844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 200-82BQ
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Thursday, Dec. 21 and select 2-day shipping.
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Gibson 2017 Firebird Zero

Sporting a unique reversed shape, Gibson Double Slug DS-C humbuckers and a set maple neck, this Firebird Zero offers incredible value for a USA-made guitar.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great Base Level Gibson" submitted October 31, 2016

By James R in Falling Waters, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing close to twenty years
Music Style: Blues rock, country, rock and roll
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Gibson has given us the best value priced guitar they have ever made with this model. They really jumped it up by giving us two humbuckers and an adjustable wrap around bridge as opposed to a single pick up and non-adjustable bridge for almost the same price This guitar has a very Fender-esque feel to the neck and plays great. I had no problem jumping from my Strat to this guitar. The pickups are hot and growl with the best. Took me two hours to set her up to my playing taste. Action was a little high for me, so i had to adjust the bridge screw height and the intonation but otherwise she was ready to go. The inspection dude did a great job. The Gibson Firebird Zero is a great addition to any guitarists arsenal where quality humbucking sound is needed.
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Damn good for the money!" submitted September 27, 2016

By Dave K in Haddam, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 37 years
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: An American Gibson for $499? The neck is sublime. Came in a decent gig bag ready to go. I could've gigged with it no problem. The finish is not mirror perfect but man this things plays great! I wish the body was a bit bigger and heavier, it seems neck heavy. It seems a bit skinny but I am a 250lb man so you mileage may vary. An unbelievable deal! Pickups are hot and sound great!
33 of 34 people (97.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Can I get an "Amen"?" submitted November 28, 2016

By Michael Burger in Cleveland, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years on guitar. Gigs/Studio/Bedroom dance parties.
Music Style: Hardcore. Punk. Metal. Sludge. As long as it involves headbanging and neglecting hygiene.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was skeptical to make this purchase, but with the Play As You Pay option, it was difficult to not take my chances on a brand new, $500, American made Gibson. She's definitely a beauty and wayyyyy lighter than her big brother. Pretty versatile for sure. Have only had her for 24 hrs, but I don't foresee myself picking up another guitar for a while.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Can't beat it" submitted October 14, 2017

By Tony S in Del Mar, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 30 years. I own over 30 instruments.
Music Style: Rock, blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an awesome guitar. Can't beat it for under $400. Body shape is a little odd, but it's surprisingly comfortable to play. It's very light weight, but the sound is big, like an SG. Pickups are good. Genuine Gibson. Made in USA. Real lacquer finish. Fit and finish are good. Factory set up was good. People have complained about the bridge, but I found it to work well. It's a good design.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson USA for $500 is hard to believe but true" submitted November 6, 2016

By Daniel A in Sterrett, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing music for 30 years...mostly just for me.
Music Style: Rock....any type of Rock n' Roll...from alt to country to metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I couldn't believe the price when I saw it was Gibson USA for $500....plus its from zZounds. Great guitar for the money...no doubt. Is it perfect? Not by any means but if you want a good guitar to play around with plus believe in Gibson USA and zZounds then it is hard to go wrong.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar for the Money" submitted September 27, 2017

By Jeff G in Detroit, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: once pro - now bedroom player
Music Style: blues, classic rock, new wave
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you're thinking about buying one of these in hopes it has all the bells and whistles of a $3000 Gibson, you'll be disappointed. However, if you're a player that wants Gibson craftsmanship at a reasonable price, I recommend you check out this guitar. It stays in tune for days, has good sustain, and has the range for everything from clean to crunchy to metal thanks to the ceramic magnets.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Sauce!" submitted November 10, 2016

By mark coldren in kansas city, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am 52 and have played guitar since I was 16. I played in a few Heavy Metal bands back in the 80's, good times...
Music Style: metal, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love this guitar, not as heavy as the original Firebird, sounds great. plays great, love the color.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great versatile guitar!" submitted October 13, 2017

By zachary Hanson in Paris, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing several years and own sever good guitars like a prs flametop some fender strats....etc
Music Style: Rock.....heavy metal....classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Wow came fast from zZounds I'm very pleased with the service and guitar was packed very well.......out of box just needed to be tuned action was perfect for me! I have seen negative reviews but dont listen to them as this is a high quality guitar and gibson in box has card that shows inspector checked it top to bottom and hand signed and real photo of my guitar on his workbench.....nice touch! Buy it as for price on zZounds you can't beat it and price is going up on these other places.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I Read the reviews and I bought one anyway" submitted June 20, 2017

By Don S in Parkersburg, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing 40+ years. Play guitar, bass, and few other instruments
Music Style: Oldies, Classic Rock, Contemporary Gospel.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Theres some fairly negative reviews on web sites about this guitar, but since I'd had a non-reverse firebird in the old days, I thought what the heck. Turned out to be a decent purchase. I have played in weekend bands for 40 years and collected quite a few guitars, and wanted to add this one to it. When I got it in, I checked it over. Finish is good and looks well constructed. It needed a set up and I changed out the strings to my liking. The nut and bridge were in good shape after I worked them over a bit. Tuners seem to stay in tune. I did experience a bit of a grounding issue, so I pulled the pickguard off that also is where everything is mounted, grounded it better, and fixed the issue. I like the guitar. Its lightweight, but sounds meaty enough. I play classic rock and oldies. Not disappointed at all.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zero with lotsa flavor!" submitted December 12, 2017

By Fred L in Winter Garden, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 46 years
Music Style: I play anything from elvator music to metal, depends on my mood.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I saw videos online that this series from Gibson wasn't worth the paint that was shot on the body. Have to disagree, for the price it's wonderfully Gibson. My playing ranges from elevator music to metal, and I needed a slide guitar for a project, this one fit the bill perfectly. The action is a little high, and the wrap around bridge is a tad touchy to intonate, but all in all this guitar sounds great and is definitely worth the price I paid for it. The Zero is a welcomed addition to my herd.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2017 firebird s " submitted February 2, 2017

By kelly kosmas in peoria, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years pro, now for me
Music Style: 70s 80s 90s rock, ballads sprinkled in some folk aka neil young
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: just took it out of the box ,just like everybody else finish is just plain BAD, it wouldn't of been that hard of a fix if i keep it ive always wanted a british flag guitar so if its not to much i will do it. it also needs a custom set up new strings, however i bought this to get a good cheap gibson. now for the good pickups very cool hardware good for imports, neck really NICE, gig bag very cool backed by ZZ and gibson home run!!!!!!!!!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great price for a good guitar" submitted July 30, 2017

By Kevin C in West Paducah, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years. Self taught and just play for family
Music Style: 50's 60's 70's & country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I played this guitar in a store in Louisville and ordered it from zZounds as soon as I got back to my room for a much better price. I'm more of a rhythm player and this thing sounds great! From rock to country it will play it all. Good job Gibson! And good job zZounds for price,shipping, and pay plan. Your my go to company and have been for years.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All about the SOUND" submitted October 22, 2017

By Kevin Chatellier
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Self taught 8 years ago. Play guitar and I'm 61 years old
Music Style: I play all kinds
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: zZounds thanks again for your wonderful service and support. That's why I have been with you for years. This is a true treasure that people should jump on. For the price you are getting one of the lightest and best sounding guitars you will ever find. It's like opening up a time capsule and reaching in and pulling this baby out..... Great guitar! Great price!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 200-82BQ. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!