Gibson SG Standard '61 Electric Guitar (with Case)

Gibson SG Standard '61 Electric Guitar (with Case)

Classic design and appointments plus powerful Burstbucker 61 humbuckers make the Gibson SG Standard '61 electric a barn-burning rock 'n' roll machine.

Overall User Ratings (based on 10 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(10)
Submitted August 19, 2019 by Doc (Jim) Evans in St. Louis, MO
"'61 SG"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is amazing! Old school Gibson quality!! Great price, outstanding shipping time (next day by 1:00 PM!!!) Plays like a dream, super fast/comfortable neck, fantastic sounding pickups! Really nice case also. Better get one while they last!!
Musical Background:
Play Professionally (how I pay my rent!!)
Musical Style:
Blues, primarily, but can/will play any style
36 of 36 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2021 by NICHOLAS M in Utica, MI
"Yes, get one!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll keep this short, my 61 SG was perfect out of the box, action, feel, cosmetics, sound, everything. Slim-taper neck is fast and easy, a pleasure to hold and play. I had no idea I would like it this much, I simply wanted another Gibson (I have a Les Paul Special TV Yellow, also awesome but has fatter 50s neck and P-90s, which are amazing) but with the slim neck and humbuckers, and this one was both iconic and affordable. There is no "neck dive" as I've read some complain about. I understand why "only a Gibson is good enough," this is my second and once it's paid off, will move to a Gibson acoustic for my arsenal. As always, thank you to zZounds for making it possible for me to own this instrument with the no-interest payments.
Musical Background:
Played violin since I was 8 and guitar since I was 12 (I am 52).
Musical Style:
Mainly pop/rock.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 3, 2019 by James Cook in Frankfort, KY
"Flawless"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got mine today cosmetically the guitar is flawless and the sound is glorious It plays like a dream It just takes you along for the ride. Ted McCarty’s masterpiece!
Musical Background:
Lifetime professional musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock Blues
28 of 29 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2020 by Brian B in Murfreesboro, TN
"Excellence. A pure SG experience"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned 15 SGs. This is #16 and the only ones Ive had that could beat this were CS pieces and when I say "beat" its a pretty narrow margin. There is nothing that feels cheap or subpar. The new neck profile is thin with nice rounded shoulders giving it a fat neck comfort. The Vintage Cherry is thin and not overpowering and lets all the beautiful mahogany wood grain explode from this and its VERY grainy. Great looking board on it. Every edge is crisp, defined and deliberate. I was worried it wouldn't stack up to the new higher price tag but Ill have to say the small price bump vs the quality of what you get makes it well worth the price of admission. You finally feel like you're getting the right bang for your buck from Gibson again. The quality control is pretty impressive. The new pots Gibson are using are very responsive. The new cases are much more heavy duty. Setup was almost perfect out of the box. It was on my doorstep in less than 24hrs. If you're on the fence, get off of it and get on board. 12 pays, 0%, to your house lightning fast and worth every last penny.
Musical Background:
28 years playing and guitar collecting.
Musical Style:
A little bit of everything.
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2019 by Doc (Jim) Evans in St. Louis, MO
"61 SG"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing flawless finish! Plays great right out of the box...I did a slight adjustment because I like my action REALLY LOW,no buzzes top quality case also---SUPER NICE GUITAR!! I have purchased 4 guitars from Zzounds. Once again, zZounds hit it outta the park!!
Musical Background:
Playing professionally for 50+ years
Musical Style:
Bluesman. JazzI'll play ANY style of music---as long as i get paid at yhe end of the gig!! Write your request on a $100.00 bill!
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2022 by Gerald J in Winnsboro, LA
"Great guitar. Great playability. Great tone."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this guitar not fully knowing what to expect. Especially knowing the history of Gibson in recent years with all their quality issues. I am pleasantly surprised that these reviews I’ve been seeing are legit. This is a great guitar that is so easy to play with great speed. The neck is what you expect from a slim tapered neck and the fret work is flawless. I’ve always had to condition the neck and do a basic setup on everything with the exception of Fender. They seem to always get it right. The condition of this rosewood is spot on. The finish is flawless. I can’t find a thing wrong with this guitar. Way to go Gibson. You finally hit a home run. As usual, ZZounds service was right up there at the top as well. I actually received this guitar before it was scheduled to be here. Top shelf company for sure.
Musical Background:
I’ve been playing for 49 years.
Musical Style:
Blues, Gospel, Country, Classic Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2020 by Brent B in Clarksville, TN
"50 year guitar player"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just purchased the SG Gibson. Absolutely hassle free from start to finish to my front door in two days. Out of the box this baby was actually in tune to play. And what an enjoyable piece of workmanship. Made not 50 miles from my home in Nashville. You just can’t go wrong with this guitar.
Musical Background:
Playing over 50 years, play 6 string, bass, pedal steel, mandolin, banjo. Play professional.
Musical Style:
Country Rock, blues, jazz.
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2019 by T Stefan in MINNEAPOLIS, MN
"Nice...thanks!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar. Excellent Setup! Haven't had an SG in over 25 years and am extremely happy with this purchase, as well as the Payment Terms.
Musical Background:
30+ years - played in a few bands but enjoy just jammin' at home and recording
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Alternative & Blues
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2020 by Robert Markowicz
"Bob"
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ck to see if it has hand wire and orange drops. Mine came with computer board. Not as advertised. Very disappointed!
19 of 37 people (51%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2022 by Chuck A in New York, NY
"Two Grand, not going to happen, here!"
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
I’ve owned a number of SG guitars in my long, over extended life, and my First cost $200 with case included, the year being 1971. Pete Townshend was smashing them on stage with The Who, by the dozen in his White Jump Suit, back then. Mine was the P90 version, bought by my Dad at the time, as a birthday gift. My grandfather paired me up with a 50wt small head Marshall and 8-10” matching cab. At my tender young age, I didn’t really know what I had. But, I soon found out with a little reputation as the guy with the “English sound.” Best Axe and Amp combo I’ve ever had! That Marshall cost my grandfather all of $650 with vinyl cover to boot! Of course that too was an astronomical amount of cash back then. Anyway, I would never pay $1999 for a Gibson SG today. I’d rather go with the Epiphone variety, which I have been for a number of years. This ‘61 SG Standard appears to have alot going on for itself from the few reviews I’ve read, but I suppose they’re only a few because many guitarists don’t want to spend that kind of bread either. If you care about prestige, “vintage” type of guitars, knock yourselves out! Enjoy!
Musical Background:
Semi-pro
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock and Jazz
of 15 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.