Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender American Standard Telecaster Electric Guitar, Maple Fingerboard with Case

Fender American Standard Telecaster Electric Guitar, Maple Fingerboard with Case

The American Standard Telecaster gets upgraded with a comfortable back contour and Twisted Tele and Broadcaster pickups straight from the Fender Custom Shop.

Overall User Ratings (based on 23 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(23)
Submitted October 22, 2014 by Tim Shulepov in San Carlos, CA
"The best guitar I've had so far"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best guitar I've owned. I'm really stoked that zZounds has a payments program, it wouldn't have been easy for me to pay $1200 in one go. The guitar is amazing, it still surprises me to hear such fat and heavy tones out of a pair of single coils. It feels solid, it resonates so well that I can hear everything I play even without plugging the guitar into an amp. I'm really happy to have it, and I could afford it thanks to zZounds :)
Musical Background:
Played in bands for past 11 years. First I played hard rock with elements of folk, then switched to alternative metal and punk
Musical Style:
Current style - hard rock with elements of modern metal.
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2015 by Larry T in Hamden, CT
"Best fender Telecaster on the market"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got the ash body natural wood most beautiful guitar I own. The strat like cut out makes it very comfortable compared to the original design for holding close to your body.maple neck plays like butter and the tone is unbelievable the you tube videos don't do it justice.i love the new non ash tray bridge pick up housing as I rest my hand there when I play and palm mute. The weight is perfect. They say the heart of any serious guitar collection is a Strat a Les Paul and a Tele well I'm all set! if your on the fence get off and you can't do any better than zzzsounds everybody's got the same price.
Musical Background:
35 year playing guitar weekly jam sessions
Musical Style:
Blues and Classic Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2014 by Jerry G
"I always wanted to own a Telecester."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I chose the US made Tele. The body shape is what I like best about it. The color is Mystic Red with white pick guard and maple fingerboard. I mainly picked the American Standard model for the color selection. I needed about 30 seconds to get used to this guitar's neck shape. My go to guitar and main workhorse is a Gibson Les Paul Jr. Special with a slim taper profile neck shape. My hands are on the smaller side but not a problem on the 25.5" Fender scale length. I replaced the strings right away with Ernie Ball pure nickel super slinkys. My Tele sounds totally different (much brighter) than the Gibson thru my Vox AC 15 amp and a few effects pedals. The guitar is a beauty. Good quality, lots of extra stuff and the case is a Fender tolex TSA type made by SKB. Very adequate. I say that nothing beats the looks of a Telecaster.
Musical Background:
Just learning to play blues and surf guitar
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2015 by Rickey D in Independence, MO
"Fender USA STD Telecaster, Maple Neck 3-Tone Sunburst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is truly one amazing Tele! Fender American Standard.The name speaks for itself! The pictures don't do it justice! The 3-Tone Sunburst is absolutely stunning. The body contour cutaway is great..The different sounds that you can get out of the pick-ups are simply amazing.The maple neck is lightning fast and very easy to play.The hardshell case is fantastic looking and you have all kinds of room for your necessities.The fact also that you can spread the money out over 12 months is GREAT!
Musical Background:
Been in 3 bands and have played for several years..Lead Singer,Back-Up Singer,Percussion,& Rhythm Guitar,.
Musical Style:
Blues,Country,Classic Rock..Anything that peaks my interest.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2012 by TJ Lincoln in Springfield, VA
"Fender 2012 USA STD Tele- Natural w/ maple Neck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Up to now I have never been a big Tele fan. Usually I stick to dual HB guitars. Recently started down the strat/tele road. I must say I really like this guitar and it will definitely find its way into my line-up. The set-up was very good when I received it and the finish was flawless. I can get great clean punchy sounds right up to gnarly blues and rock. I thought I would be ordering an aftermarket Fender Tweed case but the case Fender includes with the guitar was a big surprise. I had bought an american deluxe strat a few years back and hated the standard skb case (no room for accessories/flimsy). The case included is a TSA rectangular case that is both sturdy and functional. I actually have room to put a leather strap, tools, and a 10' cable in. Way to go Fender!
Musical Background:
Been playing since 1979 of an on. Got serious in 2001. Have played weekly out for the past 4-5 years.
Musical Style:
Christian Rock, Classic Rock
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2014 by Michael Cooper in Ft Myers , FL
"FENDER USA STD TELECASTER MAPLE "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Thank you very much For the play as you pay plan the Fender telecaster is beautiful the case the strap everything I got top notch I love it. If you cant afford to pay cash upfront man you cant beat the play as you pay deal from zZounds very highly recommend to everyone looking for a great deal and great product .
Musical Background:
most of my life Bass Harmonica played christian band SOULEDOUT Praise an Worship.
Musical Style:
love blues country oldies.. Christian learning lead guitar . I have 2 Fender and 3 Epiphone gutiars, aFender GDEC 30 A F
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2014 by Bobby W in Clinton, WA
"Tele Std"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I haven't put it down long enough to write a review until now - I am playing constantly. It was delivered set-up perfect and looks as good it plays. If you have ever thought abought getting a tele - do it.
Musical Background:
Currently own a 1979 Martin HD-28, 1995 Fender Tele Special, 2012 Fender Tele Standard -also banjo, mandolin, classical guitar
Musical Style:
Mostly folk rock/blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2015 by Joe L in Lowellville , OH
"2015 Standard is the best! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a 2014 crimson red American Standard which unfortunately got stolen. When I replaced it with the 2015 model I'm even more impressed. Fender did a better job with this year's standard than last year. I noticed the neck has a vintage look to it as opposed to my 2014. The color and finish is absolutely perfect and I must say Fender is turning out some excellent quality guitars for 2015 and I know because I've bought several American Fenders this year already. Even the hard case is better than last years. Fender has surpassed Gibson as far as quality control goes. I will be buying more American Fenders over Gibson. Wait until you buy one of these beauties and you'll know what I mean.
Musical Background:
I play Fender teles, strats, and gibson les pauls.
Musical Style:
This guitar will cover all genres. I mainly play blues and classic rock and this guitar is the one I prefer to play over my othe
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 18, 2012 by Timothy F in Penn Yan, NY
"Fender Rules"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
While searching for an electric guitar to cover my needs I ran across the 2012 Telecaster which turned me away from other brand guitars. Its got a neck that is quick and easy to use, and the quality of the instrument alone is, well, you know, nothing beats a Fender. The color I chose was candy cola and it is flawless. From beginner to professional guitarist, this guitar will fit your needs. absolutely beautiful, it also comes with a case that doesn't quit.
Musical Background:
I am a hobbiest, I have the telecaster, an american stratocaster, and an Epiphone standard Les Paul.
Musical Style:
Rock, country, and blues.
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2016 by Cliff H in Enid, OK
"It's all come down to a Tele..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been bangin' on a guitar since I was 5...yeah, that was 48 years ago. I have played Les Pauls, SG's, strats and others but this is my first Telecaster. I don't know what kept me but I love the sound and feel. It's like going back to your roots!
Musical Background:
Playing for 48 years, 6-string guitar most styles and techniques...play at home now-a-days
Musical Style:
R&B
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 14, 2014 by Michael Cooper in Ft Myers, FL
"Fender Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this guitar! It was a great deal, with fast delivery. zZounds is #1 in my book and the play as you pay deals are great. I will buy again from zZounds. I highly recommend them and their products. Thanks again for your Play as you Pay deals.
Musical Background:
Many Years Blues Harp Gutiar and Bass a littel keyboard
Musical Style:
Christian Praise and rock a lot of blues in my younger years.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2013 by Bill Leyden in Prescott, AZ
"Mighty Fine!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What a gorgeous instrument! Three days after I clicked the "Purchase" Button on zzounds.com, the Tele was on my doorstep. I chose the 2 color sunburst because I have a fondness for ash wood. The finish is perfect; the set-up is exact and I love the TSA case. The body contour feels really comfortable when playing. This may be the only guitar that I have owned that I don't feel like I have to run right to a tech to have it set-up - it's great the way it came out-of-the-box! I love the sound -- as good as any Tele I've heard, and it records well. I only wish that I had four hands so I could play two-at-once.
Musical Background:
Recording artist, playing of-and-on for 40 years.
Musical Style:
New Age - smooth jazz.
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2016 by Steve Sloan in Howe, TX
"American Standard Telecaster Bordeaux Metalic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
well all i can say is a awesome guitar, and the color is just wow, the pics do not do it justice.. and i got the abs hard case instead of the black tolex pro case, awesome deal fender and even better deal zZounds with the pay as you play deal.. will be ordering more gear from zZounds for sure..
Musical Background:
35+ yrs semi pro guitar/banjo/madolin/dobro
Musical Style:
Country/gospel/bluegrass/southern rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2015 by Jason K
"So fickin sweet"
Yea this is the 4th guitar I bought from zZounds . It does so much I can't even imagine where to begin! From twangy country to jazz, to rock to some super sweet overdrive tone for blues it does everything shy of hard rock and metal. The neck is smooth and the Custom Shop pickups are some of the best I've heard. Hey try it!
Musical Background:
My whole life
Musical Style:
Rock blues, jazz and the heavy metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 7, 2017 by John M in Yreka, CA
"WOW!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am so happy with this guitar. It is everything I had hoped for. Beautiful to look at and wonderful tone. Thanks to the "play as you pay" plan I was able to purchase it. Thank you zZounds!
Musical Background:
Have been playing about 6 years strictly as a hobby.
Musical Style:
Rock and Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2014 by Mike Rogers in Rockford, IL
"New 2012 USA standard tele: a truly magical guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got my 2012 USA tele with the Zzounds Pay as You Play (a GREAT thing for the inner gear junkie in all of us!!).I found that it is unlike the 2003 USA I had, but in a great way. The 2012 can handle the twang and pop of classic and modern country, but can rock out as well. I particularly like the broadcaster in the bridge, and the twisted tele is a great pickup as well. The guitar has a special tone and playability my 'traditional' 2003 tele just didn't have. Even the most mundane notes on this guitar sound spectacular. I fully consider it a true backup for my USA strat, and unlike the strat, can go into areas of style the strat can't do: Tom Petty, Rolling Stones, modern country, classic blues tones, traditional country..Mine is a maple neck, and black finish. The stamped saddles are more stratty looking, but I can't see how the tone is changed too much, and it's in a good way. I did replace the tunes with the Fender F logo locking tunes, and with that made this guitar into a gigging machine.
Musical Background:
Product endorsed recording artist, semi-pro
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, country, blues, punk, wimp rock, church music, avant guard, off the wall stuff, minimalist/ maximalist styles, or a
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2012 by Kenneth H in Fenton, MO
"2012 American Standard Tele - SWEET"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If I was going to ask Fender to build me a custom Tele, the 2012 American Standard is exactly what I would have told them to build me. This axe is awesome. I can get so many tones out of the new Tele, I sold my Les Paul Studio.
Musical Background:
Home musician on the guitar and mandolin
Musical Style:
County; Blues; Pop; and Bluegrass
6 of 9 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2014 by Everette H in Dunn, NC
"GUITAR"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fender Telecaster Electric Guitar: I absolutely love this guitar. It is a beautiful piece of art, has a great sound, handles well, and I would advise anyone to purchase from this company AND this product. GREAT BUY! Also, on the rating below, I intended to click OVERALL EXCELLENT but made a human error.
Musical Background:
Guitar since I was 10.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, Christian
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2014 by Paul F in Benicia, CA
"USA Standard Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great playing guitar. Better than expected.
Musical Background:
Played guitar for 23 years.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, hard rock, metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2014 by Andreas H in Middletown , NY
"Fender Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fender is making to quality guitars annd this one came out of the case ready to lay no setup needed . Love it
Musical Background:
40 years guitarist
Musical Style:
Rock , pop , blues , christian
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2014 by William Coleman in Warrenton, MO
"Fender USA std telecaster, maple"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love the guitar. Plays better every time I pick it up. The setup was near perfect even after being shipped 2000+- miles in sub zero weather. Finish and quality is what you would expect on an American made instrument. the tappered back and custom shop pickups add a nice touch to an already iconic guitar.
Sound
Great tele tone. Goes from impeccable cleans to great crunch with volume full up and throw in some gain. Wide spectrum of tones even without a lot of effects. Full tone adjust w/o affecting volumes
Features
Love the guitar it's a classic in a modern era. Tele through and through.
Ease of Use
Plug it in and play. Like G.E. Smith would say you could get as wild and crazy as you Want with it.
Quality
Quality seems exceptional. As I would expect nothing less from an American crafted instrument. It's appearance has quality written all over. Expect it will last a lifetime.
Value
Absolutely!!! It's unfortunate that you can purchase a similar guitar manufactured overseas. Although there is still something to be said about American craftsmanship and quality. Not to mention pride that goes with strapping on a great instrument thats stamped made in USA
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed to.
The Wow Factor
A timeless classic. Authenticity that cannot be crafted in china Korea Japan or Mexico.
Musical Background:
Bass, guitar electric/acoustic Semi-pro
Musical Style:
Modern worship/classic Rock alternative rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2014 by William Coleman in Warrenton , MO
"2012 fender American standard 3 color sunburst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful instrument as you would expect from an American made Fender. Exactly as described. The custom shop pick ups add a touch of class to an already iconic axe. Ordered on mon afternoon arrived wed afternoon. Set up and ready to play plugged In checked intonation near perfect considering 2000 mile trip in arctic conditions. Love at first sight.
Musical Background:
Semi pro
Musical Style:
Rock/ Worship
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2013 by Christopher M in Hattiesburg, MS
"Gibson SG standard 2013"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got a great deal at 40 percent off; however, extremely disappointed when the SG arrived. Neck was completely snapped. It came in a hard case so not sure how that happened, but called Zzounds and they graciously agreed to replace it immediately. Waiting on the replacement. Let's hope it's it in better shape. Love Zzounds...great company with great payment options. Just wish they had a deeper stock, like the Schecter UltraCure and the Gretsch 5620. Oh well, maybe some day.
Musical Background:
serious hobbyist
Musical Style:
everything
1 of 20 people (5%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us