Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 1x10")

Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 1x10")

Get the best of both worlds. The Fender Super Champ X2 combines classic tube-driven tone with modern onboard effects in an affordable 15-watt combo amp.

Overall User Ratings (based on 24 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(24)
Submitted July 10, 2017 by Don M in Maple Grove, MN
"Sweet Combo Amp - Performance Belies Size and Price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a difficult time deciding between the Super Champ X2 and the Laney Cub 12r.I previously had a Cub 10, so I knew with the Laney I'd be getting a great sounding amp. Thing is, I already have a Marshall DSL5, so I didn't need another British amp, I needed clean American sound. So I took a swing at the X2 and couldn't be happier. I was expecting a good, balanced sound based on enthusiastic reviews, but honestly didn't think it would be THIS good. The upside...Light weight, front mounted knobs, amp modeling (great modeling through the first 8 or 9, the high gain, not so much), great built in digital effects that are actually usable.The tone and feel of the tubes (valves) is fantastic. There's plenty of headroom and squish.I honestly love this thing and have no regrets on this purchase. Period.Somehow even the rather cheap and flimsy stock speaker sounds good with decent bass.My only quibble is it's inability to pull off high gain. It's really not this amps forte, but can be easily be remedied with a speaker swap, without losing the clean chimey-ness.If you don't get one immediately, plan on a future purchase of an Eminence Ragin Cajun 10" to bring this amp from merely mortal to god-like status. It now sits square in the realm of my Marshall DSL/Celestion Gold G10 when it comes to being a killer tone machine. I believe the X2 is gig worthy with the speaker upgrade within the context of the right music genre.Usefull for Blues, Modern Jazz, Classic Rock and maybe country in a intimate setting or small club where the quality of the music is more important than trying to blow out the audiences eardrums. It can get plenty loud and sound good doing it.I've played around with the Fuze software and if your a knob tweaker and enjoy experimentation, this will be up your alley. Contrary to other review I've seen, you CAN save the adjustments made in Fuze permanently to the amp, so you don't need to remain plugged in to the software at all times to enjoy your self-made presents.This amp has made me a convert. I used Marshall exclusively in the past, but now I have a complete tonal pallet to choose from with this addition. Extremely satisfied with this amp. Way to go Fender!
Musical Background:
30 year guitarist
Musical Style:
Blues, Progressive Instrumental Guitar, Rock in All Forms.
20 of 20 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2017 by Travis F in Potosi , MO
"Fender Super Champ X2"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Totally Awesome. Exactly what I was looking for. I opened the box and plugged in my '56 reissue Gold Top and "Oh what joy that floods my soul". A couple days later I plugged in the EJ-200CE " Glory Hallelujah ". I took the amp and the EJ to church this morning and evening and it sounded wonderful. This is my new Sunday go to meeting setup. Praise and Glory.
Sound
I love the tones I can get out of this amp.
Features
Still exploring. So far I really like the channel select button. You can go from the Fender clean (channel 1) to whatever tone you have dialed in on channel 2 with the push of a button.
Ease of Use
Turn the knobs and see what happens. Can't get any easier.
Quality
Very good quality. I expect ( with the loving care that it gets) to be playing with it for a long time.
Value
So worth every dollar.
Manufacturer Support
No contact
The Wow Factor
The Wow Factor ! WOW !!! It's a Fender tube amp !!!
Musical Background:
6 years guitar. Church and home.
Musical Style:
Christian mostly. It just depends on who I can corner and jam with.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 6, 2012 by William Terjesen in Peekskill, NY
"Super Champ is a champ."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
A tube amp for $350 with gizmos: what more can I say? Apparently, lots. Back in the 60s Fender Amps were a regular part of the line up of every band I was in. Super Reverbs, Twin Reverbs, Concert Amps, Bandmasters, Bassman, etc. So now that I'm old and past it, I wanted an amp with that good old Fender sound to drive my tele as I trapse down memory lane with my family and friends. This little tube amp with digital "skullduggery" (to quote Greg Koch) does the job without making me miss a mortgage payment. Cheap and sweet!! Tube deliciousness with bells and whistles, mmmm. I haven't played too much with the fuse software yet, but it looks cool. I added a little compression to the Bassman model and it sounded real nice. Snotty AND smooth. I highly recommend this amp for anyone who wants tubes but doesn't have an abundance of disposable cash.
Musical Background:
Former pro; guitar, bass, keyboards. Now a jam at home duffer.
Musical Style:
50s and 60s rock. Country. Bluegrass.
58 of 60 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2015 by Henry Piper in Everett, WA
"Terriffic Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What a great amp. I love the clean tones, just what I bought a tube amp for and while I am still learning all the effects. I am sure they will be of use once I figure it all out. I like the fact that even though it is a full featured tube amplifier Fender still managed to keep the weight down. I am partially disabled but I can still move this around without any trouble at all. I have never been disappointed in any Fender product and this is no exception.
Musical Background:
Used to play in a band many years ago. Recently retired and decided to get back into playing.
Musical Style:
Blues, Blues and a bit of classic rock.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2013 by William Gartin in Byron, IL
"Love this amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had forgotten what it was like to have a good sounding amp, that is easy to use. I have had the amp for about three weeks now, No complaints. I was reluctant to purchase a Fender Champ amp because I had one back in the 80's and was not impressed. This amp rocks.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 34 years, I play at home.
Musical Style:
I play rock, country, blues and bluegrass
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2016 by Ron P in Lexington, NC
"Great sound, great fun!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have played off and on for 55 years. Now own a Strat and a Hoffner jazz box. This amp delivers the true sound of both on the clean channel. Crank it up and I sound like Angus Young, Pete Townsend, Eric Clapton. I am new to models and effects and they're here in a well organized package. I will have months of fun learning the permutations, not to mention creating my own eventually. Perfect for a newbie to this guitar technology, but my son and grandson love it too. I saved a few bucks on a warehouse repacked unit--it's perfect as far as I can tell.
Musical Background:
play at home
Musical Style:
blues, chord melody
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2015 by Paul M in Colorado Springs, CO
"A great little amp but something you should know."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a hot little amp especially for the price. Effects are good and the clean channel takes pedals very well. Channel two takes pedals very well depending on the model that you choose; some settings better than others. The cleaner models such as: Twin, Baseman, Jazzman etc... work well with pedals as long as you don't blend too many onboard effects. I was concerned with the clean channel having just a volume knob but the onboard effects sound great with it and I can adjust the tone through the pedals that I use. The biggest suggestion that I can make is to get the matching cabinet. It has the G12P-80 which is the same speaker used in the Hot Rod Deville combo and cabinet. The 10'' speaker in this amp sounds fine for this price point but the cabinet turns this thing into whole different animal. If you don't want to spend the extra $200 then buy the head and cabinet. This is what I did and I can not believe the difference over the combo that my friend has. He heard it and bought the cabinet the next day. The cabinet is light and compact but the enclosed back gives it a big sound, in fact, it has a fuller clean sound than my Supersonic 22 combo at a price $600 less. I'm not saying the X2 is better than the Supersonic, the cabinet just gives it a lower end. Either way, this amp is a no brainer at this price. Last but not least, don't give up on it. The first few days that I had it I never played it more than 15min at a time because I was too busy but when I played with the band the tubes got hot and I fell in love with the thing. Break it in and you will love it!
Musical Background:
Playing guitar 22 years. Gigging on and off for 10 years.
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock and a little Country.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2017 by Brian Bickham in Browns Mills, NJ
"Click "Advanced Amp" for USB Gain"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this to both jam with and to record with. Wow! What a great product! I love that I can use FUSE and physically turn the knob and watch the digital knob turn on screen while I'm turning it with my fingers instead of using the mouse! I've always wanted something like that. I've got a Greenback in mine, which is definitely a step up from the stock speaker.I couldn't figure out why my recording level was so low until I found the "Advanced AMP" which allowed for me to turn up the gain on the USB cord. This also allows for extra digital knobs such as "Noise Gate thresh and depth," "Sag," "Bias" and the aforementioned "USB Gain." The physical amp does not have a "middle" knob, but it is in FUSE, which I thought was kind of odd. You can tweak it with your fingers and with your mouse for an amazing amount of possibilities. If you aren't computer savvy, perhaps this isn't for you, but if you like the Mustang series and can't afford one of the boutique tube amps, you should check this one out. I'm happy with what I've recorded on Logic Pro X/Garageband. The models are pretty cool and if you don't like them, you can download from the FUSE community.I've read forums where they say "it is a hybrid, and not all-tube." I'd recommend doing your own research on it like I did, but I'm having a blast with it!
Sound
For those who don't like the model amps because they lack the warmth of tubes, this is for you! It get's pretty loud in the house, but I'm not sure how it would do in a gig. It has a line out that you could plug into a PA or you could use a mic.
Features
I love that I can use FUSE and physically turn the knob and watch the digital knob turn on screen while I'm turning it with my fingers instead of using the mouse! There is no physical "middle" knob, which is odd. There is a digital "middle" knob though once you plug it into your computer.
Ease of Use
If you aren't computer savvy, perhaps this isn't for you, but if you like the Mustang series and can't afford one of the boutique tube amps, you should definitely check this one out. I'm happy with what I've recorded on Logic Pro X/Garageband. The models are pretty cool and if you don't like them, you can download from the FUSE community.
Quality
It's built pretty solid. I'd be careful with the USB port though, if you own an android phone, you know how flimsy the charging cords can be. I'd be more worried about what might break inside though. I bought an angle USB extender for it.
Value
This amp is very versatile! Again, it's built pretty solid and you can do quite a bit for the price. I would upgrade the speaker. Look for the wine model, which comes with a Greenback already installed.
Manufacturer Support
I've read about people having issues and not getting help. "Both channels go through the DSP. Channel 1 is just a dedicated voice. If the DSP goes, the whole thing goes. Fender does not replace/repair the DSP boards and does not sell them as repair parts." I have no experience myself.
The Wow Factor
Pluggin into a computer gives you all access!
Musical Background:
Amateur, Numbskull 999
Musical Style:
Rock, Acoustic, Blues, Alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2013 by Steve G in Rochester, NY
"much more than I Expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful cleTd effects that I didn't think were possible in an amp this size. The effects were a shock, especially with the tap control. What a GREAT Investment. This is really a quality little amp that delivers big tone. The cleans are sparkling and the effects amazing. I never EVER liked modeling amps but this Fender has changed my perspective. With the Chorus, Tremolo,Delay and Reverb and the ability to control the timing with the Tap control this amp is a more than worth investment. especially with the Fuse software.
Musical Background:
I used to be a professional now I play at home with friends
Musical Style:
Old Country, Pink Floyd, Beatles, Bluegrass, and just about any which way we want to go, we were all pros at one time or another
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2017 by B T in Morris, MN
"I am a Believer "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sweet little package for the price. I did the tube and speaker upgrade and biased (if you don't know how, don't attempt!!) the tubes. USE the software if your not happy with the settings. In there you will find the "mid" control, noise gate and compression- along with all the other bells and whistles. I sold my Deluxe, I now have my Princeton reverb for big shows but 9 out of 10 times I grab my X2. I come from the In-ear sector so volume is not an issue. The tone is pure Fender heaven and other than a wireless I have no pedals to worry about. With the tubes biased correctly you (I) set it at 8 for that bright edgy clean with my volume control on guitar around 80% and when I want to get dirty I bring up volume on guitar, the tubes break up perfect. Play blues, rock, country all night long with out a pedal board full of different pedals and get the distinct sounds.Load in is my guitar, amp, wireless. Hand it off to FOH.
Musical Background:
27 Years
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, Blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2012 by Rev. Jim Berlin in Richland Center, WI
"If There's A Better Amp Out there For The Money.......Buy It now!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unbelievable sound & useability from the mainframe of all amplifier companies, Fender!! Huge sounds, unlimited voicings, very useful controls, channel switching capabilites footswitch contolled, better than usual stock speaker, multiple effects and great tube sound. Seriously, what more can we expect for around $350.00? A great amp at a great price. FENDER DOES IT AGAIN!!!!!!
Musical Background:
40 plus years experience in guitar, bass, slide, playing professionally all over the USA and Canada.
Musical Style:
Country, Country-Rock, Blues, Christian and Rock.
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2015 by James W in Bureau Junction, IL
"This Super Champ X2 is fantastic."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My Fender Twin Reverb is a great amp, but it sits around gathering dust because it is too loud, too powerful, and too heavy. The Super Champ is just right, and I actually play every day.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar and other stringed instruments for over 50 years (boy, are my fingers tired).
Musical Style:
I play a variety of music and instruments.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2016 by Ron R in Charleston, WV
"You owe yourself a Fender Super Champ X2"
Bad to the Bone and way bigger than it looks. Just what I needed. Had mine for a year and don't know how I lived sixty five years without it. It's like the old tube sound of the 60s in package from 2025. The old timey tonal warmth and clarity, plus the endless digital effects recipe, creates a total tonal smorgasbord. Good things really do come in that small Super Champ package. Play one today and play another Fender classic! Let this little bitty baby recommend itself, soon. *****
Musical Background:
guitar 50 years, jam at home nowdays.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, R&B, Country, Bluegrass
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2014 by Jose A in Shakopee, MN
"Amazing Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I did a lot of research before buying this amp. It is an amazing peace of equipment. I have to be honest though, I was about to return it due to the fact that you don't get to hear the tubes working till you crank the volume pass six. I was playing it at home and was getting disenchanted, but when I brought it to church and set the volume to eight I immediately change my mind and fell in love with it. But, yeah, that's the down side of it so you keep that in mind.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for about three years now, primarily at church.
Musical Style:
Christian
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2013 by Allison Chapman in Great Falls, MT
"OMG is an understatement!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Fender Super Champ X2 has got to be the reference when it comes to guitar amplifiers. First let me say that I have been a guitar player for more than 30 years and in that time I've owned many Fender amps as well as amplifiers by Line6, Musicman, Laney, Randall, Peavey, Marshall etc. I also have been an audiophile for most of that time, owning some of the finest stereo equipment ever made. The Champ arrived just today at my home and had a chance to try it out for the first time, and am so exited that I just could not wait to tell everybody about this. The tonal quality is beyond belief with everything from down and dirty to warm and cuddly. I play a Epiphone Swingster that I have also purchased from zzounds, and the two together just are mind blowing. This amp is not for kids, its' a very serious piece of equipment for very serious players. We no longer have to haul around an 80 pound amp, this amps quality and it's ability to model (exactly) the sound of hundreds of highend amplifiers make it perfect for any serious player. The Champs tonal possibilities are infinite. You can get the same quality and versatility, as long as you are willing to haul around $100,000 worth of equipment.
Musical Background:
Playing for more than 30 years
Musical Style:
Jazz, Easy Listening, New Age
17 of 21 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2019 by Chris R
"Fender X2"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this amp for a great deal. I had enough money left to immediately purchase a Celestion G10 and a genalex gold lion 12ax7 Russian version. The stock amp sounded really good out of the box with no mods no tube or speaker break in. First thing I changed was the speaker, I got a lot of round full tone there even without speaker break in, yet new speaker is still a little stiff. Soon after I changed the 12ax7 tube and my lord. Those two mods really juiced up this amp to the point where I love an amp to be. This was super important to my success, the fuse software! I use this amp on channel 1 mainly with a few pedals and with fuse I was able to adjust the mid range to my tastes. The amp channel 1 comes with bass ,treb and midrange at maximum. Way to brittle for me , so fuse softened that up nicely and I saved that preset to preserve my settings. With fuse software you’ll be able to have way more parameter control, like midrange and presence, and effects too. Channel two is completely cool and even though I don’t play live on chan 2 it’s still very helpful for home playing. Now for loudness, 15 watts does keep up with my drummer and bassist and we play power trio stuff . I have no prob gigging with and mic it up for extra boost any way. I’ve learned the hard way by carrying absurdly heavy amps only to never get them to the sweet spot volume wise do to the deafening loudness. Small amp, hot tubes equals sweet tone. 24 pounds of love in the superchamp x2. One note on the preamp tube, I got a balanced triode 12ax7 since it actually does double duty as a phase inverter and preamp tube. I don’t know if that made a difference but that tube really made this amp sing. I probably didn’t need to do anything to the champ and would still enjoy it but now I love it. My two other amps are a princeton custom reverb and a champion 40, both are great, especially the Princeton which is my go to gig amp. Rock on people.
Musical Background:
30 years playing
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, progressive rock, trio rock.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2013 by Thomas Impomeni in Boise, ID
"In the Shop for 2 months!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I enjoyed the X2 until it stopped working. I am sure happy for the 5 year warranty because it looks like it is going to take that long to get it repaired. The shop had to send off to Fender for a replacement PC board and it has been 2 months, give me a break.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
Ecclectic, rock, country, blues.
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2013 by a customer from gmail.com in RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
"Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Portable with zoom! clean Fender sound and awesome tube grunge.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2015 by Hugh Buchanan in Boonsboro, MD
"Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great amp. There are many amp simulations, from a clean bright tube sound to a throaty growl. The effects are ok, but I will probably use an effects pedal if I don't find what I want on the front panel. Combination of effects is somewhat limited. The amp seems to have plenty of volume. Some of the voices are a bit louder. Its a good amp, but somewhat pricey for 15 watts.
Musical Background:
Forty-five years/
Musical Style:
Classical, Jazz, Contemporary Guitar, original compositions performed in church.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2014 by ronald letourneau in jacksonville, FL
"Fender Super champ x2 amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp takes care of all my amp needs, I's good for blues, rock, and country, well built, nice tube sound.
Musical Background:
use to play in bar bands, jam at home on my studio, I play bass, guitar and my drum machine lol
Musical Style:
blues, christian, rock, some country, and songs I wrote myself
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Loud"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is small but loud thanks to the large speaker. There's an out jack but no headphone jack like you usually see on small amps. Sixteen cab modes, with the metal one able to get good crunch at apartment friendly volunes.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2014 by ronald letourneau in jacksonville, FL
"Fender Super champ x2 amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp takes care of all my amp needs, I's good for blues, rock, and country, well built, nice tube sound.
Musical Background:
use to play in bar bands, jam at home on my studio, I play bass, guitar and my drum machine lol
Musical Style:
blues, christian, rock, some country, and songs I wrote myself
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2015 by Eric G in New York City, NY
"Great amp once you figure out that the Middle tone control is cranked at 10"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
10" speaker sounds thin. You will need the Fender Fuse software to adjust the mid range which comes cranked at 10 by default. You can then save it to the amp with at the mid range level you want. Some of the Black vinyl tolex wasnt glued properly and is coming undone. Can probably be fixed with super glue. If you use a amp stand like the RS7000 the plugs for both the USB and power cable will interfere with the arms of the amp stand. You can move the amp over a little to the side making the amp uncentered on the amp stand. I plan on getting a mojotone.com cabinet to fit a 12" speaker for better low end. Overall a good amp with great sound and many features.
Musical Background:
20+ years of rock guitar
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal, a few lullabies here and there.
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2015 by Eric G in New York City, NY
"Great amp but..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the 10" speaker sounds very thin and lacks bass. You cant replace the 10" with a 12" because it wont fit. If you get the extended cabinet with the 12" your golden. bought this brand new and the black vinyl on top needs to be re-glued since its looks like its coming undone. No headphone jack.
Musical Background:
20+ years playing hard rock and metal. Ibanez RG Fender strat
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us