Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar, with Maple Fingerboard

Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar (Maple Fingerboard)

The Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS offers a twist on the popular Strat sound. With a maple fretboard and a humbucker in the bridge, this HSS Strat rocks.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted May 12, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Awesome guitar at an awesome price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Will be playing this beautiful beast for a while.
Sound
The guitar is very responsive and versatile, allowing me to play a wide variety of music ranging from church music to rock to country. The only thing that I knocked points for is the fact the bridge pup could be beefier. That problem will soon be solved with a Seymour Duncan SH-4 JB humbucker.
Features
For tthe price and quality, I was pleased with the guitar and gigbag.
Ease of Use
Very solid instrument. One of the best playing out of the box guitars I've ever played.
Quality
Very solid and wdell made. Mexican quality and durability really surprised me.
Value
Very much worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
Great manual. The best support is an instrument so well made you never need it.
The Wow Factor
Very beautiiful guitar but I've always been partial to burst finish guitars.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2015 by Kimberly H in Portland, TX
"Fender MIM standard alpine white"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are looking at this guitar and thinking to yourself im not sure if I wanna pop on this and buy it. search no further. The action is nice and low and the craftsmanship is just spot on. Plays like a dream and this is no BS! The five way switch is rock solid and I have had no tuning issues, due to tremolo but I only horsed around with that I tend to use my palm on the bridge to wawa. LOL! I am not a professional player by any means, however this was the smartest choice in an instrument that I have made. This is priced at the intermediate level but I have a couple buddies in a band and they are shocked at its playability. The humbucker on the bridge is just awesome, their is no mistaking that it truly sounds like a fender with ballz!! I would recommend to anyone looking at this guitar to just buy it you will not be disappointed and you can take that to the bank and draw interest on it!!
Musical Background:
been playing since 1983 at home
Musical Style:
Country, blues and classic rock.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"Great guitar at a great value."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't see giving this baby up. I'd buy another one if this one is swiped--but I might go with a sunburst rather than black.
Sound
The sound is as you'd expect from Fender single-coils--no disappointment there. The humbucker is nice and crisp, but isn't as meaty as, say, a Gibson.
Features
Electronics work well and the tuners are solid. The vibrato works well without that many tuning issues. The standard gig bag is top-notch.
Ease of Use
As easy as any Strat you'll play!
Quality
Workmanship is solid. Frets are well-done. Intonation is very good.
Value
Good value for the money. I believe the Made-in-Mexico Strats hold up well against the USA-made models.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
Seeing as how the Strat design is copied more than any other, I'd say it's pretty "sexy."
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
various
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2015 by Yunus Benseghir in Astoria, NY
"When it comes to decision making...!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It was great decision investing in this Fender Standard Maple HSS Strat for my son, who is violin player for a decade and decided to play electric guitar all of the sudden. The S/H was incredibly fast, the guitar itself arrived in excellent condition and when he started rocking it for the first time, it did show great potential without any extra compressor or other effects pieces( Boss...). For its price( $500), I can say it's great for someone who is a beginner or even intermediate player, who still wondering what to get at this stage !! .In fact, when I bought this guitar for my son, his friend purchased similar one by original made in the US, more expensive( $1,500) and guess what... unfortunately, for my son's friend, this expensive one didn't deliver the sound was expected, even disappointing ..
Musical Background:
Violin, piano, classic and electric guitar, flute, drums...
Musical Style:
Classic Blues and rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2014 by Todd M in Tyler, TX
"Great strat!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What can I say that hasn't been said? The standard strat series (MIM) is the best bang for your buck out there for tone and craftsmanship. The HSS gives me exactly what I want in a strat. Even with the stock pickups, this strat has tons of tone! I have a very specific range of tone I like to use, so I changed out the pickups, but the stock pickups were quite good.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 25 years and play guitar, banjo, mandolin, and bass guitar
Musical Style:
Folk, bluegrass, rock, country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2016 by Mark R in Rocklin, CA
"Owner of '15"
I purchased this Fender new in 2015 and love the versatility, looks and quality of this guitar. It is unmatched in the price range and holds its own against an American Standard. Great Fender tone whether playing clean or with distortion. A great guitar to start playing on as a beginner or as a gig guitar as part of a guitar player's arsenal. I wish I had this guitar when I started playing at 10 years old instead of the Sears 3/4 acoustic guitar.
Musical Background:
Play guitar non-professionally for over 40 years
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Heavy Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2018 by vince m in phila., PA
"Fender Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After having this guitar for almost a year now it still holds up. I have several other guitar's but I always go back to this one. The neck is as smooth as can be, I've always heard that maple necks are not easy to play but this just keeps getting better every time I play it.
Sound
The sound is much better than I had expected from an MIM Strat.
Features
The maple neck feels like butta when you slide up and down it.
Ease of Use
This piece is easy to get just about any sound you want from it with the help of some pedals.
Quality
It seems well crafted and I hope it sounds and looks this good for a very long time, the product is well made and has lived up to my expectations.
Value
It is a very good buy.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to call them yet and I don't think I will ever have to.
The Wow Factor
I chose the alpine white with maple neck and this combination is simply beautiful.
Musical Background:
playing over forty yrs. mostly at home now.
Musical Style:
classic rock, rock, blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2015 by chrales briscoe in manhasset, NY
"fender strat hhs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the guitar is excellent It not only looks great but plays great It is well worth the price. it was delivered on time. thanks zZounds
Musical Background:
jam at home i played on and off for 40 years i also play alto sax
Musical Style:
mostly rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2017 by Vince M in Philadelphia, PA
"Fender Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this guitar on a Friday at 450 pm it was at my door the next day at 1030 am. good going guys. this guitar is worth every penny, the finish is perfect and sound is all I expected.
Musical Background:
Playing over forty years, mostly at home now
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us