844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20N-334M
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Thursday, Dec. 21 and select 2-day shipping.
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Fender USA Deluxe Strat M

The American Strat gets a few Deluxe upgrades: a compound-radius maple fretboard, three N3 noiseless single-coil pickups, and Fender's innovative S-1 switch.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Superb" submitted July 2, 2012

By Eric N
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur with dreams
Music Style: Mid-western reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is without a doubt the finest guitar I have ever owned. The sound is awesome. While it is true it lacks some of the grit of a straight single coil setup, the clarity of tone is amazing - this guitar was made for recording. The S1 switching system is NOT a gimmick - it takes full advantage of the capabilities of the three pickup setup that was always a bit short of its potential. The new tremolo takes a little getting used to because at first it feels loose compared to the old setup - but you quickly learn it's more sensitive and has a lot more give on pulling back. The snap-in arm will scare the piss out of you the first time you use it: it makes a LOUD snapping sound and you think you broke it. But that's just the sound it makes. Rotate the arm so it is pointing toward the rear of the body and push down to snap it in and out. Physically it is flawless. The finish is perfect (I got the Olympic Pearl and Ruby pick guard with maple fingerboard). The frets are perfectly dressed and the faces are polished like mirrors. The bridge setup is exact. I did not feel the need to raise the pickups as I usually do on a new guitar. The gloss finish on the fingerboard is a great touch. Small details like the rounded heel and locking tuners are really nice. The mirror-finish logo on the head stock is flush with the wood and under the gloss finish - it looks sharp. The supplied case is good - not great like the fitted case that came with my '99 ash standard, but good enough. Also came with a moderately good strap and a good cable, two Allen wrenches, and strap locks. If you are a Strat fan you will love this guitar - Fender is definitely making some of the best products in the company's history. If you are new to the Strat then there can be no better introduction than the new American Deluxe: it will spoil you for all other guitars.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you're debating.." submitted January 18, 2015

By Matt b
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For $400 more over the American Standard Strat, this guitar is absolutely justified. The neck and fingerboard feel slinky smooth perfect, the locking tuners are AWESOME, the compound radius makes it just so much more playable. I love the additional access to the higher frets with the scooped shape of the body. The tones on this guitar are incredible, and that's before you even begin to mess around with the S-1 pickups routing system. The quality of this guitar is def higher than an American Standard Stat. The neck, body, finish...everything is a cut above. I've been through about half a dozen American Standard Strats in the last few years and ended up returning most all of them due to quality issues. This Deluxe had near perfect setup (to my taste), no fret buzz, intonation on point. I changed the strings to super bullets and the tones, even acoustically played are just beautiful. And the neck and fretboard are my all time favorite for the feel and playability. This guitar is worth the $1700 - you'll never need another guitar.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Finally pulled the trigger!" submitted February 28, 2014

By Scott F in Harrison Twp., MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 45 years; playing professionally for the last 3 years.
Music Style: Classic rock, progressive and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I can't really explain all of the sounds I can pull out of this guitar; within a month of receiving it, my whole style of playing has changed. The tones are incredible. Feature: I love the v3 pickups; wide range of sounds but still has the vintage Strat sound when you need it.Its only been a month, but I can't see myself changing them anytime soon. The neck is extremely comfortable and the action is perfect. Ease of Use: This guitar is incredible. Right out of the box I was going from SRV sounds to Gilmour, to Clapton; the playability is impressive. I'm usually very picky about my setups and would have taken it in to my local Luther and had it tweaked but this one was spot on right from the start....even the floating bridge is set up better than any of the st rats I have owned. Quality: Solid as a rock so far. It seems like it will probably outlast me. The finish is flawless; plays like a wet dream... just a beautiful guitar. Value: I've owned Squires, mim and American std. Stratocasters, and this one by far is the best of the bunch. If this one was ever lost or stolen, I wouldn't hesitate to replace it with the same model. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had any reason to deal with Fender as of yet for any reason. The Wow Factor: Excellent; after all, it's a Fender and it looks really sweet sitting next to my Gibson L.P. (kinda' like Ginger and Mary Ann) Overall: Got the Sunset Metallic American Deluxe; wanted one forever can now die a happy camper!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender makes a great product. ..." submitted November 5, 2014

By Richard B. B. in ocala, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been in several bands..but just hack around the house now ...been at it for 45 years now
Music Style: Industrial trance country...Knopfler style and fingerpicking...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned many brands and Fender seems to be the best built for the money of them all....I wanted a "touch tone " action and although close...I'll have to adjust it more thoroughly to achieve this. ..but even right now it plays just as good as my G and L that was set up professionally. ..great tone and great case candy as a perk...got to admit that I was a little skeptical about it staying in tune with the tremolo, but so far, no problems noted.. (I'm too old to play all that freak - out dive bomb and psycho modulation stuff - just use it a little compared to that )...Flawless finish and had me regretting not buying a blemished model for less dough...great guitar all in all.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bought "Blemished" Guitar from ZZounds....." submitted February 21, 2012

By Kevin Crawford in Winterville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home. I play Tenor Sax and electric guitar. I have a Strat (this one), a Alvarez Acoustic, a Martin D-28 & Beuscher 400
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock and Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Over-all I was happy with the purchase...guitar sounds amazing; but the item was damaged a little more than I was expecting (esp. for this kind of money)! I had the chance to return it, and I didn't...honestly I fell in love with it, and the damage just made me not pamper it. OK, now to the damage description there was a large dent / small cracks in finish near where your right bicep touches the guitar (Right Handed model)...which I was like, I'm ok with that...then I saw a chunk missing by the back of the Tremelo hole...I was a little disturbed by this. Since there were 2 types of strings on the guitar, it looks like someone cut the strings and the Tremelo slammed down on the wood and took a big chunk out. But again I say, I didn't return it, so shame on me. But all ends well...she's my baby now; and I wouldn't trade it for anything. I just wanted to warn people that the "blemished" items could be worse than expected. Thanks for reading.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"New guitar" submitted November 5, 2014

By Kerry Wolf in Selinsgrove, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer guitar player
Music Style: I do both gospel and folk music. A lot of the music done is room to room in nursing homes. And do music at dinners and churches.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just got new bedell acoustic at very nice price. Has great full tone. I will be playing it on the road a lot!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I love this guitar" submitted January 30, 2014

By Taylor Smith in Cedar Falls, IA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great set up out of the case. Great Quality.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pastor's Pick & He chooses Fender!!" submitted August 9, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Senior Pastor & Praise Team Member
Music Style: Blues & Country-Rock/Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: When you want a strat sound, you really have two choices: get a Fender Strat or continue to play some "Pretend Version" of what you think a strat sounds like. I recommend getting the real deal if you can afford it. Feature: All the usual case candy. I don't care for the standard Fender guitar strap. Save your money Fender and put it back into the guitar and quality. If you can afford to pay the price Fender requires for the guitar, surely you can buy a strap that suites you personally. Ease of Use: Who uses a manual for a guitar? Plug it in, play it hard and listen to it perform!! Quality: Road worthy. Hey its a Fender.....it should last longer than you do. Value: Nothing is really worth what it costs anymore.....but Fender is closer than most. Manufacturer Support: Always responded to me in a timely fashion.....once you got to a human being, that is. The Wow Factor: Being a Free Methodist pastor for many years now, I'm not sure I'm willing to discuss the "sex appeal" of a guitar. The guitar either works or it doesn't and this one works just fine. Overall: I've played Fenders for 40 plus years. I think our relationship has a chance......it just might work!!!!
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a very good guitar; whether it suits your style or whether you are willing to pay this much is up to you!" submitted December 9, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This has a wide range of pick-up combos that work great for blues and various styles of rock. I don't play heavy metal or use distortion, so I can't vouch for that usage. The N3 pick-ups are very bright without being shrill. The definitely sounds better than the cobalt ones in last year's model. Feature: I do lock the locking tuner knobs -- really simplifies changing strings. The case is awesome. Quality: The pick guard looked a little scratched, but everything else was perfect. Value: I don't know. I could afford it, and I wanted a Strat, and I fell in love with it compared to all of the other Fender strats I tried. Value is in the eyes of the beholder. Overall: This is my 4th guitar; the others are a Gibson 335s (rare solid-body) for blues & rock, a Gibson ES150 for jazz, and an old Gibson jazz acoustic. That pretty much covers my needs for different sounds and styles.
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20N-334M. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!