Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Deluxe Active Precision Special Electric Bass (Maple, with Gig Bag)

Fender Deluxe Active Precision Special Electric Bass (Maple, with Gig Bag)

Crank out punishing bass tone thanks to a killer combo of Precision and Jazz Noiseless pickups. Sculpt your tone even further with the 3-band active EQ.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted September 24, 2017 by Jim E in Burbank, CA
"Great Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I already own an Ibanez 5 string active SR bass and a custom G & L MJ active jazz base. But what was missing from my arsenal was that great P bass sound that only a Fender with a split front pickup could give. This bass gives me that. But on top of that, it also gives me that biting J bass bridge pickup that was made famous by the likes of Jaco. I'm digging the passive tone on this bass, but flip on the active electronics and it opens up a whole new tonal pallet. The bass is well made and lightweight. The build quality is solid. My only gripe is that the mid tone knob feels a little cheap compared to the others. Also, there's no tone knob in passive mode. But besides that, this bass is a solid player and I'm happy with it.
Musical Background:
Playing 40 years both casually and professionally.
Musical Style:
All styles but mostly Soul & R&B
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2017 by Isai M in El Paso, TX
"Amazing bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am new to bass playing and this bass is amazing. It needed some adjustments out of the box, but nothing too major. the finish is flawless and the active pick ups allow for a nice tone, with any amp. will buy again in a 5 string, once i learn more on this one.
Musical Background:
19 years, studied percussion, guitar at uni. no longer play professionally just jam at home. buddies needed a bass player
Musical Style:
Rock, Funk, Country, Pop
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2017 by Clark S in Raleigh, NC
"Solid Bass with great sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed to purchase a bass but I primarily play guitar and I didn't want to spend the money to get an American made just yet. This bass gives the best of both worlds with a precision and a jazz pickup. The active switch kicks the sound into high gear and you can control the blend of the precision pickup vs the jazz. The neck feels good and it's a great looking bass. I love the American standards but this bass is definitely worth grabbing.
Musical Background:
Over 20 years. I play rock/blues and some jazz.
Musical Style:
Indie/Ambient with a little bite to it.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2018 by Jeffrey Jackson in ironton, OH
"great bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass is everything I ever wanted. Jazz spec neck, p body, both p and j pups, active passive switch, all at an affordable price. This thing performs. I've used it for two shows and one studio gig now and have numerous comments on how my sound has gone to a new level from the j bass I used to use.
Musical Background:
30 years, session bassist and guitarist
Musical Style:
hard rock, classic rock, blues, occasional r&b, 80s pop
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 23, 2018 by Jiggalo Cruise in Durham, NC
"The Real Thing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was somehow fooling myself, for years I just hung my strap on Squier bass. Content on just changing pickups and leaving it at that; However, this dynamite machine takes playing to a Whole other level. No words can express the 'Wow' feeling from the controls I have here. It's a bit beyond what I'm used to to be honest but the excitement just knowing I've opened new doors of tone is quite enticing.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Pop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2019 by Eric R in Columbia, SC
"Active electronics make this guitar rock!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Has all the traditional P and Jazz bass sounds of Fender! But.... at the flip of the switch new tones, very good tones! The neck has good action, plays very nice , and has a perfect starburst finish. But the active electronics make this easy to use in studio. I’m impressed!
Musical Background:
Since high school, Bass, Guitar, Keyboard and all kinda drum machines! studio session player
Musical Style:
Rock, hip hop,trap,electronic and reggae. Really anything.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2019 by Enoch C in Rome, GA
"A great playing bass with an even better sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I'm primarily an active-bass player and I was in the market for a P Bass when I came across the P Bass Special Deluxe. I was really wanting a p/j setup for the punch of the P bass pickups and the added versatility of having the J bridge pickup. This thing does not disappoint at all. In active mode, you can dial in just about any tone you need. I mainly play Motown-type stuff to Sublime/reggae stuff, but I play a lot of everything in between and have been able to dial in a great tone for any situation and it cuts through the mix like a hot knife through butter. In all honesty, this bass is way more versatile than my Deluxe Jazz bass (for my needs, at least). Passive mode is a really neat feature to have. While there is no tone control, (only pickup balance and volume), the sound is really, really good. Paired with a good amp, you'll be able to dial it in any way you'd like. I've read mixed things about the passive mode not actually working without batteries, but I can confirm that passive mode DOES NOT require you to have batteries at all. No real complaints from me, but I will say this, the bridge pickup is a tad on the thin side when it's panned solo. Not a big deal to me and I really don't see why anyone would play a P/J bass with the J pickup soloed. But, that may be important to you.
Sound
Super great sound. One of the better Fenders I've ever played and hands down best bass I've owned so far. Suits my needs perfectly and if you're a fan of the Fender tone, this one shouldn't disappoint.
Features
Everything feels solid for the most part. The knobs are okay, but that's nothing major to me. The active/passive feature is really cool to have, even if there is no tone control in passive mode. The 3 band active EQ is top notch.
Ease of Use
Super easy to play. Quick jazz neck, but yet feels beefier than my Jazz Bass Deluxe. I like it a lot better.
Quality
Quality looked good right out of the box for the most part. I did have to adjust the bass side P pickup. When it was installed, the head to the top screw pushed the pickup itself too far in, so there was a super steep slant. No damage to the pickup itself and was an easy fix. And the treble knob had to be tightened up after falling off. No big deal there, either. Everything else is superb.
Value
I think this bass is priced fair. The sound is incredible and all my complaints are minor. The Fender American Elite P Bass is the only thing similar and it'll run you over twice as much as this one will. I really don't think anyone would be displeased with this one.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't felt a need to contact Fender, so no comment here.
The Wow Factor
Super beautiful bass with an even prettier tone. Active/passive switch. This thing is a killer. Super wow from me.
Musical Background:
12 years - Jamming, Semi-professional
Musical Style:
Motown, Reggae, Rock, Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2019 by Enoch C in Rome, GA
"A great playing bass with an even better sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I'm primarily an active-bass player and I was in the market for a P Bass when I came across the P Bass Special Deluxe. I was really wanting a p/j setup for the punch of the P bass pickups and the added versatility of having the J bridge pickup. This thing does not disappoint at all. In active mode, you can dial in just about any tone you need. I mainly play Motown-type stuff to Sublime/reggae stuff, but I play a lot of everything in between and have been able to dial in a great tone for any situation and it cuts through the mix like a hot knife through butter. In all honesty, this bass is way more versatile than my Deluxe Jazz bass (for my needs, at least). Passive mode is a really neat feature to have. While there is no tone control, (only pickup balance and volume), the sound is really, really good. Paired with a good amp, you'll be able to dial it in any way you'd like. I've read mixed things about the passive mode not actually working without batteries, but I can confirm that passive mode DOES NOT require you to have batteries at all. No real complaints from me, but I will say this, the bridge pickup is a tad on the thin side when it's panned solo. Not a big deal to me and I really don't see why anyone would play a P/J bass with the J pickup soloed. But, that may be important to you.
Sound
Super great sound. One of the better Fenders I've ever played and hands down best bass I've owned so far. Suits my needs perfectly and if you're a fan of the Fender tone, this one shouldn't disappoint.
Features
Everything feels solid for the most part. The knobs are okay, but that's nothing major to me. The active/passive feature is really cool to have, even if there is no tone control in passive mode. The 3 band active EQ is top notch.
Ease of Use
Super easy to play. Quick jazz neck, but yet feels beefier than my Jazz Bass Deluxe. I like it a lot better.
Quality
Quality looked good right out of the box for the most part. I did have to adjust the bass side P pickup. When it was installed, the head to the top screw pushed the pickup itself too far in, so there was a super steep slant. No damage to the pickup itself and was an easy fix. And the treble knob had to be tightened up after falling off. No big deal there, either. Everything else is superb.
Value
I think this bass is priced fair. The sound is incredible and all my complaints are minor. The Fender American Elite P Bass is the only thing similar and it'll run you over twice as much as this one will. I really don't think anyone would be displeased with this one.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't felt a need to contact Fender, so no comment here.
The Wow Factor
Super beautiful bass with an even prettier tone. Active/passive switch. This thing is a killer. Super wow from me.
Musical Background:
12 years - Jamming, Semi-professional
Musical Style:
Motown, Reggae, Rock, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to