trons and a Bigsby to ensure awesomeness.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted July 1, 2016 by Matthew Lukaszewicz in Denver, CO
"Replacement for stolen 5420"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I already knew I liked the 5420's because I just had one stolen from a gig. I bought this one as a replacement and I have done 3 gigs with it now. the fit and finish is actually better than the old one. the pickups are classic Gretsch with a touch more umph. I like the subdued inlays better than the previous ones and the pinned bridge makes a huge difference. Overall I would say that its a significant upgrade and well worth the time and money.
Sound
The blacktop pickups have a touch more gain than I would have expected, but it is tamed easily with the master volume control and when flat out the extra umph lends a nice bit of drive to a slightly overdriven amp.
Features
I do not like the tuners and had them changed almost immediately for locking Schallers. The Bigsby works just fine, but the spring it a touch stiff for my tastes. Remember to lube the nut and bridge saddles to keep it in tune, The redesigned blacktop pickups are great.
Quality
Fit and finish were both fantastic ..... the fretwork was right on and needed no massaging at all. I was very surprised when I looked it over carefully how good it really was. Its a lot better than the one it replaced (and I really did like the previous one).
Value
It was worth every penny I paid with my only complaint being the tuners and lack of hardcase.
Manufacturer Support
I have had no issues and therefore cant comment on support.
The Wow Factor
Mine is Fairline blue ..... its a stunning sparkling color. Thank you.
Musical Background:
Rock, rockabilly, country .... some jazz
Musical Style:
Rock, rockabilly, country .... some jazz
49 of 49 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2017 by Michael Keller in Davison, MI
"A Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing guitar for 40+ years now and this is my first Gretsch. I bought it on line a scratch or dented price. Let me tell you I have found no flaws in this guitar. I was able to play it right out of the box. The action on this guitar is great plays so easy and smooth. I love this guitar the sound is so much better then my epiphone. I have bought three guitars from zZounds and every time I have nothing but praise for their customer service. If your looking for a great deal and an excellent guitar buy this model G5420T you will not be sorry and you will always get a fair shake from zZounds believe me.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 40+ years. I am from the 60's WHOOA.
Musical Style:
I love the blues and country and this guitar is built for this type of music
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 5, 2017 by Rich Rimmey in Aurora, IL
"Gretsch G5420T"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Blue finish is stunning with slight sparkle. I love the balance of this guitar; very comfortable to play standing or sitting. I have many guitars but the way this guitar came setup really blew me away. Great action, no buzzing. Something about the bridge height & style just fits my playing style to a T. I have always stayed away from any guitar with a Floyd/Tremelo system due to tuning issues I have always encountered and it's just not my style, but the Bigsby just works great and it stays in tune. If Gretsch would have used a White binding instead of the vintage Yellow, it would have really set this guitar off onto another level.
Musical Background:
30 years of Guitar/Bass/Piano. Studio/stage musician. Engineer/Producer
Musical Style:
Rock, Acoustic, Alternative, Power/Heavy Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2020 by Anthony A in San Diego, CA
"Very Good Stock, Truly Great Modded"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pretty much as long as I've played guitar I wanted a Gretsch hollow body. Although I'm not really a rockabilly player, I always adored Brian Setzer's guitar tone and wanted something like that in my arsenal of tones as well. The G5420T was a great way to begin that tone journey, without spending the $3k-ish of the Prolines.
Sound
The Blacktop Filtertrons in the guitar are by no measure bad pickups, but if you're looking for the classic Gretsch sounds they don't exactly get quite there. They sound good with some type of drive, but I play clean a lot and felt they were lacking something there that I was looking for. Tone is kind of like a Filtertron and PAF mixed, something I'm sure a lot of people will really like. If you're into Gibson type sounds, you'd probably be pretty satisfied. But as mentioned before I wanted the classic Gretsch sound, so I did swap out my pickups for some vintage style Filtertrons. I bought the guitar knowing that I'd most likely be switching them, so no big deal to me. Really just comes down to taste.
Features
I am not a fan of TOM bridges, switched mine to a Compton bridge right away. Lots of people are fine with the stock TOM, just not a design I like.
Ease of Use
Don't take the fact that I've modded this guitar to mean that it needs any modification! It was an excellent guitar right out of the box, played excellent and sounded good. I like to tinker with my guitars though, and feel like I've taken a very good guitar and made it great.
Quality
Very solidly built, as good as my American Fenders and Gibsons.
Value
For less than $1000, you're not going to find a better hollowbody guitar in my opinion.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed any support yet, don't imagine I will. I have heard good things though.
The Wow Factor
I get compliments all the time about how great the guitar looks and sounds.
Musical Background:
Studied guitar at LA Music Academy, play in active original band, 17 years playing overall.
Musical Style:
Most types of pop, rock and Americana.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2020 by PATRICK H in Kersey, CO
"My finest Guitar by a long shot"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first Gretsch, and now I am addicted. The setup was perfect out of the box, and the build quality is phenomenal. Super light weight, yet ultra-strong, and very, very easy to play. I have a strat and some Les Paul guitars, which I love a great deal, but this baby takes the cake. If ever I buy another guitar again, it will be a Gretsch. I wish I'd known years ago how over the top guitars like this truly are. Oh yeah, I got the Aspen green - ultra- gorgeous/super beautiful guitar. If you are on the fence - Get it. You will not be disappointed!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2017 by John M in North Fort Myers, FL
"My First Gretsch"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted a hollow body sound to go with a Les Paul and a Telecaster. This deep bodied beauty was set up almost perfectly from the factory, in fact, only personal preference would cause you to tweak it. The neck plays noticeably better for me than competitors' necks in the same general price range. I got the Fairlane blue with a hard case and the appearance is stunning and pro looking. It is my main squeeze on stage now and it plays fast and accurate with lead parts. Best of all, it retains the great harmonics of an acoustic with the medium black-top filtertron pickups for a clear and full sound. I use it with a Vox 40 watt modeling amp which allows for tube-like tones and many different sounds in overdrive/distortion tones. Glad I went for it.
Musical Background:
Part time player...different instruments....over a few decades.
Musical Style:
Blues, Christian, rock, folk, country.... and combinations thereof.
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2018 by Jay Sims in Austin, TX
"A “New” Classic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My guitar came well packed and without incident. The look is ALMOST classic, but that silly silver pickguard’s gotta go! The finish is flawless, the Bigsby and tuners work smoothly, and the action is sweet. The pickups are hotter than homemade chili, which surprised me a bit. This axe sounds great through my Princeton and my JC-40. Lots of bang for the buck. Now if they had just included a gig bag...
Musical Background:
41 years of writing, producing, playing
Musical Style:
All styles
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2017 by james n in queensbury, NY
"Be prepared"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was a wonderful sounding guitar. Maybe the best clean sounding guitar ever. The finish was flawless and awe striking. Good things right? Only problem was the way the guitar played. Too much buzz every where. The second register was gone. Set necks can be scary when leveling in combination with leveling the bridge to achieve a clean guitar. I don't have the skill to do this or the money to have it done. But that's what this guitar needed in my opinion. Great guitar. No way this should of passed quality control. Everything is fixable so don't think of this review as too negative. But be prepared. Good thing zZounds return policy is great. I'll look at another Gretsch in the future.
Musical Background:
20 year hobby
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to