Fender '68 Custom Twin Reverb Guitar Combo Amplifier

Fender '68 Custom Twin Reverb Guitar Combo Amplifier

Plug into the "Vintage" channel for the rich, chiming tone of the original silverface Twin Reverb, or check out the "Custom" channel for more modern tones.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted September 13, 2014 by Luis Abasolo in Houston, TX
"Fender '68 Custom Twin Reverb-Amp"
Crisp crystal sound rugged and powerful. I have read online some comments about the reverb. Hum will go away if the tank RCA connectors face to the front of the amplifier. Mine came backwards (oops QC). All weird hum and funky noises will go away with a puff of Deoxit D5 in the tube sockets. Please be aware that there are lethal voltages present in most of the components, even though has being powered off.
Musical Background:
Just jam at home for fun...
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock ,psychedelic.
29 of 29 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2015 by Raymond Bushrow in Port Mansfield, TX
"2 different amps in one"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've owned this amp for 8 months. I love it. One thing nobody talks about is the fact you can chain together the vintage channel and the custom channel. When you connect the two channels you have hundreds of tonal options. you have a and b channels and y which gives you all pre amp tubes running together. It's so full and it could be compared to a single coil pick-up to a humbucker pick-up can't say enough good about this feature also the longer I play it the better it sounds and the volume has gotten more sensitive as you can play at 1.2-1.5. I'm going to buy another that's how much I like it.
Musical Background:
Played for 45 years I've had many fenders but this ones the best
Musical Style:
My own music cross between blues and glitter
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2017 by Robert K in Southfield, MI
"Great Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great amp, sorry for not having enough adjectives to describe this amp. I bought it thinking I only needed a powerful and quality amp and got this beast. All around awesome tone and quality. I set it up without my church band knowing to see if they would notice a difference and immediately they knew as we started, this was not my solid state Line Six which had many years of service. I play mostly quartet, modern gospel, christian and some R&B, it handles all of that like a champ. Worked well with my American Fender Strat and my Boos Me80. If there were CONS:1 no I phones or tablets on top or close. (interference)2 Make sure the venue you're playing in is grounded. I not properly grounded you will here your local radio station playing through it and that's without the guitar plugged in. 3 Maybe invest in a plug in "wall filter" for the tube hiss. It has 6 tubes and they are noisy but not noticeable with a filter and DI box ground lift thingy. 4 My church has strobe studio and loud lights if any one knows about this you understand why I wrote about the lights and interference noise. These are the problems with a lot of tube amps but I would rather have these problems than another solid state digital blah blah blah.I really like this amp its GREAT!
Musical Background:
Late starter started playing at almost 37 years old and no need to tell my present age...
Musical Style:
Gospel, Quartet, Christian, R&B.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2019 by Harold Tillman in Frostproof, FL
"Best fender amp in a decade"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp from zZounds 10 months ago. Delivery was fast 2 days. The box it came in was inbad shape however not a scratch on the amp. It is like the fender I had decades ago. The sound is the same and it is the real deal.powerful musicial.it is the fender sounds that everyone is trying to copy. I had many fender amps over the years this one is the alpha dog of them all. The twin side chimney or dail up the kids for classic rock. The bassman side breaks up eaiser. Or use both sides together for enormous wall of sound. Me add a 4x12 and I'm rocking. ABY box works really well for this. I love it My tech 21 Plexii pedal turns it into a68 Plexi amp. I did hear some hiss and buzz when using reverb. Very low amp at 3 you won't hear it. Took it to diversify audio in Tampa. They had it fixed in 3 days. They replaced a broken rca jack.Best part the repair was free.. fender paid for it all under thier 5 year warranty this amp has a beautiful sound with my americian strat it is rocking down the highway all the way to China Grove then over to Lagrange. Turn on a chours use the amps reverb and tremolo many beautiful love songs. Built solid looks great. Zzounds pay as you play is the best. This is one amp I will keep forever. This amp is better than my old silver face but still has that original sound and more. As good sound quality as a $2000 amp thanks fender best amp in a long time. zZounds is just awesome..
Musical Background:
Been playing and performing for 48 years
Musical Style:
Classic rock southern rock country b lol ues 50s&60s pop
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2015 by Victor S in San Jose, CA
"Nothing but Good Things to Say"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First let me lead off by saying that this is a killer amp. Just great. I own a 1967 Silverface bandmaster and an old Masco Me27 amplifier. I've owned a Deluxe Reverb Reissue as well. I've played professionally for 10 years and have played out with a lot of different amps and different styles of music. That being said, I mostly play country and Rockabilly and that's what I bought this amp for. This amp I think is the best of the bunch. The clean sounds on this amp are just wonderful. Whats nice about this Twin is that you can play it quiet enough to use in the house and it has all the headroom you could want. It has two channels. A "Vintage" Channel and a "Modified" channel. Each channel has a volume control and a three band EQ. The effects in this amp are a spring reverb and tremelo which are global settings so both channels use them. Each channel also has a bright switch. Also the 4 6l6 drive tubes have their own little protective cage. I think that was a great touch! Vintage channel: This is the channel I spend the most time playing on. This channel has everything you would expect for a twin. It's sweet, chimey and has a powerful feel to it even at low volumes. It can throw treble and mids like nobody's business and can do it without that "icepick" sound you get from a lot of Fenders' other tube amps. You can play this amp in the house pretty without kicking up a fuss. They way the volume works is there's not a whole lot of volume from 1-3 on the volume knob. At 3, it seems to be a great daytime practice volume. After 3, the volume really starts kicking in. I would say 3.5-5 on the volume knob is going to suffice for almost all gigs. I've read this model is designed to break up early, It will start breaking up real well around 6 but at that point, I don't think its really useable. it will be just too loud! This amp is still all about cleans. Modified Channel: The channel is apparently modeled after a bassman. The channel certainly is fatter sound by nature. Nice round and warm is a good way to describe it. The channel also rounds about 5db louder than the vintage channel. I originally bought this with the intention of putting some Jensens in it. I like it so much that Im not going to switch anything out. The speakers are rates at 70 watts and a max volume of 98db.
Musical Background:
Professional musicians and teacher. I play guitar, banjo and mandolin.
Musical Style:
Mostly old style country (Think Bakersfield country) and Bluegrass. I used to play Rock and things like that but not anymore.
26 of 28 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2018 by Michael M in Pittston, PA
"Great amp overall, a bit hissy tho"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Clean, powerful, and loud. Handles my pedal board with lots of headroom to spare. A downside is the reverb tank. When it was engaged, it had a loud hum/buzz. I fixed it by rotating the tank within the amp and tightening the input jacks. There is still a slight hum, but when you turn up, its not noticeable. The amp seems to have a passive hum/buzz as well, even with all dials set to 0. It worsens the louder you crank the amp. Recording does not seem feasible at this time. I am going to contact Fender to see if something can be done about this. Many people seem to have the same issues with the amp as I did. Seems to be luck of the draw.
Musical Background:
Jam at home and with old bandmates/friends.
Musical Style:
Rock, jam, country, electronic, blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2019 by Jon Parker in Tulsa, OK
"Fender '68 Custom Twin"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought first one October 2014, this amp is the cleanest clear of any. Hint: make sure reverb tank RCA jacks face front of amp, tighten rca input jacks, spray puff of DeoxIT D5S6 in tube sockets, if your reverb or amp is noisy. QC can be forgetful about last minute item check. Custom channel is approximately 5 decibels louder than Vintage channel. I run an A/B~Y switcher which has isolation transformer, 180° polarity switch, and ground lift: running both channels simultaneously. This amp is extremely pedal friendly and in my opinion along with several other users of it as the best sounding twin reverb Fender has designed! Mine will remain stock!!!...stock speakers, stock tubes, stock circuitry; no modifications necessary. Play it, break it in and notice the sweet spot!!!...ThankYou zZounds for payments, and all the attention to detail to get your customers their dream gear!!!...Hint>I am buying a second '68 Custom next week☆...Manufacturer Support???...never needed to call Fender.
Musical Background:
Play guitar, 48 years, just enjoy getting better at guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz, Experimental...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2021 by Pete Slick
"She’s a beauty"
Hi de hi. Have fooled with many solid state and valve amps over the years but this glistening lump is the ducks nuts. Can find the warmth with overdrive on custom reissue les Paul’s, the rip snorting surf echo of the Atlantic’s on the strat and the rickenbacker jangle of all the best and with compression for that petty sound. Love my heavy fender reissue. Beautiful.
Musical Background:
Guitarist since 10 years old.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues,prog, guitarist for sale.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2017 by Jthomas A in Wilmer, TX
"Pristine clean and load "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned many tube amps. Vox, Marshall, Line 6 Bogner, and other fenders. If you are looking for all the clean Fender has to offer (and almost all the reverb). You will love this amp. It was a toss up between this and the 65. Went with the 68 as it seems to take pedals a little better. The price won't break the bank especially with zZounds Play as you Pay. Although I had read that the 68 doesn't have as much head room as the 65, the 68 in fact has plenty of head room. The sound fills the room with the volume at 3. Great single amp that can be for home or gig use. I set the volume at 3 and cranked the volume on my strat and I was blown away
Musical Background:
25 years on the guitar
Musical Style:
Country, Blues, some rock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2016 by Michael A in Lawrence, KS
"Fender '68 Twin Reverb Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It sounds... amaaaaaaazzzzzzing!!! Very happy with this amp. Haven't turned it up louder than 3 so far. It's loud as hell!! And clear, and warm, and lovely, especially when I play my strat through it;) minor issue with the cheap pedal that fender provides with it, but Zzounds made it right. Great stuff!!
Musical Background:
Played music for 35 years. I like a little of most genres, provided they are real music. I play out occasionally. Trying to do i
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, jazz, experimental
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2015 by Nathan C in Haleiwa, HI
"Fender 68 Custom Twin Reverb Reissue"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Although Zzounds is a really great company who have been wonderful to do business with I sadly have to give this amp a negative review. I previously ordered 2 (yes one I sent back and another as a replacement which I also sent back) 65 Deluxe reverb reissues from Zzounds and had to send them back thinking maybe there was a design or faulty component problem and opted instead for a 68 Twin Reverb reissue which I still have. The problem with all three amps has been an abnormally loud white noise in both channels even when no instrument is plugged in. It renders the amps unusable in a recording setting. I checked all tubes with no luck and tried them at various locations with properly grounded outlets. There is also a very audible AC hum introduced into the signal path when the reverb is turned on and which increases with the volume of the reverb. I know tube amps have a bit of initial hiss but this is not okay. I live on Oahu and have already incurred about 200 dollars in shipping charges trying to get this cleared up. I also went to a local music store and tried one and it had the same issues. I spoke to an amp tech on the island who told me they refused to be a Fender Authorized service center because they have seen so much of this lately. I thought new tubes would help. Bought a set of Tube Amp Doctor matched set and no luck. I contacted Fender who told me I've got to send it to another Island to get it serviced. The catch is that if the Fender Authorized tech thinks there is no problem I'm the one who has to pay the bill. So far a 1300 dollar amp has cost me with tubes and shipping over 1600 and weeks of frustration with no solution. Unfortunately I missed the 45 day return window so I'm stuck with it. What happened to Fender QC? Buyer beware on Fender Reissue amps. Thank you Zzounds for stellar service and quick turnaround. I will be buying from you again.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for 20 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country, Latin
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2016 by Larry Moore in Gastonia, NC
"Shouldn't have waited so long"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All I can say is wow.... I play in church so I went through every review possible I was leary of a really gainy sound I love those Fender clean tones. I have only used the vintage channel once I play a 2014 Gibson Midtown Custom the custom channel is amazing and Iv yet to reach 4 on the volume usually at 3.5 where as on my 1965 Super Reverb Im at 5 to 6 .I did the 180°tank flip now no hum, my only complaint is that its heavy but for the sound Im getting its well worth lugging around from church to church
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
Really only at home and churches
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2014 by jamie l in madrid, IA
"68 custom twin reverb. Like the twin but with better tone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is wonderful. I've owned several tube amps and a few solid state and digital. I've played through thousands more. This has the tone of the original twin, with the addition of another channel that is in between a baseman and twin, and luscious reverb and vibrato. Handles pedals well, better than the original twin, and is more dynamic and expressive than the original twin. It kicks ass for blues, jazz, rock, country, and even metal with a distortion pedal. I got great metal tones with an ehx the glove od and a soul food od for a little more grit (only $120 total) and I have owned a triple rectifier. In short, it's like the twin but more expressive and dynamic. Great blues and rock and jazz amp and metal amp with a pedal or two. Good for country, but if you are hardcore clean country guy, the original twin is slightly brighter voiced and slightly twangy-ger. Cons: heavy, and some vintage amp thumping sounds when standby switch used, depending on the power source. But it is a vintage amp.
Musical Background:
26 yrs of guitar playing. professional
Musical Style:
Everything. But mostly blues, hair metal, and jazz fusion.
17 of 19 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.