GHS Boomers Electric Guitar Strings

GHS Boomers Electric Guitar Strings

GHS Boomers are highly popular, durable electric guitar strings. With nickel-plated steel wrap, GHS Boomers sound great and are built to last.

Overall User Ratings (based on 23 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(23)
Submitted February 15, 2019 by John D in Garland, TX
"Completely shocked"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been a devout Ernie Ball string user for my whole journey so far as a guitarist, venturing off the path trying different brands over the years only to be disappointed and return to Ernie Ball. I tried GHS Boomers in the late 90's and hated them. Always associated them with Zakk Wylde. I decided on a whim to try them again in 2019 and was completely shocked at how smooth and great the strings felt. I play 9-42 btw. They sound so clear and crisp, yet warm and yummy on my Fender strat. I've had the string on the guitar for a month and a half and play almost daily. The strings are still holding up very well whereas in the past few years quality at Ernie Ball is slowly going down. I should know since I have to buy sets more often than I used to. I will not dog Ernie Ball but I think next week when I order my new guitar I'll pick up a few sets of GHS Boomers 9-42 also.
Musical Background:
I'e been playing 17 years. I play guitar and bass. I play lead guitar in my band
Musical Style:
I play mainly metal/rock but usually I'll just play whatever I'm inspired to play
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2012 by Alexander W in beckley, WV
"best strings out there"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Priced cheap but full of quality
Sound
These strings are very strechy full of tone nd dont seem to break so easy like others i have put up with.
Features
Slinky toneful and resistent to breaking.
Quality
Insane quality for under five bucks a pop
Value
Yes big time.
The Wow Factor
Ive played these for two years exclusivly now and recently i got a new shecter and it had ernie balls on it what i use to use and the difference was instantly there and not in ernie balls favor i am never going away from my ghs boomers.
Musical Background:
lead guitarist for five years
Musical Style:
Metal melodic classical and rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2019 by Bob C in Safford, AZ
"Electric guitar strings ghs"
Great strings!! I was very surprised at how well they sounded and they have great sustain. I play With a group a couple times a week and have had no problems, great buy!!!
Musical Background:
20 years professionally
Musical Style:
Christian
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2009 by a customer from centrum.cz
"Durable good strings, with maybe not the best sound but great for a money and their instrument."
Great strings that I would like to have in dark red color. That would be perfect.
Sound
Cannot say much things about the sound. At first I d like to say, I use crappy amp and quite a lot distortion. I just cannot say I have problems with sounding bad even after months of usage. Maybe if I heard the new one and mine, there would be probably difference. Also some strings are nice with specific type of bridge or pick ups. So I gave it here max 10.
Features
I give here 8 because I d like to see other colors of strings. Some red, blue, green black would be awesome. Also if would be nice to see another the thinest e in a pack. This string is probably most breakable from my experience and one should be careful:-)
Ease of Use
Very easy and very durable. If you do not do any mistake you will not break them. VERY DURABLE and my GHS Boomers never broke during the play. using 10-46 in E and 13-60 (standard 10-46 +60 from ZW pack)in A
Quality
Only 2x when over-tuning e slightly (yeah that was stupid), and the second time it was e again but when down-tuned. I do not really get that how it happened. I guess I made some mistake again, like pretty fast tuning with tuning peg. 10.
Value
Here, in Europe, everything is more expensive. Worse, when you live in post-communist country and you do not make big money. Still they cost cca 1/100 of relatively good month payment.
Manufacturer Support
I had not had to dealt with them. So neutral 5. But it could be 10 or 0
The Wow Factor
I use them because many other people I know use it for their non-breakage. Famous guitarists like John 5 or Zakk Wylde used them too.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock, metal
6 of 11 people (55%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 8, 2018 by colin r
"ghs boomers"
I bought 2 packets 9-42 gauge (3 pack) and when I took them out all the top E and B strings were rusted all over. Never again will I waste my money on GHS.
Musical Background:
40 years guitar. Ex professional
Musical Style:
Blues. Rand B. Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2013 by Nick T in Boulder, CO
"SH*T STRINGS!"
I look for resonant response, elasticity, and tone when picking strings. It is about the combination of sound and feel that meet your specific picking needs.I tried these strings for about 3 days and they sound terrible. Even after they are stretched and broken in, they resinate with an awful tinny sound. I will never again NOT purchase strings from DR.
Musical Background:
Professional - Touring
Musical Style:
Metal - Jazz
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 3, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"the worst guitar strings EVER!"
TAKE MY ADVICE! spare yourself of the difficulty and crappy quality of the worlds worst guitar strings!
Sound
they dont sound that bad when you first put them on, but after a couple of days they will start rusting/corroding like hell and when that happens, it will sound like you have an old, rusty piece of barbed wire for strings
Ease of Use
Its not that I think putting strings on a guitar is hard, but when you have to change to different strings every three days it gets real freaking annoying,
Quality
these are the absolute worst strings EVER! and its not just these strings its all of ghs strings that suck. the best strings there is (in my opinion) are sinisters, although they are a little pricey. D addarios are good all-around strings, dunlop zakk wylde icon series strings are pretty good, Elixirs really suck, and any strings that are Ernie Balls are really awesome strings. the best sounding strings are heavy but the easier-to-bend and average sounding strings are light. the best sounding metal for strings is steel or stainless steel, nickel sounds good, but nickel plated steel doesnt sound very good. make sure when you buy strings you check if they are coated or not because a lot of people dont like coated strings, including me plus the coating on the string CAN differentiate the sound.
Value
cheap price but definitely not worth $4
Manufacturer Support
dont know, dont care
The Wow Factor
if you dont believe me, go buy a pack of any ghs strings, put them on your guitar, play them for a little bit, take them off, put on some ernie ball strings, and listen to the difference
Musical Background:
musician
Musical Style:
anything metal, alternative, jazz
11 of 87 people (13%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2007
"GHS BOOMERS"
Sound
I have used bommers for about 5 years now. I tried alot of lot of others before I settled on these. I like to bend my stings and I like em heavy. .11-.50s Some other brands just don't hold up no matter how "slinky" they might claim to be. I like DR's better, but when value meets price it stops at boomers for me.
Quality
I feel that for the money boomers seem to last a fair amount of time before that start losing sound. Like I said before I give mine heck and they very seldom break before they have a right to.
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2007
"The best electric guitar string available, in my opinion."
There's nothing I would change about these strings.
Sound
I've been using GHS Boomer 10's on all of my electrics since 1992. Most of my guitars have never seen another string. Before I discovered these, I tried every brand under the sun including DR's, Dean Markley, Blue Steel, Ernie Ball (used them all through the 80's and they always broke), D'Addario (sterile, break), etc. I have always found the Boomers to be made well and they have a lively, punchy tone. They have never rusted on me (in fact I've never had any strings rust on me, so I don't get the previous reviewer), and I've only broken one of these maybe 3 times in 15 years. I gig every weekend and practice about 3 times a week. I change sets every two weeks. Changing strings is nothing to me, where some people like to strain out 4 bucks and keep them on for 2 or 3 months. Chances are the previous reviewr isn't having any better luck with other brands.
Quality
These strings are industry standard quality and tone, and aren't expensive at all. Again, these are the only strings I use on my electrics.
Value
You can't get a better string for under 5 bucks.
21 of 24 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.