Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Artist Series Eric Clapton Signature Stratocaster (Maple, With Case)
LAST ONE

Fender Eric Clapton Artist Series Stratocaster (Maple with Case)

Clapton's signature Strat comes loaded with Fender's Vintage Noiseless pickups, a powerful active mid boost, TBX circuits, and a soft-V-shaped maple neck.

Overall User Ratings (based on 302 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(302)
Submitted March 21, 2017 by JOHN DEFABIO in MIDDLE ISLAND, NY
"Why did I wait ??"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All i can say is Why did i wait so long to buy this guitar !!!! i bought many guitars over the years, always looked at the E.C> model but never bought it...Guitar is awesome !!! I changed the strings on it , i put on the David Gilmore 10-48 set....Big Difference !! took off the stock fender strings....But not much really else to say other than if you are reading reviews to make your decision, you won't go wrong with this guitar !!!
Musical Background:
home player 14 years
Musical Style:
Blues, rock,..
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2020 by a customer from aol.com
"Best Ever Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If your looking to buy the Very Best Strat that covers all bases, this Eric Clapton Strat truly does it all plus more.I’ve been playing for over 55 years and I really have played them all, from Vintage Strats, Teles, Gibson etc.So what does one look for in a Strat? Probably for as much as you can get out of one. Strat’s fit to my body like a glove, comfortable and easy to play, but one does always chase the tone, countless pickup changes, pedals etc.This Clapton Stratocaster nails the Clapton tone 100%. Since I was grew up on a Diet of Classic Rock I like a lot of different artists.This Clapton Strat also covers Skynyrd, AC/DC, Sabbath, ZZ Top, and just about any killer riffs you can dish out.Fenders Vintage Noiseless pickups are Silent by Deadly. Wisper Quite but packs serious mojo.The Mid Boost on this machine powers this guitar into Gibsons heavy hitting bliss. So while you can dish out the quack from Sultans of Swing, you can also unleash the beast when you need it.The neck Is flawless, smooth, true and the best neck one could possibly want in a Strat.There getting pricey but you get what you pay for Versatility, Tone, Playability and never goes out of tune. Yes the term is blocked but I don’t ever use it anyway.So if your thing of pulling the trigger on this exceptional strat don’t delay, your dream Strat is here. And thanks to zZounds for making it happen.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"4 years later and this is still my favorite."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I'll never need another fender strat. However, I bought a mexican strat to mess around with different tunings, set ups, etc as far as strats go. I would definitely buy this guitar over and over and over again if need be. I have no complaints with this instrument at all. This guitar helped me out of my playing rut that we all go through from time to time. Definitely the easiest guitar I own to play.
Sound
With Blackie you can get any sound you are looking for. The sound quality is superb assuming you know about the controls on the instrument and the dials on your amps. She sounds great clean, great in high gain, great in the middle. I love the way she sounds hooked up to a crybaby classic with the fassel, she makes you want to play "White Room" for the 1,000th time. My main amp that I use with this guitar is a Roland Cube 30x and I am blown away by how well they go together. She records well, plays live even better. I'd like to see a version with an ebony fretboard, no complaints on the maple by any means, its more of a curiosity thing. This guitar sounds like angels crying when she is played.
Features
The vintage noiseless pick-ups and the TBX system just blow me away. I had my doubts about them but wow, I gave them a chance and they didn't disappoint. I'm happy with the hard tweed case, looks special. I love the vintage turning machine heads. You can feel a big difference in tuning it versus a mexican strat.
Ease of Use
Fast, smooth, and very capable of producing any sound in your head or on just about any recording. Easily modified to the sound I had been looking for. It is very easy to use with other amps, multi-effects pedals, wahs, etc.
Quality
Very well made. It's the sexiest guitar I own. The finish is flawless. No loose parts or blemishes. It is my most reliable guitar. I keep a backup Mexican fender strat which I seem to play a bit more than the Clapton just because wow lets face it, she's a thing of beauty. Any instrument you use on the road will have wear and tear lets face it but I believe she is very durable and will last. This guitar will last my lifetime and I will be able to pass her down to my children.
Value
Well when I bought this guitar it was already worth more than what it comes off the line. I caught a deal at the time and somehow I am the only owner this guitar had. Guess no one wanted to shell out for it. I would definitely buy the same year model if lost or stolen even though the price is definitely higher now.
Manufacturer Support
I have never called Fender. Never needed to actually. So that is a plus. Haven't needed any repairs. My Blackie is a 2005 model and she looks like she just came off the line.
The Wow Factor
Love the fact that my "Blackie" is a sexy black. It's a strat so hey it's feels like a woman, plays as fast and hard as YOU want her to =P I couldn't live without this guitar. When I first saw it I had to have it. Was definitely an impulse buy but for once my old lady didn't give me crap about it.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist/Slightly Active musician going on 10 years
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Alternative, Blues, Funk
55 of 59 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2014 by Kenneth Olsen in Westerly, RI
"Eric Clapton "Blackie" Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
An outstanding guitar. Have always loved strats and teles and own a few, but this one gives me all the classic Clapton sounds that I've been trying to get with pedals, etc. They are all right here in one package. Finish is beautiful, mechanics are flawless. Will take this one to the grave...It's now my NEW baby!!
Musical Background:
Been playing for 50 years. Bands as a kid, on my own, a bunch of us guys jam at the local Yacht Club. I also play bass guitar.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, country, blues, jazz, almost anything the other guys want to play as well.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2015 by Brian B in Mount Jackson, VA
"Pleasantly Surprised"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I usually do not think much of signature guitars. Usually overhyped and over priced! But, this one is for real. I found a few video reviews and I reservedly ordered. I had been looking for just the "right" Strat, as I had sold a 77 Fullerton to my brother in law 23 years ago.. i was NOT disappointed. The action is low and easy. Neck shape didn't even matter. The selling fact on this one was that Clapton designed this guitar, to his specs and he plays one himself on tour. Mid boost circuit is like a clean bluesy overdrive and really has a voice of its own. Stevie, Hendrix and Eric really come right out of this guitar.
Musical Background:
35 Years of playing a little of everything
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues and all in between
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2015 by Bryan N in Indianapolis, IN
"Tested for 9 Months!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar nine months ago, and decided to really spend some time with her before posting a review. After nine months of extensive use, I've determined that my 2013 model Blackie is absolutely the guitar of my dreams! It is no-doubt the most versatile Fender Stratocaster available today. I have used this guitar for rhythm & blues, soul, 50's ice cream changes, hard rock, radio rock, blues etc. The tone control and midrange boost are the coolest effects I've ever had access to, and make the guitar capable of many ridiculously different voicings, This guitar could play with Bill Haley's Comets, Buddy's Crickets, Jimi's Experience, depressed Seattle crap, or even your disenfranchised teenager's hardcore garage band! Much like the wayward musical soul that is Clapton, this guitar can fit in almost any style of music. also stays in tune for a half-a-week. Cosmetically: The satin finish on the neck is really nice, plays like butter, will last a good while too. The gloss urethane on the body is ULTRA THIN, chips very easily, which is a good thing for resonant tone! everything else is perfect as you would expect for the Clapton signature price. Frets, hardware, finish, even the case and candy are top-notch! Apparently Mr. Clapton gets his from the custom shop, but I don't see how they could be much better. I've owned several American strats and even a Gibson Les Paul and SG, and this is by far the finest instrument that I have ever owned. My only complaint is the urethane. Nitrocellulose body with a satin nitrocellulose lacquered neck would look, feel, and potentially sound better.
Musical Background:
Ten years
26 of 28 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com in Upper Marlboro , MD
"Simply awesome!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Being a Clapton fan, owning this axe was much needed. I have a standard Strat, but playing this feels like driving a sports car!!!!!!! My only gripe (which is a slight one) is the soft V neck. I prefer the deep C. But once you get around it, it’s a breeze to play. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.
Musical Background:
A year +
Musical Style:
R&B, blues, Christian,
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2017 by Ben H in Mitchell, IL
"Best strat on the market"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned mine for 3 years now. It's been my main instrument since I've opened the case the first time. I'm looking to get the pewter color. I have the torino red. Best feeling neck I've ever played and total awesome pickups. I love the 9.5 neck with vintage frets. Fender needs to make that combo standard on all guitars.
Musical Background:
13 years and counting
Musical Style:
Rock, funk, blues, Motown, Christian
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com in Ohio, OH
"My favorite guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love the Clapton strat. Amazing action and sound. I play in cover bands that perform a huge range of material from blues to pop to rock to country-new and old. Ive played Gibson’s and humbucker guitars for years. I’ve tried the split coil Gibson’s, other strats, teles with S1 switches, you name it. I currently own a Gibson LP standard and a higher end gretch. The Clapton strat is my number one go to guitar. I am totally satisfied with it. As far as sound, the Clapton strat has a thick and noticeable low end. I have the bass turned down more for this guitar than I do for any of my other guitars. This guitar is has a lot of power to it. I love the tones you can get with the 5 way switch.
Musical Background:
Guitar and piano. 30 years of gigging experience.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2003 by a customer from COMCAST.NET
"The ultimate Blues - Blues/Rock Guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound is pure Stratocaster and then some. The quality of this instrument is second to none! It takes a little getting use to if you never played a guitar with low frets, but well worth adapting to. In addition to the 5 Fender tones the pickups are totally noiseless and the one tone knob is set up to be a midrange boost, that really kicks(sustains forever).
Features
This guitar is far superior to my American Standard Stratocaster, for which I also have no complaints. Even the tweed case with its ugly orange/gold interior is very well constructed.
Quality
This is one guitar that I will not sell or trade in. This is a keeper!
Value
Worth the extra bucks that it cost's compared to the American Standard Series Stratocasters.
The Wow Factor
Can't beat Black with a maple neck.
Musical Style:
BLUES - ROCK
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2020 by Peter G
"My Go-to guitar"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Just a fabulous, playable guitar, the best I've ever played.
Sound
I can get any sound I want just through the pickup selector, tbx and midrange boost controls, and the master volume takes it over the edge for extra crunch. Playing by myself I preferred the middle pickup, but in a band situation the neck pup cuts through brilliantly with lovely clean treble twang. This is a great guitar for biting blues or rock tones, or dial it back for a nice soft clean tone. I mostly play through a Blackstar TVP 60 or Marshall DSL40, but I keep both mostly clean where it's just starting to break up, which I can control by my attack.
Features
The best feature for me is the playability of the neck. The satin finish combined with the low vintage frets is just super smooth. I played about a dozen different Strat models before finding the EC, and once I played it there was no other choice to make. The noiseless vintages pups are a breeze, and the controls do everything Fender claims.
Ease of Use
The EC just fell to hand for me immediately, like no other guitar I'd played before or since. 'Nuff said. The pups allow me to keep tight control on feedback only when I want it.
Quality
This is a pure quality instrument, and I love everything about it. Having said that, after 2 years there's quite a bit of fret wear from bending, so I'll need to refret with stainless steel wire for longer wear. The volume pot has started to get a bit dirty and noisy, so it needs a clean, even though I've only played in clean environments.
Value
Worth it's weight in gold. I have not played another guitar that makes me want to buy it.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't need manufacturer support, but in Australia I have Fender-registered luthiers.
The Wow Factor
This is EC's guitar, as close as I'll ever get, which is a big selling point. But sheer playability, quality, and value for money, plus pride of ownership, make it simply the best.
Musical Background:
Intermediate guitarist, playing at home and in a band.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, contemporary
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2004 by a customer from att.net
"Clapton Strat - The Benchmark for Tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope to keep this one for as long as I can play. I don't play it live as much because a couple of other instruments have been damaged where I play.
Sound
Mine is a 1999 model with the lace sensor pickups. The TBX tone control is awesome. Roll to the bass side and treble is cut for bluesy or jazz sounds. Leave in the middle for circuit off lace sensor sounds aka strat. Roll to the treble side and cut the bass for bell like chime. Dial up the midrange booost(lower tone control) and let this baby sustain forever on either setting. With a 59 Bassman Reissue or other tube amp, it's an awesome combination. Add some good effects pedals or multi-effects and look out! Covers many sounds well. I prefer the "old" lace sensors like mine has over the noiseless but it's an easy swap to replace the noiseless pickups with lace sensors if that's your preference. Some reviews indicate the "old" pickups were best.
Features
This guitar has all the features you need to cover any style of music as long as you don't need a tremelo and understand all the adjustments you can make to the tone and volume of the guitar. I found many salespeople did not know how to use all the features with boost and TBX. Batteries can go dead if you leave it plugged in. Suggest you unplug when not playing. I get 1 year plus out of akalines. Some complain about the 1 ply pickguard but I find it adds more resonance due to the thinness. The pickups sort of float as you play. I changed my Mexican strat to a 1 ply and the tone also improved.
Quality
Mine is a summer 1999 in olympic white and it was and is flawless in every way. I replaced the 5 way switch once just due to use. I play it live with no backup except a spare battery and a small screwdriver. Never breaks strings either. I use Fender Bullets 10-46 or Ernie Ball 10-46. Staysin tune except for temperature changes.
Value
Mine was bought new in 1999 for $900 so I'm very pleased. Also, I think back then signature strats were built by a luthier and are now "team" built unless you get a custom shop version for big bucks!
Manufacturer Support
Fender phone support has always answered my questions. They don't have an 800 so use a cell phone or unlimited long distance plan. I've called them about string guage when it was new. Tube amp specs and their website schematics and tech info is good.
The Wow Factor
It's practical, durable, multi-functional and dependable.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Christian
17 of 19 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 22, 2003 by a customer from aol.com
"This is a guitar that can do it all. Take your playing to a new level..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
This guitar will sound like a les paul with the midrange boost up; it will sound like a strat with the midrange down...It's the only guitar I really need to play everynight...Although I like to give my other gals a little time now and then...
Quality
I bought the olympia white...
The Wow Factor
Buy one and have yourself a jolly ole time...
Musical Style:
Mainly blues. Currently with the Black Cat Blues Band
19 of 21 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2014 by Justin G in Boca Raton, FL
"Blackie!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Dude....it's Blackie! Plays like a dream. Have not touched my LP in since it has arrived. I feel like it has made me a better player. Buy it.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 30 yrs.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2013 by M R J in Greensboro, NC
"2012 Fender EC Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My new version of Eric's famous "Blackie" is everything I expected, and more. I have quickly come to really like the neck shape, which I thought migt take longer. The quality and workmanship are exceeded only by the versatility. Now I can sell several other guitars, as this one meets so many tonal requirements. If you've been con EC Strat, don't wait as long as I did.
Musical Background:
55 years playing music. I play guitar, trumpet, bass horn, bass guitar, and bass violin.
Musical Style:
Garage Rock, Southern Rock, '60's Surf, electric and acoustic blues.
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2004 by a customer from flmtgif.org
"This is a keeper"
This is one guitar I will keep forever. It's got that clssic Fender sound with modern electronics that are durable too. I love the guitar
Sound
This guitar is probably the most versitle guitar I've ever played. I own a Gibson 57 Black Beauty and a Telecaster Elete, both nice guitars but the Eric Clapton Strat is my favorite. You can get any Strat sound imanginable out of this guitar and the neck has a nice feel to it. Great guitar I recomend it.
Features
Came with a deluxe tweed case and owners manual
Quality
Very durable, never had any problems with it. The battery lasts a long time, so no problems there
Value
Best guitar for the money, if you can only afford one guitar, this is the one
Manufacturer Support
Don't really know about support because it's never needed any
The Wow Factor
Great looking guitar too. Mine is White and I just love the way it looks
Musical Style:
Country and Southern Gospel
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2018 by Gary H in Paris, TX
"Versatile workhorse"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got my first Strat in 1957, a Sherwood green when I was 13. I still think they are a functional work of art. The EC Strats are truly a well made versatile workhorse with a great spectrum of tones. They're very useful in a band where you need to cover several genres of music. The boost helps give it plenty of punch to push tube amps for crunch as well as soon great fat clean tones. Bottom line, the EC Strat is a solid, well made tool to get the job done. I don't love the small vintage frets but I can adjust to them. I'm proud it's a US product.
Musical Background:
Pro player for 50 yrs
Musical Style:
Jazz, country, blues, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com in Ohio, OH
"My favorite guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love the Clapton strat. Amazing action and sound. I play in cover bands that perform a huge range of material from blues to pop to rock to country-new and old. Ive played Gibson’s and humbucker guitars for years. I’ve tried the split coil Gibson’s, other strats, teles with S1 switches, you name it. I currently own a Gibson LP standard and a higher end gretch. The Clapton strat is my number one go to guitar. I am totally satisfied with it. As far as sound, the Clapton strat has a thick and noticeable low end. I have the bass turned down more for this guitar than I do for any of my other guitars. This guitar is has a lot of power to it. I love the tones you can get with the 5 way switch.
Musical Background:
Guitar and piano. 30 years of gigging experience.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, country.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2012 by scott sawyer in cherry valley, CA
"great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've bought and sold alot of guitars over the years , but i like this one the best . I've always liked the gibson sound but prefered the playability of a strat . I can get the best of both worlds with this guitar . Tthe neck is smooth and slick and i so far have been able to get a pretty cool kinda sustained bluesy sound out of it that i like and i've still got a long ways to go with amp experimentation , I prefer small vintage marshall and fender combo amps myself . With all i read ahead of time about the quality of this guitar i have to disagree with any of the negative . i think the quality of construction is real good , the thin pick guard is not a problem for me and i think it adds to the good tone . This is a players guitar and a real good one at that , not a museum piece , I,ve got a vintage ibanez roadstar i like alot that I'll probably use for hard rock bits but other than that this guitar is it .
Musical Background:
I've been playing since I was a kid , I'm musically educated but I don't do anything on a pro basis anymore
Musical Style:
soft rock , rock
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2012 by Alan Crandall in Groton, CT
"Clapton signature strat. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the regular production model which was the original concept anyway! The custom shop version of this guitar can be expected to have greater attention to detail,(fret ends, choicier woods,less hands on the product etc). Although the custom shop is great (I've owned all of the time machine series at one point) and I certainly wouldn't ever criticize their work. But I've had ones that were not stellar shall we say. I've also had a couple that I cannot think for the life of me why I sold them! Guitar players are a weird lot for sure. We convince ourselves that if we only have that elusive piece of gear it'll be the final piece of the puzzle in our quest to finally get to the magical tone promised land.The reason I started with the custom shop comment are because we expect the special work they do to instantly make a guitar a "cut above"! Now as I said I've had a few that certainly just that. But I must report to you that I've had and have some guitars that just came off the production line "right". After all before the custom shops of the world ALL of our guitars pretty much came that way. Unless you're a guy from the 50s- 60s era then truly massive production is how we ve been receiving our instruments for a long time now! Having said all that I'm happy to report that the Eric Clapton signature regular original model is a solid solid guitar! First of all like any guitar anywhere you may have to check a few out. The one I purchased in pewter was 7lbs 2 ozs. Very good neck pocket(snug and correct dimensions)great string alignment absolutely perfect fret work( I was stunned) and a deliciously inviting maple neck with straight grain running the length of it. Sound unplugged ,big complex and resonantly lively! all features right on the money. Little set up work required because I have a very specific guideline where I want my guitars to be. But an average Joe would be fine with the outta box set up. The sound of the pickups( same as the custom shop pickups) are a little more clinical sounding than your average strat sound. By that I mean ultra clean,very quiet and strat enough to be convinced of stratdom but enough of a different character to have its own voice. They're not weak as I've heard, they're crisp,transparent ,but not biting like a trad strat pickup. Coupled with the 25 db boost and the tbx tone control you can get some seriously wide ranges with this guitar , if you take your time. And learn how to get the most out of every possibility. I've heard the CS version dropped the tbx as Clapton was starting to have issues with it.I find it useful and this guitar can easily do a whole night without switching instruments! Truly realistic gibsony sounds semi hollow sounds, the aforementioned strat tones and even hybrid sounds. The playability is as fine as you. An ask for. It's excaliber in guitar form! It's soooo good to know that there are people on the assembly line in the main factory saying "you know what we re artisans too and we. An make a product as good as any CUSTOM house anywhere. Even if it's our own. Either they're really refining their production techniques or I caught them on a really good day! Either way check one out it's it's own animal and different. It can make a statement and really stop a crown in their tracks!!
Musical Background:
Ive been playing for 30 yrs. Pro for 15. Electric , acoustic, dobro , slide , mandolin, bass,. Record , teach, perform, write.
Musical Style:
Every style imaginable but mainly steeped in traditional American forms, which the whole world has taken and given back to us wi
27 of 31 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2015 by Christopher Kelly in Hixson, TN
"The Mighty EC Stratocaster! BLACKIE!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the guitar I have longed for since I was a teenager. That's twenty five + years ago to you and me. Now at 45, I finally have one, and its more than I thought it would be. Incredible tone plus a neck that feels as if it were built not only for Clapton, but for me as well. I can't say anything bad about it. Thanks to zZounds for making it possible with your payment plan!!!
Musical Background:
30+ years, play guitar and mandolin, have played semi professionally and everything else you can do in the biz but make money
Musical Style:
Blues, blues/rock and Country
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2016 by Jefferson H
"A dream guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love the products Fender Mexico is putting out (fabulous quality and have a good number of them), but due to the price difference, I have not bought as many US made guitars. I only have a Hwy 1 Tele, a AVRI Jazzmaster and an Eric Johnson Strat which are US made. But this EC Strat is my favorite of all of them. In every respect, feel, quality craftsmanship, and practical features, the EC Strat is my go-to guitar. Highly recommended.
Musical Background:
semi-pro / 30+ years of live playing
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2015 by Rich E in Shirley, NY
"Clapton Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very Impressed with this Start. Fit, Finish and Playability is top notch. The TBX adds the extra Grit when needed to push you over the top. Smouth neck plays true everywhere on the neck with no dead spots. Guitar rings out loud. I have not found any drawbacks and I am glad I made the purchase. Thanks to zZounds for offering this great guitar.
Musical Background:
Been playing a very long time
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Blackie"
Does all I ask with a minimum of fuss/hassle.
Sound
Mine is an '89 w/Gold Lace Sensors; sounds great - fine tone and sustain w/just a tad of noise.
Features
TBX is its main feature - as I use a tweed Fender w/th volume up there on the amp and low on the guitar, I don't often depend on it. Works as advertised, though.
Ease of Use
Nice maple, good fret job - for what more can you ask insofar as ease of use goes?
Quality
Minus a point (rarely does an instrument gain a '10' rating imho; the single-ply pickguard isn't too stable as it's warped a bit.
Value
A bit nicer than the average American Strat, because of its exclusivity and above average neck.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't used/needed it.
The Wow Factor
I'm likin' it just fine.
Musical Background:
Started playing out @ 15, & I'm now 58.
Musical Style:
Blues, Country Rock, Classic Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"A very clean sounding quality instrument."
I will probably cool my heels and enjoy this one for a year or two.
Sound
The range of tone and the sound of this instrument actually surprized me at first. I own two other USA made Strats and I did not think this Strat would provide the range and quality of sound it produces. The more I play it, the more I enjoy it. I did have to replace the strings that came with it right away and adjusted the intonation a little, but I am quite pleased with it. I even enjoy the lack of the sixty cycle hum from the pick ups.
Features
I also own the VG Strat and enjoy it's versatility of being able to change tuning and sound. But it is an excellent Strat just the same.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get great sounds even with a tiny amp.
Quality
I believe this to be as durable as any other US made Strat which is excellent.
Value
I think it is a fair price for a quality instrument.
Manufacturer Support
I;ve had no problems to deal with them on, but I live near Scottsdale, AZ and know them to be an excellent company to their employees and in the community.
The Wow Factor
It is shaped like a woman.
Musical Background:
Hobby
Musical Style:
Blues, Jazz, Traditional
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2012 by Dave D in Wise, VA
"Sound-Great/ Fit and Finish- Eh..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I owned one of these guitars (have since sold it). The mid boost is really useful for getting a wide range of tones from regular Strat to fat humbucker tones and everything in between. The fit on this guitar (I hate to admit) leaves quite a bit to be desired. The back plate on the body did not fit correctly where the 9volt battery goes. Just as several people have noted the pick guard is just plain cheap looking. I know, it is made like the original single ply version of clapton's blackie. But I'll bet that the axes he plays now don't have crappy looking single ply pickguards on them. I guess if you want, you could replace it but the place where the battery goes would have to be routed out. Come on Fender, these should be put together better. They bear the name of one of the most famous Strat players of all time.
Musical Background:
32 years active musician
Musical Style:
Christian, worship, blues
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2013 by Ron Arenal in Victoria, TX
"Great Purchase"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great purchase, awesome price
Musical Background:
30+ years, electric guitar
Musical Style:
Blues, rock n roll
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2014 by John Joseph in Waukee, IA
"I found it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Since my 1974 sunburst strat with 3 position switch we always snuck into 5 positions, I have looked for a Strat with the sound and action of that 1974. I could get that Nils Lofgren cry like on cry tough. I have played dozens. The tonal qualities, warmth, brightness, action, mid db knob, quality of construction are all there. I am in love. I have started taking lessons again (started in 1970) after just putzing last 20 years. My college degree teacher who has played in dozens of bands is way jealous. Thank you Fender and Zzounds for bringing me back. And Zzounds shipped it set up. I haven't even taken it to my local Lutherie to get it in playing condition. It was ready to go.
Musical Background:
since 1974, used to play in bands, have Banjo and Bass to learn yet.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, Jazz
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2013 by Mike D in Sanford, FL
"Eric Clapton Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar is a must for Strat fans, so save your cash and sell your old Strat.
Musical Background:
12 years guitar
Musical Style:
All music styles
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2013 by richard dickinsom in fayetteville, NC
" Fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've owned a few Strats. This one is by far the best. Great tone, great neck. Excellent craftsmanship.
Musical Background:
50 years/ guitar/ bass
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2017 by Eric K in Bushkill, PA
"Eric Clapton Signature Fender Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow, just wow. This is one of the greatest guitars I have ever owned. It plays well in many genres and maintains its composure without skipping a beat. I play out 3-4 nights a week and since I added this guitar to my arsenal about a year ago I have no complaints at all about the performance of the instrument. The finish on the body, however, I have minor complaints about. There are small views of paint checking from when I originally got the guitar. Other than that this guitar plays beautifully.
Musical Background:
Been
Musical Style:
rock, blues, jazz, christian, country, and soul
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2014 by William F in Pittsburgh, PA
"Excellent and Versatile Stratocaster!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Eric Clapton Signature Stratocaster is an excellent and versatile guitar due to the Boost and TBX functions. A big plus are the vintage Noiseless pickups. They still give you that strat sound from glassy clean to quack in the middle ppsitions but without the hum. The boost is great as you can dial in a little or alot of gain. TBX gives you more treble or more bass. This strat can go from strat to near humbucker sounds. The neck is very playable. The guitar was set up from the factory excellently. A problem I did have was when Fedex delivered the guitar, the case was unlatched inside the shipping box and someting apparently dented the guitar body. The Fedex person told me that since there was no outward damage to the box, there was no reason to file a claim. I also ordered a guitar that was supposed to be 7 lbs 3 ozs and received one that weighed 7lbs 6 ozs. Somebody's scale is off.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music for more than 30 years. Electric and acoustic guitar mainly, in and out of bands.
Musical Style:
I especially like blues and classic rock music to listen to and play.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2017 by kenneth parks in hawkinsville, GA
"Most excellent "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had my Clapton signature strat now for a little over a year. It is the best guitar I have ever owned or played. After playing it for a week, I sold my Gibson Les Paul and haven’t looked back. You can get any tone you want. Stays tuned better than any guitar I have ever owned. Have never needed manufacture support. After playing this guitar I would have paid $1000 more than they are selling for. I am a working musician that plays in small venues. I play thru a hughes and kettner tubemeister that I also bought from zZounds. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PAYMENT PLANS!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 10 years. I also doodle around with bass and drums. I play at small venues with like minded peeps
Musical Style:
Classic rock, southern rock, blues.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2016 by Richard Riggs in Hampstead, NC
"fender Eric Clapton Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What can I say about ,well it's absolutely amazing from opening it up to laying into it,she will take everything you throw at it and the tone there are no words to describe it.for all you credit impaired people like me, I just thank the Lord there is somebody willing to give you a chance. Thank You zzounds for allowing me to have the guitar I have always wanted
Musical Background:
been playing for about 8 yrs mainly at the house
Musical Style:
Rock classic rock, blues,metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Slowhand Boogie."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Completely satisfied. I'll never buy another strat after this one, unless it gets lost, stolen, or destroyed somehow.
Sound
One of the most tonefully versatile guitars? Try, THE most tonefully versatile guitar EVER period. Piercing highs, to real bassy lows. This thing does it all. Classic strat sound, humbucker sound, you name it. I've heard a lot of complaints about the new noiseless pickups, though I have no gripes about them. If they're not your cup of tea, it's not hard to fit the guitar with whatever you prefer. No sense in going out of your way hunting for an older model just for pickups. Just buy the ones you prefer, they're like 70 bucks, big deal.
Features
I bought the Custom Shop version (Midnight Blue), which costs about $600 more than the factory model. I'm still not sure what the difference even is other than the color choices. Came with a vintage tweed case (really ugly interior). A vintage Fender strap (need a hole puncher for leather just to use it, unless you're 6'2", or a fatass), A guitar cable (only 3 feet long, not much use for anything other than fx pedals), a whammy bar, a chrome tremolo plate cover, a couple allen wrenches, a polishing cloth, the users manual, and a set of strap locks. The TBX control and mid-boost circuit are really what sets this baby above the rest. Far superior to the other strats I've played.
Quality
The weird superglue laminate on the neck makes it seem a little cheap at first, but I suppose it's less likely to get filthy. Doesn't affect play at all. Pretty much the same deal with the 1-ply pickguard. It just looks cheesey, but again, not a big deal. Buy a new on if it's not your thing, though you'll probably have to adjust the action. I get a lot of buzz from the low E-string. Not sure how to remedy this either. Aside from that, I don't know. Strats are pretty much all made the same. Mix and match, customize however you see fit.
Value
It's an amazing strat. In fact, probably the best of the bunch. But it is just that. I can't say it's a work of superior craftsmanship, as no strat is. You could probably build this yourself piece by piece for little more than $600 if you know where to look. Felt like I paid more for a name rather than the instrument as a whole, though I don't regret the purchase.
Manufacturer Support
Have never had to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
Definitely the most desirable strat I've ever come across.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Jazz
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Eric rules"
probably will not need to buy another electric guitar for years to come.
Sound
It rocks
Features
comes with hard case with it
Quality
probably one of the best in the market
Value
its worth buying
Manufacturer Support
very easy to reach- called twice to ask some questions
The Wow Factor
classic fender style
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic, Rock , Jazz
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2015 by Phares J in Chapel Hill, NC
"New Fret Job After 8 Months."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Over all I have been very happy with this guitar. Now after 8 months of playing around the house, this guitar needs a $350 fret job. Fender says this is "normal" wear and tear. So go ahead and pay $1599 for this guitar; but be forewarned, You'll be re-fretting this guitar before the year is up. You can not count on Fender to make things right.
Musical Background:
30+ years former professional. Now just play around the house.
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2007 by a customer from bendbroadband.com
"Disapointed. to say the least"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got it for X-mas. Dec 25 and it will be sent back by Jan 2
Sound
Sound is good when setup is rite. you must take this to lacal shop for setup1
Features
Chezzy short strap, pick guard is one ply and makes noies and moves. large gaps at mounting points will not lay flat.
Ease of Use
It is not playable. needs to go to a shop tobe setup at a cost $40-$60. the manual tells you to take it to a shop or do it your self
Quality
No it has lumps on the body, big gaps at the point ware neck meets the body
Value
Not close you can buy a American Strat for less then $800
Manufacturer Support
Support said this is the way we make this guitar and if you dont like it send it back at my cost.
The Wow Factor
I seen this guitar and said this is awsome and then opened the box and down hill from their
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Rock
5 of 32 people (16%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2005
Eric Clapton Stratocaster Customer Review
Sound
I frankly was unimpressed with the noisless pickups. They sound very thin and too clean. I strongly prefer the Texas Specials for the true Strat sound. I do however love the neck and action.
6 of 10 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to