844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZY-091Z
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Fender American Pro Strat

Fender's American Professional Stratocaster upgrades a legend with tailor-made V-Mod pickups, narrow-tall frets and a unique "Deep C" neck carve.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Beautiful " submitted February 17, 2017

By Glen S in West Warwick , RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock-Blues-Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ordered this guitar from zZounds via Play as you Pay- can't say enough about how great zZounds is to work with. Customer service is awesome- they shipped it right out. No issues. The guitar is just a beautiful instrument. Being a 2017 model and having some new features some may wonder if the minor price increase is worth it -- it totally is. Ordered mine with the maple fret board, it is totally the way to go. It's like glass. Rosewood I am sure is nice as well. Great tones, the neck is the most comfortable and playable of any guitar I own. Fender USA smashed it out of the park with this one. Built to last a life time. It was set up perfect out of the case. Real deal.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Strat Tone!" submitted July 13, 2017

By David S in Redding, ID
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years of Bass/Guitar. Both Jam and semi-professional bands
Music Style: Blues, rock, punk, outlaw country, bluegrasstate.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First off, I have to thank zZounds. I work an entry level job with many bills to pay and my credit, well, it's not amazing. Within 3 hours of applying for the payment plan I was accepted and only 2 days later I was playing my dream guitar. I could not have afforded to pay upfront and to save would take as long as my payment plan! I will be a return customer for life! Now as for the guitar, it's absolutely beautiful. The new upgrades are very subtle to the eye but feel amazing. New pop-in tremolo arm works great (although I did need to tighten the retention screws out of the box with the supplied Allen key to get it to stay in place where I like it). Amazing Strat tone, Amazing playability.. Fender did great with the new Professional series!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pro Strat!" submitted September 16, 2017

By ronnie sampson in winchester, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: rock/ metal/clasic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After a couple of American made guitars none of them fender by the way I was losing faith in American made. My Jackson Pro Soloist and S series Ibanez made in Indonesia seemed to be much better. After receiving this Fender Pro Strat mind has been changed. There is nothing negative I can say about this guitar. Never had a maple fret board before and loving it same with the narrow tall frets seems to improve your playing but that's just my opinion. The frets are A+ no jagged edges same for the new neck profile. The vmods pickups sound great to I got the SSS model and with the drive up you can get some decent crunch out of them but not thinking there much for metal might want to try the HH or HSS models for that. That being said and I should say that I'm no pro just a at home jammer that and I'm 100 percent pleased with this Fender product and would recommend it to anyone. In closing this review zZounds was great as always. Opps forgot it come in a really nice case to.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Straight forward, reliable, also some cool change ups." submitted December 1, 2017

By Bradley A
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15+ years
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The American Professional is, in some ways, a straight forward, no frills, no fuss Stratocaster. You can count on it, it’s reliable as the day is long. It’s the Fender you know and love. The Professional is new to 2017, and still overall familiar. But there are some added features that make really put it above the strats of the past. First thing you’ll notice right off, the neck profile. Fender went with the “Deep C” and it’s a really comfortable neck. The sealed fret board (on blonde necks anyways) is dressed with 6105 “Tall Narrow” frets. They really wanted people to be comfortable bending, strings, and that’s exaclty what they accomplished. My only complaint about the fret wire is that it makes what you normally play feel “Lighter.” I normally play 9’s, had to move up to 10’s. It’s also a little bit of an adjustment for anyone used to playing on medium jumbos. But once you’ve adjusted your touch, you’ll be fine. I do feel like you lose some sustain. But I wished I discovered Tall Narrow frets before this. Bends for days. The pick ups are kind of a mixed bag. They are “Shaw” designed. And to be honest, the bridge pick up is wayyyyyyyyy to thin, even after fiddling with the tone cut. The Neck, however, is suitably fat. I say suitably, it’s more perfectly fat. It’s got that iconic strat neck pick up sound, the hotness, the thickness. The glaring issue? THEYRE NOT NOISELESS. If you’re using a clean boost or distortion pedal, that 60 cycle hum will get a little intense. Not terrible, but enough to annoy you. Like really tick you off. If you move one position off the neck, you get neck+middle and it humbucks. But you lose a little bit of that fatness. Not much. It’s not a substantial loss, but you hate to lose it. I may install noiseless if I can be sure I don’t lose tone. Or a dummy back plate coil. The bridge is great. Floats very well, and tuning stability is top notch. One reason I absolutely love mine is that I can float the bridge, and not worry about accidentally “pulling up” with a palm mute. The bridge is very well done. I also love that I’ve literally only tuned this guitar once after putting on new strings when I got it September. The tuning and bridge stability is amazing. I used to never float strat bridges. This one handles VERY WELL. Well worth it. And it tunes dead on. My only complaint is the pop in whammy bar. You need to, before putting the whammy bar in, make an adjustment to the pop in mechanism. You can look this up on line, it’s easy to do with the strings off. Basically, their is an adjustment for how hard it is to pop in or out the tremolo arm. And mine, like a lot of the pop ins in the past, shipped way too over adjusted. Really hard to pop in and especially out. Other than that, the bridge is an excellent and stable 2 point bridge. And since adjusting the whammy bar, I make regular use of its free float. Would have loved rounded block saddles, but that’s ok. The tuning machines aren’t locking, and the nut is Bone. The head stock and fret board seemed to be finished in high gloss. Back of the neck is lighter, not so slick Poly of some sort. I don’t actually mind a Poly finish. Poly has gotten wayyyy better. And Nitro has too many draw backs to be anything other than a vanity choice. My 2017 American Professional is an Olympia white, and The off white knobs and pick ups really give it a great look, sets it off.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is it" submitted February 4, 2017

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've watched a YouTube video
Music Style: blues, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar truly inspires you to play more. These pickups are amazing, the treble circuit in the volume knob is a breath of fresh air.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beyond Impressed!" submitted September 1, 2017

By Joseph L in Stockton, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby Guitarist for 9 years/ Bedroom RockStar
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Metal, Jazz, my own style, Spanish and classic influences.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I like this guitar a lot and I'm beyond impressed by the Fender Stratocaster Pro I can't compare the new American Pro with the American Standard or the Mexican Strat because this is my first Fender guitar. But I can tell you this guitar has the best note quality I have ever heard.. Every note is rich and full of life .... This guitar is great for all kinds soling The guitar came out of the case perfect. The action is super low with no fret buzz and the guitar stays in tune even if I go wild with the tremolo . The intonation is spot on too. I can't be more pleased with this guitar. The Sienna Sunburst.is worth the extra $100 dollars because believe me the pictures do not do it any justice the finish is beautiful. The case is the fender elite case so it's high quality and looks great and will keep the guitar well protected. I can only say positive things about this guitar.. zzounds is the place to order anything from in my opinion. Every guitar and amp I've ordered is flawless and works perfectly. Customer service is super cool and knowledgeable too.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar" submitted December 23, 2016

By Andrew B in Marana, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play at home. 3-4 years also a drummer
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I absolutely love this guitar!! The vmod pickups are fantastic the treble bleed circuit is a great feature. The bone nut brings the tone back out. I'm digging the deep c neck it's a bit thicker but really comfy. Bending is so easy with the narrow jumbo frets. This guitar is a nice upgrade from the standards
11 of 13 people (84.62%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

" fender american pro" submitted July 1, 2017

By STEVE KELLER in winnsboro, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i've been playing guitar and keyboard for 25 years also play piano. play at church mostly but play at home with friends
Music Style: christian rock rock and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: guitar came in on time as always from zZounds played for a week could not get it set up i like i like.it . called zZounds for return and had a new one in 4 days supper fast return. great customer service these guy's are the best
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZY-091Z. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!