Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender Dave Murray Stratocaster Electric Guitar, Rosewood Fingerboard (with Gig Bag)
BACK IN STOCK

Fender Dave Murray Stratocaster Electric Guitar, Rosewood Fingerboard (with Gig Bag)

This recreation of Dave Murray's go-to Strat boasts three single-coil-sized humbuckers with roaring tone worthy of Iron Maiden's legendary guitarist.

Overall User Ratings (based on 10 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(10)
Submitted February 27, 2016 by Steve R in macon, GA
"Dave Murray Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is really nice! I was sort of hesitant about it at first thinking maybe it was a one trick pony.that is not the case.the clean tones sound as good as the distortion tones very versital guitar that can do it all. neck pickup is great for lead work or on clean setting with volume down a bit .real floyd rose term works flawlessly .bridge pickup rocks and the middle pickup is a nice change of pace. 2nd and 4th positions are useable also. can't go wrong with this guitar. Also compound radiused neck is great for leads and chording.I did change the strings right off the bat.3min of playing time and my finger tips were black no big deal just put some good strings on and it's ready to soar!
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for around 30 years not professionally record and jam alot.
Musical Style:
Christian rock,southern rock,blues,country.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2015 by Chuck Wallace in La Porte (Houston), TX
"5 Stars: Versatile and great build quality, comfort."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been wanting this guitar for a while and even cancelled my order after a few pushed (Delayed) dates from Fender. I saw it was available and immediately ordered the guitar (pay as you play and free shipping). It arrived via Fed X and I took my time getting all of the stuff organized they send you. There is a lot of stuff, a complete set of wrenches, some hang tags and the Tremolo bar for the Floyd Rose. They send a decent Gig Bag too. I took the guitar out tuned it and played it for a bit, it sounds great and has a decent amount of tones. I did have to adjust my amp as this guitar does have some hotter pickups (bridge and neck) the middle is very clean. My band plays in E flat, this makes a changing the guitar to accommodate for this tuning mandatory. I made all the adjustments and it responded well. I was against the clock as I wanted to “debut” this guitar for practice the same day as the delivery. I show up and everyone there just stares and says how nice it looks! I graciously accept all comments and setup getting ready to play. The singer says “Since you got yourself a new guitar what you want to play to warm up…?” I start playing the Iron Maiden “The Trooper” everyone joins in and off we go. When the lead comes I just nail it, execution, tone and attitude, this guitar delivers. Everything you need; comfort, great tones, and balance. There is a reason that he has played this guitar for so long. You can too! By the way I plan to buy another so that should there be a string break, I can finish my set/show with the same guitar (model and feel). CJWII
Sound
Hot sounds for all you Metal heads! These pickups deliver! The Mid Pickup has been setup to be Milder for clean work. You can get the others to clean up, but they like full power
Features
The Floyd setup is great and works well. They send you all the tools that you need to get this setup to your preference.
Ease of Use
This guitar just does what it does, sounds are easy to dial in. The tone knobs seem to have a greater range of tones that most I have used. (it could be the Duncan's) if you are familiar with a Strat this will just come to you. Most people buying this guitar will have owned a few.
Quality
First rate I have custom shop guitars and this one is right there along with them for fit and finish. It looks simple and elegant. The details are very well looked after. the quality control must be very high.
Value
a grand for quality and versatility this guitar affords makes this a great guitar for anyone's money. It has everything you want and nothing you don't.
Manufacturer Support
This has not been applicable thus far
The Wow Factor
I still just look at it. I have been sending my fellow guitar players photos all morning! Everyone has something to say about this guitar and it is all good. Most popular comment: Man that looks so nice. Most popular question: Is she your favorite? My answer is she is getting a lot of use and as soon as I can do so, a twin sister! That is right I will buy another, this guitar is that bad^$$!
Musical Background:
Forever! Guitar Professionally
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Metal, 80's Metal, Blues
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2016 by Rickey Walker in Cotton Valley, LA
"Best Signature Strat I have ever bought."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Short and sweet but to the point.Great looks,feel,and sound.Makes you feel like Dave has entered your body and is playing through you.Just kidding.Really like everything about it,except change out strings.Like it better than the SRV I bought several years ago.Highly recommend
Musical Background:
forty three years
Musical Style:
Metal,classic rock,and christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2018 by Michael A in Potlatch, ID
"Great guitar, Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well made Mexican Strat! I chose this Strat for the Floyd Rose and Seymour Duncan pickups. The only complaint I usually have about Strats is the hardware they usually come with standard isn't what I would choose. The FR is mounted flat with the body and if you want it to float(Why have a FR if it isn't floating properly?) you will have to shim the neck(I used a StewMac .5 degree shim, worked perfectly). The fret edges are a little rough but not enough to chew up my fingers and will probably smooth out naturally with use. The tuners would not be my choice but they are smooth and I will get used to them. The neck is straight, the fret leveling is excellent and the action is low(One complaint would be that if you need to adjust the truss rod you will have to remove the retainer bar behind the nut to access it!). The pickups sound fantastic and have their own unique sound and characteristics, great new pickups to play with, different than I have used in the past but top quality! A little fine tuning on the FR setup and intonations and it was ready to play. Plays beautifully! Absolutely happy with this guitar!!
Musical Background:
Way too long to admit and carbon-date myself! Strings. Mostly hobby at home any more.
Musical Style:
Blues, metal, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2016 by Mitch Bydalek in Columbus, NE
"Best guitar money can buy!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is amazing! I had to double check where the guitar was made because it feels like an American strat. Then you add the dimarzio pickups and Floyd rose and you're in heaven! This guitar is worth every penny and you won't be disappointed!
Musical Background:
15 year musician. Guitar drums and bass
Musical Style:
Little bit of everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2015 by Jason S in Mayfield Village, OH
"Channeling Dave Murray"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar has it all. The compound radius finger board is amazing and extremely easy to use; bends high on the neck are a breeze, so much so that it took a little time to adjust from using my American Standards. The pickups instantly give you that signature sound. That said, you can still tell that Fender cut a few corners to bring you this guitar at this very reasonable price. The rosewood on the fingerboard isn't high quality, so expect a myriad of color tones up and down the neck. The instrument seems somewhat lighter than an American Standard, though its no bother. You really wind up missing the 22nd fret, though I think Murray's own only has 21 as well. If you're new to Floyd Rose, it can take some getting used to. I changed the strings right away; the strings on the instrument blackened my fingers after a couple minutes of play. With the help of a YouTube video, I managed in about half an hour. Make sure you read FR's website on how to change strings properly, get a good video, and you should be fine. Overall, an outstanding instrument.
Musical Background:
30 years, guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
Mostly everything. Progressive rock would be my main area of concentration.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2017 by Jimmy Rutkowski in Milford, CT
"Amazing Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received this about a month ago. It arrived in 2 days perfectly. I opened the box, played the intro to the trooper, looked at the guitar and sent it right off to my luthier. Honestly the set up out of the box wasn't too bad but I knew it needed to be better for my playing. My luthier said that the truss rod from the factory had practically no tension on it and it needed several days of tweaking. He fixed the truss rod, reset the nut and restrung the guitar with GHS Boomer .009 guage strings. Once I got the guitar back, all I can say is WOW! My whole band compliments the beauty of the guitar and the shear hotness of the pick ups. The neck is fast for a Fender type of guitar. I could not stop playing it once I started. I use the guitar for, Metal, Rock, Blues and even country twang. It covers all of these styles extremely well. I highly recommend this guitar.
Musical Background:
Playing for 35+ years. Proffessional player, instructor and Author
Musical Style:
Chameleon....I play all styles
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2016 by Paul K in Eustis, FL
"Dave Murray Signature California Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, packaged excellent by Fender and ZZounds who I have only done businesses with because of the excellent payment plans and 45 day trial period, it cannot be beaten anywhere unless your into stealing guitars from your local music store..ha,ha! Pickups are insane, 2 hotrails and a JB mini which has actually surprised me. Tons of tone, Iron Maiden sounds, shiny strat tones, basically everything! Paint job is awesome because apparently in America you have to pay extra....Alder body,Nice protective gig bag, a Floyd Rose trem not a special, it's not recessed but makes no difference! If your lucky to own the black model from years back, this actually gets more sounds because of the pickup's. The price is excellent and it has Dave's autograph on the back head stock. This is a keeper! And Zzounds payment plan, 80+ a month for a guitar under a 1,000 which should be much more! Winner!!!!!
Musical Background:
guitars for 20+ years, collector and player
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues, classical
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2018 by Paul Cutrona in Winchester, VA
"Not for everyone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
zZounds is awesome. that out of the way, let's talk about this guitar.You will either really love it, or really hate it. There is no in-between, read on. First, it is a mexican standard strat, with a couple changes structurally and electronically - compound radius, SD pickups, floyd setup. The good: It's got a lot going for it, for the money. IF you are the type of person that will buy a standard guitar and upgrade everything, then great! But. I have an SD rails in my deluxe strat, bridge, and it sounds great. I have tried an SD jb jr in another guitar, in the bridge and have tried the neck, and it sounds great. IN THIS GUITAR... having an SD rails in the neck, and the SD jb jr in the middle, absolutely does not work. The jb is anemic and almost lifeless in the middle, and the #2 and #4 position do nothing in terms of stratiness. there is no stratiness. The rails in the neck is mud, and lifeless. Just a bad combo. The bridge rails sounds fine - can do metal, heavy rock, all the usual stuff you would want this guitar for. I spent a lot of time adjusting pickup height, angle, etc - nope. Okay, so on to the rest - the floyd. It's a non-floating floyd, meaning there is no pull back to raise the pitch. It's fine if you want that., And because of that, the d-tuna works well on this guitar; I tried it. But since it will not pull back, then I'd say a standard 2-point fender bridge actually works better - more sensitive and workable, and I do NOT go out of tune with a standard 2-point fender bridge. So that means the floyd-setup and the locking nut are not worth the money or time, unless you MUSt have the d-tuna installed. The neck. it's a compound radius, from 9.5 I think to a 14. Fine - but because there is a floyd involved, you will never get the action low enough that warrants a 14, since you would not fret-out with a 9.5 or a 12 (like a deluxe strat) anyway. I've been able to get much better action out of a 9.5 or a 12 and NOT fret-bottom-out ever when bending strings, and I BEND the snot out of them, Gilmour-esque bends. This leaves me with the general thought that, a standard strat or a deluxe (roadhouse anyone?) will play, setup better, and for 85ish you can replace the bridge pickup with a rails and get all the meat, and then also all the stratness, you could ever want, and have a much more playable and versatile guitar. the ONLY thing about this guitar that made sense was the addition of the micro-tilt neck. You NEED it with the guitar, to get the action reasonably low. SO. I am not a fan. But I am a "fender" fan and also an Iron maiden fan. but this guitar was a fail for so many reasons. I sent it back. IF.. you love it, then you love it. I didnt.
Musical Background:
steady gigging for 30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, blues, metal, country
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2016 by David G in fall river, MA
"Shame on Fenders Mexican quality control!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off I'd like to start by saying I've owned a few $1000 strats over the years,sadly they all had to be sold ! To be honest I had kinda stopped playing for a few years and only owned an acoustic, but was really getting the itch for another electric! I'm not a huge fan of the single coil tone so I was sold on the Dave Murray strat because of the stacked mini humbuckers! I had installed the JB in another strat years ago and lived it! I recieved the guitar in great condition gave it a tuning and started to play it! I was happy with the set of 10's that came installed and knew the Floyd rose would take some time so I didn't change the strings until 40 days after I recieved the guitar! When I did i noticed that instead of the normal 6 screw holes to hold the back plate down there was 12! 6 in use and 6 abandoned and not filled,just ignored! The abandoned holes were the original holes drilled. 1 of those holes was way to close to the edge of the cavity and it blew out into the cavity! Noticing this the installer repositioned the back plate,drilled 6 new holes and installed the screws in the 6 new holes! Quality control should have picked up on this error regardless of anything! After all this is a $1000 strat! I contacted zZounds and they had me return the guitar and quickly refunded the purchase total! I just wish quality inspectors could be trusted! Overall it was a beast of a guitar! I was enjoying it very much,but for the cost it should have been perfect!
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to