Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Eric Johnson Stratocaster Electric Guitar (Maple, with Case)

Fender Eric Johnson Stratocaster Electric Guitar (Maple with Case)

The tone guru's own Strat boasts a custom-contoured 2-piece alder body with a thin nitrocellulose finish, and a quarter-sawn maple neck in a soft V shape.

Overall User Ratings (based on 101 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(101)
Submitted August 9, 2007 by a customer from msn.com
"Best guitar i've played in 40 years..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own 7 electric guitars and this guitar has become my favorite guitar in only one month. I own other guitars that are valued 3 times what I paid for this guitar. I am grateful the salesman asked me if I had tried this guitar. I wholeheartedly recommend this guitar.
Sound
Every model of guitar has its own unique sound. A good guitarist can make an average guitar sound good. To create oustanding music you need a quality precision instrument. This guitar makes an average guitarist sound great and a good guitarist create perfection.
Features
Genuine Fender Hard Case with keys, Fender Mist and Wipe Finish Enhancer, Fender Strap,and Polish Cloth are included.
Ease of Use
I have played the guitar for over 40 years and have found some guitar necks to be too thick with extremely wide frets making it difficult to reach 7 frets on some bar chords. This is not the case with the Eric Johson Model Strat'.
Quality
This is a quality crafted precision musical instrument. It is well worth the $2,000 I spent to buy mine.
Value
If this guitar was $3,500 I would still buy it.
Musical Background:
Retired former sudio musician
Musical Style:
Rock
44 of 44 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2016 by David Cox in Odessa, TX
"Favorite Fender. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this 2016 Eric Johnson Stratocaster through zZounds. I am extremely happy with it. It does have a fat, meaty neck that is truly different than newly issued stratocasters today. I love it. However, as other reviews have mentioned, there is a stickiness to it. I found that after a week of playing it exclusively, the issues has resolved. The sound is everything I wanted. I mostly play metal, but wanted a quality guitar that was different than my Jackson. I've always like Stratocasters, I've just never bought one until now. I am very impressed with the quality, craftsmanship, and design that went into this guitar. Everything about it pleases me and every modification that makes it a signature series I agree with. *I did not know who Eric Johnson was until I started looking for a Stratocaster. I highly recommend playing a couple of Custom Shop Fenders like I did before making your decision Especially, since they're not too far apart in price anyway. I know the neck is not everyone's favorite. Now, when I go play a different Strat, I've noticed I don't really care for the small necks of normal issued stratocasters. End of the line, They really knocked it out of the park with this one. Very happy with it.
Musical Background:
1998 to 2004 2015 to present.
Musical Style:
Metal. Just now getting into blues.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2007 by a customer from socal.rr.com
"I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEE THIS GUITAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is a lifetime guitar. This is not the kind of guitar I can ever imagine growing tired of. Ever!!!!!!!!!!
Sound
This guitar has a sparkle and beautiful clarity to it. It can sound down and funky, it does it all, but all of the tones are distinctive, interesting and expressive.
Features
The quarter sawn neck feels and looks fantasticl and really adds to the sustain. This guitar came set up so well right out of the box that I couldn't believe it. It's as if Eric Johnson's perfectionist nature even covered the setup of these guitars.
Ease of Use
There is no learning curve with this guitar. You have it on the first note. It felt like I'd been playing it for five years the first time I played it.
Quality
This guitar comes with a great vintage style solid as a brick classic case. The guitar I received is flawless. It is so comfortablly balanced and the lines are so clean. This guitar just feels like it is at the state of the craft. I have vintage guitars that are worth so much more, but they don't play like this one. They don't sound like this one, and they don't look like this one.
Value
This guitar is worth every penny to me because it is so good. I really really have a hard time seeing how any good guitar player would not love this guitar. The neck is thicker than some, I suppose that could be a negative to some, but wow, I love it and the sound that this guitar gets is so fantastic, I can imagine our friend Eric and our friends at Fender spent hundreds of hours fine tunning this one.
Manufacturer Support
No problems to deal with.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is destined to become a classic in my opinion if it isn't already because it's so right. Design that is straightforward and is exactly what it needs to be to do it's job is what stands the test of time. That completely describes this guitar.
Musical Background:
long time musician and song writer
Musical Style:
rock, jazz, blues
25 of 28 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2014 by Michael Nunez in Austin, TX
"Fender Eric Johnson Maple Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is one amazing Stratocaster. I am digging the sound and feel of this ax. The action was setup perfectly right out of the case it shipped with. The neck and frets are bigger than I am use to, due to the fact I play mostly Parkers, but still feels great in my small hands. This is the first strat I have ever fell in love with and is now my main guitar.
Musical Background:
20 years playing professionally and jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock, Alt, Metal, Classic Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2014 by Mark L in Sanford, FL
"High quality strat"
Those that complain about the fit of the instrument clearly didn't do their homework prior to making a purchase. This guitar has a chunky V shaped '57 style neck with a modern compound radius. It sings when plugged into a good tube amp. Pickups may seem a bit on the light side at low volumes, but when overridden, they really perform well.Quality built instrument, no cosmetic issues. Highly recommended! No Mfg. Support needed.
Musical Background:
Playing for 40 years. Hobby only now...
Musical Style:
Rock, blues.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The PRS of Strats..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best Strat for the money... Old style with many new upgrades.
Sound
The pickups are nice and really custom shop items but they are not my favorites.
Features
The EJ strat is one of a kind... excellent!
Ease of Use
Plays so sweet... feels great!
Quality
Really a custom shop item by the time you add in all of EJ's upgrades.
Value
They do cost but they are worth it...
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to for any reason...
The Wow Factor
I have the 2 tone sunburst and it looks great. Nice tint to the neck... definately old vibes at work.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Alternative
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2015 by Tom S in Peoria, IL
"Eric Johnson sunburst strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This really is a magnificent guitar and its a keeper. However, I was worried buying this sight unseen and of course my worries were warranted. As many others have said in reviews about the low E or high E being too close to the edge, well my high E even went a step further and started out right at the headstock but then angled down to almost off the fretboard, unacceptable and I don't believe the hype about this is how Eric wanted it constructed. The strings were so out of whack heighth wise I had to adjust all the saddles. Looked like it was set up for 7.5 radius instead of the 12 radius this guitar has. But it played ok and I wasn't to upset about it. Then I looked at the neck where it bolted into the body and found the problem. The neck was crooked, big gap on one side. Released string tension and the bolts and straightened the nek. Problem solved. This is like letting a Lexus out the door with bad steering, somebody somewhere is dropping the ball on these great guitars and hurrying them out the door and having the consumer deal with the crap. Sorry but I expected a lot better, heck I fixed the problem and I'm not even a guitar tech! Scary.
Musical Background:
Professionally 35 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Eric Johnson strat"
I have a 2007 like new condition. Love the guitar the case. Everything about it. What I don’t understand is why they are selling used for around $700 to $1000 after I paid almost 2 thousand. I don’t get it is it not popular?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2014 by Mark S in Kettering, OH
"Eric Johnson Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What can I say. If your looking for the best strat you have ever played this is it. I love everything about this guitar. Craftsmanship,tone and beauty just like a 57' Right out of the case no set up what so ever and I am in love.... I have many guitars including a custom shop Tele and this strat is my #1
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 28 years. I also play bass, drums and harmonica
Musical Style:
Rock and blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2012 by j marshall in puppersville, AZ
"Very, very nice only one thing"
The guitar has a great metallic twang to it. I love it. But the whammi bar wont screw in. Anyone else have that problem or have a fix? Mlnx at k.st thx
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2012 by Dave S in king of Prussia, PA
"Not loving it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own several Fender and Gibson guitars. Bought this 2 weeks ago. 1 neck is sticky2 its NOT light.. about 8 pounds 3 neck is Not a soft V its more a log, too thick4 Pickups are good at low volume and Much Much better cranked5 Frets are to low6 string tension way too stiff
Musical Background:
Playin 40 years
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, country
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2008 by a customer from securebin.com
"Two Thumbs up for sound and playability, plus Great value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would recommend to anyone looking for this type of sound amn awesome playing machine
Sound
First of all for the sound, is what it is.... meaning that if your looking for a clean sounding fender tweaked to Eric Johnson's sound then this is your machine... I do not have experience compared to other stratocaster's but it sound s awesome connected to my Egnater half stack. keep in mind no Metallica but half the other generation of rock like the stones to red hot chili peppers it's right on.
Features
It comes with a very nice case and even a retro guitar strap and cable (how cool).
Ease of Use
The neck is the best that I have played (compared to high end Gibson's and Jackson's). More rounded on the lower frets (makes hitting chords feel sweet) and flatter on the higher one - where you can pick up some more speed.
Quality
This is really a fine musical instrument so a pro setup is a must (at your local guitar shop). Mine came a little out of whack (the High E was off - meaning the neck was miss-aligned). But after the setup it was right on.... Also I expect this quality guitar to be worth more in 10 years from now so I'm treating it like a investment.
Value
Seems like a much better value than a custom stratocaster costing much more.
Manufacturer Support
Have not used.
The Wow Factor
Own it.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
All
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"Bump Something"
My only issue with this guitar is Fenders lack of response in my request for more information about the tremolo feature. I actually exchanged a Les Paul (which I thought was what I wanted for about 20 years). I love the features that distinguish this guitar from a standard strat.
Sound
Many clean, quality variables.
Features
Very light weight.... solid. No loose parts. Tremolo has 5 springs installed and is locked flush with deck - i. e. no tremolo. Ive been told that is per Eric Johnson. Nice ash tray cover. The finish is very cool.
Ease of Use
Its not magic but it feels prety close.
Quality
Traditional solid Fender quality.
Value
Currently one of the highest priced signature Fender Guitar on the market - I have money so the cost isn't an issue - Do it if ya' wana.
Manufacturer Support
Support... really, where?
The Wow Factor
Strats... all Strats have sexy lines. I don't want it, I HAVE it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2006 by a customer from aol.com
"The Eric Johnson Model Stratacaster has killer tone and playability."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to have this guitar for a long time.It sounds and plays as good as any Fender Stratacaster I have owned,heard or played.If it were lost or stolen I would replace it with a Fender Strat model that has noisless pickups and a slimmer neck.I wish I had known that the pickups weren't noisless.What I like the most is the tone,killer tone! What I like the least are the noisey pickups.
Sound
The sound is the main reason I purchased it. It has that classic strat sound. Killer tone. I wished that it had noisless pickups, I was surprised when I learned that it did not!
Features
The guitar came with a beautiful custom Fender case, it also came with a 10' guitar jack and a really cheezie guitar strap. The guitar components are your tipical Fender hardware that I feel is adequate. I love the tuning machines, the slotted poles make re-stringing it a breeze.
Ease of Use
The guitar has great playability, however, I have small hands(short fingers) and would have prefered a slimmer neck/radius.
Quality
The overall quality is good. I am not in love with the pick guard it is not befiiting such a beautiful guitar. My main complaint is that the E(1st) string does not sit exactly over the center of the bridge pickup pole piece which causes the string to sound dead.I have to slide the bridge saddle over to compensate for this defect. I have written Fender and I am waiting for a reply about this problem.
Value
I think that it is overpriced, it shouldn't cost more than any of the other artist series guitars.
Manufacturer Support
The jury is still out on this one. I want to see if Fender is going to address and resolve the fore mentioned problem I am having with the misaliginment of the E string over the pickup pole.
The Wow Factor
I like the look, clasic tabacco burst,tinted maple neck. I also love the fact that it is light in weight/easy on the back.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, I have been playing guitar for 35 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Classic Rock,Southern Rock
5 of 10 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2005
"didn't live up to the hype!!"
Sound
great sound
Quality
fret work was a little sloppy, neck was not quite right. flawless paint job. pick guard was a little warped - lifted off the body at several locations. plug receptical wobbled a bit.
Value
american strat is a better value and quality and sounded the same as th E. this quitar shouldn't cost more than the other artist series guitars.
The Wow Factor
i wanted one before i played it, now not so sure
Musical Style:
rock, blues
7 of 19 people (37%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us