Fender Highway One Stratocaster Electric Guitar (Maple with Gig Bag)

Fender Highway One Stratocaster Electric Guitar (Maple with Gig Bag)

This vintage-looking strat features modern-voiced Alnico III Pickups for a rounder tone than Strat lovers might be used to.

Overall User Ratings (based on 43 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(43)
Submitted May 20, 2009 by a customer from verizon.net
"one of the best strats ever made!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
over this is one of the best strats fender has put out in a long while. this strat does it all and more. hard rock/classic rock/blues it does it all. i have compared the highway one sss with three differnt 2008 american standards and the highway one simply blew the american standards right off the stage. if jimi hendrix was alive he would have a few of these for shure.
Sound
this strat is one of the most versatile tone strat's that i have come across in a long time. live or recording this strat does it all when it comes to tone it's a tone monster.
Features
this is what a real strat is all about. no extra bell's and whistles that most strats have today.it's the real deal.
Ease of Use
very easy to use and very versatile the Alnico III SSS pick ups are simply fantastic. much better than the new american standards.
Quality
the quality and craftmanship is A+ just as good as most customshop strats the cosmetics are flawless i dont worry about anything going wrong with this strat. this strat is more than just worthy for the road its built for the road and no back ups are needed with this baby. and its one of the most tone versatile guitars period!
Value
i paid $930 for mine and its the best investment i have made in any of my guitars. as far as tone versatility and sustain the american standards cant touch this. and its one of the most solid built guitars i'v seen. the neck is smooth and no ruff edges on the jumbo fretts. also love the thin nitro finish. it looks/feels and sounds customshop built. thankyou fender its Brilliant!
The Wow Factor
i have it and i'm getting more.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
hard rock/classic rock/blues.
37 of 37 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 26, 2010 by a customer from aol.com
"Kick yourself later or treat yourself now."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I've had my 1984 Strat scence 1984 so I figure I'll keep this one at least as long. I choose the highway one Strat because of the alnico 3 pick-ups and of coarse the price. I truly can't imagine why anyone would by a more expensive Strat. This one is American made with alnico 3 pick-ups with an unbelievable low price. Go figure!!!
Sound
This ax is a work of art. I own the tri color w/maple neck. The alnico 3 pick-ups can go from crystal clear to screaming hot. Fantastic! Played through a Carvin V3 full stack, a Line 6-Spirder 3 or a Peavy 6505+ you couldn't ask for a better sounding guitar. Right out of the box the intonation was perfect the action was just right, nice and low. I did have to spend about five minutes raising the hight of to the pick-ups slightly. This feels as comfortable as if I had been playing it for years. I bought a new Strat in 1984 that I still own which I had to replace the original pick-ups with EMG DG-20's because the original Strat pick-ups were really noisy. That's not a problem with this highway one Strat, not at all. As I play on the road and in the studio I won't hesitate to use the guitar on either. It is and will remain part of my guitar arsonel.
Features
I am partial to guitars with Floyd Rose bridges with locking nuts but, at under $700.00 I can't complain. Besides I can always add one myself. Another thing I might do is add a graphite nut. Fender hit a home run with this guitar! No kidding, this thing was only slightly out of tune when I took it out of the box.
Ease of Use
There is no problem getting this baby to sing. I can get a clean glassy sound in one channel and a screaming heathen out of the lead channel. There is no learning curve. If you know the sound your looking for, you can find it with this ax. This thing feels sooooo good in your hands, very comfortable.
Quality
This guitar is made extremely well and is beautifully finished. It will remain in my arsonel of guitars till I retire or till the good Lord retires me. I'll use it on the road and in the studio.
Value
This guitar is worth 3X what I paid for it. Why, because I've paid three times the price I paid for this guitar on other guitars and can honestly say I don't think the more expensive guitars are that much better.
Manufacturer Support
I've never had to call Fender for support. So, I can't honestly answer this question.
The Wow Factor
The tri color with maple neck is absolutely beautiful.
Musical Background:
Active Musician & Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz & Contemporary Christian
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2010 by a customer from comcast.net
"the best fender stratocaster crafted in many years!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
simply put the highway one sss stratocaster is the best strat fender has crafted in many years. i compare the highway one sss stratocaster to the fender stratocasters from 1968 to 1971. they are simply Brilliant!
Sound
there isnt a strat out there today that even comes close to the 2007 highway one sss strats in tone /sustain and feel. the highway one is the real deal when it comes to fender strats!
Features
its simply a Brilliant looking strat whith a lot of old school strat features that you do not find on most strat made today. today strats are in my opinion and a lot of other guitarist pro and none pro the the new features on a strat today are just simply useless. were talking the S-1 switching and rolled frets. all useles crap that wasnt used on the classic strats from the 50's/60's/70's/80's/90's and even into the 2000's. all useless and thank god that the Brilliant highway one sss strat doesnt have all that crap!
Ease of Use
very easy to use its a strat!
Quality
the highway one sss strat is top quality when it comes to craftmanship. i would with out any doubt comepare the highway one sss strat to most customshop made strats.
Value
well back in early 2009 fender raised there prices on most of there strats. the highway one sss strat listed for with out any case for $1,130 and cost you $900 to $930. today 2010 the highway one sss strat still list for $1,130 but since fender did a price drop on most of ther strats the middle of last year your cost now for the highway one sss strat is $700. the highway one sss strat is a $1,200 easy and fender should have never drop the price on the highway one sss strat ans a few more other strats also. the most overrated strat out there today theres a few but the main one is the new american standard strat. the american standard doesnt come close to the tone superior/sustain and old school strat feel of the highway one sss stratocaster this is a FACT! not some empty personal opinion.
The Wow Factor
the highway one sss strat more the 2007 models a fender sheer genius made strat. i recommend these strats to the pro players who want not only classic tones but! modern tones to and everything in between and the highway one is the strat. i can say knowing what i know today were jimi hendrix wanted to go with his music befor he died he would have owned many highway one sss strats to help him achive what he wanted out of his music theres no doubt in my mind about this.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
heavy blues/classic rock/hard rock and some jazz
29 of 30 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"HIghway ONe stratocaster...by C.J."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I am freaking diggin It this wonderful piece of art!! im speechless that I perferred this guitar over an american! I love it!!
Sound
These alnico pick ups are sweet!! I'm really picky with stock pick ups, so for me liking these pick ups is one in a million. Alot of people don't like them and I geuss its what your personal perference is. They have a lil hum, the middle one does for some reason I thought it wasnt suppose to, but in the 2 ad 4 positions no hum! All in all its has a great Blues,Rock and reggae tone!!I love them!! an the hum isn't as bad as I thought! It has that hendrix sound, a true vintage strat sound!!
Features
It has what you need and what you dont! I love it!!! IT'S made in The USA!!! and you can't beat that! I love the grease bucket tone circuts that allow you to play and adjust the bridge tone!! this feature can make this guitar sing!! The late 60's ad 70's headstock is freaking sweet also!!! The supersized frets are great!!
Ease of Use
Like I said before! The grease buckets are awsome, and the super sized frets are really sweet and I dig them sooo much because I Have super large hands this allows me to flow swiftly with my hands! The neck makes it easy for me to use to play i dig it also! I must say im in love!!
Quality
I think this is going to best a lifetime love affair! The guitar with it's thin nitrocellulose finish is going to age quickly and have that vintage look in half the time! I like that vintage feel and vibe an aged guitar gives. Some people may not like this feature mine is a flat black and is not glossy at all, it has a grey tint to it in some lighting. But with this thin skin it allows the guitar to breathe much better and has a natrual strat tone!!! Hendrix would appreciate that!
Value
Great value!! I was going to buy an American, but I loved this guitar soo much I played both at my local music shop and I tell you for some reason I wasn't feelling the American strat, but I wanted one, so when they let me play the Highway One, I almost peed my pants because it sounded and played soo well and was almost half the price!!! and it was American made!! I was SOLD!
Manufacturer Support
The guys and ladies are awsome at Zounds!!!! I paid a day before the Fender fan days and they were giving a 10 percent discount for any Fender purchase at the time. They gave me the 70 dollar discount even though I paid a day before, THanks soo much Zounds you all are awsome!!
The Wow Factor
OMG.... IT's there. I love the flat black I lust this piece of gear b/c just like one commenter said Hedrix would have owned some of these bad boys!! just his style I love it!!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues, Reggae, Rock
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2011 by a customer from zygo.com
"Made in USA"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will use this strat to seek out more specific on better strats and keep this as traveler.
Sound
This strat sounds good and better than I thought. I'm using it with a vox vt30 so I have not heard it all
Features
This guitar has just is needed to play. It should be a good guitar to learn how to play a strat. Components are the same as the MIM strats but made in USA
Quality
Quality is fine. Looks good feels good sounds good right out of box. just needed a bridge adj and was good to play
Value
Made in USA Good price and puts us to work
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Can't put it down"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This guitar is perfect for somebody who knows guitars but doesn't have tons of money to spend. Everything about this guitar is perfect. It sounds good plugged in your amp or even unplugged.I love it !
Musical Background:
anthonygestone@yahoo.com
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 16, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great Strat for middle price range"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i never get rid of guitars so i know i will be keeping this one for a long time. If i do wear it out i will definately have it re-fretted. i would definately replace it with the same model if stolen.
Sound
Sounds great! I have had mine for a few a few years now as it is a 2004 model. it is the honey blonde color. The sound is amazing through a tube amp (early 70s Fender Princeton) but i also have a solid state marshall that it sounds good through also. very compatible with rock, raggae, metal, funk, anything you wanna play. switch it to the "bridge-middle" pickup setting and you can get some very nice george harrison-like tones.
Features
Not many whistles and bells just a straight up Strat. My fellow band mate has a Fender Standard SRV edition which is more expensive but i actually like the tones outta this guitar better.
Ease of Use
Well I run it through a Vox Tonelab SE which sounds great, but I have played it without and sounds good. Run it through a tube amp and you're gonna be blown away, i was...
Quality
Built very well. the only problem i have had is the pickup selector switch which i have to spray contact cleaner in about once every few months due to crackles and not switching properly (keep in mind i have a case for it too) so theres not much dust getting into it. but i imagine if it were replaced it would take care of the problem.
Value
YES! very worth the price!!
The Wow Factor
i do like the nitro-celluloid laquer which is thinner than other guitars paint. I have had many compliments on this guitar...like i said i have the honey blonde option which i think is one of the nicest colors fender has put out...
Musical Background:
active musician, regular gigs, studio work
Musical Style:
hard rock, classic rock, funk, reggae, jam-experimental, psychedelic, blues, r&b
8 of 11 people (73%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The best guitar I've ever owned."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I love this guitar, it is my one and only guitar, and I know I'll be keeping it for as long as it lasts.
Sound
I have not had wide experience with guitars so all I can say is that to me it sounds very good. When played clean it sounds crisp and clear, and it plays distortion well too. Be aware that because it has only single-coil pickups it does produce a small amount of hum, especially when the gain it turned up on the amp, though this doesn't bother me as the humming is only minor. A nice feature is that the middle pickup is reverse wound (opposite to the other two pickups) so that when you set the pickup selector to either of the intermediate positions, so it is combining the middle pickup with either the bridge or neck pickup, you get the same hum cancelling dynamic as a humbucker, thus reducing the hum to almost zero.
Features
My guitar did not come with any accessories. There isn't even a specific manual for this guitar, the Fender website has an owners manual in .pdf however, it is a generic manual that applies to all Fender electric guitars. It should have its own manual as I would like to know how to perform some maintenance tasks on it.
Ease of Use
For me this guitar is very easy to use. The main things that make the Highway One Strat easier to use than other guitars in my experience is the jumbo frets which make playing chords very easy as you don't have to push down too hard on the strings. I find I can play cleaner chords on this guitar that I couldn't on my previous guitar which had medium frets. Mine has a maple fretboard which is much smoother and more comfortable than a rosewood fretboard. The tremolo bar is just right, it screws in nice and tight so you can keep it just where you want it and it doesn't drop down like with many other guitars. Also the pickups sit low under the strings so they don't get in the way when you play aggressively or strum. Action is adjustable by adjusting the string saddles on the bridge.
Quality
The Highway One Strat is very good quality. I have not yet found any defects with it, or had any problems with it. My only complaint is that they put stickers on the back of the headstock that when you peel off they leave sticky patches that gather dust and dirt, but that is not a quality issue with the guitar.
Value
As far as Stratocasters go this one is mid-range in price.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
This is a highly subjective matter, but to me this is the most beautiful guitar. Mine is a three-colour-sunburst version. You can see the grain of the wood showing through the paint on the middle of the front and the back, and this lends it an antique-ish look. The finish is satin (not glossy) so it looks like a natural varnished wood finish. Also, with it being satin you're fingerprints don't show up on it so you don't have to clean it so much. The Highway One Strats all feature the large headstock which in my opinion looks better than other Strats with the standard/small headstock.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
11 of 16 people (69%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2010
"the rare 2007 highway one sss strat."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
the 2010 model highway one strats are simply fantastic! but if you ever have the rare chance to buy a 2007 all maple neck highway one sss strat and have the $1,200 TO $1,300 to spend grab the 2007 and dont even look back!
Sound
i own and play the 2007 model highwayone sss strats. they are highly sought after today and if even find one you will pay $1,200 to $1,300 for one.they are differnt first the 2007's have a 2 piece Alder body's the ones befor and after 2007 all have 3 piece Alder body's. the 2007's will have better tone and sustain. the neck's on the 2007's are not as wide as the other highwayone models. thiner neck = faster neck. also in 2007 the all maple on maple necks were rare the necks were mostly rosewood in 2007. the 2007's have become rare and the 2007's are tone superior and versatile over any other highway one year and models. the 2007 highway one sss strat would most certainly have been the strat of choice for jimi hendrix, robin trower own's and plays a few 2007 highway one sss strats.
Features
there are no useless hardware on the highway one strat. like the S-1 switch rolled frets the highway one sss strat (2007)is straight up pure fender strat. top craftmanship and top of the line hardware old school the for shure with a little more bite in the pick ups. the Alnico III pick ups are some of the most tone versatile pick ups fender has ever put out. they are with out any doubt one of the all time best pick ups.
Ease of Use
simply put very easy to use and very playable.
Quality
the highway one sss strat (2007)is straight up top quality. from the craftmanship to electronics there are no flaws.
Value
the 2007 highway one sss strat all maple neck is valued today 2010 between $1,200 to $1,300 and well worth it. the 2010 highway one sss strats are selling for $700. no they are not as good as the 2007's but they are still fantastic!
The Wow Factor
very appealing it's a strat.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2010
"the rare 2007 highway one sss strat."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
the 2010 model highway one strats are simply fantastic! but if you ever have the rare chance to buy a 2007 all maple neck highway one sss strat and have the $1,200 TO $1,300 to spend grab the 2007 and dont even look back!
Sound
i own and play the 2007 model highwayone sss strats. they are highly sought after today and if even find one you will pay $1,200 to $1,300 for one.they are differnt first the 2007's have a 2 piece Alder body's the ones befor and after 2007 all have 3 piece Alder body's. the 2007's will have better tone and sustain. the neck's on the 2007's are not as wide as the other highwayone models. thiner neck = faster neck. also in 2007 the all maple on maple necks were rare the necks were mostly rosewood in 2007. the 2007's have become rare and the 2007's are tone superior and versatile over any other highway one year and models. the 2007 highway one sss strat would most certainly have been the strat of choice for jimi hendrix, robin trower own's and plays a few 2007 highway one sss strats.
Features
there are no useless hardware on the highway one strat. like the S-1 switch rolled frets the highway one sss strat (2007)is straight up pure fender strat. top craftmanship and top of the line hardware old school the for shure with a little more bite in the pick ups. the Alnico III pick ups are some of the most tone versatile pick ups fender has ever put out. they are with out any doubt one of the all time best pick ups.
Ease of Use
simply put very easy to use and very playable.
Quality
the highway one sss strat (2007)is straight up top quality. from the craftmanship to electronics there are no flaws.
Value
the 2007 highway one sss strat all maple neck is valued today 2010 between $1,200 to $1,300 and well worth it. the 2010 highway one sss strats are selling for $700. no they are not as good as the 2007's but they are still fantastic!
The Wow Factor
very appealing it's a strat.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2007
Fender Highway One Strat Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound
I'm not all that experienced with electric, mainly played acoustic guitar for moreless 3 yrs,selftaught. let me tell, im very passionate about playing guitar. this guitar has tenfold my ability and passion. im amazed with its sound, actually i was going for the telecaster(next on my list) but i got an amazing irresistable deal.
Features
its a strat, that is all you need to know.
Ease of Use
action is phenomenol, i read reviews where others have had to tweak here tweak there. mine came perfect.
Quality
very well made, finish and fit wow. moment you touch this guitar you know. its a keeper
Value
749 at stores, i paid moreless 100 bucks less. value, was excellent, could not beat.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
from eagles, to metallica, and some country
10 of 14 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.