Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender '68 Custom Princeton Reverb Guitar Combo Amplifier

Fender '68 Custom Princeton Reverb Guitar Combo Amplifier

The reissued Fender '68 Custom Princeton Reverb reissue updates this legendary amp's classic all-tube sound with modern sensitivity and increased overdrive.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted April 9, 2014 by steven r in rowley, MA
"Wow!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this from ZZ as a B-Stock, and it is in perfect condition. The sound is amazing, I got rid of my hand-wired boutique amp with 6V6 tubes for this one. It sounds absolutely amazing with my strat and tele. My MIA PRS gets great crunch, in the main input, but you need to use teh secondary input to get a clean tone out of it. This amp is louder than you might think, gets louder up till about 5 and then just gets crunchier, but not tweedish crunch, more like a British crunch (must be the speaker they paired with it). I had some fun this weekend and maxed out the amp with my Strat and it was tonal bliss and the amp cleaned up nice when i rolled the dial back and the strat cleaned up beautifully. The amp is very touch responsive. I highly recommend this amp, if you need something louder just mic it!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, playing for 18 years, Own a MIA PRS, MIA Tele, Vintage Gretsch Semi-Hollow, MIJ Jackson
Musical Style:
Southern Blues, Rock, Hard Rock
17 of 17 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2015 by Jor-El T in San Antonio, TX
"pure fender- perfect recording/rehearsal/gigging/everything amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this in January to be my go to amp because I needed something portable and a decent volume to practice in a small apartment. I did loads of research before making an investment and although I hadn't played it in person yet, I knew this was going to the best music purchase I've made ever. This amp is incredible! For MIM I'm impressed with the build quality and performance. This '68 version had a ceramic speaker which I replaced with a Celestion Gold and now she breaks up much earlier and really can get great modern sounds. I love the rectifier tube because it is a natural compression which is perfect for recording and lends a nice warm and natural overdrive. I never have the volume past 3.5 and this thing is the perfect volume (it has plenty of preamp tubes to make sure of that).Love that it comes with footswitch to control the vibrato and Reverb and a nice vinyl cover. Every one who sees this amp compliments not just the good looks but the incredible sound from such a small box. This has the gorgeous good looks of the silver face models (drip edge is super classy and adds a nice touch)from the late 60s. my favorite part about this amp is that now I can carry my entire rig in two hands(tele in a hardshell and only need one hand to lift the now 40 pound Princeton-the Celestion Gold added about 5 lbs). I'm looking forward to buying the 65 reissue and running stereo.
Musical Background:
semi pro guitarist-gig occasionally
Musical Style:
Pop, country
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2015 by Chris R in Point reyes, CA
"Princeton is king"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I waited six months to write about this amp as to really evaluate it fairly. First off this has helped me gig with a damaged back ,I can no longer lift the mighty twin. Funny enough my twin never went past 4, but strangely either does this Princeton, it's a mighty beast! I play in a 4 piece band , really a trio with a harp player and my fear was no way it would keep up with drummer, and AmPeg 450 watt bass player. Wrong I'm on top and never drowned out at all with head room to spare. I use it in conjunction with pedal board and we play country, blues, classic rock and some actual metal, Motörhead cover, guess which one? Man this sucker has passed my expectations totally and yes I gave it a four but the only way I give five star is if it gives o.gasms lol. It practically does.. Reverb sweet I never breach 3, tremelo sweet use it sparingly but very tasty, responsive to touch as described, I've only played my hot rod custom mim strat plus with floyd and rio grande pic ups hss. That guitar surpasses my American and has a very versatile array of tones. I can't believe I haven't tryed my lp but soon and I'm sure it will cook! This amp is easy easy just plug your stuff dial in simple easy mostly treb, less on bass as she's bassey for such a small thing. I got scared the other night with some sound cutting out but it was the stupid cable, worried a bit because just added three pedals to my board. I'm sorry to go off subject, but really if you like loud, light , fender sound, versatile with pedals this baby is great. I tryed the hot rod and supersonic first, hot rod to loud, supersonic was to laden with popping switches too bad I wanted that thing in theory, but in the end I got what I need, good tone light package, band able. I heard a sane that goes if your bands too loud for a Princeton your bands too loud, I'm a believer. I had all the Marshall stack stuff 100 watt stuff and really never got to play them to their full tonal potential because of volume issues, I mean you want to hear the vocals right? Well really want you folks to know that this amp is a worthy contender to the stage and studio and I love it! Keep it real, keep it fender! Rock on peeps.
Musical Background:
25 years in music
Musical Style:
All
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2018 by Miguel P in Lugano, NA
"Sweeter tremolo than the 65 Princeton, swapped ten-30 for a cel. gold Alnico."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Have a 65 Princeton w/ 12” cel. Alnico Blue. Played the ‘68, and had to have it, (tremolo was so good!). Have a Supro Comet also, tremolo very good, interacting with the reverb, but not everyone will like it. ‘68 PRI, I think even people who don’t like tremolo will like this tremolo. For me, the stock speaker was ok with single coils, and unusable with humbuckers due to the overwhelming bass response. Swapped the speaker with a cel. Gold Alnico and now sounds great w/ single coils, humbuckers, and active (EMG) pickups. Problem solved. Takes pedals very well. Pound for pound, hard amp to beat, with the gold Alnico.
Musical Background:
Playing 52 years. Busked as a teenager.
Musical Style:
Blues, Bossa Nova, Jazz, Rock, POP, R&B, Trio, Folk, Classcal, bluegrass,
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2020 by Judge Wood in Appling, GA
"Magical sound."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve used Fender amps for 51 years. I still have several vintage Princeton’s and Bassmans. This 68 reissue is the most beautiful sounding amp I’ve ever used. Bar none! It’s sensitivity to picking is amazing. I was slightly disturbed by the MIM monicker. But, up receiving it, I let that go. This amp is worth every penny.
Musical Background:
1968 now.
Musical Style:
I play any and all styles. My band is a blues band. I also play acoustic instrumentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2015 by Andrew B in Independence, MO
"Vintage Princeton Reverb...Kinda"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So, like so many, I was on the hunt for a new fender Princeton Reverb. But which one...65RI or 68' Custom? I played both extensively and found that the 68 was warmer to my ear. The 65' is a superb amp, but clean all the way. I guess I wanted more breakup than it offered. The 68 starts to breakup at 4.5-5 depending on your pickups. My strat sounds glorious at 4.5, great for srv or Hendrix. I don't really enjoy the amp cranked above 5-6, it just sounds muddy to me. I put a nos 12at7 in mine as well as a 5751 and it gave a little more headroom. I think with a different quality speaker this amp will be perfect! Something In between a stock 65 & 68. I had the 68' custom deluxe, and while I loved it's two channels dearly, it was WAY too loud for home use. It also lacked the warmth and punch this 68 Princeton has. Just a note if your on the fence between the two. Home use or recording=Princeton. I had no issues with clicking tremolo or hissing reverb like I did with my deluxe. Amp is VERY quiet. I give this amp a 4.5/5.0 d/t the so-so speaker for this price point. The V70 Celestine in the deluxe smoked this ten 30.
Musical Background:
Basement rock star
Musical Style:
Classic rock, 90's, 70's, some hard rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2015 by andre v in walnutport, PA
"fender 68 custom princeton reverb"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
excellent fender tone especially vibrato and reverb ,smooth vintage sound from a small caliber amp, sounds as good as my 65 deluxe reverb
Musical Background:
playing 30 years ,fender telecasters all the way
Musical Style:
blues and country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2014 by John M in Valley stream, NY
"68 princeton reverb"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Awesome little amp. It is a tone monster , loves pedals also. You cant go wrong here
Musical Background:
20+years, guitar used to be a gigging musician now i mainly play at home
Musical Style:
Rock,blues, metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to