Gibson Exclusive Flying V Tribute Electric Guitar (with Case)

Gibson Exclusive Flying V Tribute Electric Guitar (with Case)

Get your hands on this Flying V Tribute for rich, soaring tones. Our exclusive model features an Olive Drab finish and a set of 490R and 490T humbuckers.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(11)
Submitted September 11, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great Guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I decided to purchase this guitar, it was based on another review here on zZounds. I have to say that my experience was as good as the previous reviewer's.The guitar is a satin finished guitar that isn't too unlike the "government" models from 7-8 years ago. The paint seems very durable and it looks pretty amazing on the guitar. The setup out of the box was spot on. The action is perfect, the nut cut was excellent. No fret buzz anywhere and the string heights were spot on. The neck width is perfect for soloing and the frets are well done. No jagged frets at all.The pickups were an interesting choice in my opinion. I have several other Flying Vs, one with Dirty Fingers, another with Dirty Fingers +, a third with EMGs and the other with a 57 classic and a BurstBucker 3. The 490s are more typical to a SG then a V but they work and work well. My fiance commented that the guitar has growl. The pickup combination on this guitar makes it perfect for rock, hard rock and metal (what I used it for). My guitar came in a hard case with all the case candy (strap, multi tool, picture and warranty information). I don't know if all will but this was a super nice bonus!If this guitar is typical for what the new Gibson is doing, they have me back as a customer. Kudos to Zzounds for a great deal on the guitar and excellent customer service. It helps to call and talk to someone.
27 of 27 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Does what Gibson does"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, this guitar shipped with a hard case and not a gig bag as advertised. It came with all of the regular Gibson case candy: warranty info, inspection sheet, multi tool, strap, a photo on the work bench, and the Gibson instruction manual.The 490r in my particular one sounded a tad muddy with the gain cranked up so I had to drop the pick up body, raise the poles and swap the a2 for an a5 magnet but now it’s phenomenal. Everything was near perfect out of the box as far as the intonation and action, it was just detuned for shipment. There are no sharp fret edges, no high spots, and they came decently polished. The neck was set with the perfect amount of relief as well. The only thing I would like to see is the rubber strip like on some of the older models and maybe an ebony fretboard version.The green is the same color as the Chris Cornell es 335 with a satin finish. You can still see the wood grain and pockets through the finish much like the other tribute guitars and SG faded and specials. This is a fast neck and super light weight, I weighed mine at a whopping 6 lbs 9 oz! 1 oz lighter than my faded SG
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Gibson OD green Tribute Flying V"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this guitar last week, I have 5 other V’s, but had to have the OD green. This guitar arrived perfect, intonation was spot on, frets were perfect. I have EMGs and Fluence pickups in my other V’s and love them. So I said I’ll switch out the pickups in this V. Hell no, the 490’s are killer for the style of music I play (hard rock, metal) I can’t wait to hit the stage w this killer guitar. I have nothing but praise for it. If your considering a V, look no further!!!
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2021 by Josh W in Cambridge, MA
"Gibson USA quality at a reasonable price"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing guitar for over 20 years now and this is my first Gibson. This is leaps and bounds ahead of some of the old faded series guitars which had abysmal setups, jagged and buzzing frets at around a grand. Those guitars left me with the impression that Gibsons were just heinously overpriced collectibles. This tribute series is not that. It arrived well setup, sounds and plays great with no buzzing or dead frets. Despite being very light and resonant it is a very solid and well built instrument.I don't think many players are going to be disappointed in the way this guitar feels or sounds out of the box. The cosmetic factor on the other hand? Lets just say that it depends upon you buying into a very certain aesthetic. Like somebody built a really nice V, then went to Lowes and picked up a bucket of housepaint and a big flat brush to finish it. It even smells like a fresh can of Sherwin-Williams or something. Personally, I dig it. It's crude, rustic and utilitarian looking but it should hold up well. I much prefer that Gibson cut costs here than in the quality of components, construction and setup. I am a little disappointed that it lacks the classic V string-through tailpiece. The Epiphone model at less than half the price has that.Bottom line, I can see myself enjoying this guitar for a long time. I hope to see more USA made guitars in this price-range. And as always, zZounds was fantastic to deal with.
Musical Background:
hobbyist for 20 years
Musical Style:
rock and metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2021 by a customer from aol.com
"Fantastic V"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wasn't sure what to expect with Gibson's QC as this is the first new one I've bought in a few years, but this is actually the best V I've ever played. The fretwork is amazing, the setup was nice and low out of the box, and it's extremely light. Absolutely no neck dive at all either, so I was happy about that. An extra bonus was the hard case it came in as I was expecting a gig bag at this price point! Thanks to zZounds again!
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2021 by Kirk B in CASTRO VALLEY, CA
"Ripper V"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have the 2019 Black B2 V and it's killer, so when Gibson dropped the Flying V Tribute Olive Drab, I had to get one. Same great playability as the B2, but with different pickups, The B2 has Dirty Fingers+ pickups; The olive drab model has 490R and 490T pickups. I thought I was not going to like the 490R and 490Ts, but they sound fantastic -- you just have to get your EQ right. And I love the color -- the Olive Drab is a great finish. Get one if you can.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 50 years. Semi-Professional.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Alt Rock, Metal, Post Punk.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2020 by Christopher Thomas in Louisville, KY
"Awesome"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I usually wait a while to write a review but I just hafta do one right outta the box. 1st the good. Mine came with a nice brown leather hard case not a gig bag. Not only the usual picture and check list but a nice leather Gibson strap and a multi tool. I'll be able to use the tool on all my guitars. Action is set just right nice and low. Truss rod seems right as well but we all know that you gotta re check that after a week or so. The tone is awesome. Looks great, sounds great. Very happy with this purchase. Now the bad. The pickups are a tad to close to the strings. ( Easy fix). The back of the neck feels not as slick as I thought it would. Not really sticky just not silky smooth like my tribute SG. That will probably break in though. Fret work is great. So the bad isn't much but I had to list it to be fair. Great but. I love the green. Absolutely love the CASE. GREAT GUITAR. Thanks to zZounds I was able to own this awesome Guitar on the pay as you play plan.
Musical Background:
I play at home. Been playing for years. I play guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
Mostly metal. Danzig. Slayer. Iron maiden. Black Sabbath etc.
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2021 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Well done"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar!! Fit and finish is on point, and the playability and tone is awesome. Treat yourself and get you one, I do recommend it!!!
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Absolute Beast!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was skeptical with this guitar at first being a tribute model but boy was I wrong. The first thing I would like to add is the quality of the case it comes in is top notch. Right out of the case my V was spot on when it comes to setup. The action, frets, intonation and paint all was flawless. The pickups was also something I wasn't to sure on but they sound amazing. Very rock n roll! This guitar covers most genres well like classic rock, modern, metal, blues and jazz. I'm very impressed with Gibson. This will not be my last!Don't think on it buy it now before it's to late!Big thanks to zZounds as well! Always a pleasure dealing with you guys
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Does what Gibson does"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, this guitar shipped with a hard case and not a gig bag as advertised. It came with all of the regular Gibson case candy: warranty info, inspection sheet, multi tool, strap, a photo on the work bench, and the Gibson instruction manual.The 490r in my particular one sounded a tad muddy with the gain cranked up so I had to drop the pick up body, raise the poles and swap the a2 for an a5 magnet but now it’s phenomenal. Everything was near perfect out of the box as far as the intonation and action, it was just detuned for shipment. There are no sharp fret edges, no high spots, and they came decently polished. The neck was set with the perfect amount of relief as well. The only thing I would like to see is the rubber strip like on some of the older models and maybe an ebony fretboard version.The green is the same color as the Chris Cornell es 335 with a satin finish. You can still see the wood grain and pockets through the finish much like the other tribute guitars and SG faded and specials. This is a fast neck and super light weight, I weighed mine at a whopping 6 lbs 9 oz! 1 oz lighter than my faded SG
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Gibson Quality Not There"
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Was a significant hump in the fretboard which needed attention right out of the box. Tried a fret crown and level but it was much worse than anything I could fix. Luthier has to pull 7 frets. Sand the fretboard. Was able to reuse to original frets. This cost close to $150 and that was a “friend” price. I see several places claim you can still order more. They’ve been saying that for 5 months. Best of my knowledge they sold out. Perhaps Gibson will extend their limited run. Hopefully the Luthiers at Gibson will stop putting out made in USA Crap!Have some pride Gibson! You charge enough for your instruments!
Sound
The instrument is built with quality hardware. But if the neck is not fat and smooth it’s junk. Gibson’s producing a lot of Junk lately!
Features
Great sound and look! Neck needed $$$ work!
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.