Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus Electric Guitar with Maple Neck

Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus Electric Guitar with Maple Neck

Play this Tele fat, thin, clean or dirty. With three pickups in an HSS configuration, the Modern Player Telecaster Plus is a unique take on a classic guitar.

Overall User Ratings (based on 36 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(36)
Submitted December 9, 2014 by Josua Castro in Philadelphia, PA
"tele plus"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great bang for the buck!
Sound
Okay so the sound was amazing, specially on the middle amd bridge pick ups, however the humbucker along with the split option can be a little too noisey when switching so I'd highly recommend changing them in the future, specially for heavily distorted sounds.
Features
Everything was well made. I loved the glossy finisn on the neck and specially how spacious the frets feel. However there's a couple things I don't like. Its a heavy guitar, almost packing 15lbs it can get a little uncomfortablewithout the proper straps also the tuners are a little flimsy but maybe that's just me.
Ease of Use
Its a Telecaster Plus, you can virtually play from grinding death metal to very clean jazz and blues sound. Definitely an extremely versatile guitar.
Quality
Definitely a set up with proper strings were needed. Also an adjustment to the humbucker pick up since it was moving a bit. Other than that for a Chinese made Fender You can't beat it.
Value
Its no American made Tele Plus from the 90s but its definitely worth the money for the player that can't afford having three different guitars for certain styles.
Manufacturer Support
I have never contact Fender but Zzounds is.always fast and reliable!
20 of 20 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2014 by Bill K in Gray, TN
"Surprisingly Exceptional!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As a player who's been around for many years, I was a bit hesitant to purchase a Modern Player Telecaster. But after hearing a few demos, I couldn't resist it. The pickups are very good, and the humbucker and Strat pickups add a lot to the traditional Tele sound. In fact, I would say that this guitar's sound is about as versatile as any guitar I've ever had (and that includes several Fenders, Gibsons, Ibanezes, and many more.) I was also expecting it to feel a bit cheap, but it feels like a really good Telecaster. The maple neck looks as good as any, and the body finish is top-notch (I got the Honey Burst). The hardware is all nice, and the added coil-tap for the humbucker is a sweet addition. My only complaint... it is HEAVY! I'm getting old, and my back isn't what it used to be. But this guitar is so cool that I just ordered a very wide strap from zZounds, because I plan on using this guitar a lot... if my back hold up! ;)
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 51 years now. I play guitar, bass, keyboards, mandolin
Musical Style:
Classic rock, jazz, fusion, Christian contemporary
52 of 53 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2013 by Greg D in Pigeon Forge, TN
"fender modern player telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received my guitar and right out of the box she is frickin' AWESOME ! it plays like guitars that cost 4 times as much and sounds beautiful thru my blues deluxe amp !!!! a match made in Heaven ! It says "crafted in China" and my hats off to the Chinese because this guitar is as gorgeous and as sweet sounding as ANYTHING America puts out ! For the money (no just for it's quality) this is an incredible deal on a impressive piece of musical craftsmanship !!!!! GIT YA ONE !!!!!!!! NOW !!!! you will NOT be disappointed !!!!
Musical Background:
Been playing since Feb, 1964.....day after I saw the Beatles on Ed Sullivan
Musical Style:
classic rock & blues,Country,original music
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2013 by David M in St. George, UT
"Great guitar at a great price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After reading, listening and absorbing the reviews on the Modern Player Tele Plus, I bought one from zzounds Upon arrival, I changed to 10 gauge pure nickel strings, lowered the action to my preference,reset the intonation and adjusted the neck slightly. With these things done I proceeded to play the heck out of this thing. I read a couple of reviews where the author stated that the Classic Vibe was better and Fender was just out to rip the consumer off with the Modern Player Instruments. I have to call B.S. on that one! I have a Classic Vibe 50's Tele, which I love, but the quality of the Modern Player is great for the price. IMOHO, These guitars coming out of China are of better quality than the standards coming out of Mexico. I have found awesome tones vibrating from this guitar and it plays as sweet as any other Tele I have played. Not to mention the looks of this Pine Bodied guitar are exceptional as well as the fit of the neck in the neck pocket!
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 15 years.
Musical Style:
Country, Classic Rock and Blues.
45 of 46 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2014 by Michael Cossey in Batesville, AR
"Multi Trick Pony"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an excellent all around variable options guitar......can dial in the sound I want from Hard Rock, "Neil Young" and "Crazy Horse" to Mellower "you name it" Country..capable of most any sound I will ever need in a 6 string solid body electric........and if you have an effects / modeler pedal, your pretty much set........
Musical Background:
35 + years of novice, not serious playing........personal enjoyment ,song writing.
Musical Style:
Folk Rock, Country Rock, Classic Rock....
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2014 by Mark W in Grand Bay, AL
"Love this Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been wanting this guitar for over a year and a half. I actually tried one out at our local Guitar Center. However, financial issues prevented me from acquiring one soon enough. I chose the 4 month plan here at Zzounds, and I'm glad I did! They sent it to me promptly, and it's doing a GREAT JOB for me! I love this guitar!
Musical Background:
Been playing professionally for over 40 years. Guitar, Synth Guitar, Banjo, Fiddle, Pedal Steel Guitar, Bass , and Mandolin
Musical Style:
Country, Blues, Rock, Pop, Bluegrass
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2014 by john pinard in PITTSFIELD, MA
"john p."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great sounding guitar!!! and looks good to!!! i got the black one,its says trans parent charcoal but its black,anyways i had a tele with the regular strat and tele single coil pickups,although that guitar played and sounded good i couldnt get the beef i needed on certain leads,well this was the answer to that problem!!! this guitar sounds like a tele on steriods!!! and the 5 ways switch is a plus also,it even has a switch to switch out the humbucker,feels great playing and is not made cheap,im so glad i purchased this guitar!!
Musical Background:
30 years drumming,11/2 years on guitar
Musical Style:
rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 25, 2013 by Kevin James in Tampa, FL
"Great guitar...even better price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar plays perfectly. The neck is different from all the other higher end guitars I own, it's glossy and really smooth. The pick up selector options really let you get different sounds and being able to click the humbucker on and off is awesome. I know tele purists probably won't think this guitar sounds as good as the 1000 dollar plus models but I can say that if you want a great sounding and well built guitar for a very affordable price then this is the one for you! I play hard rock and this guitar fits perfectly, the clean tones are it's strengths though in my opinion. Bottom line, if you want a fender guitar and don't have a ton of cash, this is where to start!
Musical Background:
16 years, touring musician
Musical Style:
Hard rock
26 of 27 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2015 by joe c in hanson, MA
"Fender ModernPlayer Tele - Remarkable."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The instrument speaks for itself.... remarkable. Out of the box, it needed a setup.. but what doesn't these days? Plays like a dream..sounds amazing. But the best part... the service from zZounds. Great communication.. lightning fast shipping... absolutely THE BEST!!!! I'm hooked.
Musical Background:
pro - guitar, vocals, keys, bass, sound reinforcement.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, folk.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2015 by David B in Portland, ME
"A versatile tele at a great price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is a bargain, period. Having a middle pickup and a humbucker in the bridge position gives a lot of tonal variety. The neck feels nice, for me it's like Goldilocks -- "just right," not too fat and not too thin (I hate thin necks). Fretwork is more than decent, and she plays effortlessly. The pickups are OK, but I replaced them with DiMarzio noiseless pickups in the neck and middle - I like the DiMarzios and I don't like picking up stray hum. The bridge humbucker sound fine on its own, but is pretty weak when split; I ended up replacing it with a preferred PU but hey that's me, you mileage may vary. And that's the beauty of this guitar: it's perfectly gig worthy out of the box, but it's also a platform for customization if that's what you prefer. It's a bargain any way you look at it.
Musical Background:
Playing for 40 years, guitar and keyboards
Musical Style:
Jazz, fusion, early prog, and old-school classic rock.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2015 by Steve Sutton in Hanover, MD
"Nice Guitar"
I have owned this guitar for two years now and it still impresses me with it's overall play-ability. I love the smooth and fast action on the neck and it has one of the most comfortable necks I have ever played. The pup's are pretty good overall especially for the price of this guitar. I purchased Graph-Tech string savers to install and only plan on changing out the hum-bucker pup in the near future. I also use Elixir Nano web strings light gauge which makes it even better.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2018 by Randy P in Austin, TX
"Incredible and versatile"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Starting at the top of the guitar I love the traditional telecaster headstock, the tuning pegs seem to be sufficient and hold tune well The nut was cut initially but I ended up whifrning the slots a little bit just because I went to a larger gauge string. The jumbo frets and neck itself play like butter very smooth and quick action of the neck. The body itself is beautiful In the charcoal trans parent black as I ordered it. The best part about this guitar is the pick up configuration starting with the neck pick up which is a standard telecaster style single coil which has a beautiful sound and ring to it moving to the center pick up which is a Stratocaster pick up which lives true to its name and sound finally the bridge pick up which is a bucker but the best part is you can coil split this pick up which gives you a very true telecaster sound while in single coil split mode. So am I happy with this guitar? Hell yes I am this is an incredible instrument the price was good and it feels beautiful to play. One complaint is it is a little bit heavy reminds me of a Les Paul. You won’t be sorry if you buy this and if you do. You won’t be sorry PS. zZounds rocks. What a incredible company so far I have bought five guitars from them all of them are phenomenal including one blemish model that I still cannot find the blemish.
Musical Background:
35 years
Musical Style:
Rockabilly, blues, psychoBilly.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2014 by Kirk S in Converse, TX
"fender modern player tele plus"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought it thinking worse case I could switch out parts as I'm prone to do. Well not much needs to be changed. Other than some minor height adjustments to the pickups and later on a heavier string I cannot find anything undesirable. I've owned many of the classic vibe series and was impressed with them. These are to least on par or above them. I'm glad FENDER changed things around and upped their game. These are crafted in China and attention to detail deserves the crafted definition. Only thing I wish is for more color selections in the future. Not a fan of either of the two options they are currently offering. Neutral manufacturer support because I haven't used them
Musical Background:
35 years. home player. guitar and drums
Musical Style:
finger style, rock, or whatever catches my fancy.Noodler
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2014 by Tommy Robb in Burleson, TX
"zZounds is Top Notch....."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A few things: Ont the Telacaster Modern Player I bought from zZounds is awesome, it plays great. All I had to do was tune it.... That's it. I know everybody likes to tweak pickups, nits, strings ect ect, but the way I see it is if your a good guitar player you don't need to mess with all that silly stuff. This Fender came out of the box ready to go., If it did not I sure would not say it did... Second thing is zZounds "Pay as you Play" payment plan works out really nice. No hidden charges or anything to worry about, just make sure the money is in whatever account when it's payment time lol. Last thing is, Most places sell the guitars for around the same prices, so price shopping is a wast of time on most of the large retailers. But I'll tell you this zZounds has great customer service! Just call them about anything, you will not be on hold London at all waiting for a person (yes a person) to take your call, and they are great to deal with. Also my Telecaster got to me pronto after I placed the order. Also it was shipped in a nice heavy duty well padded box, and inside of that was the Fender box, and that is a super nice box too. So as far as I am concerned zZounds has my business 100% Tomz
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for about 40 years. Yikes....
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country, Classic Rock. My own stuff too.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2017 by steve wyatt in beverly hills, CA
"Chinese Fender Modern Player Telecaster"
This Guitar is better than quite a few USA made Telecasters I have seen in the store, and the Added Humbucker makes it have more features. All I can guess is that the USA workers are more Jaded, or the Chinese workers work harder, or something, but there is not a Chance of me buying and American Fender for more money, no way in hell. I actually think this Chinese Made Fender is better in every way than a USA made guitar, not just that it is about 65% less in price. The frets are perfect. It was in tune out of the box, I stretched the strings by pulling on them, and then cranked the tuning up a bit, and this thing plays perfectly, no intonation or action adjustments, and the only thing I hate about it is zZounds' shipping policies. 
Musical Background:
Lead guitar for Led Zeppelin
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Metal, Classical, Flamenco
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2013 by Soren Duran in Morro bay, CA
"Fender Telecaster Modern Player"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar excited as hell. And I still get excited as hell when I unzip its case to play it. It's absolutely beautiful and sounds wonderful. I mainly play it through a Holy Grail reverb pedal which really blows me away at how great it sounds. I have so much fun switching pickups if you want a guitar that truly sounds amazing and won't break the bank this is the one. Don't let anyone tell you that you need an American made teley. You will be happy you made this purchase. Oh and take it (like all new guitars) to a trusted guitar tech, not guitar center and get it "set up". I was going to get the brown one, but I got the sunburst and it is just so pretty. This guitar reminds every day why I love playing music.
Musical Style:
Rock
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2019 by Barnabas Collins in Los Angeles, CA
"It's Good I Dig It"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar arrived yesterday perfectly packaged.Fit and finish outstanding.Ya never know what you're gonna get. This is (as far as I have checked) the cheapest guitar you can buy brand-new that says "Fender" on it"......So ya never know...The first thing I looked at out of the box was the neck to see how bowed it was going to be and how far away from the frets the strings were going to be....and yes, I was prepared for the worst.Surprisingly enough, the neck was pretty damn straight. Straight enough to where I decided no truss-rod adjustment would be needed. The strings were high, but chromatic notes up and down every string revealed no fret buzz anywhere. Cool. I can try and take the string heights down.The nut was cut perfectly. Fortunately I have a complete set of hex wrenches, even the little ones. I found one that fit the bridge height adjustment screws. It took a couple of hours of playing it and seeing just how low I could go on the action....and I got it pretty damn low. It plays very, very well now.I will continue to tweak it today and re-do the intonation that was obviously thrown off by lowering the action as far as I did. But as far as I can tell I can see no reason at this stage to take it to a luthier for a fret-level. I was prepared to have this done in the event I could not get the action where I like it. It's fun to play. Everything works. Yeah it's a keeper. Yeah I dig it. I prefer 9-46 strings so I will get a set today and get the right stings on it for my tastes....This is my first Telecaster. Yeah, they are twangy. But twangy in a good way. The pick-up options on this guitar allow you to dial the twang up and make it "up-close and personal" or you can dial the twang out, too.The middle strat pick-up is a very cool feature on this guitar. If I was to change any of the pick-ups, it would probably be the bridge humbucker....but I see no reason at this stage to change anything except the strings.Very happy with this guitar. Thanks zZounds!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2017 by Johnny B in Oak Grove, LA
"Very nice fender"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a very nice tele for the price. Neck plays as well as my american tele and strats. The tone is great and very versatile. It is a very nice looking guitar as well. Only two complaints. One, I do not care much for the tuners. I will be switching them out for locking ones. And the second thing, it is very heavy. It is described as lightweight but this is not true at all. I only have one fender that is heavier and that is my lead 1. And that thing weighs a ton.
Musical Background:
Playing 35 years, experienced.
Musical Style:
Rock, classic, country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2019 by Dave Allen in Austin, TX
"Incredible!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I got my Tele today. First I want to say that I have been playing (off and on) for over 50 years. I've had 3 or 4 periods in my life when I played in bands, and continue to do mostly home recording. Like any of us who have been around awhile, I've owned some outstanding guitars. Gibson, American Strat, PRS (higher end) Swamp Ash Special, and many more. I current have a sweet MIM Strat, and a Epi 339 (excellent ax,) I never had any interest in Telecasters-always assumed they were just Country music guitars. After watching tons of video, I pulled the trigger, but really assumed this would be more of a "specialty" guitar for me. I was so mistaken! This guitar is spot on perfect, with a full range of tone. I play mostly Blues, and Latin Rock. I really can't describe the range of tones available on this ax. Let's just say that if I were still gigging, I wouldn't hesitate for a minute to play this guitar all night. In terms of looks, this ax is absolutely beautiful (I got the Honey Burst.) The neck is fast-the set-up is excellent, and it plays like a dream. I just can't say enough about zZounds. Payment plan is great, packaging, shipment, delivery and fast processing has to be the best in the industry. If you are thinking about this instrument-you just can't go wrong.
Musical Background:
Off and on professional-playing for over 50 years. I also play a bit of keyboard.
Musical Style:
Blues, Latin Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2018 by Michael R in Lewisville, TX
"Very fun guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar in honeyburst off zZounds this past January and it has become my go to to play. The neck feels great with the gloss finish, it's very light, and the variety of sounds you can get from the pickups is great. The pictures don't do it justice, it is a gorgeous guitar. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2016 by Alan M in Flatwoods, KY
"Awesome Guirar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is a great sounding guitar and a good one for the price. Only thing I've done to mine was had the nut replaced with a bone one and I'm looking at doing Grover Tuners but that's a matter of personal preference.
Musical Background:
25 yrs plus playing on stage
Musical Style:
Classic and Southern Rock, Country and Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2017 by Dennis P in Grants, NM
"Very GOOD Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing guitar 45+ years. I bought this model in charcoal about a year ago when they first came out. I have 7 other guitars, Am. Deluxe Strat,Parker classic fly, Gibson LP, Schecter etc, and find myself reaching for this one more and more. Other than a "crackling noise" from the pickguard (I insulated pup cavities w/copper tape) when it was new and switching out the bridge saddles this is a Very GOOD guitar. Nice neck feel - and action adjusted to my taste....GOOD TO GO!
Musical Background:
45+ yr professional guitarist
Musical Style:
Most popular styles
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2014 by charlie davis in Argyle, TX
"Telecaster/Modern"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Super, everything good.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2014 by steven a in Selden, NY
" Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own telecaster before, but this one really sounds and looks great I’m so glad I purchase this while the price is still right.
Musical Background:
playing 43yrs. Guitar, Church Music director
Musical Style:
Little of all.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2014 by Jonathan K in Pepperell, MA
"Wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got my new Modern Player Tele Plus and have got to say, what a beautiful guitar. I got a blemished model and can not find any imperfections. This guitar plays great. The neck is what I have experienced on much more expensive US Tele's. Smooth, fast and easy to play. Between my Fender Mustang Amp and the 3-4 different pickups the sounds are endless. Really looking forward to "getting to know" this guitar.
Musical Background:
playing mostly acoustic guitar for over 30 yrs - done some open mikes but mostly just play with friends and family.
Musical Style:
folk, country, rock, blues...
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2015 by Jorge M in Miami, FL
"Modern Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Understanding that guitars are a personal, I actually like playing the Modern Telecaster over my SG right now. Great value
Musical Style:
Rock, alt/Brit rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2012 by Jason H in Dickinson, TX
"Superb"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got my charcoal color today. I would rate this in the top three of my collection. I will be playing this one all the time. Fender should be proud of how attention to detail will make this one a collectors dream some day. Put a set of Cobalt 10s and reset it up and go to town.
Musical Background:
Been playing 3 years and jam at home and sit in with a friends band sometimes
Musical Style:
I play the blues and old rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2018 by Mark M in Dixon, CA
"Great guitar!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing does it ALL!!! My ONLY complaint is no wrenches. I found a wrench fixed a minor bow problem and the thing is perfect!!! Ride height is on the money with almost NO buzz. Love the pup configuration. Heavier than thought being pine body but in a good way.
Musical Background:
40+
Musical Style:
Rock pop country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2012 by Kort K in Revere, MA
"Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar Sunday night, arrived Tuesday at 8:58a.m. What a beauty! Flawless fret work, and the craftsmanship is superb!
Musical Background:
long long time...
Musical Style:
rock, blues...
24 of 31 people (77%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2018 by Alex F in Delphi, IN
"This is my daily driver"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I just typed up a storm
Sound
Sound is great, the middle pickup definitely is one of my favorites to play on a bright low crunch reverby clean tone. It sounds so good and crisp. The neck pickup sounds like a neck pickup from a tele. Except it's missing that bit of bubbliness to it that you can get on other neck pickups in this price range. The humbucker in the bridge is OK, but as soon as you coil split with the switch you lose a lot of the little bit that the humbucker was giving you. This guitar is definitely a guitar that you buy with intentions to upgrade the humbuckers if you are a recording artist, if not then you are set.
Features
The switch used for coil splitting capability is very tough which feels nice to use. I like it. The pickup selector on the other hand is the cheapest pickup selector I have ever felt on a guitar. It's nearly unacceptable at this price range. The tuners are vintage style so you might have some difficulty tuning if you've never used vintage style tuning. It's a pain in the butt.
Ease of Use
This is where this guitar REALLY shines. This is the most playable guitar at this price range. As I said, I owned an Epiphone Les Paul Standard which is priced right at that $500 price and it was my daily for a year or so and I got rid of it (even though I loved it) and got this Tele. Now, this tele plays like all the higher end teles and strats I've ever played. This is where Fender puts all of it's money on this product. The pickups are kinda sucky, the electronics are terrible, the tuners are passable, but the playability is stellar. They knocked it out of the park
Quality
As I have said, the electronic parts are cheap so I wouldn't expect a long life, especially out of the pickup selector.
Value
If you are going for great looks, playability, and a new best friend, yes.If you are going for a tone machine right out of the box, no.
Manufacturer Support
I have not reached out to them
The Wow Factor
I've been eyeing this guitar on websites and watching reviews on it for months before I finally got it. This guitar is never leaving my side. That's for sure.
Musical Background:
Amateur guitarist of 3-4 years looking towards being professional
Musical Style:
Pop punk, emo, math rock, post-hardcore
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 9, 2013 by Ed James in North Richland Hills, TX
"TOTALLY AWESOME !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just recieved this awesome beauty including the case I ordered. (at extra cost).I Tuned it, Pluged it in........And WOW This guitar is so AWESOME..... Virtually NO set up. Out of the BOX is great. I love the new pick-up configuration. Neck is smooth... Finish is Great. I Love the 5 position switch and 4 pick-ups This is truley a Modern Player. From Country, To rock, to Blues.... This Guitar does it ALL
Musical Background:
Rock, Jazz, Blues
6 of 12 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2014 by will l in plymouth, NH
"Fender Mondern Player Plus Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very nicely made guitar. Nice neck and finish. For me, It was very ping-e sounding and the middle pickup got in the way of picking.
Musical Background:
playing music for over 25+ years.
Musical Style:
country,blues,classic rock.
5 of 11 people (45%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2015 by Don N in Judsonia, AR
"GREAT GUITAR !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
IT ONLY TOOK THREE DAYS FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL ELECTRIC GUITAR TO ARRIVE AT MY DOORSTEP. AND AFTER GETTING IT TUNED UP AND ADJUSTING THE SADDLES AT THE BRIDGE I PRACTICED ON IT FOR 2 HOURS. AND IT PLAYS AND SOUNDS GREAT! IT EVEN SOUNDS BETTER THAN MY STRAT. I'VE BEEN PLAYING GUITAR FOR 51 YEARS AND I WOULD PUT THIS TELECASTER PLUS UP AGAINST ANY FENDER GUITAR BECAUSE IT JUST FEELS SO GOOD UP AND DOWN THE NECK. AND YOU CAN GET ANY SOUND YOU WANT FROM IT. BECAUSE IT HAS 7 DIFFERENT SOUNDS. GREAT GUITAR!
Musical Background:
Been Playing Guitar For Over 50 Years Hobbyist
Musical Style:
SMOOTH JAZZ, CLASSIC ROCK
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2015 by Don N in Judsonia, AR
"GREAT GUITAR !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After Seeing Reviews And Hearing It On YouTube, I Just Had To Get This Electric Guitar. It Plays And Sounds Great ! After I Adjusted The Saddles At The Bridge, It Was Ready To Go. I Got It In The Honeyburst Finish. It Has 7 Different Sounds To Get The Sound You Want With A 5 Blade Switch. I've Been Playing Over 50 Years And This One Is A Keeper. Great Guitar !
Musical Background:
Been Playing Guitar For Over 50 Years Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Smooth Jazz, Lee Ritenour, Larry Carlton Classic Rock, Doobie Brothers, Allman Brothers, Grand Funk Railroad, Phil Keaggy, Worsh
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to