Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Super Sonic 22 Guitar Combo Amplifier (22 Watts, 1x12")
ONLY 3 LEFT

Fender Super-Sonic 22 Guitar Combo Amplifier (22 Watts, 1x12")

This tube combo amp packs a Super-Sonic punch with 2 gain stages and 22 screaming watts. With its footswitch and on-board reverb, it's all the amp you need.

Overall User Ratings (based on 24 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(24)
Submitted December 12, 2013 by Mark J in Rhinebeck, NY
"A really nice, versatile amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this amp because I love fender cleans and breakup. I had been thinking of getting Princeton Reverb and that led me to the Deluxe Reverb which led me to the Supesonic 22 since it shares the same clean channel as the DR so I thought it would be great to have the clean of the DR and the burn channel to boot. I was hesitant because there is a lot of talk on the web of reliability issues with these amps and of course the popping sound when switching channels etc. While there is some hiss, especially on the burn channel it's less so than say my AC15C1 or my Carvin Nomad. A clean power source is helpful in that regard and it's really quite when given a clean power source. It's got really good FX loop and the reverb is everything you'd hope to have out of a fender amp. For me I think the burn channel has some great sounds and you can get some very decent dirt without a boost pedal etc.. The two stages of gain allow you go from compressed distortion to thicker, dirtier tones. If there is one gripe I have with the amp it's probably the speaker. It's 22 watts so it's reasonably loud and I'd say you could get away with gigging in small clubs no problem. Anywhere a Deluxe Reverb works this will. However the speaker doesn't like to be pushed too hard. I ran this through an old Seymour Duncan 4x12 Cab loaded with Celestions G12-75Ks and, MAN, did that sound sweet. But when you start turning the volume up around 12 o'clock the speaker gets a bit unhinged. The nice thing is that the stock speaker does a good job at bedroom and moderate volumes. I noticed it did get better at higher volumes as it started breaking in but I ended up putting in a WGS Retro 30 which handles the higher volumes better. Overall Im happy. It's really versatile and while it's not cheap, it's not too expensive for what you get and that includes a footswitch and fitted cover. With the burn channel you can go from classic fender to pretty heavy rock(not metal) in an instant. I hope it lasts the test of time.
Musical Background:
30 year jammer and hobbiest
Musical Style:
Blues/Classic Rock/Indi Rock
22 of 22 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"It should be my last amp purchase..getting too old for this."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would buy it again for all reasons.
Sound
I had a Fender Deluxe RI 22 watter used in conjunction to my Marshall 50 watt Vintage Modern rig. I loved the clean of the Deluxe but I kept wishing that amp had some serious gain and distortion on another channel. This Supersonic 22 filled the bill nicely. I don't need or have the Marshall anymore. I can't wait to pair the Eminence Speaker on the Fender with a Celestion Vintage 30 Loaded 1x12" cab. 22 WATTS LOUD ENOUGH- I SOLD MY PEAVEY JSX 2X12" COMBO WITH 120 WATTS.. because Heck yeah it's loud enough. I and my listeners enjoy the tone more, now. The amp tone guide that comes with the amp stays on my amp..very useful.
Features
It has everything I need. I sold my huge pedal board of Distortions and overdrives and kept the Line 6 X3 Live,..BECAUSE I'M EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH THE DISTORTION CHARACTERISTICS OF THE SUPERSONIC. The pedal board supplied is great.
Ease of Use
The amp comes with manual-how hard is that? I keep the amp setting placard on my amp for quick settings tweaks for different styles of music and different tones. Very useful.-Thanks
Quality
I've owned Fender for 48 years From Blackface, Silverface ,Evil face, Red Knob,Rivera, M80's,with JBLS, WITH UTAHS, WITH JENSENS. THE AMPS ARE STILL SATISFYING SOME PLAYER out there in the world. This by far is my favorite Fender amp. My Silverfaced Super reverb is my 2nd all time fave. it took Years to find My favorite amp. Thank You Steve Vai.
Value
ZZ ZOUNDS MUSIC WILL MATCH WHAT COMPETITORS ADS ARE BUT WHEN SUPPLIED WITH THE RIGHT INFO DOCUMENTING THE ADS..ZZ ZOUNDS DID DO BETTER THAN THE ADS. I SAVED SOME SERIOUS MOOLAH ON MY SUPERSONIC as with ALL my PURCHASES. THANKS ZZOUNDS..You Are My Mates.
Manufacturer Support
I've used them- The Fender Corp. Support.. for my Strats.. getting Guitar info on my resale purchases. Very quick and courteous in response.-Thanks mates for the great info over the years. I've not had to use them on amp problems.
The Wow Factor
Private on sex Appeal. I'ts a practical addition to my rig for sure.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Weekender, Session Player
Musical Style:
BROTHER BOB FUNK, ROCK, BLUES,& SMOOTH JAZZ
44 of 45 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2016 by Tim Stegall in Austin, TX
"The REAL Hot Rod Deluxe!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a veteran punk rock musician with over 30 years' experience. I've been on a tone quest since reforming my original band in 2012. In the old days, it was simple: I had a Gibson Les Paul Jr. plugged into a Marshall JCM800 50 watt combo, itself plugged into a pawn shop 4x12 with four Celestion Greenbacks. Put the gain on full, Master volume about 3 or 4, all tones on 7 - perfect crunch! I lost that rig years ago, and have had no luck replicating that sound. Been through a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, a Peavey Classic 50, a Peavey ValveKing, and another vintage JCM800 combo, this one a 2x12. Not a one got the sound I wanted without a Tube Screamer and an EP Booster slamming the front end, and I prefer the amp doing all the tonal work. With the Fender Super-Sonic 22 combo, I need no pedals. Plug the Junior straight in, set Gain 1 on 5, Gain 2 at 10, a little bass and plenty of treble and mids, Master at 4, and you instantly have the Steve Jones/Johnny Thunders singing crunch. It is perfection. Based on a Fender Deluxe Reverb platform, yet hot-rodded, this is the REAL Hot Rod Deluxe! Priced for a working musician to have a boutique quality Fender amp, it easily kills the Hot Rod series and other working man amps Fender builds these days. And the clean channel, which is a straight Deluxe Reverb, offers nice versatility. I will never need another amp...or overdrive pedal, for that matter. I may buy a 2nd Super-Sonic 22 for a spare, however.
Musical Background:
30 years professional singer/guitarist
Musical Style:
Old school punk, rock 'n' roll
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2014 by Michael Rollins
"Good Job Fender!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The super sonic 22 is a VERY versatile amp. The vintage channel gives you all the cleans that we love from fender (deluxe reverb, bassman) and it takes pedals great. Switch over to the burn channel and you will have all the gain you could ever want. Unless your into heavy metal, then this is not the amp for you. This is my favorite amp.
Musical Background:
Been playing for over 20 years. I mostly play at home
Musical Style:
Classic rock. Mainly Pink Floyd
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2014 by Brad Miller in Florence, KY
"Beyond Super!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I gig with this most weekends. I was a little skeptical that the amp would provided sufficient stage presence (and volume) with a mere 22 watts and a single 12" speaker. However, most people are truly amazed when I reveal that the amp is 22 watts. And the variety of great tones achievable is quite remarkable. This is the first amp I've consistently used the over drive channel on. It doesn't suck! I find myself using pedals less and less. If you're looking for a small combo amp that's incredibly versatile - blues, jazz, classic rock, whatever - consider the super sonic.
Musical Background:
Weekend Warrior - professional for 30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, country, rockabilly.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"A used but Super Sonic 22."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a tendency to stick with and improve my amps and build my own cabinets, so I will probably keep this one for a while.
Sound
The Super-Sonic 22 came to me with the reverb not working. As a amp tech for a Fender authorized repair facility, I troubleshot the problem as a bad reverb tank. Upon opening the reverb tank I found the ground wire for both the input and output connectors broken off. I solder them back in place and the reverb worked fine. My boss will be filling a claim with Fender because I called and registered the amp for the warrantee coverage. This amp has a characteristic Fender clean channel and great reverb. The fat feature on the clean channel really packs a punch for the haevier blues/rock I like and the burn channel has a great range of tones and distortion with the two gain controls and post tone controls. The only thing it did not have that wass part of the "65" Deluxe Reverb was vibrato/tremelo which I fixed with the Eric Clapton pedal's Leslie effect run through the effects loop, just turn down the output control and it work well in both the clean and burn channels.
Features
The amp came with a cover and 4 button foot switch. The foot switch does it's job very well and it's heavy construction should make it last for a long time. The only feature I would have like to have had was tremelo but I got around that with a pedal through the effects loop.
Ease of Use
This amp delivers a good range of tones and was easy to learn how to use and change between them.
Quality
Even though Fender has gone to using plywood (birch) in it's cabinets, the Lightning Bolt speaker has a great range of tones with a solid bass for a small (22 Watt) amp.
Value
I think this amp is a little over priced and I bought because I got it at areduced price because it was used.
Manufacturer Support
Yes, I registered the amp with Fender even though it was used they accepted my registration becuase zZounds is a Fender distributor. I repaired the reverb tank wiring.
The Wow Factor
It is a very practical addition to my gear, 5 amps & 3 cabinets, 4 guitars.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Technician
Musical Style:
Clasic Rock
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com in Phoenix, AZ
"Fender sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Although the overdrive channel isn't super high gain, it does have beautiful rock tone. The clean channel is exactly what to expect from a Fender tube amp. I use more pedals and efx so this is a super clean amp to put behind it and the "fat" circuit adds a nice low end to it. I'm happy.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2013 by RICHARD McCOIG in LEXINGTON, SC
"just what i always wanted"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW.....I had always wanted a nice classic fender tube amp. I have played many, many amps over the years. the twin reverb was always a favorite. now that i'am older and we play smaller bars it was time to get something more controllable. fender hit a home run with this one. when I play it at home the volume is on 11/2-2. smooth and sweet. I could sit and play the clean channel all night long. man...when I took it out to the gig...the volume was on 5-6 and wow....talk about an amp sounding like an amp should...CLEAN WITH JUST A TOUCH OF GRIT AT THIS VOLUME using a Strat. reverb is awesome but very easy to get too deep. put it on 3 and forget it. Burn channel is something i'am not use to on a fender. I am now addicted to it. My normal overdive is now just a boost for solo's. never have I BEEN THIS SATISFIED with an amp. Fender...you still rock.
Musical Background:
BEEN PLAYING 37+ YEARS. I PLAY GUITAR, BASS AND DRUMS. I HAVE PLAYED ON THE ROAD AND LOCALLY. STILL DO ONE OR TWO GIGS A MONTH.
Musical Style:
ROCK, COUNTRY,R&B,DANCE AND BEACH.
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2015 by robert s in strongsville, OH
"Wow..this Supersonic does everything...and with power"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best Fender amp I have...this baby gives it all Tube driven spring reverb 65 deluxe reverb clean channel Fat switch to give a little push to the clean channel..awesome Burn channel 2 gain knobs ranges from nice crunch to face melt...sustain! Effects loop...yes Built like a tank and absolutely no problems on gigs and in studio Reverb is useable throughout the range....no deserted cave sounds ..yes Buy this amp...it like having a Deluxe and Bassman in the same combo Made in USA....righteous!
Musical Background:
Professional musician and studio owner
Musical Style:
Alt rock...britpop
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2018 by William Hannum in Philadelphua, PA
"Killer fender"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First I want to say that this amplifier is much louder than I expected. It seems to come to life like most tube amplifiers with some volume,I love the clean fender sound on this it is sparkly and everything you would expect from a deluxe reverb. Fender made an amp in the 90s called the pro Sonic I was a huge fan of that amplifier it was a total screamer had more gain than I would ever have used very much fenders answer to Mesa.. the burn channel on the supersonic is based on this not quite as much gain as the pro Sonic but very usable gain . I still use a boost pedal to tighten up the low end. Disable fire is exactly what I wanted to use with my stratocasters to get that edgy Texas blues kind of tone this amp perfect. You can get really good hard rock tones out of this as well. I would even dare to say with the pedal you could do.metal tones . The EQ is very responsive on the burn channel and the reverb works great. I really like the classic fender blackface kind of vibe in the appearance . I am very happy with this versatile amp. The effects loop is great when using time based effects so they won't be washed out with high gain . My guitars stay articulate and sound like the guitar with out bieng. Lost in the tone of the amp . This was exactly what I was looking for . Get this amp yeah it's that good. Sustains and goes into feedback at just the right time ...killer tones ...love it . Once again zzounds delivered . Really dig this company and they actually have people to talk to they can help make a good decision when making a purchase like this. These cats are musicians themselves, so I get good opinions and actual experience when talking to the guys in sales department. I bought a lot of gear from zZounds and they have steered me right every time. Thanks again zZounds .
Musical Background:
Semi pro
Musical Style:
Blues hard rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2015 by John H in Phoenix, AZ
"Blemished Purchase"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I took a chance and purchased this amp as a Blemished. I was already sold on the performance features. I still can't believe this 22 is louder then the 60W version. Or at least for the volumes I play at (I mike the amp at larger venues). I receive this amp today and it was in immaculate condition. I searched to find a scratch, dent.. nothing. What a value. Thank you ZZounds for a great deal on an awesome amp...Jon
Musical Background:
20years experienced as a professional musician
Musical Style:
Country, rock,fusion jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2012 by John R in West Chester, PA
"So many tones in one amp."
First, believe the hype, it sounds awesome and is VERY LOUD for 22 watts. The good: All the fender clean tones from black face to bassman. The 2 gain stages does away with and tube screamer need. The re-verb is perfect. The look, perfect the foot switch, awesome. I can go from any clean I want to More gain than I will ever use. The bad (for some of us): there is no bedroom volume here. I can not get the volume over 1 in my apartment. 22 tube watts is a gross understatement. I went with the 22 hoping that I could use it at my home. It will take an attenuator to accomplish that. Not really "a bad" but, the only thing I wish I could change.
Musical Background:
I play live with a hard rock and blues band
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, country, Christian. Anything a Stratocaster on the edge of breakup fits in.
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2018 by Don S in Warminster, PA
"Vintage Deluxe Reverb on steroids"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have always loved the sound of the classic vintage Fender Deluxe Reverb which is exactly what you get with the clean channel of the Super Sonic. Having owned both vintage and reissue Deluxes I can honestly say with my eyes closed I can't hear a difference except for the FAT addition to the clean channel which is like a loudness control giving the midrange a nice warm boost. The lead channel is amazing as I am tempted to sell my stomp boxes since I can get so many different tones from power packed clean rhythm and lead tones to overdriven ear bleeding leads that maintain all of the nuances of each string and the feel of your style. Whatever axe I use it handles single coil, double coil and even pre-amped guitars with ease. Unless you are doing outdoor or arena shows this amp should have more than enough guts to keep up with your heavy handed drummer, and the amp mics up nicely. The full length dual spring reverb is a Fender masterpiece and is a big part of the terrific sound of this amp. My one complaint is that Fender left out a balanced output for recording or running a line to the PA, but the effects loop is a nice addition. This is a quality build with spring loaded grounded metal tube shields a power tube cage, matched Groove Tubes, and Velcro straps to secure the footswitch inside the cabinet. While this amp is no toy, you can actually carry this thing around without getting a hernia and the handle is located at the balance point of the amp. I tried my 1x12 expansion cabinet with it and got nice coverage in a large room with plenty of volume. For almost all gigs you won't need one. One thing I haven't seen anyone mention is the sound when using an acoustic electric guitar. Mine sounds excellent in both the clean channel and especially the lead channel with Fat turned on and the tone controls set to your liking. Stay out of feedback range and everyone in the hall will hear you clearly. With a few to choose from this amp just became my everyday giging amp. While I haven't had it for long It has several gigs on it and no issues at all. The way it is built I expect it to be with me and making music for a long time. Great Job Fender. A definite recommend.
Musical Background:
Weekend warrior, Guitarist, singer, songwriter, recording engineer.
Musical Style:
Folk, Rock, Blues, and original tunes.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2015 by Jim G in Lansing, MI
"Search Over"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I went on a life long quest for the "perfect" guitar and amp. As for amps, the search is over with the Supersonic 22. Wow! I'll echo all the other rave reviews. My pedals are gone. This amp does everything and then some. At a meager 22 watts it screams! Classic Fender cleans and limitless gain choices. Great reverb. I left it on standby for two days, no issues. Recently changed the power tubes with GT 8's, no bias adjust necessary and replaced the stock "Lightning" with a Warehouse speaker (stock one is fine though). One recommendation - buy this amp!
Musical Background:
Torturing ear drums since 1963.
Musical Style:
ROCK
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2015 by Dan Kennedy in San Jacinto, CA
"Fender Super Sonic 22 Combo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've got a pile of Fender amps, and they've been piling up for years. This thing became my favorite amp almost as soon as I popped the staples on the cardboard box! To begin with, the clean channel sounds just like a black-face `Deluxe Reverb. It has all of the sparkle and warmth you'd expect from a great Fender amp! The long Accutronics reverb tank conjures up all the sounds of the classic Hammond spring units of yesteryear, giving you everything from a nice wet tone, to the sounds of Dick Dale and the Del Tones, and the Surf music of the '60s! The Burn channel is just incredible. The two stage gain set up is amazaing in as much as you can get everything from a great Blues crunch, to the distortion of Hard Rock, to the modern sounds of today's music! The fat switch makes this little amp come alive, and is foot switchable, as are the channel select, reverb, and effects loop bypass. Speaking of the foot-switch, it's built like a tank, featuring 4 switches, all having LED indicator lights. Then there is the cosmetics of the amp. I bought the blonde tolex model, with the oxblood grill cloth, and a brown face plate, reminiscent of the Fender amps of the very early 1960's. As great as it sounds, dare I say it? It looks even better! It is truly a thing of beauty! I'll never part with this amp, as long as I live! Last but not least there's a Fender lightening bolt speaker made by Eminence. It rather reminds me of the old JBL speakers, only without sounding like "Bull in a China shop" in as much as if you push it a little, you can get it to break up nicely, rather than having to push the volume so hard that you lose dynamics. This amp exceeded even my highest expectations! If yoou get one, you're going to be happy!
Musical Background:
I started playing music in the late 1950's, I stated gigging in 1965.
Musical Style:
Blues,Rock, Country, jazz, Christian Rock, British Invasion, Southern Rock, pretty much everything besides Opera and Rap.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2015 by John L in Houston, TX
"Boutique on a budget"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp after searching and playing a few dozen products. I play mostly blues rock and wanted a tone that I could sculpt into my own. This amp has enough features to allow that without settling for a generic American or British sound. It does take some getting used to to find a good unity between the Vintage, Fat, and Burn options but that is why I wanted this. I also purchased in the blonde tolex and it is very eye-catching.
Musical Background:
15 years professional musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Alternative.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The Keeper!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the keeper. Need different tones, it handles pedals with out loss of feel. I just wish it had a low Z output & a hard shell case. I will buy this again as soon as I sell all that heavy gear.
Sound
This is the workmans dream! True Fender Classic sound. Out of the box it needed time for the tubes to burn in. Easy to dail in a good Rhythm & lead tone with my Strat & Tele. Low end need a boost so I added a Roland 4x8 Cab and there it was the sound I needed to create the Baseman & Vibrolux tone. I love the way you can kick off the effects. I run a Boss Delay, EQ and Noise gate through the loop and now I need to sell all my other Amps.
Features
The floor switch pedal is built to last and the design is first rate.
Ease of Use
It extreamly easy to get a great tone. My two fenders guitars have been modded by Pro's and this amp brings out the best in the Classic Strat & Tele sound. The Manual is basic but if you have been around you don't need it. The Boss EQ is not needed to get a good sound but this Amp like it and brings out the Bells & Punch when needed.
Quality
I just received this a two days ago so I can really comment on reliability yet. I will not treat this like my Road Amps but will use it live on special events. It appears to be what I have been waiting for to replace all the heavy Mesa Boogies, Twins, Marshals that I own. After playin for 30 years you need something light that Kicks out tones Smooth as Silk & Breath Fire when needed.
Value
I believe it is worth it! But then again I'll earn money with this amp. If your a Pro or just want to sound like one without breaking your back. This is it. All my friend own the Fender Blues Jr. and had them Modded. I cant wait to see them when they kick themselves for not waiting for this.
Manufacturer Support
I've own many Fender Amps and only standard tube replacements was needed way beyound warrenty. Never had to deal with the Company.
The Wow Factor
I have the Tan color it looks great with my VHT extension Cab.
Musical Background:
Live Performer
Musical Style:
Smooth Jazz, R&B, Classic Rock
27 of 31 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2015 by don S in Weed, NM
"problems"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the ss22 has been on my bucket list for a while but I waited because of all the QC issues reported on line. since it's been out several years now I hoped that Fender had fixed the most reported problems. NOPE. mine is brand new out of the box from zzounds. 1. the reverb is totally unuseable. any setting over 2 on either channel results in horrible feedback. the good news is......i never use reverb for anything. but paying $1000 for an amp, i'd like the option. 2. the popping channel switching. mine pops loudly BUT, only going from the od channel into the clean channel. it does not pop going clean to od. i can deal with that because i own a couple of mesas and they pop really badly. (mesa says thats not a problem) 3. the clean channel hiss's pretty loudly. the od channel is silent, even with max gain. figure that one out 4. the volume pots on both channels go from silent to "too loud" in an instant but i deal with that daily and have come to expect that. now for the good: the clean channel (both modes) sounds VERY good. the clean channel takes all my od/dist pedals very well. the od channel sounds VERY good. it has zero problems (using my les paul with paf's) doing 80's hair band and satch/via type stuff. i'm running my ms50g in the loop for delays and it sounds really good soooooooooooooo, nope. i'm not sending it back warts and all it is a really nice sounding amp on both channels. i'm not touching the speaker utill i get 50-60 hrs on it and it wont take long to do that. likewise for the tubes. the amp looks really nice, sounds really nice and is a little lighter than any of my other low wattage amps. i've only played my les paul through it so i have no idea what other guitars will sound like. it is amazing to me that fender still ships these amps with known issues after all these years of production. that speaks volumes about the company.
Musical Background:
gigging musician
Musical Style:
80's rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2013 by Charles D in Glenwood, HI
"Fender 22 supersonic / small block-big sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had mine for 10 months and it can be so smooth & clean or driven with tone that "all I wanna do is cry"! I highly recommend this amp and also the more powerful supersonic models if your budget allows. YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED!
Musical Background:
Since 72', acoustic & electric guitar/electric bass/ukulele
Musical Style:
Acoustic and electric blues/blues rock/pop rock-heavier rock or heavy metal/traditional Hawaiian
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2014 by Peter Naughton in Neptune City , NJ
"Great Amp , not a back killer "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I use 4 amps in my on stage rig. Basically two stereo set ups. This amp has a great sound without cranking it up to the point where it becomes an on stage distraction . The sound is pure fender, 22 watts is plenty I run a pair in stereo and that goes into a Bose L1 Model 2 w/2 bass modules. The Bose sends out the sound in a 180 degree pattern so the amp doesn't need to be in the monitor mix in most cases. Its great for small gigs when you just need to put a little bit into the FOH At a larger venue it is going through the FOH system anyway so it is not necessary to have all the super high wattage units on stage. The best tone is at about 4 on the volume clear channel and there is so much control on the dirty side because of the two gain controls. you can have a light break up or all out distortion without losing tone. Great amp great price and doesn't ruin your back moving it. The handle on the unit is rubber and mine broke on both units. They need to rethink the handles.
Musical Background:
Professional touring musician/ playing for 35 years/Gear head/Keeping Zzounds in business
Musical Style:
Anything on any given day. If I'm sitting on a blue couch I'll tun blue. I'll play anything or any type of music depending on th
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2016 by Steve C in Nashville, TN
"Perfect for me"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'd been using a Blues Junior pretty much exclusively for gigs and rehearsals. I try not to use effects, but there are always a handful of tunes that *really* need some delay, chorus, or more gain. I prefer gain to come from amp tubes, and the time modulation effects didn't sound good going into the front of the BJ. So I was looking for an amp with these features: * Fender-like voice * effects loop (preferably foot-switchable) * more gain available than a Blues Junior * no more than ~40 pounds * < $1,000 This amp met my criteria, and buying a "warehouse resealed" copy from zZounds dropped the price nicely into my range. The clean, crunchy and overdriven sounds are all terrific with this amp! For soloing and melodic stuff, the Burn channel gives a range of very juicy sounds that are warm but not ragged or harsh. In comparison to my Blues Junior (Cannabis Rex and basic mods), the SS22 is similarly juicy, but smoother and having much more bottom. The effects loop works perfectly with a Boss multi-effects processor, which is switched out most of the time, and switched in only for the few tunes I use effects on. The only quality issue I had was that one of the preamp tubes was a bit microphonic at higher gain settings (8+ on both gains). I swapped out V1 and V2 for new Tungsols, and now there are no microphonics at any gain setting I ever use, which is maybe G1=8, G2=10 (for some fusion stuff). I've had no channel switching popping, excessive idle noise or reverb issues. So, I'm really digging this amp and would recommend it highly.
Musical Background:
Weekend warrior now, pro in the 70's
Musical Style:
Groove jazz, fusion, modern soul
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2016 by Steve C in Nashville, TN
"Still perfect for me - but there have been quality issues"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a follow-up review, after living with the SS22 for 6 months now.
Sound
I noted before, the clean, crunchy and overdriven sounds are all terrific with this amp! For soloing and melodic stuff, the Burn channel gives a range of very juicy sounds that are warm but not ragged or harsh. I usually use the Burn channel with the gain fairly high (6.5/9 for G1/G2, respectively), and dialing back my guitar volume puts a great range of gain levels at my fingers.
Features
I found that the signal level coming off the effects send is dependent on the output level (master volume) for the channel in use. I couldn't believe it, but I confirmed it by reading the schematic. This means that my effects are only perfect at one master volume setting, while at other volume levels they can be weak or exaggerated. Seems like a really poor design decision.
Ease of Use
It was pretty easy to dial in the tones I was looking for, even with the dual gain controls.
Quality
I've had two problem areas so far: reverb and tubes. The reverb developed a really loud hum, where you couldn't hear any reverb, but the higher the reverb control, the louder the hum. I checked the reverb tank and it was fine, and when I put it back together it worked again. Then the reverb became really faint, no matter how high it was set. This time I replaced the reverb cable, about a month ago. So far, the fix is holding. For tubes, as delivered there were microphonics in the preamp. Replacing V1 & 2 with Tungsols completely fixed that issue. Then, the amp developed what I thought was a cabinet rattle. It turned out that one of the power tubes was bad. I replaced the power tubes and remaining 12AX7 with Tungsols, and the 12AT7s with JJs. So far, all is well, and I don't expect any more tube issues. Obviously the Groove Tubes have issues.
Value
Given how much I dig the tones, for me it's still a good value.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't tried Fender support, as the problems I've had so far had simple fixes, and my dealing with them myself kept the amp available instead of being in a shop for a while.
Musical Background:
Weekend warrior now, pro in the 70's
Musical Style:
Groove jazz, fusion, modern soul
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2014 by Lenier A in Lawrence, KS
"Super Sonic 22 - Avoid avoid avoid!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the worst amp you could ever purchase. You will be lucky to receive one that works in the first place. If you do, it will need "fixes" before it is even somewhat usable. Even if it is fine, according to Fender's design, you will notice it is noisier than any other amp you've ever played. Far noisier than any other hi-gain amp. The clean channel is noisier than the drive channel, even with both channels volume set to zero. The reverb is noisy as well - forget turning it above 4, or your amp with volume set to zero will sound like the nastiest single coil with no wax potting. Zzounds also sent me two of these amps that were not in working condition as received. Even after having Fender replace the incorrect tube in the reverb circuit, and correct various wiring problems, the amp still is a piece of junk. I have since returned this amp to Zzounds.
Musical Background:
Home Recording - Guitarist since 2001
Musical Style:
Americana, Hard Rock
4 of 26 people (15%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us