Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Champion 40 Guitar Combo Amplifier (40 Watts, 1x12")

Fender Champion 40 Guitar Combo Amplifier (40 Watts, 1x12")

This 40-watt monster is loaded with rich solid-state tone and versatile onboard effects -- making it the perfect workhorse amp for gigs and studio rigs.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted February 17, 2015 by Marc C in Cranston, RI
"Champ of an amp at this pricepoint."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this amp after looking at over a dozen different models all around the same price point. All of them, {Peaveys, Marshals, Fenders, Oranges and more}, had some of the features I was interested in but none had them all. In the end I went with the Champ 40. I play mostly blues and classic rock. This amp has great clean tones and after working my way through the amp sampling selections I was able to find a couple that work well for harder rock sounds. It is kind of a mixed bag with the amp modeling. If you are really looking for tube sound or the extra hard edge I always associate with Randall solid states this isn't going to do it for you. However if you have to stick to budget and want to cover a lot of ground with small bucks this thing is a beauty. On the effects end it is about the same as the amp sampling. True to form the best of the tones are from the Fender reverb selections. The spring reverb sound is quite good. From the others only the "touch wah" and the chorus really stand out. For the rest I will still be using pedals even just to practice. The build quality is Fender solid. Ease of use is great. One of the best things is the weight. No back pain moving it around. Overall for the money a nice solid amp with some fun extras.
Musical Background:
Perpetual amateur on guitar and boards
Musical Style:
Blues, rock and a little jazz.
76 of 77 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2017 by jerry fulcher in stuart, VA
"Fender Champion 40 amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this amp because of on going hearing problems to see if it would be loud enough for my hearing loss,all i can say about this amp is it's fantastic ,i can hear it very clearly along with about 4 of my next door neighbors,effects are great,cant beat the service you get from these folks i will be ordering more things from here.
Musical Background:
45 years
Musical Style:
all types
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2019 by Dennis H in Ravenswood, WV
"Champion 40"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My champion 40 got here a few hours ago, thought I would take a break and let you know what I think. My gigging tube amp is at practice space, and this is staying at my place for my personal use and grab and go to give a lesson. This amp is great. Takes a few minutes to understand and play with the effects, I mostly keep a little reverb on, but that vibrotone setting gave up a pretty good job on some Robin Trower stuff. Did I mention it only weighs 19 pounds? That's less than half what I'm used to lugging around. Anyways great amp will serve it's purpose well. Solid state has come a long way in recent years.
Musical Background:
been playin' guitar since 8 yrs. old, I'm now 63.
Musical Style:
I've mostly played classic rock and blues.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2017 by bobby bair in thayer, MO
"great little amp!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered mine last week, had it in 2 days, took it to a small gig that Saturday night. I was very impressed! Super light weight practice amp is what I was needing, but this thing is good enough for a laid back gig!!. Blackface model and spring reverb are great for a modeling amp! Very Happy
Musical Background:
played professionally for 28 years
Musical Style:
country, classic rock, and blues
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2015 by gary c in vallejo, CO
"fender champion 40"
I have been playing 60 years on heavey tube amps and they just got too heavy in my old age. this champion 40 blew me away. light' easy to use and sounds great
Sound
clean country sound
Features
soso distortion
Ease of Use
easy to use
Quality
seems well made
Value
yes
Manufacturer Support
no problems vet
The Wow Factor
great bang for the buck
Musical Background:
former semi pro
Musical Style:
country blues
30 of 31 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2013 by Mustang Mike in Phoenix, AZ
"Fender Champ 40 Solid State AMP"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed a bit more power than my current 15 W Marshall amp. This new 40 watt Champ is great. The distorted amp modeling is super and the effects are good too. Even a wah!!! For this price point, this amp is a great value.
Musical Background:
40+ years as a Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic Rock and Blues
29 of 31 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2015 by Steven W in Campbellsville , KY
"40 rocks..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
In the world of low priced little solid state modeling amps this one is hard to beat. Cool effects, looks great, great price, plenty loud, just fun in general, for what it is...... I would strongly recommend a speaker upgrade, other than that it's all good.
Musical Background:
30+ yrs, both professionally and for fun
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, modern country.
30 of 32 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2014 by Larry Shively in Winfield, KS
"Fender Champion 40 Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It' s everything you would want, sound quality, wattage, sound effects. It's well worth the money.
Musical Background:
jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2014 by Martin W in Trabuco Canyon, CA
"Fender Champion 40 Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered it online, got it in three days!!! Out of the box great product. Does everything it claims to do and more.
Musical Background:
Played a little acoustic guitar. just purchased a Fender Electric... Begining to play.
Musical Style:
Classic rock & blues.
18 of 20 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2014 by John S in Oelwein, IA
"Fender champion 40 amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent, although I still have not got everything figured out on it yet.
Musical Background:
been playing for almost 50 years I play electric guitar, and am teaching myselp lap steel guitar
Musical Style:
oldies southern rock and country
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2017 by MICHAEL KELLER in Davison, MI
"great practice amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp might be small but gives out one hell of a sound and the choices of fx choices for such a small amp are great. I will buy Fender amps from now on and will buy from zZounds.
Musical Background:
40 yrs + I have been playing guitar
Musical Style:
blues and country are my favorite but just love to play guitar
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2020 by William von Zangenberg in Spring Hill, FL
"Great amp for a great price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I first bought this amp and set it up I did not like it at all. I put it aside for a month and went back to it and I'm happy to say my first impression was not correct. This is indeed a great little amp and for the money it's a steal. I even used it for some small to medium sized gigs (pop, 50's and 60's rock and current styles) and it performed wonderfully. Volume was fine for all the gigs I have done and I find the reverb and clean tones rival my Super and Twin Reverb. I play mainly clean so I don't use effects that much but the ones I have tried out sounded fine to my ears. The amp is also very durable. Mine fell off of a cart twice and landed in dirt and on a concrete floor and nothing happened except the Fender sign on the front cracked but the sound and controls were not effected at all. I LOVE the weight of this little amp so easy to carry compared to my other tube amps. If you want a easy to carry amp that packs lots of tone and sounds look no further. This is the deal and I own many amps, Fenders, Marshalls, Organe, Vox etc and this is the one I use the most. I play my Fender Teles, Strats, Jazzmasters, Les Pauls and ES 335 through it plus may other guitars including my Martin and Yamaha and Gibson acoustics and they all sound great! Buy one you will not be disappointed at all!
Musical Background:
Professional player and instructor
Musical Style:
Jazz, Classic Rock, 50's 60's Rock, Country, Blues, Current styles, and anything else I can try out.
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2019 by a customer from hotmail.com
"digital cousin to Super Champ"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Foolishly sold my Super Champ XD with upgraded speaker, purchased couple of big name modeling amps, disappointed in both, saw Champion 40 had similar layout to Super Champ and purchased blemished one from zZounds, sounded ok but knew it could be better, installed an Eminence GB128 speaker, a definite improvement, purchased a used Moorer Rumble Drive, icing on the cake, getting pretty close to the tones I was getting from Super Champ, not sure I could tell the difference in an AB test, good enough for me, a good amp that might need a little extra, depending on the user, highly recommend zZounds, have purchase a couple of items through their 4 payment plan, excellent.
Musical Background:
been playing 50 plus years, now play at home
Musical Style:
blues rock, southern rock, Santana
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2018 by Allen W in Frenchtown, MT
"Best Practice Amp I Have Found Yet"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
To be brief, I have a lot of Fender tube amps, two Twin Reverbs, one 1972 model that was owned by Jackson Browne as a stage amp. The other one is a 1981. A Blues Deluxe, Blues Deville 410, Deluxe Reverb, Musicmaster Bass amp, Fender PA100 and a Hot Rod Deluxe, that I am currently refurbishing. I also have an Egnater Tweaker 15.I currently own a Fender Champion 40 and just bought another one from Zzzounds.com, to run them in stereo with my Zoom multi effects pedals. I like the Champion 40 so much as a practice amp, it's simple, sounds good and it is plenty loud. Set it for a good clean tone and just play it. It saves wear and tear on my spendy amps, allows me to setup my Zoom pedals and also my gig analog pedal board, it really handles the vintage pedals pretty well.Sometimes less is more and in this case the Fender Champion 40 fits that bill well. It's light, the stock speaker is fine after it is broken in well. I installed a well broken in Eminence Cannabis Rex in mine, it sounded good, but then I put the stock speaker back in it, it sounds fine also after it was broken in well. I did wire up an extension jack for it, so I can hook it up to speaker cabs, that works really well also.Miked up this thing sounds good in my headphones and I can also run the headphone out into my mixer. When I first played through the amp it had a few rattles at louder volumes, but I tracked them down and just tightened up a few screws, no issues now.I think this is a good starter amp or a good amp for someone that does not feel like having to fire up their big rigs just to do a little song writing or experimenting with pedal settings. Not sure if I would gig with it, but it would probably work fine for some coffee shop gigs or small stage stuff. I play a stereo Twin Reverb setup, or for smaller stuff a stereo rig with the Blues Deluxe and the Deluxe Reverb, so I know a little bit about volume.I almost pulled the trigger on a couple of the large Roland keyboard amps, which cost a heck of a lot more than two of the Champion 40's, but decided what the heck, I am gonna try two of these things first and see how it sounds. I know one of them already sounds really good with all of my Zoom pedals, I have a Zoom G5 with a tube, a Zoom G3Xn, a Zoom G3n and a $3000.00 analog pedal setup I have built through the years. All of those sound pretty damn good with that little Champion 40.The guitars I am playing through it mostly are my custom wired strats with Dimarzio pickups. I also play a 54 Gibson Les Paul and a Gibson ES339. Acoustic electrics sound pretty damn good in it also, so I am thinking having two in stereo is going to sound pretty awesome.BigSkyBluesBand
Musical Background:
A long time..
Musical Style:
What sounds good..
9 of 13 people (69%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us