Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Richie Kotzen Telecaster Electric Guitar (Maple Fingerboard)

Fender Richie Kotzen Telecaster Electric Guitar (Maple Fingerboard)

The Richie Kotzen signature Tele deftly combines flashy good looks and superior modern playability. A pair of DiMarzio pickups make this one versatile axe.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted June 4, 2017 by Robert L in Farmingdale , NJ
"What a guitar!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've wanted one of these for a few years, not a huge Telecaster fan, but some just absolutely do it for me, aesthetically, this is one of them... But the stories I heard about the really fat neck kept me away. Well I took the plunge, and it's now my favorite guitar, and the fat neck is very comfortable, and I have small hands. I see some on here for sale that weigh 8+ pounds, mine has to be under 8. The flame maple is a substantial piece of maple, not a thin veneer. Not a big fan of gold hardware, but it blends in nicely with the color, not blingy. The DiMarzio pickups kill, and are quite versatile. The mid boost feature is cool, I don't really use it, and only works in the middle position, may have my repair guy switch it to working with the bridge only. This guitar definitely hangs with the custom guitars I own, closer to a Fender USA Elite, or dare I say custom shop, than it is to an American Std/Pro. My only complaint is no locking tuners, and no case, not even a gig bag, typical Fender Japan BS.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar 30+ years
Musical Style:
Classic rock, hard rock, Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2017 by Vermont Blues Player in Johnson, VT
"Monster Axe With Mega Chunky Neck And Super Thick P'ups!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love everything about this guitar, except (and this is still day one!) the lack of a tone pot. I may get used to it tho, because this guitar has its own gravity and meaning, if you know what I mean! Very inspiring to play, sounds nothing like any guitar I have ever played, and that is pretty amazing in and of itself. Treated myself to a $280 discount by nabbing a "blem" which was FLAWLESS. I am thinking the first owner couldn't deal with that large C neck, but it was exactly what I was looking for and could not find for years, having owned a '52 American Vintage Tele previously.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2019 by Stephen Douglas in St. Petersburg, FL
"Richie Kotzen Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Best. Large Frets, Flat Radius neck and Excellent Pickups.Beautiful Color Sceme.Maybe a Black Pickguard & a Tremelo ala SUPER-Vee Maverick!
Sound
From Swewater.com: I will say that I have an American Special Tele, American Standard, Pro and Elite Stratocasters, and Gibson Les Paul Studio, and the Kotzen Tele hangs with them all quite easily. The visual and physical build quality, and tone are top notch. Pictures dont do it justice. You can play virtually any style on this instrument. You can actually play heavy-metal on this bad boy if you wanted. Having no tone control is a little different, but the pickups have a thicker sound that any other Tele and you really don't miss it. Richie literally plays these same models. The only difference is that he uses a special tuner built into his. And it goes without saying that Richies tone is amazing, and yours will be too. Clean and distorted are equally good. The added comfort body contours, make this a pleasure to play. I cant recommend this guitar enough. No disappointments here. Worth every penny.
Features
DiMarzio Twang King single-coilBridge Pickup:DiMarzio Chopper T Humbucker, 12 Inch Radius
Ease of Use
Perfect.
Quality
Yes.
Value
Yes.
Manufacturer Support
Well made.
The Wow Factor
10. And, no.
Musical Background:
50 Years.
Musical Style:
Anything.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2018 by Doug W in Lawrenceville, GA
"Awesome guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar , played amazing straight from the factory . Nice low action and big frets make it a breeze to play .. great tone as well ..I have owned over 60 guitars thru the years and this is right up there with the best I’ve owned ..
Musical Background:
Playing for 33 years .. professionally since 2002
Musical Style:
Rock , shred , blues , jazz , rnb , chord melody
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2018 by Matthew M in New Carlisle, IN
"Best guitar I’ve owned"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased an American elite Tele and was not happy with the neck profile and overall quality of the instrument. zZounds made it easy and exchanged it for a Kotzen Tele per my request. Pros: The fit and finish of this guitar is second to none. I wasn’t a fan of the gold hardware in the pictures but after receiving it, I was surprised how tastefully it was accented on the instrument. Just wouldn’t be the same without the gold... just the truth... The fretwork was spot on, and the inlays would have pushed an American version to a much higher price point. The body contours have spoiled me and the binding is perfect. Call Fenders custom shop if you want the options the Kotzen Tele has and expect to pay 3 grand + for it as well. Neck: I’ve read that people are hesitant because of the neck profile. For me (coming from an American Deluxe model that I love) it really isn’t something I think about when playing. Yes... when you first get it, it does look like a massive chuck of wood, but after playing it now for a month, my AD Tele feels odd. I actually prefer the neck on the Kotzen now. It’s fast and feels like it improves my playing. I personally love it and couldn’t imagine it having anything different. Sure it’s bigger than a 9.5... but not so big that it hinders playability in any way. Bridge: It’s a different version of the bridge on my AD Tele but it seems to be designed thicker and better made. And...It doesn’t scratch as easily from the wayward pinky finger. And yes... all my Teles have little marks on the bridge plate. PUPs: Wow! Not yo daddies fiddle. These pups are astounding! The series switch (after repaired) gave this pig a sound that eliminated probably two pedals on my board. Get one you’ll see what I’m talking about. The neck pup was really unique as well. Turn the volume pot down and it comes alive. Personal opinion: This guitar is just a better all around guitar than the American Deluxe and Elite Telecasters. Which is why we don’t see many Japanese made Fenders in the states. My belief is that it would hurt the market for the American Standard and Elite series. Cons: *Just being extremely picky for you all. The “tone” pot/switch (series/parallel) was loose when I received the guitar. When I opened the control panel it had a wire that was disconnected killing the output on the bridge pup. Most likely from when I turned the knob multiple times and it not being tightened down adequately. (Thus breaking the solder on the switch) I took it to an authorized Fender repair tech and it was easily fixed. But... it was something on a brand new guitar that I felt shouldn’t have happened. *Note: I loved the guitar so I decided to get it repaired rather than sending it back. Cost... 15.00 strings, 30.00 service fee. No case! 1500.00 guitars in my mind should come with a case. Not zZounds' fault but Fender's! I would recommend buying a quality hard shell case. After you receive this guitar you’ll be glad you did. It’s not something to just lean in a corner or stuff in a gigbag. As I said... it’s just a very attractive guitar that deserves care. Fender started putting 9s on stock instruments. Insert mad face...The strings were most likely on the guitar for a very long time because they sounded terrible. So I would recommend putting on your flavor of strings, a quick truss rod adjustment (if you’re going up in gauge) and an intonation and action setup. Don’t know if the guitar originally coming from Japan had something to do with the setup or lack thereof, but it was whacked! Could have drove a truck under the strings! Last but not least... I had to shield the Pickguard. It had a slight static buzz that would drive a normally sane man into a raging frenzy. Again... cheap, and easily corrected. The wiring is not very long making inside repairs/adjustments a little tricky. And... as like every Tele I’ve owned... the jack is terrible. 6.00 from all parts. Overall I love this guitar and really enjoy playing it! I would buy another in a second if something happened to mine. It’s on the heavy side but I prefer guitars I can feel. Hope this helps.
Musical Background:
20 years from bars to churches
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian, a little country
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2020 by Jeremiah Hess in Elizabethtown, KY
"Very nice Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just purchased this telecaster from zZounds and couldn’t be happier with my purchase. The shipping was fast, but the packaging could have been a little better; no damage. Immediately I changed the strings for larger gauge. The flame maple top is gorgeous! The neck is very thick but that’s what I prefer. The only adjustments I had to make were: lowering/raising of the pickups and larger strings. This is not quite a country sounding guitar. The chopper T is very hot and rich sounding with plenty of sustain. The neck pickup creates some really great blues and clean tones coming out of my VOX AC30. This is a very nice guitar that is well made with attention to detail. My only gripe is that Fender doesn’t supply a hardshell case.
Musical Background:
30 years of playing, occasional gigs, and use Marshall’s and VOX
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, country, and southern rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2019 by Jon Banta in Joplin, MO
"Essential"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This telecaster is beyond amazing. I can set my clean volume on the neck position and switch to the middle position for a boost, making this act like a channel switch, as the two pickups are wired in series . Yes, the neck is larger than normal, but it allows you to really get ahold of notes. The sound is amazing and gives you everything you would need for all styles. The bridge position is hotter but not so hot that it is too much. It is gorgeous too, but not over the top. It is classy and versatile. This is my main guitar now for all applications. I can’t say enough about how perfect this guitar is my favorite in over 20 years.
Musical Background:
26 years professional in all styles
Musical Style:
All styles
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2017 by Sean U in Saginaw, MI
"Fender Richie Kotzen Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will make this short and sweet. I love this guitar. Made in Japan, which most know is outstanding quality. I prefer over American Standard. It has a FAT neck, so take that into consideration. I have a Limited Custom Shop 57 Strat, ticket on it exceeded the 4k amount. And the Tele can easliy keep up with it, no problem. The gold accents set off the flame top. No case or gig bag is the only downfall i have found. Now if zZounds can get the RK Strat, i would be in heaven. Hope this helps!
Musical Background:
Over 20 years and over 100 guitars
Musical Style:
If it has strings, i love it all.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2018 by Jason K in Columbus , GA
"Well this is it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have purchased many guitars from zZounds. Honestly I was never a teles fan until I started listening to kotzen and country. I got another tele and it was ok. I had 7 ibanez guitars and a strat too. Sold them all. Here’s this guitar, beautiful and versatile , and a thick neck I sold everything and kept this. For me I play rock and heavy blues. Sometimes metal, this does all that. The thicker neck has helped my forearm relax. Thinner necks actually add to discomfort I believe now . So for me this is the Guitar of my dreams . I’d recommend it it’s a custom shop Guitar for a low price and you can do anything with it.
Musical Background:
Bedroom player
Musical Style:
All of it
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to