Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)
LAST ONE

Godin A6 Ultra Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

This hybrid acoustic-electric gives you the best of both worlds, with a chambered body, thin neck, 16" radius fretboard and a humbucker in the neck position.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted August 9, 2014 by Bud Nelson in Venice, FL
"Godin A 6 Guitar"
I am 81 years old and having trouble with my wrists. This guitar is easy to play and sounds GREAT. My playing buddies say it is the best guitar for me.
Musical Background:
Banjo, guitar, uke. Have played professionally but now just play with friend.
Musical Style:
Dixieland jazz, ragtime, country.
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2016 by Gabriel Morones in Riverside, CA
"Happy but not surprised"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bougth this guitar because i was in need of an acoustic guitar , i kind of like the idea of having the electric sound option available on the same instrument , altougth it doesn't sound as nice on the electric side as it does on the acoustic(too bassy) . so pure electric I probably won't use ( specifically when I'm in need of distorted sound) , now , if you blend the transducer with the hummbucker , man , you can get some really nice acoustic tones out of it , I can't wait to try it with the band
Musical Background:
27 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Rock , latin, country , blues , folk
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2015 by winston steward in Frazier Park, CA
"I read reviews, contemplated, paused, and read some more. . and finally. . . "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
first of - The Godin A6 has a wonderful acoustic tone - actually many of them. There's nothing piezio or quacky or fake about the acoustic tones this guitar is capable of. For those of you thinking you need to bump up to a Taylor T5 to get legitimate acoustic tonality, there's no need. The Godin A6 provides a true arsenal of acoustic sounds while eliminated the feedback problem associated with recording/performing with big-body acoustic guitar. The bridge humbucker provides warmth, and because the A6 has two outputs, you can isolate the electric pickup on it's own track and output for all kinds of possibilities.
39 of 40 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com
"It's exactly what I wanted and more than I expected."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a "blemished" version of this guitar on this site, and I'm quite happy with it. I can't find a flaw. This guitar sounds great to me unplugged. It's not as loud and not likely as lush as most acoustic guitars with a soundhole but you'll be much much happier playing it acoustically than you would, say, a strat. I have recorded with the A6 on my phone without an amplifier and the details of my playing have come through. Its acoustic volume and tone have surprised me in a good way. This thing resonates well; touch the headstock when you play and you'll see. The harmonics are incredible all over the neck. When you mute the strings with your left hand and strike them, you will hear a pleasant high-pitched ringing consistent with your position on the neck. I have been playing my A6 through a Fender Princeton 112 Plus solid-state amp, designed for electric guitars. It sounds good anyway. I imagine it would sound better through an acoustic amp. The bridge transducer ("acoustic" pickup) sounds better than the humbucker to my ears, but the humbucker has a solid (if indistinct) electric sound. The guitar takes distortion well and I bet one could achieve a more distinctive tone on the humbucker through use of pedals, etc. Overall, playing the A6 feels like playing an acoustic and an electric at the same time (pardon the "duh factor" of that statement). It's light and thin but handles heavy-gauge strings without issues. The action of my guitar as ZZSounds set it up feels more like the action on acoustic guitars I've played. I was used to playing stratocasters when I got this and haven't had any trouble adjusting. This is a great choice if you're looking for an affordable, versatile acoustic/electric guitar with the weight and body size of an electric and the neck-feel of an acoustic.
26 of 27 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2015 by John C in Hardin, IL
"Great Guitar"
This guitar is new for me I was having problems with nerve damage from playing a full bodied acoustic guitar..This guitar plays good sounds good and feels really good to me and sounds really good playing through a acoustic amp
Musical Background:
45 years..guitar and drums.. home
Musical Style:
country and christian
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2018 by André Germain in Wainfleet, ON
"A great marriage of electric and acoustic guitars"
A good marriage of an acoustic and electric guitarI was looking for a thin-bodied acoustic guitar because a shoulder injury makes it too painful to play my full-bodied acoustics. After doing a lot of research online, I decided to give the A6 Ultra a try. I went to a local music store and gave one a good workout for about an hour and was amazed at its playability. Through a Fender acoustic amp, although it didn't sound exactly like a good full-bodied acoustic such as a Martin or a Gibson, it had its own sound, blending its under-the-saddle piezo with the humbucker. It also had a real acoustic guitar feel when finger-picked. At the same time, it had the playability of an electric guitar. I've tried finger-picking my Strat and my LP but that has always felt weird, not at all like picking my favourite Armbrust custom-built cutaway.A bonus is that the Godin is surprisingly loud when played unplugged.The A6 Ultra incorporates both a piezo and a humbucker pickup wired through a pre-amp/EQ with volume and tone controls for both pickups. When using the "blend" output jack and playing through a good sound system, by fiddling with these controls, I was able to get a sound that literally blew me away! Okay, not a true acoustic sound like my Armbrust of Gibson SJ25, but a warm round full sound with all the definition I hoped for with chords strummed or picked and with individual notes just sparkling at the high registers and yet well defined at the bass end.It is possible, using both output jacks, to have the output from the piezo going to one amp while the output from the humbucker is sent to another amp, handy for recording, I would think, but that's not something I'm into right now. Still, nice to know that option is there.I've got the natural satin finish model. I love the fact that there's nothing hiding the natural good looks of the real cedar top. I've never liked gaudy acoustic guitars. The shape of the body and headstock are classic in their simple yet aesthetic lines.Basically, this axe feels like an acoustic when finger-picked and yet plays like a well-set-up electric such as a strat or tele. The best of both worlds.Feels good and solid overall although I've read that some have had problems with the tuning machines. I ended up with the same problem so changed out the tuners and now all is fine.A well-made (Canadian, eh?) guitar which fills my needs admirably. Worth every penny I paid for it.I'd almost given up playing my acoustic guitars (my first love) because of this shoulder injury. This guitar has made it possible for me to get back to doing what I love best, finger-picking folk/folk blues and open/modal tuning instrumentals. Can't put a price on that!
Musical Background:
Played proffesionally from 1965 to 1995
Musical Style:
Folk, Country Rock, Country, Country Blues, Blues, instrumentals.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2019 by Richie B in Virginia Beach, VA
"Great Acoustic for the Electric Player"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I mainly play electrics. Suhr, EBMM are my go to. I had a Guild Songbird that I bought in '87 I think and life was getting to it. I knew I wanted a thinline and while I kind of liked the Taylor T5, didn't really want to spend that kind of money. Glad I didn't. This little Godin has the T5 covered in spades. It actually plays better than any of the Taylor's I've tried. The pickup options are fantastic. Bought this in Sep '18 and have done at least 30+ gigs with it. Sounds phenomenal through my Bose L1 with the Tone Match. Have had many compliments on this guitar and its sound. I would definitely buy this again. I think the only thing I would change would be to put locking tuners on it.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 45 years. Play guitar, bass, banjo, mandolin. Play professionally
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2015 by Darrell R in Tecumseh, KS
"Godin A6 Ultra"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this guitar based on other reviews and I was not disappointed. This guitar is of the highest quality and the acoustic sounds great unplugged or plugged in. I plugged in the separate coeds for electric and acoustic and was pleasantly pleased! Nice acoustic sound and with electric it adds depth and controlled volume with a volume pedal. zZounds has excellent prices service and warranties.
Musical Background:
Play electron and acoustic for over 30 years.
Musical Style:
Christian contemporary and Latin Tejano.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 9, 2016 by a customer from gmail.com
"godin a6 ultra"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
fantastic right from the box. just a change of strings and good to go. only downside. no case candy on how the preamp worked. think this a6 was a demo or return. had to go to Godin to get manual
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2018 by Mark Orostin in Cornelius, NC
"Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There aren't really words to describe the workmanship and tone of this amazing instrument. The case is excellent. The sound is perfect. The feel is other worldly. Cant believe the price is so low. It makes other high priced guitars feel unfinished by comparison.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2014 by Andrew S in Lowell, MA
"Almost in love..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Although this guitar is very well made (in Canada), it's missing a couple of crucial ingredients: Sound and Character.The fit and finish are very good. No flaws in workmanship or components.The electronics work good.It's very light and easy to play for hours...I love the neck. It's solid, with easy access to upper frets.But the sound is generic. The acoustic sound output sounds more like a "model" than the real thing.And the humbucker output has no character, no soul, no identity. It doesn't have the "singing" quality we normally associate with a hollow-body guitar. So it leaves you feeling a bit let down.
Musical Background:
35 years of making noise.
Musical Style:
non-music
22 of 30 people (73%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2020 by Glynn W. Pettiford in Browns Mills, NJ
"Godin Is Very High Quality Canadian Acoustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It helps smooth out and refine the acoustic presentation of your sound, and absolutely diminishes and reduces feedback and amp “amp howl” in intimate/stage performance. My favorite sound comes from pairing it with an SWR 100 Watt Bass and using the Aural Enhancer, while DI’d to the house mixing board! Works well with Mackies and most Yamaha Mixers very well, and does well with BOSE System setups!
Musical Background:
54 Years
Musical Style:
Various; R& B; Smooth Jazz; Funk; Rock; Fusion; Blues; Gospel; MOTOWN.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Not happy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After getting this very beautiful guitar and using it in church the first time the electronics have a serious issue. Humming and popping!! Very disappointed in this product waiting for zZounds to contact me on a return.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to