Gibson 2017 Exclusive Firebird Zero Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Sporting a unique reversed shape, Gibson Double Slug DS-C humbuckers and a set maple neck, this Firebird Zero offers incredible value for a USA-made guitar.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
  • Overall:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    4 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(17) (see rating details)
Submitted October 31, 2016 by James R in Falling Waters, WV

"Great Base Level Gibson"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Gibson has given us the best value priced guitar they have ever made with this model. They really jumped it up by giving us two humbuckers and an adjustable wrap around bridge as opposed to a single pick up and non-adjustable bridge for almost the same price This guitar has a very Fender-esque feel to the neck and plays great. I had no problem jumping from my Strat to this guitar. The pickups are hot and growl with the best. Took me two hours to set her up to my playing taste. Action was a little high for me, so i had to adjust the bridge screw height and the intonation but otherwise she was ready to go. The inspection dude did a great job. The Gibson Firebird Zero is a great addition to any guitarists arsenal where quality humbucking sound is needed.

Musical Background:

Been playing close to twenty years

Musical Style:

Blues rock, country, rock and roll
37 of 38 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2016 by Dave K in Haddam, CT

"Damn good for the money!"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
An American Gibson for $499? The neck is sublime. Came in a decent gig bag ready to go. I could've gigged with it no problem. The finish is not mirror perfect but man this things plays great! I wish the body was a bit bigger and heavier, it seems neck heavy. It seems a bit skinny but I am a 250lb man so you mileage may vary. An unbelievable deal! Pickups are hot and sound great!

Musical Background:

Playing 37 years

Musical Style:

All
44 of 47 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2016 by Michael Burger in Cleveland, OH

"Can I get an "Amen"?"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was skeptical to make this purchase, but with the Play As You Pay option, it was difficult to not take my chances on a brand new, $500, American made Gibson. She's definitely a beauty and wayyyyy lighter than her big brother. Pretty versatile for sure. Have only had her for 24 hrs, but I don't foresee myself picking up another guitar for a while.

Musical Background:

20 years on guitar. Gigs/Studio/Bedroom dance parties.

Musical Style:

Hardcore. Punk. Metal. Sludge. As long as it involves headbanging and neglecting hygiene.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2017 by Jeff G in Detroit, MI

"Great Guitar for the Money"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you're thinking about buying one of these in hopes it has all the bells and whistles of a $3000 Gibson, you'll be disappointed. However, if you're a player that wants Gibson craftsmanship at a reasonable price, I recommend you check out this guitar. It stays in tune for days, has good sustain, and has the range for everything from clean to crunchy to metal thanks to the ceramic magnets.

Musical Background:

once pro - now bedroom player

Musical Style:

blues, classic rock, new wave
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2016 by Daniel A in Sterrett, AL

"Gibson USA for $500 is hard to believe but true"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I couldn't believe the price when I saw it was Gibson USA for $500....plus its from zZounds. Great guitar for the money...no doubt. Is it perfect? Not by any means but if you want a good guitar to play around with plus believe in Gibson USA and zZounds then it is hard to go wrong.

Musical Background:

Playing music for 30 years...mostly just for me.

Musical Style:

Rock....any type of Rock n' Roll...from alt to country to metal
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2017 by Don S in Parkersburg, WV

"I Read the reviews and I bought one anyway"

Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Theres some fairly negative reviews on web sites about this guitar, but since I'd had a non-reverse firebird in the old days, I thought what the heck. Turned out to be a decent purchase. I have played in weekend bands for 40 years and collected quite a few guitars, and wanted to add this one to it. When I got it in, I checked it over. Finish is good and looks well constructed. It needed a set up and I changed out the strings to my liking. The nut and bridge were in good shape after I worked them over a bit. Tuners seem to stay in tune. I did experience a bit of a grounding issue, so I pulled the pickguard off that also is where everything is mounted, grounded it better, and fixed the issue. I like the guitar. Its lightweight, but sounds meaty enough. I play classic rock and oldies. Not disappointed at all.

Musical Background:

Been playing 40+ years. Play guitar, bass, and few other instruments

Musical Style:

Oldies, Classic Rock, Contemporary Gospel.
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2017 by Tony S in Del Mar, CA

"Can't beat it"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an awesome guitar. Can't beat it for under $400. Body shape is a little odd, but it's surprisingly comfortable to play. It's very light weight, but the sound is big, like an SG. Pickups are good. Genuine Gibson. Made in USA. Real lacquer finish. Fit and finish are good. Factory set up was good. People have complained about the bridge, but I found it to work well. It's a good design.

Musical Background:

Been playing for 30 years. I own over 30 instruments.

Musical Style:

Rock, blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2016 by mark coldren in kansas city, MO

"Awesome Sauce!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this guitar, not as heavy as the original Firebird, sounds great. plays great, love the color.

Musical Background:

I am 52 and have played guitar since I was 16. I played in a few Heavy Metal bands back in the 80's, good times...

Musical Style:

metal, rock
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2018 by Dusty P in Watford City, ND

"Very Nice!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After seeing all the negative feedback on this guitar I decided not to get one early on. Then I seen a blemished one on zZounds and got a good deal on it. Out of the box it was a very nice guitar the Faded Phelham Blue is amazing, Plays Great, the setup out of the box was good, the Sound is what i like most about this guitar its like a combo of all my favorite guitars in one. The neck reminds me of my mid 90’s Ibanez i learned on that i have never found another guitar with that same type of feel but this one feels pretty similar so you can fly on this. It will play any genre of music Country,Metal,Rock etc prob one of the most Versatile guitars with this quality and price. Let Haters be haters dont be fooled by BS Ive had mine a couple days now and love it. And defantly is a tried and true Gibson they really impressed me with this fair priced quality Versitile Guitar Best in class for its price.

Musical Background:

Guitar,Bass

Musical Style:

Metal,Country,Rock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2017 by zachary Hanson in Paris, TN

"Great versatile guitar!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow came fast from zZounds I'm very pleased with the service and guitar was packed very well.......out of box just needed to be tuned action was perfect for me! I have seen negative reviews but dont listen to them as this is a high quality guitar and gibson in box has card that shows inspector checked it top to bottom and hand signed and real photo of my guitar on his workbench.....nice touch! Buy it as for price on zZounds you can't beat it and price is going up on these other places.

Musical Background:

I have been playing several years and own sever good guitars like a prs flametop some fender strats....etc

Musical Style:

Rock.....heavy metal....classic rock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2017 by kelly kosmas in peoria, AZ

"2017 firebird s "

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
just took it out of the box ,just like everybody else finish is just plain BAD, it wouldn't of been that hard of a fix if i keep it ive always wanted a british flag guitar so if its not to much i will do it. it also needs a custom set up new strings, however i bought this to get a good cheap gibson. now for the good pickups very cool hardware good for imports, neck really NICE, gig bag very cool backed by ZZ and gibson home run!!!!!!!!!

Musical Background:

40 years pro, now for me

Musical Style:

70s 80s 90s rock, ballads sprinkled in some folk aka neil young
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2018 by John C in Farmington, NM

"Gibson Firebird Zero, a one of a kind rough diamond."

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I saw this guitar and liked the look of it. The slightly altered non-reverse Firebird shape just caught my eye. The Price was right so I pulled the trigger and awaited the arrival of my Firebird Zero. First Impression: I arrived home to a large package with Gibson emblazoned across the front of it. I eagerly opened it up. The guitar came inside of a very well padded, roomy gig bag. I removed it and began to inspect the instrument. There were a few minor finish issues. It is very lightweight and the body is on the thin side. With this in mind, i thought it may lack sustain. Not the case here. It has sustain for days. It holds notes like an instrument costing much, much more. I was impressed by this the most. Finish: I got mine in Pelham Blue. The Nitro finish has a great luster, even if it is on the thin side and not completely smooth. Mine has a spot on the side of the guitar where it looks like some other material got mixed in with the paint. Gives it a bit of character and I do not mind at all. Playability: The set up out of the box was playable but not to my liking. I adjusted neck relief, and the bridge (which despite hearing bad things, I had no issues with.) It plays like a dream now. Sound: Nothing to complain about the pickups take to cleans and hi-gain with ease. They may not be the clearest Gibson P-UPs in the world but they are better than average for the money, I will be keeping them in. The volume and tone controls are smooth and very usable. The switch has a good feel and is quiet in operation while amplified so no problems there either. And did I mention the sustain? It is almost otherworldly. Overall: The Firebird Zero is a good sounding budget Gibson that I honestly will keep playing for many years to come. A few hiccups on QC with the finish but nothing that is a deal-breaker. Get yourself one!

Musical Background:

22 Years Playing Guitar, Working Musician.

Musical Style:

Rock, Hard Rock, Progressive Rock.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 22, 2019 by Daniel V in Austin, TX

"Proud New Firebird Zero Owner"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These guitars have not received bad reviews. They have received terrible reviews. The biggest complaint has been about a bridge that doesn't really allow you to lower the action to an acceptable level. Whatever was wrong with the bridge, mine was was perfect. I was able to adjust to very low action with some room for further adjustment. The tuners are serviceable. The nut is self lubricating and cut perfectly. At first the pickups sounded terrible, but after lowering them down a bit they are quite good. A bit bright for metal, but very usable for classic rock, pop, or jazz. The neck is a dream to play with a nice thick dark slab of rosewood on a one piece satin finished maple neck. Intonation was spot on. Very nice nitro finish.The guitar is a bit neck heavy, but with a suede strap you won't have any neck dive. About the worst thing I could say is that the control knobs are made of thin plastic. I expected this guitar to be a $329 modding platform, but all I'm going to change are the control knobs and replace the tuners with locking tuners. I'm thrilled with my purchase. If you can get one of these, grab it while you can. The cardinal red model is a beauty.

Musical Background:

30 years, professional song writer, recording artist. Play mostly Fender guitars and various synths.

Musical Style:

Psychedelic Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2017 by Fred L in Winter Garden, FL

"Zero with lotsa flavor!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I saw videos online that this series from Gibson wasn't worth the paint that was shot on the body. Have to disagree, for the price it's wonderfully Gibson. My playing ranges from elevator music to metal, and I needed a slide guitar for a project, this one fit the bill perfectly. The action is a little high, and the wrap around bridge is a tad touchy to intonate, but all in all this guitar sounds great and is definitely worth the price I paid for it. The Zero is a welcomed addition to my herd.

Musical Background:

46 years

Musical Style:

I play anything from elvator music to metal, depends on my mood.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2018 by ED W in RENO, NV

"C'mon"

Overall: 1.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, yes it lists all of the specs, but C'mon! I have owned and played many a Gibson (Les Paul, SG, Firebird, V, Mirauder yes really, Mirauder) and the only thing Gibson on this item is the nameplate and the bag!This is a $150 guitar with a $200 nameplate and a $75 bag! I am sorry Gibson "zz", but really? Made in America does not help this cause! Is this what we have to offer the everyday purchaser? Do better, in volume and quality, and you will see sales skyrocket!

Musical Background:

38 years since my first guitar. I have played with myself, others and none! I know quality, value and crap!

Musical Style:

Whatever is on!
6 of 13 people (46%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2017 by Kevin C in West Paducah, KY

"Great price for a good guitar"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I played this guitar in a store in Louisville and ordered it from zZounds as soon as I got back to my room for a much better price. I'm more of a rhythm player and this thing sounds great! From rock to country it will play it all. Good job Gibson! And good job zZounds for price,shipping, and pay plan. Your my go to company and have been for years.

Musical Background:

10 years. Self taught and just play for family

Musical Style:

50's 60's 70's & country
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2017 by Kevin Chatellier

"All about the SOUND"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
zZounds thanks again for your wonderful service and support. That's why I have been with you for years. This is a true treasure that people should jump on. For the price you are getting one of the lightest and best sounding guitars you will ever find. It's like opening up a time capsule and reaching in and pulling this baby out..... Great guitar! Great price!

Musical Background:

Self taught 8 years ago. Play guitar and I'm 61 years old

Musical Style:

I play all kinds
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.