Gibson Les Paul Special Tribute P-90 Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Gibson Les Paul Special Tribute P-90 Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Gibson pays homage to the earliest Les Pauls with this Special Tribute. A pair of P90 pickups offers a raw midrange that fits just right in a hard rock mix.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(9)
Submitted November 15, 2020 by John Page in East Machias, ME
"ENDLESS SUSTAIN!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got mine in worn white. I'm not nuts about the finish as to me it looks half painted. Now that being said this guitar is LOUD. The neck is smooth and fast. Perfect frets and action! The sustain on this is unreal! it just goes on and on! The PUPS growl and are super loud. I don't think i have heard louder PUPS. This is a rock machine and worth every penny! Bear in mind no case is included but still well worth the price and tapped harmonics? One of the best guitars i have ever heard for harmonics. Gibson knocked this out of the park! I got mine right here at zZounds! You can see it in action herehttps://youtu.be/kZOwJyoRlFM
Musical Background:
30 years mostly off, serious the last year.
Musical Style:
Rock, metal and everything else.
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2020 by Shawn O
"Great guitar!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was pleasantly surprised by the sheer amount of sustain this has. You can still feel the notes vibrating through the mahogany body, long after you stop hearing them, unplugged! Neck has a fat 50's style feel, but is a pleasure to play. I ordered the P90 version, and can't say enough about these pickups. Neck pickup is warm and fat, and bridge is very clear and with the right tone setting can start to get Tele style twang. Put on a little crunch and the P90's begin to growl and give great hard rock tones. Fit and finish was excellent, and zZounds shipping is top of the line, delivered in 2 days, same as my previous Acoustic and Amp purchases. I highly recommend the Les Paul Special Tribute to anyone looking for a versatile, made in USA guitar. I normally sway to Fender, but this has just stolen my #1 guitar spot.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Folk, Bluegrass, Blues, Country, Classic Rock, Modern Rock.
48 of 49 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2020 by Don A in Oro grande, CA
"Worth it"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this in the worn white finish, it looks good. The neck is comfortable even though my hands are not large and I can easily access all parts of the fretboard. The sound of the p90s is phenomenal and because of this guitar I will next be buying a hollow or semi hollow with p90s. Sweet and chimey even with an all mahogany body.I actually find the neck pickup having an enjoyable tone to my ears, with humbuckers I usually only use it blended with the bridge. Fit and finish is well done. Has good tuning stability, I swapped out the factory strings for some 8 to 38s. Love the wrap around bridge. This guitar plays like a champ! zZounds customer service was excellent as always, answered the phone within a minute and handled everything I needed done quickly and professionally.
Musical Background:
Playing a few years, only at home. Not a professional musician.
Musical Style:
Varied
31 of 33 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"P90 Powerhouse"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Gibson has really stepped up their game. No-frills, but it doesn't need any. In my opinion, the P90 is probably the most versatile pickup out there.This guitar can do it all: Rock, Punk, Twang... you name it. Even gets a gnarly metal tone.Neck is super comfortable, body is nice and lightweight, but still packs a wallop.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Gibson does it again"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own 2 Gibson Explorers and a Firebird. This is my first Les Paul. After tons of research I determined this was the most value for my money, and I wasn’t wrong. The finish, intonation and presentation were flawless, what you would expect from Gibson Factory QC. Now when it comes to the sound It was very impressive. This guitar far exceeded my expectations and it’s up to par with my more expensive models. The neck is fast and easy to play. The P-90s deliver and ridiculous amount of sustain, growl and clarity like no other guitar I ever owned. I played through an ORANGE ROCKER 15 that I also got from zZounds and I’m just very pleased with this combination. Thank you zZounds and Gibson, you guys rock \m/.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Gibson P-90 tribute."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Never had a P90. Never going back. Love this guitar.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 4, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Special Tribute"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The ax is fabulous...chimy & sustains forever
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2020 by a customer from outlook.com
"pleasantly surprised"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was afraid this guitar would sound to muddy I have been a die hard fender strat for 30 yrs guy and still am but the thicker wider clean sound I get from the P90 pickups is great .it has a easy two screw action adjustment like my 1986 super strat with system one locking tremolo .love the natural finish and build quality I can get, the action low if the kneck pickup gets muddy when you add allot of distortion just dial the pickup volume down to 8 and you get a clear sweat sound .I myself adjusted the kneck pickup so it does not have that issue also I like that unlike stratocasters i own which can take some work to get a good sound in some of the 5 pickup selections this with the P90 always sounds good in all 3 selector settings even before I tweak them to how I prefer my tone to sound so point is great guitar great build quality awsome sound great for blues which I play and user friendly , I am still a fender strat lover but being this is my 1st les paul I llike this les paul tribute with P90 pickups If I wanted there are alot of other P90 choices out there but I like the stock ones it came with
10 of 13 people (77%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Virtually unplayable neck but at least it sounded nice."
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The first one I received had a neck that was virtually unplayable. The fretboard was noticeably narrower than the neck. That meant that the neck had some over hang on each side. The sides of the narrower board were so rough that it felt awful and sharp almost to the point that a splinter would be possible. I figured that it was a dud, maybe a Friday made guitar and it just slipped past QC at Gibson. I was wrong. Did an exchange. The replacement was in the same shape. This may just be a bad run of these because all the other reviews are stellar, hence the reason I didn't even have to think about buying one. Just be warned about purchasing entry level Gibson products. I called Gibson's customer support and emailed pictures. No response. The only positive things I have to say are that the guitar is a great weight and the p90s sound awesome. Creamy when clean and raunchy with some dirt.I have a 2020 Les Paul Classic and it's top notch as well as a 2015 model Studio with awesome fit and finish.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.