Gibson Slash Les Paul Standard Electric Guitar (with Case)
PRICE DROP

Gibson Slash Les Paul Standard Electric Guitar (with Case)

Loaded with Custom Burstbucker Alnico pickups and topped with figured AAA maple, the Slash LP Standard celebrates Slash's career-long love of Les Pauls.

Overall User Ratings (based on 10 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(10)
Submitted July 22, 2020 by Dave G
"Great version of the Standard"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll admit it - I'm a sucker for a flame maple top and when looking for a Les Paul this time, I was tempted to buy a used Custom Shop R9 (and there are some great ones out there going for hundreds and thousands more - and those are 10 or 15 years old). The Slash models appealed to me because they're brand new Gibson Standards with beautifully figured tops and the pickguard is not installed from the factory. Why have a sexy top and hide half of it under a plastic pickguard? zZounds had a really nice selection photos of each one and they are all different! Some have a sharp cutoff between the burst and the dark border. Some have more red in the November burst. I picked one with fairly symmetrical flame and without the dark black band near the binding - you can see the flame all the way out to the edges. The guitar arrived from zZounds in a day and a half and was in perfect condition. Not a fingerprint on it and the factory setup was as close to perfect as I've ever experienced. Seriously. Set up is a personal choice (I like mine low), but I played the guitar all afternoon and never really thought the action was too high. The frets were perfect! Good job Gibson (and Herr Plek)!Now I'm not a huge Slash fan, but this guitar is really nice. I think it's worth the premium over the Standard to get a gorgeous top and no pickguard installed. Tonewise (what really matters, LOL), the pickups are sweet and remarkably responsive to the controls. I can't think of another guitar I've owned that I could transition from jazz to country to rock without going to the amp or pedals. I wouldn't change a thing. I am very happy with this purchase! Oh, and it smells SO sweet. God bless nitrocellulose!
Musical Background:
Playing 50 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Classic Rock mostly and a little jazz and country.
39 of 39 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 7, 2020 by David Z in Redondo Beach, CA
"Slash Paul"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Totally lucked out with the one I purchased. 8.4 pounds! Right out of the case the guitar was perfectly set up, flawless. The quality is excellent. The feel and tone playing this reminded me of my original 1972 Gibson Les Paul Deluxe but lighter. . I love everything about it. Nice maple top, The Neck, frets and fret board are exquisite. Like an R9 So what more can I say but get one! The zZounds staff are very cool.
Musical Background:
45 years musician semi Pro., play Fender Strats, Tele, Les Paul , Heritage, Kiesel.
Musical Style:
Blues/ classic rock,
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2021 by Edison F in Honolulu, HI
"Sweet November Burst"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this last year at the end of June and just writing my review now. I wanted to make sure it wasn’t just infatuation or new guitar bliss that’s distorting my perceptions of this guitar. So this review is 9 months after the purchase date. Here is what I think... Hands down the best Les Paul I’ve ever played under $3000. I even went to the local Guitar Center and A/B’d it with a ‘59 Reissue that cost $7K, it was exactly the same resonance and tone unplugged. I put my ears up close to the body as I played each one, and they both sounded wonderful. Strong, punchy mids, and a loud chime! Best of all, you could feel the neck vibrating on both very strong. My November Burst weighs 8 pounds and 10 ounces, so maybe that was it? I don’t know, but this is the first Les Paul I’ve ever purchased without having to play it first. So I had to rely on weight specs. I’ve noticed that every Custom Shop 59 or 58 reissue was usually under 9 pounds. Some even under 8 pounds. So I made my decision with this purchase on 2 factors: weight and color. I wanted a guitar under 9 pounds and I wanted a November Burst that had a lighter tobacco finish that didn’t have an extreme contrasty fade from brown to burst. Thank goodness it came out perfect! The stock pickups, which are called “Slashbuckers” on the bottom, have a nice gritty sound but still sweet. I didn’t like how it sounded on the higher notes though. They started to get thin and lose its mids and definition when playing higher than the 15th fret. In other words, the ending outro solo of playing “November Rain” would just become too thin for my tastes. So I swapped them out with the real Seymour Duncan Slash pickups, and boom! Exact Slash tone heaven. I think the original pickups good, and they even sound better playing riffs and chords, but when playing solos, it loses its midrange punch compared to the Seymour Duncans. I give this guitar 5 stars, and when I’m done paying it off in June, I’m buying the Vermillion Burst!!!
Musical Background:
Played original songs 20 years ago, now just a jam session guy
Musical Style:
Guns N Roses covers, and improvised solos over current top 40 hits. Blues based, simple pentatonic and minor scales, but pure em
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2022 by Bill C in Winchester, CA
"6 Months Update."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Okay, now that the initial excitement is over and I’ve had enough time to get a true impression for myself I will give you my honest opinion of this model. I am still in love with this guitar from the tip of the headstock to the tip of the bottom strap button. I have not had to do a thing to it except change strings and basic upkeep. I am absolutely enamored with this guitar. I have a 2005 60s neck Standard I feel the same way about but my 2021 Slash Appetite Amber Standard is even better at staying in tune (yes even that annoying g string) and I’ve gotten many compliments on how great my 05 stayed in tune and how well the playability and overall fit and finish was including from my luthier friend and others. I’ve had offers and I’ve been told never sell it. Well I love my 21Slash even more the only thing I wish it didn’t have is the Slash Skully on the back not that it’s such a big deal it’s just I feel like I am advertising (which I guess I am actually) not that I don’t like Slash. Everything on this guitar is amazing tuners, fretwork, hardware and the finish I even love the pick ups. The only thing I can truly list honestly as a negative is that the2021 Gibson Les Paul Standard is for all intents and purposes the same guitar spec wise for $ 200 less but the slash comes with Dunlop strap locks and a little more case candy but what sold me was the biggest difference, there were 5 finish choices to the 50s one. I said I would keep this short so I LP just end this by saying. I am very happy with my choice it is the best playing and prettiest looking guitar I’ve ever owned. I have other Gibson models and Fender guitars as well as some nice acoustics and still I have to tell you honestly this is my favorite guitar bar none. I’ve been playing for more than 40 years and with this guitar I get almost as giddy as I did when I opened up my very first Gibson Les Paul. One thing, I want to mention if you’re like I was the very first time I bought a guitar on the internet do not stress. zZounds is an incredibly good company to do business with. You have nothing to lose buying from them. They have a 45 day no questions asked return policy and their customer service people are fantastic. They do answer anything you need and they are extremely knowledgeable about everything musical instruments and if one doesn’t have the answer someone else will. Don’t forget on top of all that and a kick ass selection AND price matching on top of that, they have a killer payment plan program that just about everyone is eligible for. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a new Les Paul. I know I’m already shopping for my November Burst model.
Features
Not only are the materials used in building this remarkable guitar absolutely visually stunning but the tone woods and hardware are top of the line and the total of the ingredients just create an awesome symphony of sonic joy.
Musical Background:
45 years
Musical Style:
Classic rock Blues Rock Southern Rock Classic Heavy Metal Some Classic Country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2021 by a customer from maine.gov
"Absolutely Outstanding"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
In the early 90's, my wife bought me an Epiphone Les Paul Standard (black w/gold hardware) and I adored that guitar - still do. Now, all these years later, she bought me this Slash Les Paul (Victoria Goldtop) and I cannot be more satisfied! This is beyond excellent. Of course, I have been a Slash fan since the moment I heard Paradise City at the roller rink back in the late 80's. To me, he is the embodiment of everything that is rock 'n roll. His style of playing and his sound are nothing short of legendary and he is, and always has been, my favorite axe-wielder. Obviously, Jimmy Page and Joe Perry are right there, but Slash was for my generation - the golden-era between Glam and Grunge! The transition from the old world to the new world. Listen, nostalgia aside, this guitar is as good as they say. The quality and attention to detail is absolutely top-notch and sound is amazing. I have just been playing it with, more or less, just clean tones and I can't get over how perfect it sounds. Thanks Gibson (and Slash) for providing us mere mortals with a way to connect, in a meaningful way, with one of the most legendary sounding guitars on the planet. Well done!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2021 by Bill C in Winchester, CA
"Slash and Gibson should be proud."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the guitar I dreamed of when I was a 12 year old Ace Frehley fan. It is far nicer and well prepared and inspected than I could ever have asked for. There honestly isn’t anything I can find anywhere on this guitar that should not be or and the only thing missing is the volume reflector from the top of the knob. It isn’t broken it just needs a little more glue and that’s the only thing wrong with my awesome new guitar. I have never received a guitar with the quality of the fit finish and QC I am just absolutely amazed. I’ve purchased 2 other Gibsons a Fender a Breedlove a couple amps and other gear and as happy with my purchases as I am none of them were prepared for the customer as well as this. Is this just an aberration I really don’t know, I have heard a lot of really good things about the direction Gibsons heading so I just think these high end guitars are being delivered to customers in the condition they should be. The guitar plays as great as it looks and it has tones that just seem to reverberate endlessly. The 50s neck is the most comfortable I have ever played. I own another Standard and Explorer with slim taper necks. The 50s neck combined with the 12 in radius fills my hand and seems to give a feeling of better control. I love everything about this axe and by the way I am a Slash fan but I didn’t buy this guitar for that reason. I already replaced the signed TRC with the blank. I love the pick ups and all the specs of this guitar and I wanted the Amber AAA top since I first saw it in 1987. To me this is an absolutely awesome version of the Standard so if you’re in the market for something special I would definitely check one of these out before you purchase something else
Musical Background:
44 years
Musical Style:
Blues Rock Classic Hard Rock Classic Rock Southern Rock Classic Heavy Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2021 by Michael Cash in Kennesaw, GA
"The Guitar Of My Childhood And Adult Dreams! (Appetite Amber)"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
About 34 years ago, I saw the coolest guy I'd ever seen play a guitar playing an awesome guitar in the awesomest band I'd ever heard. This is the guy that made me want to play the guitar and the guy I imagined I was when I got my first guitar and posed with it in front of the mirror. I've been a huge fan of both GNR and Slash most of my life and decided it was time to get the guitar that inspired me to start playing.The guitar is gorgeous! The pictures are great but it's so much more beautiful in person! I just sat looking at it in awe for half an hour before I took it out of the case! The tone is right on. I wasn't expecting anything less. The pickups are super hot and responsive.It plays like a dream! Right out of the case it was perfect!The case candy is added bonus! I've never owned a Gibson and they definitely won me over as a future customer with it.So, if you love Slash, love sexy Les Pauls, or just love beautiful works of art, I would recommend this guitar!
Musical Background:
Playing 32 years and counting!
Musical Style:
A little bit of it all
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2021 by James V in Hamilton, OH
"Gibson Slash Les Paul Standard November burst"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After 30 yrs of playing and daydreaming lol,I finally bought a Real Les Paul,and it’s friggin Awesome lol ,I went for the Slash November burst.not so much for the slash affiliation,( although of course I like Slash)but more for the specs,and hopes for great QC,and that’s exactly what I got,absolute killer guitar ,no imperfections,sounds,looks,plays Great,goin straight into Dsl40cr feeding Marshall 212 with a vintage 30 and Gt-75 it’s rippin!! The handful of friends and relatives that have played it have ALL been blown away,great neck,highly recommend,Thanks zZounds and my Wife,for helping a dream come true!!
Musical Background:
Rock,blues,Metal,Bluegrass
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Slash Series Anaconda Burst"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received this guitar and man, what a beautiful guitar. It was packed nice and came with a case, not a gig bag. Opened the boxes and gave the guitar a good look over and it looks awesome. I've had many guitars and have bought several from zZounds and I've never had a problem with the service and the customer service is excellent. I did not realize how heavy a gibson is because my other guitars arent that heavy but, anyone who puts them in their hands can tell that it's a quality product and as far as I'm concerned, those and fenders are the best made guitars on the planet. this is also my first gibson and I'm very pleased with the purchase. Thanks to zZounds for doing what they do by letting me pay as I play.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Worth every penny"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received my blemished version of a guitar I've always dreamed of owning, a Slash signature gold top Les Paul Standard. And it did not disappoint. As much as I love this guitar, this particular one should never have left the factory. 2 very small dings on the back, both volume and one of the tone knobs are a bit lopsided, as is the pickup selector. Easy fixes but still should not have left the factory. But after playing the guitar through both my Marshalls I can say this guitar is a machine made to rock. The Slashbuckers are awesome and a kick in the pants to the original burstbuckers. I can easily see myself getting the Appetite Amber version as well. So if you want a suped up 50's Standard without the pickguard already attached, this is the way to go. I really do hate those screw holes left in the guitar when I take the pickguard off
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.