Gibson Vintage Tuners/Tuning Machines (Set of 6)
BACK IN STOCK

Gibson Vintage Tuners/Tuning Machines (Set of 6)

Give your guitar a vintage flare with this set of vintage-style Gibson tuners. Each set comes with 6 nickel tuners with pearloid buttons.

Overall User Ratings (based on 49 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(49)
Submitted March 21, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Gibson Vintage Tuners are built to last."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I gave these an 8 overall because, like i said, i don't go searching for the greatest tuners ever made, i just play my guitar and these work great for me and my style. . .which is the style of not punching the hell out of my guitar. the only other tuners i would consider would be the 'gotoh vintage tuners' because they look the same. maybe someday i will try one of theirs to compare, but as of right now i have no reason to.
Sound
I'm not sure what these other players are doing wrong but my Gibson Vintage tuners hold their ground just fine.
Features
they're tuners, what else do you want?
Ease of Use
Just throw them on, tune up and play.
Quality
I don't root around looking for the greatest tuners on earth, I buy what I want and I play it. My flying v and sg have these tuners and they're great. They hold tune for as long as i need, again, i don't know what these other players are doing wrong, are you all punching your head stocks?
Value
to me, they're priceless. they work great and look great. i couldn't imagine using a different tuner on my gibsons. so, let me repeat, these look great and WORK GREAT too!
Manufacturer Support
never had to contact. . .because gibson guitars are quality.
The Wow Factor
they're great. if i ever need new ones i just buy them as single pieces from sellers on ebay or from gibson. i'll always come back to these.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
punk
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2013 by jonny Ray in Sabattus, ME
"gibson vintage tuners"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the gibson vintage tuners i bought from zZsounds are a deffinate for all gibson guitars. a beautiful addition to your guitar and at a very low price! I,ll be buying more for another guitar I,m working on.
Musical Background:
electric guitar and play at home
Musical Style:
rock, and blues
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2016 by Josh Brown in Sacramento, CA
"Was nervous.....so far so good."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I took up the deal on the remaining 2013 Gibson LP 50's tributes at $699. I knew that I would immediately need a set of tuners , b3cause this guitar comes with min-etune. Previous experience taught me to change it right away. Wanted to keep it Gibson, so ordered these. Like you, I read the terrible reviews. But they were from almost 3-4 years ago. Went ahead and bought them and changed our my etune. So far I've had no problems. Acting the way good tuners should, BUT, I've only had this guitar 2 days. So far so good, so I'll give it 4 stars. If they begin to fail quick, I'll post another review.
Musical Background:
Guitar, Sitar, Bagpipes
Musical Style:
Classic, funk, reggae
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Gibson needs to improve these tuners!"
If you want to get a vintage vibe on your guitar, these will get you "the look", but iff you also want to have a guitar that stays in tune as well, then look at other tuners.
Sound
I have these tuners on a Gibson Les Paul Custom, and this guitar tends to go out of tune more than any other guitar I've EVER owned...I should get better tuners...I would play my Les Paul more if it weren't for these lousy(EXPENSIVE!) tuners...
Features
They look nice and vintage but they don't keep your guitar in tune all that well.
Quality
They look pretty, but aren't very practical/functional.
Value
get yourself some tuners that actually work (NOT THESE)
Manufacturer Support
I'm not sure about Gibson's support, but they really should improve these tuners.
The Wow Factor
They look nice, but I don't want tuners that don't do what they are meant to do.
Musical Style:
rock/blues/metal...
48 of 61 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2007 by a customer from myway.com
"Buy And Epiphone!"
It mostly sits in it's overpriced case in the closet. I could not, with a clear conscience, resell it for even half of what I paid for it.
Sound
Although these tuners look vintage, they suck. They are prone to slipping incrementally, causing the guitar to go out of tune very quickly. I have a set in a coffee can in my shop. I went to gotoh tuners which at least stay in tune. And before anyone says I am not winding the strings correctly, I am a luthier, and restring guitars daily. When a product fails to work, the company should do something about it, instead of trading on the past to rake in more profits.
Features
As a Gibson authorized repairman, I called the company about these tuners. After a long distance runaround, I was told the Gibson guitars weren't for players, they were for collectors, if I wanted a guitar that played well, and stayed in tune, buy an Epiphone. I immediately resigned as a Gibson repairman, and won't ever endorse their products again. I have a 68 Les Paul Custom with black tape over the Gibson logo. The company has become a cash cow for the new owners.
Ease of Use
After dressing the frets, adjusting the intonation, and replacing the tuners, my Les Paul rocks. I have also had to replace the pick-up selector switch, and one volume control is scratchy.
Quality
Sadly, with the amount of money paid for it, it should be better. The finish looks like it was sprayed on by a spastic. The wood underneath was not silexed, so the grain shows thru, and I'm not pleased with the overall quality.
Value
A two thousand dollar guitar should be a thing to be proud of. I set it next to my 68 and just shake my head sadly.
Manufacturer Support
I couldn't even turn in a bill for the repairs, and this was a brand new guitar. "That's how they are made now" was Gibson's response
The Wow Factor
It looks good from a distance.
Musical Background:
Professional Guitarist, Tour Guitarist, Luthier, Recording Studio Owner
Musical Style:
Anything that they want
49 of 74 people (66%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 1, 2017 by Ben F in Gainesville, FL
"Made in China"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have these tuners on my Gibson. They don't work well, so I removed them. When I did, I saw they have "P.W." stamped on them. They are made by Ping Wells, as Taiwanese company with factories in China. Apparently, Ping also makes Gibson bridges and tailpieces. There are much better options out there, including Klusons (made in Korea) and Gotoh (made in Japan). Kluson also sells American made bridges and tailpieces that more closely match Gibson's own vintage specs (brass saddles, steel posts, aluminum tailpieces).
Musical Background:
Experienced
Musical Style:
Blues
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2008 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Gibson Quality compromised"
It's sad to see that Whomever is running Gibson has chosen to use these inferior products for their guitars, and charge premium prices. I have a 78 SG and it has Schaller tuners, (or they might be Grovers), they are very high quality and all the Gibson products from that time period were using them. Frankly it is ridiculous to use crap in the name of "Vintage"
Musical Background:
Hbbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 27, 2007 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"JUNK!"
They do not maintain tuning stability.
Sound
I am also a luthier and agree that this is one of the worst tuners available on the market. I outfitted my 2006 Gibson LP with Gotoh (MIJ) Vintage Tuners (look them up on STEWMAC). Gotohs are far more superior in maintaing an accurate tuning stability. Ensure you select the smaller peghead bushings style to ensure you get the correct peghead size...The more popular 10mm sizes are much larger than the LP Standard's peghead holes and I DO NOT recommend attempting to re-drill to accomodate the larger sizes. The inscription "deluxe" should be removed from the Gibson-supplied tunes altogether; there is nothing deluxe about them, unless you are referring to them as deluxe trash.
Ease of Use
They do not maintain tuning stability.
Quality
They do not maintain tuning stability.
Value
Junk.
Manufacturer Support
Don't attempt to contact them via their TECH DEPT. You will not receive a reply. Go directly to their customer service and you will be promptly assisted.
Musical Background:
Active Musician; 30 years
Musical Style:
Smooth Jazz/Blues/R&B/Classic Rock
15 of 22 people (68%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2006 by a customer from juno.com
"COME ON GIBSON USA, WHERE'S THE QUALITY CONTROL?????"
Sound
I am sad that Gibson would put something like these tuners on the market and not improve them. I bought a new Gibson ES 333 for $1200.00 and two of THESE tuners blew completely apart shortly after the warranty ran out. I tried to fix them in my shop, but there wasn't enough metal in the rivits to do anything with. Come on Gibson, I HAD FAITH IN YOU!!!!!!
Features
Look good, like a Gibson should. But I will upgrade to another brand even if it hurts the value of my 333.
Ease of Use
Seem to work well, but intonation stablization is a problem.
Quality
Come on Gibson USA, I'd like to know who was in quality control the day my tuners were made!!!!!
Value
Obviously, Gibson is banking on the value of original parts staying high, even if the quality is low.
Manufacturer Support
Gibson support seems to be on the downslide somewhat. I still love the company, but their website isn't even very consumer friendly.
Musical Background:
band director 30 years, guitar player 52 years
Musical Style:
Rock, country, classical
9 of 12 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"They stink. Don't buy them. Get sealed tuners."
Never.
Sound
I had these vintage tuners installed on a Flying V I bought used. They looked good at first I thought, and the luthier I bought the guitar from installed them. They were dismal for practical use, and I will explain why.
Features
For a smart man, I can't beleive he thought these were good quality tuners. Two of them fell apart on me, followed by a third starting to. I am not a rough player either.
Ease of Use
I kept looking at them and wondered why they even existed. As players, we should be able to trust our instruments, instead of worrying about them falling apart.
Quality
They blew in my experience ! I replaced with a used of Schaller sealed tuners. Tight fit between the fingers while tuning, but they worked for me.
Value
I was told at the time they cost 25 dollars. That was almost 20 years ago. Worth zip in my opinion.
Manufacturer Support
No I was annoyed my trusted luthier would sell the idea these were quality tuners, and put down my replacement tuners.
The Wow Factor
None.
Musical Background:
hobbyist, some pro work, jamming too.
Musical Style:
rock
8 of 11 people (73%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.