Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Standard Stratocaster Electric Guitar, with Maple Neck

Fender Standard Stratocaster Electric Guitar (Maple Fretboard)

Bring legendary tone and style to your next gig. This Standard Strat features a maple fretboard, parchment pickguard and control knobs, and '70s-style logo.

Overall User Ratings (based on 43 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(43)
Submitted November 20, 2014 by Domenic F in Boston, MA
"Lake Placid Blue Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great experience buying from zZounds - the play as you pay is great. Guitar showed up when expected and was packaged very well. Finish was excellent. Looks great. Setup was excellent right out of the box - have not stopped playing it since it showed up at the house!
Sound
The sound is very good. I will be changing the pickups - but I got a good deal on some 60th anniversary 54's The ones it came with are fine in my opinion
Features
All the standard Strat features work fine - nothing special here.
Ease of Use
Guitar was very playable out of the box. Setup was fine for me. Intonation was good, action was good. Pickup height is good as well - sounds really sweet.
Quality
Looks like it is made very well - second MIM standard strat I have purchased and the quality is very good. Went through and checked/tightened everything up - it was actually fine.
Value
I think the price for this is very good - 500 and then a set of pickups and you have a really nice guitar. Don't even really need to change the pickups. Not a pro here - but I have been playing for years - for a fun guitar you could gig with - I think it's worth it
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to use it
The Wow Factor
I had wanted the lake placid blue with maple for a while - and I have to say when you see it in person - the pics do not do it justice. It is a beautiful color and with the maple neck/fretboard - it just looks amazing!
Musical Background:
Longtime player - over 20 years - not a pro
Musical Style:
Rock and Blues
24 of 24 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 27, 2014 by Road Dawg in Nashville, TN
"simple and ferocious"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I didn't purchase this guitar from ZZ sounds. I have purchased from them and they are a great customer service company from my experience in the past. I decided to review this guitar here because I often read the reviews from this site and decided I would also share my thoughts as well since I use the same media for reviews. I have been playing guitar for over 20 years and played some high dollar guitars and some low priced guitars. I love the MIM strat and tele's. I play blues, rock and some country. I love these instruments I love the feel the tone and even the looks. You can upgrade pickups hardware if you really want to spend money just to say I out whatever you do to it but with these guitars it's wasting your money they sound and play great from the factory maybe you Want a string guage change Which requires a set up but That's minor for what's going to be a great long lasting tool. You can buy an American model and it's going to retain value better if your into that but if your playing the thing every chance you can get on a stage your not going to be worried as much about it if and when it gets a bump or scratch cause it's going to happen if you're playing it its a tool if your collecting for the future go American simply because of the investment otherwise you just cant go wrong here they are great products.
Musical Background:
20 years and professional
Musical Style:
Blues, rock and some country
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 23, 2018 by Dennis H in Sandyville, WV
"Fender Standard Stratocaster candy apple red"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow, what great customer service at zZounds. I ordered this guitar and fed ex messed up and zZounds overnighted me one. Now, back to the review, this MIM strat is awesome. I have been playing guitar for over 50 years and have played them all and I want to tell you this is a guitar that is as good as any, even my American Strat. The finish is flawless and after a set up this guitar plays like butter. I always tighten the tremolo springs to deck the tremolo to down movement only, this greatly improves tuning stability. All I can say is if you're gonna spend money on a top notch guitar look no further than the Fender Standard Stratocaster.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for over 50 yrs.
Musical Style:
classic rock and blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2012 by Thomas Curry in Whittier, CA
"great value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the box this guitar is great . The set up was darn near perfect, the construction and finish and general craftsmanship are all top notch. I will probably change the pick ups down the line but I am sure I will be playing this guitar for the rest of my life.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
rock, soul , ska , blues etc.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2016 by Zack W in Pensacola, FL
"Candy red fender mim stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this in the mail using the Play As You Pay payment plan and all I have to say is wow. This is a very nice guitar! It feels very expensive but is pretty affordable at $150 for 4 months. If you are a beginner or intermediate player and don't wanna go buy a new guitar after you grow out of your squire, buy this. Later on ill probably throw some American fender pups in it, but for now it sounds fine out of the box!!! 10 outta 10 stars, they even sent it to me in 2 days ( unlike other sites that will take a week or more). Buy this!!!!
Musical Background:
been playing for a few months
Musical Style:
rock and reggae
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2018 by John Koehler in Pueblo, CO
"Beautiful!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been a player 38 years. Only had one other Stratocaster. It was amazing. This guitar was set up beautifully ( had doubts here) was prepared to spend time intonating etc. Absolutely no need. I've played tons of guitars and this one is up there with the best in tone and workmanship. Don't let the price fool you. Fender gave us a great instrument and a great price.
Musical Background:
38 years a player
Musical Style:
Rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2012 by Andy B in Cincinnati, OH
"Very impressed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my third MIM and I continue to be impressed by them. I got the Lake Placid Blue this time and it looks beautiful. I honestly cannot understand why an American strat costs more than twice as much. Is it just because of labor costs? The quality here is just as good. It was shipped to me fast and left at my door for me. A quick tuning and she was ready to go :)
Musical Background:
Guitar and piano, beginner
Musical Style:
Rock
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2015 by Walter D in Rex, GA
"Standard Fender Stratocaster with Maple Fretboard"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar arrived as promised. Set up was perfect out of the box. No damages were incurred during shipment. Plays perfect, sounds just like a Strat is supposed to. Looks more expensive that it is.
Musical Background:
off and on since age 14, play for myself
Musical Style:
Rock, blues oldies
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2015 by benjamin cathcart in manton, MI
"Fender standard strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
In today's stagnant wage economy this guitar is way more affordable than the American strat. The quality is not that far off than the mia. The pickups in the standard are good enough that you would have to be a pro musician to tell the difference in sound. You dont have to worry about taking it out to gigs and getting dents and scratches on it.
Musical Background:
playing for 25 years. play guitar jam at home
Musical Style:
classic rock, blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2015 by Greg O in St.Louis, MO
"Solid guitar"
I bought my MIM Strat in Dec.1999 in black with a maple fretboard.Greg Allman's son Devin was the salesman(didn't know that until later).Anyway I was a beginner guitar player and took it to my older brother who could make a 2x4 with strings sound good.He played it and said it was definitely a great deal,especially since it didn't say Squire on the headstock!As I got better and checked out more guitars and players I found the construction and playability were very good.The sound was pretty good but I upgraded the pickups to Fender Vintage Noiseless Pickups and put in a 25 db midrange booster I bought from Stewart McDonalds guitar parts catalogue.The neck on these MIM Strats are excellent.The light satin finish is a big plus.I played a friend of mines new American Flamed Maple Top Strat and the neck on that thing must of had 20 coats of nitro,kinda sticky.I hollowed out a spot on the back of my MIM for a 9 volt battery box.That's all I did to it 14 years ago and it smokes a lot of way more expensive guitars,Srats or Les Pauls.A lot of people can't believe a modified MIM Strat could sound this good,loud,clean,crunchy,and with virtually no hum,even with the midbooster all the way up.When they play it,they all remark how easy and slick the neck is,and I tell them it's totally stock.I think the EVH VanHalen and the Ernie Ball VanHalen guitars have a light satin finish on all their necks.I believe Eddie knows what he's doing,so it makes me feel good knowing the finish on my MIM neck is not cheap,but EVH Custom Shop!!!!
Musical Background:
Professional Practicer,joke!. Hobbyist,play live now and then
Musical Style:
I like Jeff Beck,Jimi Hendrix,Johnny Winter,Eddie VanHalen,Les Paul,Jimi Page,Eric Clapton.I think that describes the kind of mu
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2017 by Stuart M in Tulsa, OK
"MIM STRATS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are GREAT guitars, I have several now. I see a lot of people say they BUZZ and have hiss or NOISE. I have NEVER had one do that myself. I use these for many music styles. They do kinda suck for classical. Good on blues, jazz, Medium metal etc. I am no noob. Only around 40 yrs playing now. I do have HIGH END guitars in the Fender, Gibson, Dean, Ibanez etc. These do just fine for an everyday player guitars. Could be a bit beefier but it is single coils pickups. I normally use OLD les paul or Ibanez JEM for heavier stuff. But I do gig with these MIM's ALOT. and they hold up just fine.
Musical Background:
40 years.
Musical Style:
rock, hip-hop, country, blues, Christian, electronic
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2017 by grant m in labadie, MO
"fender standard stratocaster with maple neck."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
fit and finish is excellent-lake placid blue color with white guard. had to do slight adjustment on setup but plays great. very pretty guitar.
Musical Background:
been playing guitar off and on for 25 years. just a hobby .love music .
Musical Style:
blues- classic rock- metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
Fender Standard Strat Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I may change the pickups to blusier, but I am satisified with the overall product as is. I
Sound
I am very impressed withe the sound of this product. It holds distortion and clarity really well. I am surprised how these pickups are so hot, thinking it was going to be a better blues guitar. The maple neck is so awesome. I have rosewood guitars that sound beautiful, but if you want to sound gorgeous, I like the maple. I do have a gdec 15, but it sounds way better with my crate 120 rfx. Just turn up the overdrive until it barks and then you have a pretty good overall rock sound. I think that this guitar sounds more raw and heavy live than it would in recording, especially based on the strat masters like malmsteen and voodoo circle or joe stump. I saw malmsteen in concert live, and his strat sounded ferocious! But in the studio, he is merely feral; although he is still my favorite guitar player. stick with the stock strings and setup; it is great; about 1/8th of an inch is all you need on the bridge. I am thinking about installing vintage blues dimarzio pickups.
Features
This comes with a standard gig bag, it is nice [Editor's note: Gig bag no longer included]. The tremolo arm is awesome; I love screw in arms; The cord is useful but hardly good. The instruction manual is pretty good about how to care for your strat. I don't believe you can expect much else from Fender.
Ease of Use
Great pickups; great setup out of the box.
Quality
I have never doubted that fenders were awesome until you own one- I love the neck- it is suprisingly small and easy to use, it is glossy not raw wood; some like it - some don't. The paint job is immaculate- I wtill can't believe that it looks this good and the maple neck is the bomb! The parchment pickguard is even more beautiful up close with white black and white layers!
Value
I have three total guitars around or up from this price range and I am very happy with the pickups and the paint job and the maple neck.
The Wow Factor
I do not see how a girl could not look at my artic white paint job and say I want that!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Metal
11 of 14 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2018 by Shawn Caudill in Georgetown, KY
"Best of the best"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Man what can I say it’s a fender strat for 600 bucks. I bought mine bout a month ago and still it inspires me to always wanna pick it up and play. I use it for all styles of music from rocking VAn Halen to playing country all around versital instrument. The fret board feels amazing with the clear coat finish to me that’s my preference. Right out of the box it was ready to play no adjustments needed really. I did notice the more you wear in the nut my using the whammy bar the better it’ll keep tune I think it’s a synthetic bone nut but no big deal it stays in tune great. It’s my first Stratocaster I’ve owned and it won’t be the last. Btw zZounds your awsome for your payment plan you really help working ppl like me thanks so much
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock country and metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2017 by Paul W in Marion, OH
"STRATOCASTER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a Gibson guy. Played for 50 years...bands, orchestra, ensemble. church, studio. You know the drill. Never owned a Stratocaster. Ever. Probably talked bad about them because they were not related to Gibson. I bought this one because of the price. I now believe I have made a grave error in judgement. This apparently is the entry level into the Stratocaster world...I have just opened the door I guess. There is no doubt I will be returning this guitar and replacing it with a top of the line model. When I took it out of the box I was really depressed. Mediocre action and strings I didn't like. I adjusted the bridge and the rod and replaced the strings. In my opinion this is the finest guitar, for me, I have ever played. It does everything...right. I can't understand why anyone would desire to change the pickups...maybe to be able to say you changed them? The action is remarkable, the sound is beautiful. The traditional fender ring is unmistakable in its purest raw form. A beautiful underated instrument and without a doubt the best guitar buy, for the money, on the market today. Made possible for people like me by zZounds financing programs. ...
Musical Background:
55 years. Guitar, banjo, Uke, strings...keyboards
Musical Style:
Chet Adkins
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2013 by will s in Cincinnati, OH
"awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar with the Texas special pickups. It is amazing. Smooth transaction and good shipping.
Musical Background:
19 years. professional.
Musical Style:
Rock and blues.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2014 by a customer from hotmail.com
"fender standard stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
excellent guitar!!!!
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2012 by Richard S in Lenington, SC
"Fender Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I now have two Stratocasters of different colors, and I love both of them. Now I can keep one in the house and one in my shack, and don't have to carry them back and forth.
Musical Background:
I am 73 years old and have been playing for 2 years now. I have learned how to play all by myself.
Musical Style:
Old time country and some 60's music
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A very versatile guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to use this guitar for many years to come. It's going to be my primary instrument. if it was stolen I'd replace it. I most like the sound and playability.
Sound
The sound is very tight and crisp. the action is pretty low but not too low. It's great for playing my kind of music which is funk. But it really is a very versatile guitar. It's nice because almost any kind of music can be played on it, from metal to jazz.
Features
It's nie that it comes with a gig bag and a whammy bar [Editor's note: Gig bag no longer included]. The 5-way switch between pickups is also good. And three nobs make it a very good value!
Ease of Use
This guitar is amazingly easy to play compared with my old one! Part of that is because of the action but the neck is very playable.
Quality
My only complaint about the quality of the instrument is that it's a little heavy. But that only means better wood that it's made of. In all it seams that it's made very well.
Value
This guitar is an awsome value! I got mine used for 300 dollars and it's definetly just as good as the american standard.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't gotten a chance.
The Wow Factor
This is guitar is very good looking while it's not the best. But i like to keep it with around the house when I'm not in my music room just so I can look at it. Just seeing it makes me want to play!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Funk/Spacey/trippy stuff
15 of 30 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2015 by Forrst Bishop in Columbus, GA
"My new Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently received this guitar. I want to thank zZounds for having this guitar available and being easy to work with. After having this guitar for almost a month I can say that I am pleased. The tone is good and the pickups are actually stronger than I thought they would be. The neck feels good and is what I expected. The only thing I have had to do is tighten the springs on the tailpiece and tighten all of the screws. By doing this there is no problem with it staying in tune. (This is something I do on any new guitar.) I bought the "NEW" Lake Placid Blue and I really like that. So does several of my "Facebook friends" that have seen it. I could sit here all day talking about this guitar but I had rather go play it. Thank You again for this guitar..
Musical Background:
I have played guitar most of my life. I have played throughout the South East in every roadside dive you could imagine.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock (It was not classic when I was young.) Blues Original
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Possibly the best value in guitars, high quality, low price, great sound, extremely versitile."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Again, I am giving it an eight taking all things into account. If you are looking for a great sounding guitar, this is a 10. If you are looking for a great VALUE in a guitar, this is an 11. However, this guitar is not sexy, and while it sounds great, it can't do everything. Personally, I would say this is a primo beginner guitar, and great for blues, hard rock, surf, and clean jangley sounds. It is not for metal or driving sustain. It is not for jazz (especially with that trem). Staggered pickups have their own flavor that is not for everyone or all types of music. Still, one of the most versitile and great-sounding guitars of all time. Look up a list of artists who use a strat on wikipedia, and see if any of those sounds appeal to you. It's a tremedous variety of really great guitar players and sounds. It's a good guitar to think about whether it is primary or secondary.
Sound
This MIM strat is an excellent instrument sonically. I was actually surprised by how hot these single coil Fender pickups are and the variety of sounds you can get out of them. The super bright surf or twangy country is a little out of its range. Also, you can't exactly get the sustain and drive of a humbucker. Still, it is damn close on everything in the middle. A lot of drive and sustain and a very bright clean sound. Almost perfect for crunchy, driving rock and blues sounds. Versatile as well.
Features
The features of this guitar are mostly great. The tone and volume knobs are first rate. The switchable pickup configurations make an excellent variety of sounds. I am basically knocking off two points for the tremelo. It looks to be a Floyd Rose trem. If you have any ear, or if you have to play in a group, a Floyd Rose trem is a big liability. It is EXTREMELY HARD to keep this thing in turn. It should be a locking trem, or a Bigsby. The good news is that if you just play lead solos, it won't matter much. It's not really a positive feature to me though. Mine is locked down with Loc-tite glue.
Ease of Use
Ummm... if you can play a guitar, you can play this guitar. Neck is slim, which I like because I have stubby fingers. Other than that, it is a guitar, and you play it.
Quality
I have no beef with the materials or assembly of this guitar. It is 'hecho en mexico,' so a lot of people won't touch it. It is a good quality guitar. I can't compare it to an American Standard Strat. I've never played one. This guitar, standing on its own merits, is still a high quality instrument for what you pay.
Value
This, to me, is the biggest selling point of this guitar. This is a guitar that you can pick up when you first start playing (if you know you will be serious about it), and still use even if you become the next Fruschente. Of course, if you have money, you will probably buy a vintage american strat (like Fruschente), but most listeners won't be able to hear (or see) the difference. (Again, I have never played a vintage strat, so take that with a grain of salt.) Most important point being that this is probably the best value in a guitar that I can even think of.
Manufacturer Support
Did not use. Giving them benefit of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
This is not a guitar people will envy you for having. This is not a classic. This is not a hot looking guitar. Probably, most people who see you playing this guitar will not even see the guitar. Desirability and sexiness are very low. In all likelihood, this will just register in people's minds as a 'generic electric guitar.'
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Jazz, Hard Rock
9 of 21 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2015 by Forrest Bishop in Columbus, GA
"My new Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Thank You zZounds for such a good guitar. It was perfect right out of the box. Well except the G string was out just a bit. This is my fourth Stratocaster and it is the best of them all. Great tone, easy to play, the pickups were better than I expected. Now that the strings have been played on it stays in tune. I bought this to modify as a project guitar. Not now, as like I said it is perfect.
Musical Background:
I have been playing since I was 9. I am now 62 I play Guitar, Dobro, Bass, and some Keyboard. I am a member/songwriter at ASCAP
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, Original music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This guitar gets the job done for a very reasonable price. If you are on a budget this is the way to go."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best value for your money.
Sound
The sound of the Mexican Strat is "Adequate" it sound above average for a guitar a this price but It won't take you breath away. There is humming when using some positions from the selector especially if you are using pedal or distorsion. The Mic is something that if you are picky about you should change with time. Sound sit is not bad it is just adequate.
Features
Guitar came came with a gig bag that it is nice [Editor's note: Gig bag no longer included]. I did not use the stratp provided becaue it is too thin.
Ease of Use
This is the best part of this guitar. The neck is so smooth and a delight to play. It is not as heavy as I thoguth and it is very comfortable. I was afraid of some "quality" issues with the guitar so far I have find outn none, beautiful finish and even people how knows about guitars think this is an american Strat. For the rpice this is a steal.
Quality
The knobs can be better and as I said the pick ups could be better as well. Swappping those would cost you around $200- $250 and you will get the equivalent of a guitar that cost $1500 (An American Strat) and you will have the same sound for a fraction of the cost. Paint is beautiful and I did not find any buzzing or any issues with the neck.
Value
I give this the highest score because I think thigs guitar gives the best ratio Price / Value. Zzounds beat guitar center price even when they were offering 10% discount. You make a few tweaks and changes and you will have a guitar whose value is around $1500 and you pay a fraction of that.
Manufacturer Support
I did not have contcat with the company because I did not need it.
The Wow Factor
This is not the most sexy guitar out there but like almost everything in life looks is over rated. This thing get the job done, has a lighting fast bneck, very comfortable not heavy at all, feel good and dounds good what else you can ask for less than $400??? If you are on a budget this is the way to go. If you don't have the money to swap the pick ups you can live for a while with the factory ones.
Musical Background:
Hobbyst
Musical Style:
LAtin Rock, Classic Rock, Blues, Jazz
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best relation price - value out there.Get it now!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think I will improve but no change it for another one.
Sound
Sound is adequate not great like more expensive Fenders or Gibson. There is some Buzz when you use the middle pick up in high tone. The good news you get his guitar for around $350 -$400 and spend $120for great pick ups and there you go you have a $1000 guitar for a fraction of the price. If you are not a professional or you don;t care about this minor issue you have a great guitar for a price that is a steal.
Features
Mine came with the gig bag which is ok [Editor's note: Gig bag no longer included]. I services the guitar to put new strings and adjust high and action. around $40 extras but completely worth it. The guitar comes with the typical Strat three button volumen tone and the pick up selcetor.
Ease of Use
That the best part of this guitar with a begginer pedal or even an amp you csan produce great sounds, as I said before the guitar sound is quite good for a guitar this price. playable and feels good. The neck is like lots of people say like "butter" very fast and easy on your fingers. I have more expensive guitars that do not feel that good.
Quality
That's the other good news with this guitar. Mine came impecable as matter of fact I took it to Guitar Center for intiail set up and people asked me if this one the American guitar they were surprise that it was the mexican, nice color, not problem with buzzing or bad freets, perfect color.
Value
For the price and quality you get this is one of the best price values out there. If you get an american versus a mexican except for the quality of pick ups you could not tell the difference. As I said it is not that expensive to change the pick ups for excellent one around $100 nore and you will have a $1000 guitar for a fraction of the price. You can take your time to buy the pick ups later.
Manufacturer Support
I did not have experience contacting the company because I did nt need it
The Wow Factor
I love this guitar I got it in sunburst, very comfortable not that heavy and very easy to play. Love this guitar.
Musical Background:
Hobbyst
Musical Style:
Rock, Latin Rock, Alternative
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2015 by Seth Juneau in Cottonport, LA
"Disappointed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well, I listened to a friend and bought one. I gotta say this is the worst guitar in the $500 range I've ever owner. It stinks of old technology. I have to give props to ZZounds, they were very helpful and even offered to take it back,..but its more trouble than its worth. Ok about the guitar: Fit and Finish are ok. Pickups - Muddy and HORRIBLE. Very Noise and very muddy with any gain whatsoever. Whammy Bar- DO NOT USE. It will detune your guitar the instant you even think about it. Tuner Head MAchines- Are absolute garbage. Even running this through a Rocktron Hush,...it's still NOISY! LOL Worst thing is the tuning problem and the sound. It just sounds like junk. Cheap sounding pickups, distorted and muddy, I've tried everything to get a good sound,...it's just not there. If you intend to play only the neck pickup for a bluesy , clean sound,..go for it,..it does that well, but that's about it. Not good for ANYTHING else. Everyone knows how hard it is to sell a used guitar,..so save yourself the trouble,..pass this one by.There are MUCH better options for $500
Musical Background:
Semi - Pro
Musical Style:
Variety, Rock, Blues, Classical
of 6 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2010
Fender Standard Strat Customer Review
Sound
sounds great just wanted to correct an earlier review, ive had mine for 7 years....works great and has definitly paid for itself. The TREMELO is not "Floyd Rose" rather a fender designed fixed-position tremelo meaning it doesnt require locking nuts. For a non-lockng tremelo it will stay in tune for quite a while(even with soloing/dive bombs) due to its great tuning stability. I put it at 7 because it's just a starter guitar with single-coil pickups. For a greater range of gain control humbuckers are essemtial.
of 6 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2009
"IF YOU ARE GOING TO PLAY GUITAR. THEN PLAY A BROWN SUNBURST STRAT."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i will have this guitar for ever.. end of story..
Sound
just like S.R.V. + Jimi. set your amp right and you will get the sound. it sounds real good for all kinds of music. there is notting like a real strat!!
Features
just whats on the guitar..
Ease of Use
the neck is fast as lighting.
Quality
the finish well knock your eyes out.i got the brown sunburst it is so nice.. have to see it to belive it!!
Value
if you want this guitar get it from here. you can not beat zzounds!!!!
Manufacturer Support
if you have to used it i bet it is a 10.
The Wow Factor
dont play notting but a real strat.fender rules...
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to