Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Electric Bass, with Maple Fingerboard
LAST ONE

Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Electric Bass, with Maple Fingerboard

Play with the mean, mean stride of Geddy Lee. Loaded with dual vintage single-coils, this Jazz Bass packs all the style and tone of his original '72 J Bass.

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted March 31, 2014 by jamie gardner in erwin, NC
"Fender Jazz Bass ~ & overall opinion of this company. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of all I wish I would have found zzounds a while back before I spent over $2500 at musicians freind. I will only do business from now on with zzounds . Everything was perfect the Getty Lee bass I ordered is a dream to play I am a fender bass man anyway but it's my new favorite. This bass is super sweet the the c shape neck small nut width and a beautiful 3 color sunburst it really sounds as good as it looks. The bad as bridge is killer action is awesome. If you like fender at all and want one killer bass for the $ ..it's gotta be this one.The customer service here is 5 star! It cannot get any better. If you're shopping around not sure , do yourself a favor don't hesitate a second longer you will be very satisfied with this company. Not to mention I got the price they matched anyone else's price & give you an option to Play as you pay witch really helped me. I'm coming back soon as I payoff my awesome fender jazz bass and getting a tube head and a new 8x10 cab. Can't wait! Thanks zzounds for your support when I had questions and not to mention had my gear in 4 days!
Musical Background:
playing for 30 years play bass and drums. play Simi professional about 2 times a month mostly hard rock/metal.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock & Metal
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2014 by John N in Rohnert Park, CA
"Awesome Jazz Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been wanting a GL Jazz since they started making them, and now I finally have one, and I am not disappointed. I purchased the 3-tone sunburst model, and it is a beautiful bass. Jazz bass tone, with more sustain. With everything full up and just a touch of bass and treble on a combo amp, I dialed in a sweet tone, looking forward to taking it on a gig and using the big bass rig. As this is a reproduction of a 1972 Jazz, it is a little bit different from a standard Jazz bass, as the bridge pickup is a little bit closer to the bridge, so that back pickup tone is a bit more pronounced when playing directly over the pickup. This bass is well built, and haven't noticed any issues with fit or finish, except that the fret ends could have been dressed a bit better, but you aren't going to find many basses with that kind of detail for less then 1200 bucks. Also, the truss rod adjustment is on the heel of the neck. While this is correct for a 1972 Jazz, it's a bit of a pain. Taking the pickguard off was enough to access the adjustment, just a bit of a pain to deal with. Hopefully I won't have to do that too often. All in all, a very welcome addition to my small collection of basses.
Musical Background:
I have been playing bass guitar for 25 years, in various rock bands over the years.
Musical Style:
Rock, and various sub-genres of rock (Metal, Prog, singer/songwriter, punk)
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2015 by Hal 'NuttnButDaBlues' York in Warwick, RI
"I LOVE THIS BASS!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Recently picked up this bass in black. I've used it on several gigs, and still can't believe the punch this bass has. The action couldn't be sweeter...like ice skating, one friend remarked. I'm a bluesman and that punch is really appreciated when dynamics are all over the place. The Leo Quan Badass II bridge just HAS to account for a lot of that. The pickups are very high quality and have a great tone. In my opinion, there's nothing about this bass that says Made In Mexico. The finish is great and the electronics are flawless. I've been playing professionally for over 50 years, and this bass has it all!
Musical Background:
Play professionally for over 50 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Soul, Rhythm & Blues
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2014 by Greg M in University Place, WA
"Geddy Lee Jazz Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What a feeling it is to get a piece of gear that I had never even touched before, and loving it! Granted that after playing what I was playing for a few years anything would have been an upgrade, but this bass is outstanding. There are so many more reviewers here that have way more knowledge than me of how basses are supposed to be put together, I just know that the neck has a feel like butta and it sounds like Geddy's Jazz right out of the box. I did also get the Peavey MAX 112 II 200 watt combo amp so plugged into that thing, I am in heaven. I need to mess with it a little more to try and get some softer tones. I wouldn't say it as a negative yet, probably user error.
Musical Background:
Guitar, bass, drums, piano, vocals. Since a young lad. Played guitar and bass is a few giving bands
Musical Style:
rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2013 by Gary Hall in Jacksonville, FL
"Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the third one I have own and you can't beat it . I have had the U.S.A. Standard and Deluxe Jazz Bass and I would take the Geddy Lee Jazz Bass any day instead. I bought my 1ST one for $625. . It was made in Japan so wasn't my 2ND one. Both GREAT in every way. This new one I just bought from ZZounds is from Mexico but seems just as good as the one's from Japan. They all need to be set up to your own liking but are playable right from the box. I think its GREAT that ZZounds is keeping it real with the price compared to other big chains and Fender has lost its mine taking this Bass to over $1000. . I am a 58 yr. old PRO and feel that Fender is asking to much in these hard times for many of the up and coming young Musicians . Thanks again to ZZounds for there affordable payment Plans.
Musical Background:
Pro Musician - Been playing for over 45 yrs. - play Bass/ Keys/Guitar
Musical Style:
Played it all. Even Polkas . Progressive Rock is my game. OLD SCHOOL .
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2018 by John W in Reno, NV
"Geddy Lee Jazz Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this bass! I have to admit, I bought it because of the Geddy Lee video, where He describes going into the pawn shop and buying His number one. I have always played Precision ,Basses before but like I said : I Love This Bass! It is very comfortable and it just feels like I have been playing it forever. It arrived very well packed and in perfect shape. The amazing thing? I ordered on a Wed at 3pm and it arrived at 10 am on Thursday! Less than 24 hours!
Musical Background:
Lifetime Keyboard Player: All Styles, but I use Fender Basses for recording.
Musical Style:
All styles, mostly work in Recording Studios. I have played lots of commercials and a few soundtracks.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2014 by Dan S in Clermont, FL
"Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have always looked at this bass and wanted one. The first purchase of a Fender, I was looking to buy this, but the local music store didnt have one in stock, so I purchased an American Standard P-Bass. I loved that bass.....after awhile, I began wanting a different sound. I finally ordered this bass in the Brown Sunburst Finish. Oh MY GOD! I love this bass and wish I had waited for one back year ago instead of grabbing that P-Bass. I love the neck, the finish is awesome and the sound. I LOVE the growl and the high end and clarity of the notes. Playing with the controls and changing up the tone gives a good variety of sound. The only thing I changed was the strings, had to but my favorites, Swing Bass 66...added another dimension. Notes clearer.....bottom end a bit harder and still clear, not muddy. My only thought for Fender, its a $900 bass, should come with HSC, and Rotosound Swing Bass 66 (Geddy's strings) from the factory. I LOVE this bass and it looks like my P-Bass will become my backup now :)
Musical Background:
Playing more than 10 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Progressive Rock and Southrn Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2014 by Dennis Wass in Lynchburg, OH
"Getty Lee Bass Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nomatter if it was a slightly blemished from the Factory, this Bass was intact. It is a peculiar Bass in that it requires removal(via by 4 neckbolts) to adjust the actual desired string/fretboard spacing for personal taste. That is not more than a 15 minute procedure, and should only be done in 1/8th turn intervals and is not a void to warranty. That is the uniqueness of Getty Lee Basses to get his formulated sound, although it works for any thing uncluding a very clean "Country Percussive Upright(higher) Bass Action. Just a good Bass for the price and a special feel.
Musical Background:
I`ve been professional for 38 years...Bass is my forte` and I play all Genre.
Musical Style:
Hardrock 60-80`s, County all the above, Blues to the point, P-Funk, even Bluegrass.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2014 by Dan S in Clermont, FL
"Awesome! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This GL jazz bass is awesome! The neck is super fast, the finish wow! Let's get to the tone....holy cow this thing plays and sounds like a dream. I am used to playing Fender P basses and this bass adds an entire new dimension to my arsenal! Enough bottom end to rival the P bass, but the clarity of the notes is perfect! The bass was set up perfectly for me and after installing a set of RS Swing Bass 66 stings (why they didn't come it's GL's strings....) the growl is unmatched. Been using RS strings for years on my P bass and this bass makes them sound even better. This bass has become my goto bass now. Only complaints, came with a gig bag instead of a HSC and adjusting the neck is going to be a pain in the but, but I'd buy another one in a second. I love this bass!
Musical Background:
Bass player for years. Mostly local cover bands and small stuff
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, heavy metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2013 by a customer from yahoo.com in Amsterdam, NY
"Awesome bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass is one of the best basses for the price. Very pleased w/ easy of use. Playability excellent. Minor adjustments needed out of box! Set up took about 15 minutes. Just had to tune her. And we were off!
Musical Background:
30 years experience
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Jazz, Funk, Alternative. Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2015 by John G in Annapolis, MD
"Punch and Power"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've played this Geddy Lee jbass for a few years and I can't find one negative thing to say. It has stood in the gap, and been a Trooper in times of multiple gigging. It has stood the test of time of roadability and more. I had doubts at first but when the the smoke cleared we were still standing, I don't know about you, but to me you can't ask much more than that.
Musical Background:
30 plus yrs.I consider myself semi-pro, cause on any given day your whole world can change. That also keeps me aiming high!
Musical Style:
Funk - Rock - Jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2015 by Bob Truesdale in Maricopa, AZ
"Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Electric Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very impressive bass, especially for the money! Customer service was very responsive, and the item arrived before the estimated date. Not much more I could ask for to be a satisfied customer!
Musical Background:
70's / 80's garage band bassman
Musical Style:
Hard Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2015 by scott andrew in clearwater, FL
"rate"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is an awesome bass. plays great, sounds great and looks great, I totally recommend it...I am getting some fret rattle but I am thinking its just an adjustment issue but other than that I love it.....
Musical Background:
ive been playin for 10 years,play bass,band
Musical Style:
rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2019 by Stephen M in Lebanon, OH
"Killer bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Don't be fooled about this bass being Mexican made, it rocks with American made basses, I love it. The only down side, no case, just a bag.
Musical Style:
All kinds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2014 by Dave H in Dundee , MI
"Not worth the cost..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
...Unless you want Geddy's signature on your bass. It didnt play bad out of the box and the sound was typical Jazz bass. But the annoying problem was tuning. For something that costs $900, I would expect it to tune easier. I have to switch between tunings frequently and there are dead spots in the machine heads. I considered switching to Hip Shot Tuners but decided that a guitar of this price should have decent tuners. If the price point was
Musical Background:
30+ years as a musician. Perform semiregularly.
Musical Style:
rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to