Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Friedman BE-OD Overdrive Pedal

Friedman BE-OD Overdrive Pedal

Modeled after Friedman's BE-100 amplifier, the BE-OD provides tight, heavy distortion that can easily find its way into the classic "brown sound" territory.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted September 25, 2017 by A M in Flint, MI
"WOW! This pedal is the real deal. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Best overdrive I've ever heard. I did dial the gain trim pot inside the pedal to 9 o'clock as suggested on many internet blogs. No tools are needed to do this and it's why Dave Friedman put it in the pedal so that people could dial in their tone to their likings. It's not a modification. t comes set at 12 o'clock but that's a ton of gain. Most people that reviewed this pedal overwhelming endorse it as awesome. I completely agree. It reminds me of the JVM Marshall I had. I highly recommend this pedal.
Musical Background:
Over 20 years of experience playing guitar.
Musical Style:
I play rock, blues, and a touch of metal.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2018 by Nana Winston in McGregor, TX
"Make my Blue Eyes Brown!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a *meat and potatoes* player... but also a tone chaser. I bought this based on a few reviews from Pete Thorn & Philip McKnight. What a pedal. I wasn't happy with my 6505MH through V30's - had too much high-end *sizzle* - This pedal is truly everything everyone has said it is - I guess I had low expectations, but it has reinvigorated my ears. I'm a metal head, but also am in love with the classic VH tone, and with some tweaking, this bad boy delivers just that - BUT, running it through the green channel, with a little more tweaking, pushing it with an Ibanez Tube Screamer (gain at 0), and rolling off the volume on my guitar about halfway, I'm able to get some crisp, articulate metal tones that I've never been able to achieve before - if nothing else, this pedal has been the catalyst for helping me find a tone through the 6505 that I am FINALLY in love with. Not a lot of noise, even without a hush pedal. The "tight" knob is pretty freaking rockin', and really helps dial in a good response. Friedman has outdone themselves, seriously...and if I knew that my wife wouldn't kick me out, I'd have the BE100...But who wants to take out a second mortgage!? This pedal might as well be an amp! Buy this freaking pedal! I would replace it in a heartbeat is something happened, no questions asked!
Musical Background:
Been playing music for over 25+ years. I play guitar mostly, but write music for all instruments.
Musical Style:
Metal (most genres), Experimental, Classic Rock/Metal
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2017 by Ken M in Las Vegas, NV
"BEST OD/DIST PEDAL EVER!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I highly recommend this pedal. If you play metal, or like a powerful, clear, chunky tone, there is no better pedal. The Presence and Tightness knobs really help customize your
Musical Background:
Jam at home mostly, but have started recording original songs recently
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, classic, blues, thrash
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2020 by Brad R in San Antonio, TX
"Lives up the hype"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Super tweakable, beastly gain machine this is! Like a lot of recommendations I read, I turned the internal trim pot to about 9 and there is still tons of gain on tap. Not too noisy considering how much growl it has. You can run it at 9 volts or for more headroom, you can power it up to 18 volts. All of the controls are very responsive, but the Tight control is where it’s at for tone shaping. The only con to this pedal (and this goes for high gain pedals in general) is that you can’t turn up the volume past noon before it’s way louder than other pedals and the mismatch in volume with the amplifier is comically noticeable. Still though, great pedal for 80s shredder sounds like White Lion, Skid Row, Slaughter... You can dial it back and get 70s crunch, but you’d be hard pressed to get a light overdrive sound from this monster.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2020 by Jeff Holliday in Harriman, TN
"Be od great pedal I love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a fender hot rod blues jr special edition with a celestion greenback in it that has a great tone to it and when I paired the Friedman be od with it I thought man you have got to be kidding me I had no idea that this pedal could sound this amazing it does give you a taste of what the Friedman BE amp sounds like I have a grand in my set up and it sounds like I have 5 grand in it I would recommend this set up to anyone I got the amp and pedal from zZounds I guess I got lucky with this pairing it makes me want to play all day long
Musical Background:
Been playing 45yrs have played with bands and friends through the years now I jam at home
Musical Style:
Blues and rock and roll
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Did Friedman make the mistake by making this pedal?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I know exactly what a Friedman amp is supposed to sound like. I own the Brown Eye as well as a Dirty Shirley. I have a Supro Galaxy with the cleanest of cleans (pedal platform dream).I put this in front of it and it sounds brutally close to my 100-watt brown eye.For $200? Insane! Not to mention you can clock it and get even more tones. I wonder if there was any hesitation in the meeting to decide whether to release this pedal. IT'S THAT GOOD!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2019 by Esteban Sanchez in Palm Desert, CA
"As Advertised from crunch to metal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This pedal won't let you down even if you don't think you'd like it! It has an active eq section (bass, treble, presence) which allows you to cut or boost those frequencies. There is also the internal trim pot to cut or boost the overall gain of the pedal! The possibilities are endless...
Musical Background:
Playing over 25 years mostly rock, punk, metal, reggae
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, reggae
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2017 by Lawrence B in Town Bluff, TX
"Not bad"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Make no mistake, even with the internal gain control turned all the way down, this is no traditional overdrive, this is a high-gain, amp-in-box, distortion pedal. It definitely does have that Friedman "modded Marshall" type sound. The sound of this thing with a Les Paul in the neck position is just ridiculously awesome,.. it will make you want to play the intro to "Sweet Child of Mine" for the first time in 20 years! Ha! If you are the type of player who uses a good clean pedal friendly tube amp (Fender) and uses various dirt pedals, I would absolutely recommend checking this pedal out. If you have the option, try it out on 18 volts, I think it sounds much better that way. Also, keep in mind that it will sound much more convincing through a closed back 4X12 than an open-back combo. I like it, it replaced a Mesa Throttle Box (muddy) on my board. Ultimately though, it is no real replacement for a decent tube amp, so if your looking to make a cheap solid state or (shudder) digital combo amp sound like a 100 watt half stack, prepare for disappointment.
Musical Background:
25+ years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Whatever I can get away with.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us