Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Gibson 2016 Les Paul Studio T Electric Guitar (with Case)

Gibson 2016 Les Paul Studio T Electric Guitar (with Case)

Get the Les Paul you know and love. Loaded with coil-splittable 490R and 498T pickups, this LP Studio T is perfect for players seeking a utilitarian guitar.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted June 24, 2016 by Mikeilah Kennedy-LeFae in Colorado Springs, CO
"My Silver Ghost"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am, for all intent and purpose, a professional musician. I have played guitar for almost 50 years, one year shy of 50, actually. I've watched guitars evolve along with quality. It used to be, the quality of an instrument was contingent upon what you paid for the instrument. My Les Paul Studio T came to me in flawless condition, the set up was, pretty much, spot on. I play through a Marshall JCM 2000 TSL paired with a full stack of speakers, (a 1960A and a 1960B). The 498T and 490R Pickup combination, paired with the Marshall, is truly Iconic, and you hear the roots of Rock and Roll in every note, every chord and power chord. The Coil Split/Coil Tap is interesting and offers a wide range of sound. If you want that fat Strat sound, when playing Rhythm, with both pickups single coiled, you get it... if you want the Strat 'Lead' sound, you can have that too. The neck is fast, and for a set neck guitar, the sustain is surprisingly great. I have 3 other guitars, all of which are neck through body, with string through body as well, and the Studio T has as much sustain as do the others. I have one other Les Paul, it's the 5 Finger Death Punch Les Paul. I am extremely pleased with my Studio T. The fit and finish is perfect, (Mine is Silver Pearl), the quality is magnificent, I have since purchasing it, done a little cosmetic work with it, but nothing to affect it's playability, the quality of sound. The guitar plays like butter, the sound is what I expected and wanted. It is the classic and iconic Les Paul sound Yeah, 1400 isn't that much to spend, but for that 1400, you get an instrument that is comparable to Gibson Les Paul's costing 3-4 times that. You will be most pleased if you take the plunge. I am glad I did.
Sound
It is, for me, sonically perfect. It compliments and enhances my style of playing.
Features
The most useful is the guitar itself... I don't use the coil tap that much, but haven't had it available before, either.
Ease of Use
It's a cake walk to get the sound I want and need. The learning curve is all but non-existent. It plays like butter, and sounds even better.
Quality
Absolutely flawless on all counts
Value
The value and quality is there in spades.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed to avail support.
The Wow Factor
Quite frankly, pictures do not, even, come close to doing the instrument justice, especially mine, as it's silver pearl.
Musical Background:
I have played for 49 years, Singer/Songwriter, Lead/Rhythm, have music degree
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Classic Metal, Celtic Rock
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 29, 2016 by Mikki Kennedy-LeFae in Colorado Springs, CO
"An Outstanding Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this Gibson Les Paul Studio a few months. Mine is the silver pearl edition. I've been playing since the age of 12, I'm now 61, 62 next month. Right out of the case it was ready to go, other than a minor tuning. The quality is outstanding, fit and finish is flawless. I play through a Marshall JCM2000 TSL full stack and what can I say except it's an iconic pairing. The 490R in the neck and the 498T in the bridge is simply phenomenal. Great "chunk" for those classic rhythms, solid mid range, highs with just enough bite playing clean. Switch to Overdrive and you've a roar driven by both pickups that will melt your face... The Marshall's OD channel is about all I need for distortion, unless I want to play something seriously brutal. As with most LP's it has weight, but there's a comfort in that weight. This Studio is one of two Les Paul's I own, that is not a signature guitar, but holds its own sonically, cosmetically, and in playability, with my other Les Paul's and SG's. It will handle and has handled everything I've thrown at it. The coil tap/spilt is another great feature and opens up another realm of sonic acuity. The neck is fast and friendly, if you follow my drift. Frankly, it has it all, and for the money, it's hard to beat. On a side note, the folks at zZounds have been great. My next endeavor will be a 2017 Les Paul HP Standard, in Blueberry Burst.
Musical Background:
Playing about 50 years, Teach Guitar, play professionally
Musical Style:
Celtic Rock, Classic Rock, Classic Metal,
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2018 by Brian Hartley in Palm springs, CA
"Excellent Les Paul!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've owned many Les Pauls and Gibson's I must say that this is an excellent instrument very well-built sounds awesome I believe it to be one of the best guitar I've owned I've owned a 56 Les Paul special I've owned a custom shop and a 2014 Les Paul tribute 60s. Not at all these guitar and they were all great this guitar is great I would buy it in a heartbeat again it's finish is impeccable fretwork is perfect it is just simply an awesome guitar there's nothing that I can do to complain about this guitar and I would recommend anybody who's looking for a Les Paul in a lower price range you will not be unhappy. Having said that the pickups I don't really use the pole on the coil split because I like the way they sound as they are butt if you do like coil spits then you got them if you don't it doesn't matter you still got a excellent guitar playability beautiful woodwork ship a beautiful finish sustain forever the fretboard I'm really impressed with I wanted that natural 60s neck not something to tapered so my fingers and be cramped this guitar fits the bill so I wouldn't hesitate to buy this guitar again. American-made Beautiful Finish excellent sounding sustain everything it's all there I recommend this guitar! By the way I must say that zZounds is the most awesome company that I've ever had the pleasure of buying equipment from.
Musical Background:
Over 30 years of playing guitar.
Musical Style:
Mostly Rock to Hard Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2017 by Joseph Reynolds in East Haven, CT
"ZZOUNDS ROCKS!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just ordered the 2016 Studio T and saw on my account that it just shipped today and should arrive tomorrow, totally stoaked reading all the super positive reviews about this guitar, can’t wait for it to arrive. I’m 55 years old and have been playing since I was 11 and thanks to zZounds’ INCREDIBLE PAY as you PLAY option this is the first Gibson I will be able to afford. With a wife, 4 kids and a mortgage my monthly budget doesn’t allow me to just drop over a Grand in one shot on something JUST FOR ME, but zZounds makes the impossible, POSSIBLE!!! Thank you zZounds!!! This is actually the third guitar I’ve bought from them to date, plus some effects and accessories and if this Gibson Les Paul Studio T is anything like my Jackson and Fender Stratocaster I’ve already purchased from zZounds, I’m sure to have a Super positive review coming shortly to post. 5 Stars ✨ for zZounds !!!
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for over 43 years, played semi-professionally when I was in my youth but now just jamming at home or with friends
Musical Style:
Modern Rock, Classic Rock, Blues, Metal.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2016 by Renee Whaley in San Jose, CA
"GIBSON 2016 LES PAUL STUDIO T- ELECTRIC GUITAR"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing guitar since I was 14, I am now 48. I always wanted a Gibson and now I finely own a beautiful 2016 T studio Les Paul. Zzounds is everything they seem to be . So far every thing they have to offer the customer with service, advice or questions answered is top of the line. Im blown away by this company . the guitar arrived on time. it is more beautiful than the picture, ready to play , all the little gizmos were included, including a two year Gibson gold warrenty. I have been trying to get my solo mojo back in gear and this Studio Les Paul does it for me. I play a music backtrack and improvise my solos, All I want to do is play it everyday . All my other guitars are now going bye bye so I can have this and hopefully buy more great quality instruments I always waited and long dereved a lifetime for. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a Gibson Les Paul . Thank you Zzounds. Im thrilled again and feel like a kid in a candy store.
Musical Background:
guitar classical and electric 36 years, bass 28 years and drums 27 years - Bob Culbertson from the stick band was my very first
Musical Style:
I love it all ,but classical and hard rock, british old style metal and blues I favor. Put it this way I will just say the name
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 7, 2016 by Elvin Gonzalez in Winter Springs, FL
"Awesome Guitar! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing guitar for more than 12 years now and I've owned a lot of guitars. From low quality to high quality, and by far this 2016 Gibson Les Paul Studio T has been the best guitar I have ever played. It's super easy and comfortable to play and the sound is like you would expect from a high quality instrument. Distinctive classic Les Paul tone, beautiful cleans and screaming distortion sounds. I am playing in church now and this guitar gives me the ability to play any style of music. The coil tap makes it super versatile and helpful to get the sound or tone you are looking for. From zzounds I have to say that there play as you pay plan is a blessing for those that can't spend thousands of dollars at the moment. zZounds shipped the guitar on time and gave me an excellent customer service answering all my questions and clarifying my doubts.
Musical Background:
More than 12 years playing guitar.
Musical Style:
Christian
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2017 by Anthony F
"Gibson 2016 Les Paul Studio T_Red Rocker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar. It weighs 9lbs and is very solid. It almost feels like it don't have any weight relief actually. The pickups are nice and punchy which much tone. This guitar was way worth buying and I wish I could have picked a blue or the green as well, but I went for the weight as well as the solid color paint job as opposed to the others which I could see the wood outlines in the neck and back. It plays easy and has much control. This years 2017 colors as well as the ultra modern weight relief don't do much for me. I'm happy with this one as much as my higher end Les Pauls. Yes, I give this a 11...The one I got is a low number too. Who knows, maybe someone working at the plant did some solid. You never know.. As for zZounds, you guys ROCK!!!! Thanks a million for anything you've done for me!
Musical Background:
41 years
Musical Style:
Good solid Hard Rock, Older Metal mostly British..but USA and Europe as well..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 5, 2015 by Richard Riner in Houston, TX
"AWESOME!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love the sound from this guitar! Its just what I was looking for. The split coils make this able to make twice as many different sounds come form it. All I can say is its a great guitar and built to last. I have had it about a month so am still working my way through all the things it is capable of doing, will update you later!!
Musical Background:
playing 5 years
Musical Style:
I like it all
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2016 by Gary W in Clarksville, TN
"Awsome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unboxed this baby today. included with this guitar was a real picture of its birth on the diagnostic table, after plugging in to my Marshall amp I was very pleased by the sound. I am very pleased by this guitar. it Rocks!!! no kidding. I selected red wine with gold hardware, beautiful guitar. even my wife said wow. when I played her. I named her Stacey. cause shes staying with me. not interested in ever selling this one.
Musical Background:
Recording Musician
Musical Style:
Rock , Pop,
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2017 by Mason C in Malden, MO
"2016 was a good year"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the second Studio I've bought this year. I bought a 2017 exclusive run amber model and aside from the look, that guitar sucked. It was too light and sounded muddy. I ended up putting bare knuckle miles on it to give it some character. So needless to say I was a bit hesitant to buy another Studio, however at the price of the 2016's I almost couldn't say no. I bought a silver one fully expecting to replace pickups, pot, caps. HOWEVER I was presently suprised when it arrives it just felt right. The weight was there, the fretboard felt like an older model, and the pickups actually sing! I'm going to get a set up to eliminate some fret buzz, but other then that leave it stock. This guitar blows my 2017 out of the water.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2018 by Brenda Lancaster in Princeton , KY
"Picture doesn’t come close"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The picture doesn’t do this beautiful instrument justice, it looks breathtaking in person. Then we have the feel...the slick neck that your hand just glides down, not as heavy as it looks but plenty beefy for sustain lovers. It truly felt like they had me in mind when they built this guitar-made for me personally! But the main objective is the sound. I have several Gibson’s and this one still surprises me, it sounds better than ones I’ve paid much more for. I was in awe of just how clear and precise each note rang out. It’s hard to explain how magnificent this instrument truly is. Will be with me til I die.
Sound
Hard to put into words how unbelievably concise and clear each note sounds. I have gotten sounds from Gibson that you can’t get anywhere else, but this studio in particular, sounds better than any instrument I have.
Features
The hardware could have been better, as I’m not a fan of speed knobs but that will be the only thing I will be changing at all on this guitar. It is perfect.
Ease of Use
I’ve heard players say they are just beginning and not worthy of a great instrument yet—no matter how long you’ve been playing, as SOON as you able, get one of these. You will never want to put it down which is great(more practice time) and you will be amazed at the tones even a beginner can get from this baby
Quality
I have heard negative remarks about Gibson quality control—this instrument was certainly one that had none of those issues. Perfect, absolutely perfect.
Value
I’m sure I would be able to re-sell this guitar for as much as I’m paying nearly. But I would never do that, love it too much
Manufacturer Support
I have never once had to contact Gibson, in all my years of playing, but I’m sure they have great customer service (and a very lonely and bored complaint taker!)
The Wow Factor
When I opened the case and honestly gasped, that should tell you. The white impeccable guitar in the fur lined case-even if I lost both hands and could never play again I would keep this to look at daily.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for myself since age 9 and am 45
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, all of it really
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2016 by ricky hicks in taylor, MI
"cant get a les paul for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this guitar has a great look and beautiful feel,very fast neck,coil tapping i dont use much,but its fun to play with,ive played alot of studios this one by far the best!!!
Musical Background:
im just a bedroom rocker,but a good one!!
Musical Style:
blues,classsic rock,metal,a couple hair bands
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 3, 2016 by Aaron L in Taylor, MI
"Bummer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I purchased this guitar, I had been using a PRS S2 and a Telecaster. I missed that Les Paul tone. Last year I bought an Epiphone Es339 with split coil, so to have to the split coil option on a Les Paul really had my attention. Sadly with this guitar this wasn't enough of a difference between the pick ups when the coils were tapped and they weren't to justify the price here. The look of the guitar like most Les Pauls was immaculate. Yet I also noticed there wasn't much difference when you had the toggle switch in the center like Jimmy Page use to do. Maybe others will have better luck than I did, and I hope they do, cause lets be honest, There is nothing like a Gibson, when you get a good one that is
Musical Background:
playing for 20+ yrs, play guitar, and bass. I play in a band the gigs and records often
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, country,
4 of 9 people (44%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us