Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Jim Root Telecaster Electric Guitar (with Case)

Fender Jim Root Telecaster Electric Guitar (with Case)

Who says Teles are for country music? Designed for the Slipknot/Stone Sour guitarist with active EMG pickups, this axe lets you dial in tight, modern tones.

Overall User Ratings (based on 39 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(39)
Submitted October 29, 2015 by CHRISTOPHER P in Haltom City, TX
"Holy Smokes Batman ,this thing is awesome!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was soooo hesitant to pull the trigger on this. I'm an EC 1000 kind of guy and was looking for something lighter and just friggin different from all the EC's in the field. I did so much research on reviews, youtubes, and forums and when it came to EMG equipped guitars, I kept running across this one. I would never in a million years have guessed I would own a Tele but I do now. I also own a Nuno, a Zakk Buzz Saw with Slash pups and an SRV strat. I love the Root Tele. Plays like a dream and surprisingly better than my SRV due to the thinner neck. No more CRAMPS!!!!!! If your thinking about it go for it. You wont regret it.
Sound
It's EMG's so you know what your getting. Sounds powerful compared to my Slash pups and the Bill Lawrence in the Nuno. I run it through a Peavy Windsor 100 watt head and a old 412 cab. In the loop I have an LPB1, a Zakk Chorus and a Crabon Copy delay. Bad Horsie 2 in the front. Its a good heavy massive tone for sure..
Features
Love the neck, very playable. The fretboard was definitely ebony. After reading some forums I was expecting a tinted rosewood but it's definitely tight grained ebony. I was happy about that. The case is so nice !!! Funny the PUP selector is wired backwards but I kind of like it so I kept it. Its a one of a kind for sure.
Ease of Use
The frets took a little getting used to as they are jumbo's. But after a few weeks I was in the pocket and rippin..
Quality
Very well made. Its the one thing I was worried about since it's a Mexy. However I was happy that all the excellent reviews were true. Its a very solid instrument only issue was the wiring of the EMG, no biggie I consider that little flub a meant to be kind of thing. The wood work is fantastic and looks killer. I like the minimalist concept. Root did good on the design.
Value
It's a nice freaking guitar. I have an SRV I got from zZounds and to be honest the craftsmanship is pretty on par. I wouldnt normally pay a grand for a MIM axe but again the reviews were overwhelmingly positive. I DID NOT FIND ONE NEGATIVE !!! I even found where non metal guys were buying it and switching out the pups for different kind of music. Solely based on the playability. The only negative comment I ever found was for a tone knob. Dude it's EMG's why would you ever need a tone knob???
Manufacturer Support
No reason to call them. However I did call zZounds to tell them about the reverse pick up thing. As usual these guys are great and was ready to replace or return. But after playing it I wasn't letting it go anywhere...
The Wow Factor
It was a hit at practice...The fact that I walked in the doors with a telecaster and then plugged in and got the sound I got. Should have seen the faces. The rhythm guy loved it . The sound was really punchy and out front compared to my EC.
Musical Background:
25 PLUS Years, Garage band, home,
Musical Style:
I'm an 80's kid grew up on Yngwie,Lynch,Satch,ZAKK and all the shredders from the glory days. I still follow any kind of decent
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2013 by Eric P in Anchorage, AK
"Surprising quality and suprisingly MIM "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was nervous on this one bc I didn't know if I was going to like this guitar. Played one at the local Fender dealer but he wasn't including the case in the sale - I'm sure he grabbed it for himself when he saw it and I can understand why. Zzounds delivered it in excellent condition, and in the first few days I thought I was going to have to have it set up. After those few days I would not dream of letting someone else keep it overnight bc I would miss it too much. It just kind of warmed up after a few tune ups it seemed to need while it was stretching out. I don't have to tune it often now. I wanted this guitar after I saw it bc I had been dreaming of a 1985 Schecter Satellite tele with black hardware, dual humbuckers and a maple tele neck on a mostly black telecaster body. I picked the black and white - has a great satin black finish that is purpose made to wear down - I wish it would not. Really glad I bought this guitar for the 5th in my collection - I had no idea I would be so pleased with this guitar, the tones off the EMGs are musical, the sustain goes on forever, this could do pretty much anything, including the melting faces stuff. Peace!
Musical Background:
30 years, guitar, bass, drums
Musical Style:
Roots rock
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2019 by Brad R in Idaho Falls, ID
"Jim Root Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Fantastic guitar if you want a metal guitar but like more traditional feel.
Sound
Heavy. I bought this for drop B and A tuning and it's immaculate. Put this through your tube amp of choice and crank up the gain and its crushing. I run through a 50w Orange Rockerverb and it's a high gain monster. The volume knob is quite responsive though. Dial back the gain and the volume knob and you have a Les Paul esque sounding blues and jazz guitar. Wouldn't be my go to for that, but definitely could work in a pinch.
Features
The 12" ebony fretboard is what honestly sold me. I'm not a huge fan of compound radius fretboards and the traditional c shape is perfect. I own a couple other Fenders but this neck honesty feels like a vintage Les Paul. Toss a little mineral oil on the neck and glide like butter. The EMGs are great. I've honestly never played a set on a guitar I actually thought played well so they're a pleasant surprise. I bought this guitar thinking I may swap the pickups for some passive Seymour Duncans but there's no need.
Ease of Use
Two humbuckers, 1 knob, pretty simple. You'll have to replace a nine volt battery every once in a while which takes 60 seconds.
Quality
Once you dial it in, its great. That being said, it needed some work out of the box which is my biggest beef with this guitar. I had a small speck of glue beneath the 7th fret that I sanded off. I also needed to completely set it up. If you're comfortable setting up a tension rod, saddle height, intonation, pickup height, etc. it won't be a big deal. That being said, a $1k guitar should at least pretend to make an effort. The neck is straight, frets are smooth with no sharp ends, fretboard is a buttery dream. In less than a half hour I got it singing and smooth, but unless you can set it up, prepare to drop a few bucks on getting it ready to play.
Value
Guitars in this price range are always kind of funky and manufacturers know it. Compared to other guitars in this range, I'd say it's worth the money and comparable to other guitars in the same boat. Are you going to get a custom-shop-playing guitar of your dreams full of unicorns and rainbows and pixie dust out of the box? If you already own a guitar like that, then no. If you don't, then maybe. But what you do get is a solid foundation that's very customizable to your touch and can be a fantastic playing and sounding guitar with just a little bit of work.
Manufacturer Support
N/A. Yet anyway.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is super unique. I'm not a huge Slipknot or Stone Sour fan, but I know that the sound Jim Root gets out of this guitar through an Orange Rockerverb is sublime. That was my primary motivation towards looking at this guitar. With the ebony fretboard, mahogany body, and 12" radius, I was sold. It 100% meets my expectations. If you're kinda a quirky player like me, it'll do the same for you.
Musical Background:
20+ year guitarist, but noob at life
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, jazz, blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2015 by steve t in new york, NY
"not just a metal machine"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this for the ebony fingerboard and because I wanted a tele with chunkier pickups than the standard. As a life long classical guitarist, I have an attachment to ebony. It has been the classical luthiers' choice for the fingerboard for at least a century. To me, there is no substitute. (I found this guitar by googling ebony fingerboard electric guitar.)As a player of electric and acoustic guitars since the late 1960s, I have noticed a steady decline in the quality of fingerboards. Sadly, now we see iconic brands producing expensive, iconic instruments with fingerboards not much different from the ones that used to appear only on the cheapest no-name imports. OK, sermon over.I would have preferred if this axe came with some sort of regular humbuckers rather than active pickups. Nothing against EMGs, I have them on my Charvel and on a custom bass. I just don't like batteries. Now to the instrument itself. In the course of a forty-year career as a player, I have owned and/or played all the classics. After a couple of weeks of getting to know this tele, it's looking to be one of the finest electric instruments I have played.I switched out the plastic volume knob for a black steel tele nob. Other than that, I'm not making any changes.A lot of the PR and reviews and youtube videos are all about what a great metal shred machine this is. I'm here to tell you this guitar will play whatever you can play. If you have t in your hands, this thing will deliver it. Many thanks to the ZZounds people for excellent service.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2017 by vincent harris in Trenton, MO
"Impressed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will write more, later. For now, I can say this. I have had the guitar for a day. LOVE it. It's what I thought it might be, and more. It does have a wiring issue, however. The volume knob has a short I am assuming. I called zZounds. No problem. Told me I could have a refund or exchange. I said "EXCHANGE! I love this thing!!" Simple as that. THIS, is what makes them the "go to" place for all my music stuff. That kind of customer service is all but absent from most companies today.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 21 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2015 by CHRISTOPHER P in HURST, TX
"Bad A$$ Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm an EC 1000 kind of guy, Like probably every other metal player in the world. I have a Windsor 100 head as well as a Marshall DSL 40 C. I have an Epi Buzzsaw Zakk, an EC1000, an SRV and a Nuno N24. I was really close to pulling the trigger on another EC but really wanted something lighter and to be honest just something different and was looking at Charvel/super strat kind of stuff. Well I kept running into awesome reviews of the Root Tele so I went and played one. Holy Crap !!!! This thing is awesome. Blows my other guitars away. Quality and playability is even with my 1600.00 SRV. Only because the Root neck is modern C instead of the Baseball SRV neck my hand doesnt cramp. I left came home and ordered this thing via pay as you play. I've played for 20 years and other than a Kramer Nightswan I had in the 80"s, this is the best I've had. For the price you cant beat it. So if your wondering and contemplating just look at all the reviews as there is not a bad one out there. There are even non metal players buying the guitar and changing out the pups to suit their needs. All based on the awesome playability of this instrument. I like the simple 1 knob feature as I'm playing metal nothing less so dont need it. I've only had to tune it twice in 2 weeks.
Sound
Sounds balls to the wall. They're EMG's so you already know how this story ends. I'm running through a 100 watt Windsor head with a chorus in the loop, a Bad Horsie, DS-1 and gate out front. Sounds so much heavier than my Epi with Slash pups.
Features
I like the one knob feature, the locking tuners are really great and hold the strings no matter how hard I bend. And I'm a Zakk/SRV kind of bender, Hard and heavy. I've heard that they stopped using Ebony boards and went to Rosewood but mine is ebony. Dark tight grain.
Ease of Use
The action is great...I tuned up out of the BEAUTIFUL CASE!!, and maybe 1 string here or there since but wow...
Quality
The finish is made to wear thin or relic naturally. My Zakk is reliced so I kinda dig that. The Root is of the same quality as my SRV. Blacked out hardware with it's minimalist design gives it a very mean profile.
Value
Great Value!!! I'm really glad I took a chance on it. I was looking at the DiMartini, So Cal and another ESP (super strat) but looked through so many reviews of all of them and for the price you just cant beat it. I was worried about the MIM thing but don't be.
Manufacturer Support
No relations as of yet
The Wow Factor
I like the minimalist desighn, the neck and joint, and the basic stance of this guitar. And again it's just something different that you dont see alot of.
Musical Background:
Been playing since my first ever cassette of Bark at the moon. Jamm nite with who ever will have me
Musical Style:
I'm a fan of everyone from Zakk, SRV, Dime to Gary Moore and Yngwie. If it's a shredder I can dig it....
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2014 by Jon Townsend in Oxford, FL
"Love it!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is guitar I've been looking for since I started 25 years ago. I ordered the "blemished" option to save a little and I can't find a single blemish on the guitar. It plays well, sounds amazing and looks amazing. I will definitely use Zzounds in the future.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2019 by Edward A in Portland, TN
"Excellent metal guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve been a metal guitar player for 25 years I’ve owned hundreds of guitars . I stayed away from the Root tele because I didn’t think any tele was capable of doing metal good . I’m from Nashville around here Teles are used for Country and only country. After a couple of years I decided to give this one a shot and Wow and I glad I did !! This guitar screams and thumps doing metal!!! Plays and sounds great !! I own Gibson’s , Deans , ESPs and other well known metal guitars but this tele is the best one of them all!! It feels great playing sounds great after first playing it I felt like I was a better guitar player because this guitar sounds crisp clear and tight as I was triple picking it was so clear and tighter than any of my other guitars I believed I have gotten better . After switching to another guitar through same amp I realized no I wasn’t better it was the tele making me sound better. Don’t hesitate buy this now it’s a metal machine. zZounds is the best and shipped it to me quick.
Musical Background:
25 years
Musical Style:
Metal/death metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2014 by Justin Reynolds in Miami, FL
"Perfect!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I could not have made a better choice in a guitar, of course this review is specifically talking about my needs. But this is just what I wanted the sound, quality, simple controls the one volume knob is perfect. Guitar strap locks work great! This beast was made for metal. It's definitely made for plays who play in dropped tuning but that why I got it.
Manufacturer Support
This shipped to my door in three days after Only paying $117 of the payment plan. Never thought it would have come. My credit is terrible and they very generously allowed me to do business with them. Thanks zZounds!!!!
Musical Background:
Lead guitar electric. 12 years
Musical Style:
Death metal, classic rock, Southern Rock/Metal, blues.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2014 by Nick G in Norton, OH
"What a monster!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After an hour of playing the jim root telecaster I was ready to buy 2 more. The c shape neck is perfect. The action was dead on. The intonation is perfect. It even smells good. Looks killer with a flat white finish. I own gibson les Pauls and peavey wolfgangs. I've played every signature guitar out there along with thousands of factory stock guitars such as schecter, ibanez, Prs, Jackson, charvel, dean, Washburn, ESP, and everything else out there. The jim root telecaster has become my favorite out of all of them. I just wish the had more than 2 colors because I plan to buy at least 3 more.
Sound
The EMG'S are tight and ballsy - the mahogany and ebony are a perfect match. Every pitch harmonic I go for screams for days. This is the one and only telecaster that will melt faces.
Features
Simple one volume. 3 way toggle. What more do you need? Tone?? No way!
Ease of Use
This is a metal guitar. So plug it into an evh 5150iii turn up the gain roll up the volume on the guitar and hold on for dear life!
Quality
Seems to be built like a tank.
Value
Yes however I'd say since it's made in Mexico it should be about 200 less. Don't get me wrong this has become my number 1 guitar. But ITS MADE IN MEXICO! 999 is fair price. 1200?? Now you're pushing it!
Manufacturer Support
Have not dealt with Fender yet
The Wow Factor
For me it's the playability of it. It feels so good in your hands. Fender made a monster.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for 15 years
Musical Style:
Metal rock and some blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2013 by Tina M in Philadelphia, PA
"Ohh the sweet sounds she makes"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a regular Tele as a kid learning and saw that one of my favorite guitarist's now use one. So I gave it a go, and I am thoroughly impressed. This guitar is so easy to play and sounds phenomenal with the EMG pickups in it. It has a true Stone Sour/Slipknot/Melodic sound to it. I have actually been able to Play Stevie Ray Vaughan on it too. The case that comes with it is beautiful, Grey Tweed outside and Red Crushed Velvet interior. Get it and play hard!
Sound
Very good sound quality. For the styles I play it works perfectly. I sounds good though a Marshall Stack but sounds perfect through the Jim Root Orange Amp and Cabinet.
Features
The pickups selected sound amazing in this guitar. I never thought EMG's would rock this hard in a Telecaster
Ease of Use
The controls on it are simple to use. Just setup your amp and pedals and go!
Quality
It is made in Mexico but the quality is very high. Alot better than the guitars made in China.
Value
This guitar is worth it's asking price. You will pay the same for some other guitars that have half the sound and quality.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to contact Fender.
The Wow Factor
The look of the white one is awesome.. It has a old school look yet colors blended to new styles. Old meets new!
Musical Background:
27 years of playing guitar
Musical Style:
Metal(most types), Blues and Classic Rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2017 by Mike S in Bradenton, FL
"Jim Root Tele "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this from zZounds had an electrical issue called them they said send it back and 2 days later had another and I've never owned a fender before so wasn't quite sure what to expect and I love this thing. I have a esp mii and 86' Charvel model 5 and this is right up there. 2 months left on my payments and I'm going forbthe usa Jim root strat.
Musical Background:
I play live very often with this guitar
Musical Style:
Hardcore
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2017 by Austin L in Du Quoin, IL
"Great sounding guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The first one I got the guitar wouldn't work plugged into an amp or my computer or even my xbox one. So I contacted them and got a replacement. The second one sounds great and feels great the only issues I have with it is one of the three latches on the case is screwed up and not working, and the fret wires are super sharp. Don't get me wrong I love the guitar just figured since it is super expensive that the factory would have plugged it in to test out the pickups and that they would feel the neck to see if the fret wires were sharp. But other then that it's a gorgeous guitar, I love the sound of the pickups, and I love that it already had strap locks on it.
Musical Background:
I just jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock and metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2014 by Matt M in Denver, CO
"Great for metal heads...but no versatility"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really wanted to love this guitar. It looks sharp and feels great. Plays great too for a Tele. I knew this had EMGs and the type of music Jim Root plays, but I was hoping I can get with that sound or maybe change the pickups if I liked the guitar. Here is the issue...they don't run a ground wire to the bridge or even have the hole routed. You don't need a ground wire for active pickup guitars but you do for passives. So...if you're thinking of testing this out to see if you like the guitar and would want to change the pickups, you're going to have to carve it up to run a ground wire to the bridge for passive pickups. Not worth it on a Mexican-made guitar. For that matter, it is also a bit pricey for a MIM guitar. I got mine as a scratch and dent but I feel like that should be closer to what the full price is. Overall, if you like traditional looking guitars and particularly Teles...and you're into heavier rock and metal music...this would be a fabulous guitar purchase. If you want a versatile Tele that rocks with dual humbuckers, you're better off looking at other options.
Musical Background:
20 years on guitar with 10 performing semi-professionally
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, blues, punk
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2014 by P DUNBAR in Oakland, CA
"MEXICAN MADE, AMERICAN PLAYED!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Im thankful that Jim Root had his guitar made in Mexico because it would most likely be too expensive being American made. This guitar was playable out the box and only the E string had to be tuned. This guitar is so easy to play and fun to play as well. The ebony fretboard plays fast; soild mahagony body; excellent workmanship
Musical Background:
Over 25 years experience
Musical Style:
R&B, BLUES, ETC.....
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2014 by NORMA M in San Leandro, CA
"Mexican made- American played!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar was ready to play right out of the box! Jim Root was smart to have his signature guitar made in Mexico in order that young guitarist can afford this awesome axe. Fast neck with an ebony fret board for superb harmonics. Mahogony body with premium hardware and a beautiful custom tele case that keeps this tele snug and tight!
Musical Background:
Piano and keyboard
Musical Style:
Christian and Gospel
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2016 by Ryan Grimmer in Tacoma, WA
"Fender Jim Root Telecaster Nightmare"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not a super picky guitar dude and I expect every guitar to need a little bit of adjusting to fit the individual guitar player's style but this guitar's craftsmanship was incredibly poor and I regret purchasing it everyday. The action was so high! I'm talking double normal factory specs. The fret ends were so sharp and unfinished that playing up and down the neck would shred your hand. For a guitar that's made for metal/hard rock and hence lot's of lead/intricate play having high action and sharp fret ends right off the bat is a huge black mark on this guitar for me. I'm still having a nightmare trying to get the action low enough without the stings buzzing like a swarm of bees. Now I know why the action was so high. I regret this purchase everyday. I was stoked because I love the feel of a Tele and the Mods made to it sounded so awesome for shredding and handling high gain. I would have rather gone with and EST LTD 1000 or Schecter Hellraiser.
Musical Background:
I have been playing electric guitar for over 20 years professionally and solo.
Musical Style:
Hard rock, metal, classic rock, blues rock, punk.
2 of 8 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to