Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Fender American Standard Stratocaster Electric Guitar, with Maple Fingerboard and Case

Fender American Standard Stratocaster Electric Guitar, with Maple Fingerboard and Case

Surf through any tone and style with this classic American Standard Strat. This release comes loaded with three high-end Fat 50s single-coil pickups.

Overall User Ratings (based on 45 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(45)
Submitted July 13, 2014 by David Winkler in Goodyear, AZ
"This Stratocaster is amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
When I received my new strat I was anxious to check out the grain of the wood. Each guitar is different due to variations in the wood. I paid the extra for the sienna burst and the ash body as I love the look of highly grained wood. Well I as elated as the grain and finish was amazing and flawless.
Sound
When I plugged in my new strat I again was totally amazed. The variations of tonal quality was incredible. I played through my acoustic G120 dsp and the sounds I could get were phenomenal. From clear beach sounds using the neck pickups to the fender quack using the bridge pickups.
Features
I absolutely love the tonal variations from the custom shop fat 50 pickups. The maple neck is smooth and fast.
Ease of Use
The Stratocaster plays so easy and smooth. Right out of the box, the setup was great with low action without a hint of fret buzz. I've read other reviews where the users had problems with the setup I had no such trouble.
Quality
Seems to be very well constructed the fit and finish of every part is perfect. I think my Stratocaster will be around for a long time and something I could pass along to my kid.
Value
My Stratocaster was worth every penny that I paid. And I love Zzounds payment plan. This is the second guitar I've purchased with their payment plan and I couldn't be happier. Where other places have turned me down Zzounds always comes through.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had the need to use Fender's customer service.
The Wow Factor
It's a Fender Stratocaster that totally lives up to it's name and heritage. I have other guitars but it seems to be the one I pickup first out of all my guitars.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for over 45 years and have played professionally but now just for fun.
Musical Style:
I play good ole rock and roll, blues, country, and a bit of Christian rock.
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2014 by David Winkler in Goodyear, AZ
"Totally Amazing Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off I want to say that dealing with zzsounds is a great experience. Their payment plan is incredible and they would provide me credit when no one else would. My Fender Stratocaster is the second guitar that I have purchased trough zzsounds' payment plan.
Sound
My Siennaburst USA stratocaster sounds phenomenal, the custom shop pickups are nothing short of fabulous with a variety of tones available. Through my Acoustic G120 DSP I can get clean "surf music" tones using the neck pickups, or the classic Fender quacky tones using the bridge pickups. Or I can kick the amp into overdrive and get the gritty dirty tones.
Features
The thing about my stratocaster is flexibility. I have a very nice Ibanez am93 with humbucking pickups which is a very nice guitar which plays and sounds great. But my Stratocaster has much more flexibility with the 3 single pickups and tremelo I can develop so many more tonal options.
Ease of Use
Right out of the box my Strat was setup perfectly with the medium jumbo frets and the high gloss fretboard, the playability was easy and smooth. I would recommend this guitar to beginners and experts alike. The hand rolled frets are so smooth its like butter moving around the frets.
Quality
Honestly when I received my guitar I was a bit nervous while opening the box. Any wood product has it's own personality with different wood grain looks. I ordered the more expensive Siennaburst with the ash body just because I love the way the wood grain looks. When I opened up the case I couldn't have been more pleased. The wood grain on my guitar is very prominent and absolutely beautiful. The fit and finish is nothing short of pure perfection and seems to me that my guitar will last for generations to come
Value
My guitar is worth every penny that I spent, and she wasn't cheap but the quality looks and tonal flexibility she was worth the money and if something should happen to her I would replace her.
Manufacturer Support
I have not needed to contact Fender customer support at all and from the way my guitar is built I do not think I will need to contact them.
The Wow Factor
When I opened the case I was certainly WOW'ed. The looks and beautiful wood grain was total eye candy. When I plugged her in I was even more pleased with tonal capability.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for over 45 years
Musical Style:
I play a myriad of styles and songs from classic rock, blues and country to christian contemporary
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2013 by David N in Ruther Glen, VA
"Fender American Standard Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had convinced myself several years ago there was "no such thing as a bolt-on neck guitar worth $1,000". Man, was I wrong. I've owned Standard Strats in the past. This is my first American Standard Stratocaster, and it blows every other Strat I've ever owned away. The quality and craftsmanship is outrageous. The figure of the maple fretboard on mine is stunning. It plays like a dream. The Fat 50's pickups really do a lot for this guitar as well. So, so much sweeter sounding than any other Strat I've had. I popped a DiMarzio DP218 in bridge position, and this is now the most versatile instrument I own by a long shot. This really is a top quality instrument, and worth every penny I paid for it. I don't care much for the fact that Fender went back to the vintage style saddles on the bridge on this guitar. But, a set of Graphtech saddles fixed that. For anyone planning on buying a Strat in the future, I would strongly suggest you save up and get an American Standard. Actually, with Zzounds payment plan, you don't even need to do that. Owning one certainly changed my mind completely about Fender Strats.
Musical Background:
30 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Mostly rock, metal, blues, and jazz. But, basically anything except country and hip-hop.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2014 by Rick Miller in Bend, OR
"Best Strat I've ever owned"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been playing a Les Paul but it just wasn't my "sound". I'm not a multi-guitar guy so I made the decision to sell the LP and get a Strat. I've been playing for 40 years and have had many guitars, but I seem to always go back to a Strat. This American Standard is absolutely perfect. It feels solid, the neck is fast and smooth, the setup was perfect out of the box and playing it through my '65 Reissue Twin Reverb is pretty much a spiritual experience. The pickups on this model are fantastic, really give what I feel is that classic Strat sound. I would recommend this guitar to anyone who wants the classic Fender tone and feel. I can get any sound out of this guitar. No need to pay more, this one is the real deal.
Musical Background:
40 years, amateur jam meister and open mic night kind of guy
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2014 by David H in Pflugerville , TX
"Fender american strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this guitar because I wanted a made in the USA rock/blues guitar of quality. Well that's what this guitar is! It plays so smooth and just sounds like I expected. I already have a les paul and this is the opposite of that guitar. The paul is heavy with a rich sound, while the strat is light and twangy. I think you should have one of each of these guitars if you only had two electric guitars. I won't say one is better than the other because they are two different beast! The guitar came perfect in case with no problems. I would recommend having it set up by a professional to get the most out of guitar as you should with any guitar. The fender guitar is an amazing work of art. The pay as you play option at zzounds is just awesome and everything was easy and went smooth. Thanks
Musical Background:
Playing drums guitar as a hobby for twenty years
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal, country, alternative
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2014 by Eric M in Columbia, MO
"First American Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had found myself coming back to this page again and again. Looking at this guitar, knowing that someday I would order one. After a year of doing this I finally took the plunge and bought it. The things plays like a dream, it sounds amazing. From beautiful cleans, to amazing crunchy blues tones all the way to high gain rock and metal licks. This thing is capable of doing unique things no matter how hard you push it. It has a great weight to it, the neck feels super comfortable even for people like me who are more used to thinner necks. It comes with a very sleek and nice case, a strap and an extra, albeit a bit short, cable. The only issue I have is that the thing will fight you with staying in tune. Thus is the nature of the beast though, and I have no regrets about this purchase!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, casual gigging.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Alternative, Hard Rock, Metal.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2013 by Tom L in Cedar Crest, NM
"I like it - I really do."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not a pro or even very good but I have been playing at the guitar for a long time. Recently I've become more serious. I have an Ibanez Am-93 that I really like in all regards. Then I tried a 2012 American Standard Strat and fell in love with how it felt and played. I love the neck and the comfortable design of the body that I've read about is a real thing. Still getting used to the controls, but the sound certainly makes me happy. Build quality is good and solid. The maple neck and frets are comfortable. Fender does kind of overdo the finish on the fret board, but that's a problem only in aesthetics, not feel. Might add strap locks and locking tuners but that's all. I spent the extra dough for the Sienna Burst and it is beautiful and makes me smile. I guess that's worth a couple bills. I still play the am-93 (which is a great guitar for 600 bucks), but it is getting jealous. I'm spending much more time on the Strat.
Musical Background:
Entertain myself at home on guitar, drums, tuba or whatever.
Musical Style:
Rock and blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2015 by Sebastian S in Hesperia, CA
"AMAZING GUITAR!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First let me say that zzounds has very fast shipping. Ordered the guitar on Monday received it early Wednesday morning. Now, onto the review. This guitar is simply beautiful I ordered the Olympic White finish. I can't stop looking at it, the beauty just amazes me, reminds me when Jimi Hendrix played at Woodstock 1969. I plugged it into my Fender Mustang I and was amazed on how beautiful it sounds. I am aware that I should upgrade my amp, so I ordered a better one. I'm still waiting for it to arrive. Overall you should get this guitar, you will not be disappointed.
Musical Background:
6 years. Play guitar, bass, drums and piano.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2013 by Robert W. Malin in LINDENWOLD, NJ
"NEW FENDER SMELL AND MY NEW FAVORITE LES PAUL SLAYER!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
THIS GUITAR Is The FINEST Stratocaster I have EVER Bought or Played! Between the Diamondback Humbucker and the Middle and Neck CUSTOM SHOP 50's Single coils,You Can Dial in Any FENDER TONES You want,AND,ANY Humbcker Tone you could ever want. I ALSO LOVE the SUSTAIN this Strat Has,Thanks to a few factors,Including the 2-Point Trem,and the LARGER MASS TREM WEIGHT ,the ONLY THING that would Put this Over The Top,would be an LSR Nut. BUT,This is As CLOSE to a PERFECT FAT STRAT You'll EVER FIND! LOOKS as GOOD as it Sounds and Plays,And,With an INCLUDED BLACK DELUXE FENDER CASE,Chrome Logo,...For $1099.99,THIS was an AWESOME DEAL ALSO,....THANK OU FENDER And THANK YOU ZZOUNDS !!
Musical Background:
Been Playing Guitar 30+ Years Previously Semi-Pro,Now,mostly Songwriting,Teaching and Playing Out Pt. Time.
Musical Style:
Rock,CLASSIC and Current,Hard Rock/Metal.,BLUES
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2013 by Paul Letteri in Auburn, MA
"Candie Cola Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For one the Guitar and finish are Excellent and he Candie Cola is a suberb color.These pickups have a nice bite and their is plenty of flexibility to change the tone.I got the Maple fretboard and neck ,very classic,also the hard case is very good with excellent hardware.for the $1,000 I payed I could not be happier,it even came with a few tools nice booklet 10 ft hookup cable, nd nice Fender shoulder strap and polishing cloth.
Musical Background:
Casual,guitar
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock and Roll.and. Miss of a lot of oldies I am trying to learn.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2016 by David H in San Diego, CA
"It will meet your expectations"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've wanted one since I was 14. 20 years later I ordered one from zzounds (first time customer) and could not be more impressed with my experience. First of all, zzounds does not mess around. I placed my order Monday morning and it arrived Tuesday at noon. Not bad for free shipping! The Fender American Standard is certainly worth the extra money due to tonal quality alone. Anyone who tells you otherwise is kidding themselves! The hardware is impeccable; set up perfectly and aesthetically exciting. The action is low, it takes some getting used to coming from a Les Paul. The pick-ups are responsive and organic. They react exceptionally to pick attack, making this an extremely expressive instrument. The variety of tones with three pickups and five-way selection is powerful and allows for expressive playing in a wide variety of musical styles. I really can't recommend this highly enough. It will change how you feel about guitar and put a smile on your face.
Musical Background:
25+ years, many instruments, audio production
Musical Style:
Mostly rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 22, 2016 by Edward D in Franklin, MA
"Truly and honestly Blown Away"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just purchased the American Standard yesterday and i received it today because of the express overnight delivery. All i can say is wow, wow and some more wow's !!! This guitar is not only beautiful looking but it plays, feels and sounds just as beautiful as it looks... I purchased a brand new one and i received exactly that, a 2016 perfect mint condition guitar.. The set up right from the box is dead on for my liking on how i like my adjustments for the intonation, pickups and neck. I was so skeptical on this purchase because spending over $1200 online for something you cannot try in person gets you nervous because you just dont know what the outcome is going to be and i will now admit i will never think twice about ordering something from zZounds ever again.. zZounds has my complete faith and trust in all my future purchases from them because of the outstanding job they did by getting me my guitar to me safe and sound and also because of the such great quality guitar i received as exactly as they have advertised !!! Thank you zZounds for such an amazing guitar ... Even the case that comes along with this guitar is awesome.. I was actually going to purchase this case for $129.00 for another Strat i own.. The case is such heave duty and the latches and lock on it are the best i have ever seen. I am just extremely happy with this guitar and case that i had to share this with anyone who is contemplating purchasing this guitar.. If an American Strat is what your looking for then look no further !!!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 34 years and i play now just for the fun of it.
Musical Style:
Love the Blues and Classic Rock. I also love Funk...
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2014 by David Paynter in APO, AP
"Oh My God!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received my USA made Siennaburst Strat and as soon as I opened the case I knew this things awesome. Then I plugged it in and I was evermore overwhelmed. I have owned numerous other Strats, but never a US model. I live and work in Japan and they make a pretty good one. Now I know why the US model cost so much. I definitely made the right choice on this one. I just bought a 2013 brand new Gibson SGa few weeks ago and it sounds and plays incredible too, but this Strat has that unique honking' sound that you can't get from a Gibson. I am totally, totally 100 percent satisfied.
Musical Background:
42 years Guitar Used to play in bands.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues...
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2012 by David R in Webb City, MO
"2012 Fender Am. Std. Strat - Sienna burst w/maple neck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Awesome guitar for the price. Great look and feel. Fantastic tone. The wood and finish looks fine. The maple neck is smooth, and it's shape feels comfortable to jam and bend on. The 50's single coil pickups sound awesome. I was very pleased. I got the humbucker pickup in the bridge for extra bite like I have in my '03 Deluxe Strat, and it is a little disappointing. Kind of like someone with a sore throat singing the national anthem... A little hoarse and breaks up a little too early when belting it out. Having said that, no buyers remorse and I love to play this guitar. Sounds great, looks great, feels great. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 15 yrs. Guitar and Bass. Made some money in a few bands back in the day. These days prefer to play at church
Musical Style:
Rock - Alternative, hard, classic, and blues. Christian.
24 of 26 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2015 by Sonny Young in Big Stone Gap, VA
""The Fender Sound" Exactly What I Was Looking For"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing a Les Paul Studio for around 30 years and decided I wanted another guitar to play. I love my Les Paul, but this Strat blew me away with its sound and looks. The only thing that my Les Paul and the new Strat have in common is "they both have a female phono plug and both have six strings". Two totally different animals. If you buy this Strat, you won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
I just turned 60 and have been making music since I was 11. Mostly drums and guitar. Usually just jam with friends.
Musical Style:
blues, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2014 by Doug Farris in Dayton, OH
"2013 fender American standard"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have the jade and I love this guitar. I never get tried of I it. I have a 1983 Gibson explorer and a Tele (MIM) that I never touch because of this guitar it does it all. My son in law as a ES-335 and when get together and play he is very amazed how full the strat is. But you'll be happy.
Musical Background:
Guitar since 1978, clarinet ,sax also since 1978 guitar is my main instrument now.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 24, 2012 by Gary Melton in Meridian, ID
"2012 Fender American Standard Stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received this beauty from zZounds about a month ago and I am well pleased. This Strat is flawless in appearance, the set up was right on the money from the factory. All that was needed was a quick tune and I was jammmin'! She is olympic white with a maple fret board. She plays as smooth as butter and sounds so sweet that I can't believe it! Much sweeter than my old '90 USA Strat which was a fine axe. The sound from the Fat 50's pups is full, clear, chimey, and full of quack in positions 2 and 4. Dial in some drive and the sound is smooth and silky! I have owned over 40 guitars, mostly Fenders but some from competitive brands but this particular one is something special! zZounds is great to work with. I returned an instrument a while back that was substandard (not a Fender) and zZounds took care of me. Their staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks zZounds!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar and bass for 46 years
Musical Style:
Christian, Rock,Blues,Country
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2014 by scott g in ocean springs, MS
"american standard"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a very well made pictures do not do it justice it has the best action of any guitar I have ever played the strings bend with ease it does have some draw backs not a lot of features some hum with the single coils but its expected this guitar plays all kinds of music except for heavy metal I do think the Mexican made strat is a better value for the money even though this is a way better guitar not just 600 dolllars better either way i'm never selling it!!!!!
Musical Background:
12 years of jamming
Musical Style:
rock blues heavy metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2014 by Chris T in Fairfield, ID
"Fender american standard"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Guitar was set up nearly perfect and gorgeous. Nervous about buying unseen. Guitar showed up in three days and I am thrilled . No regrets.
Musical Background:
Amateur who enjoys jamming at home
Musical Style:
rock, blues, some rockabilly
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2013 by Dan P in Cottleville, MO
"What an Excellent Playing Guitar.."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased the Stratocaster from ZZounds on a Wednesday and received by FEDEX on Saturday.. Quality was perfect. No Problems anywhere. Not sure how long this set on the shelf but the strings were really Flat, but a quick change and now the sound is very bright when wanted, gritty and nasty when needed. My primary Players are Gibson's between an ES335 and LP Standards. The addition of a Stratocaster fills in perfect... I play through a Bluesbreaker, with the Stratocaster I feel play better in my Old Silver face Bandmaster.. Great Guitar, Great Quality, Great Sound..
Sound
Very Balanced between the three pickups. Very Versatile, can get any sound I desire..
Features
Like the Floating Tailpiece, never use the Tremolo Arm. I like the Gloss and rounded edges on the neck. Very Comfortable to play.. My other two came with the new SKB TSA Case. This one came with the Traditional Hard shell Case. By Far my Favorite Case. The SKB might provide better protection but I just like the Traditional. Not sure if there would be any cost difference or even when Fender decided to change back? If it was Tweed would have made me any happier..
Ease of Use
Plug and Play. Stratocasters are the easiest to pick up and play with no difficult set up. I like the options to interchange necks if damaged. Almost like an assembly Line Guitar.. Came with a bag full of Case Candy, 10 foot Cord, Two Allen wrenches, Cleaning Cloth, Fender Logo Strap, Fender Decal and Tremolo Arm.
Quality
The 3 Color Burst I received was beautiful. Excellent Quality Guitar.. I am very Picky when it comes money spent and products received. Since the Guitar came with Custom Shop 50's Pickups and the Pickup Covers came aged. The Tremolo Arm came with two tips. An Aged and Bright white one..
Value
I think the Price went up a few years ago. I think the cost should or could be a bit less. But the Guitar quality does warrant the price as is.. I think with cash I could have gotten it cheaper at a local Chain Music Store, but I am satisfied with the service I have always gotten from zZounds..
Manufacturer Support
I have only had one situation where I had to use Fender Service. I have a Fender Bandmaster Silver Face that I changed out the Red Indicator Light with a Blue One.. (It was in 1969 more mellow). The nut on the back of the light worked its way loose and traveled down the wires to the Output Transformer causing the Transformer to short out and catch fire. also same time the two Speakers Blew. The Dealer took in the Amplifier repaired everything making the Bandmaster look brand new. Took 2 Months to repair. The whole time the dealer gave me a Showman to use the entire time..
The Wow Factor
This is my third Fender Standard, I have an Artic White, Jade Pearl and this 3 Color Burst. all look and plays great. The Jade Pearl is my favorite out of the three. Can't pin point why just feels better. But I am very happy with this 3 Color Burst.
Musical Background:
Been Playing for 50 Years, Lead Guitar....
Musical Style:
Blues and Classic Rock..
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2016 by Mark H in Marietta, OH
"Best one yet"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this in the 3-tone sunburst with maple neck. I've had many Strats before this...one American Series, one '57 reissue, one '62 reissue, and several Mexican-made ones. I won't hesitate in saying that this is the best one, yet. The pickups are way better than the one in my old American Series (2001 model). The Fat '50's pickups actually sound like the ones in my reissue models. All of the punch, chime, and twang is there, with none of the harshness. If you want to take the edge off, the tone controls are great for doing that, and much more. What is there to be said about a Strat that hasn't been said already? You know what they can do, and how versatile they are. A little pricier than they used to be, yes, but with custom shop pickups, you won't hear me complaining. Also, ZZounds is great to deal with. They have the most payment options to choose from of any online retailer, which is great for the working man, as many others on here have said. Their shipping is crazy fast, too. I ordered on a Tuesday afternoon around 2:30 and selected 2-day shipping, just so I could get it before the afternoon. I figured probably Friday afternoon or evening, I'd get it. My wife calls me at work on Thursday morning, around 10:00, to say that the guitar is there already. She even said didn't you think it wouldn't get here until Friday? I ordered a '68 Fender Deluxe Reverb reissue from ZZounds last summer, and got the same great service as I did, this time. You can't go wrong with ZZounds...these folks do it right.
Musical Background:
Gigging musician, played for over 30 years, now
Musical Style:
Everything except metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2016 by Leon L in Mary Esther, FL
"Awesome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my 3rd american strat. 1996 got traded for a 61 gibson es125. I also have a 1997 SRV strat. This one although a strat like the SRV plays totally different. Not in a bad way. Sound is great, action is very good. Plays very smooth. The SRV with the texas specials is grittier than the american standard. Very happy with my purchase. zZounds is great to do business with. I have purchased alot of gear from them. Pay as you play is a wonderful program. Not all of us have tons of cash laying around and it makes it easy to purchase the items without breaking the bank. Thank you zZounds. Looking forward to my next order.
Musical Background:
40 Yrs Just play at home now
Musical Style:
Blues, folk, classic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2015 by Dennis M in Elkins, WV
"This IS the tone you expect from a Fender Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was fully expecting to be investing in a set of Bare Knuckle, or Fralin pickups. I'm happy to say, the tone I wanted is already in there. The tuning machines are the only thing that are lacking on the guitar I received. Replacing them would be almost a necessity if you use the tremolo. The finish, and fit of the guitar are excellent. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone who is interested.
Musical Background:
40 years playing. 20 plus as a pro, and semi pro
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, country, P&W
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2013 by Billy Colburn in Foley, AL
"Excellent American Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this strat! Plays, sounds and looks great! The Fat 50's sound awesome and my Olympic White with Maple neck has everyone asking about her. Wouldn't trade her for anything.
Sound
She is everything I thought she would be...and more! Feels great! Sounds awesome! And looks like a million!
Features
Everything I need and want on my main axe!
Ease of Use
Depends on your playing ability, but for me, she gives me every tone I need to play my Blues Driven Alternative Progressive Rock!
Quality
beautiful & well built - the p/u's are awesome and the maple neck is perfect!
Value
Absolutely a great value!
Manufacturer Support
Can't say I have ever dealt with this company!
The Wow Factor
Wow - An American Strat of this caliber for this price!
Musical Background:
40+ years of playing acoustic, electric guitars and bass! Currently involved in an original project BagoStones.
Musical Style:
Blues Driven Alternative Progressive Rock... Floyd + Sabbath + Rush type Original
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2016 by Leon L in Mary Esther, FL
"Awesome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my second american std. Unfortunately I sold my 1997 around 15 years ago. Had to adjust setup slightly, but other than that it was perfect out of the box. I have had a few Mexican made ones and this definately is worth paying extra for. Nice case that come with it too.
Musical Background:
40 Yrs Just play at home now
Musical Style:
Blues, classic rock, country and folk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2015 by David V in Tulsa, OK
"This Guitar is amazing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar. Amazing value and does what I need it to. From clean to dirty rock!
Musical Background:
18 Years. Bands, Church and for fun!
Musical Style:
Rock n Roll!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2013 by Robert F in Selinsgrove, PA
"Fender American Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a blemished Fender American Strat and I was very, very pleased with it. The guitar was well set up out of the box and sounds great. Absolutely no issues at all. Oh, and the case is terrific! I haven't had to use manufacturer's customer support.
Musical Background:
At home guitar player and collector.
Musical Style:
Mainly pop rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2014 by david r in enumclw, WA
"fender usa stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very nice ,sounds great, neck has good feel. love the simple controls lots of sounds and not much to go wrong. I will be hanging on to this one. go zzounds
Musical Background:
pro-40 yrs
Musical Style:
all
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2015 by Jason S in Waynesburg, PA
"Best Strat I've had out of the box yet"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Needs nothing, the setup needed very little tweaking, intonation needed set on two strings. The saddles lowered slightly and that was it. Low action, no buzz no high frets no choking out during big bends.
Musical Background:
Playing for 25 years
Musical Style:
Rock and blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 5, 2012 by Joseph Ralph in Belleville, MI
"my 2012 fender standard stratocaster."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this was a blast. I got to pick thee exact model,color and features that I wanted. when it arrived, I opened the case...and that smell, better than "new car" smell. this instrument is fantastic. I got an email from zZounds.com announcing the "10 payment" for fender. no sales tax. everything detail was great. now, I own an American dream.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar since I was 14yrs old. I am now 46. my Father played, and there was a guitar in our home all my life.
Musical Style:
I like Rock and Roll. Led Zeppelin. I like Grunge. Alice in Chains. Metal. MegaDeth. and the Blues. Hendrix. there are many more
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2012 by larry kennedy in kingston, TN
"maple candy cola"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
as my travels in music have shown me many fine instruments, i relinquished some big names to have this box stock std strat (american) this instrument is indeed what it takes for me in terms of fit, finish, and playability. that complaint about hard to turn pots are probably from someone who doesnt know that the bridge tone pot is also a switch. this is a wonderful finish for an instrument and the 5 way switch which effectively gives you two hum bucking positions is a nice update. YES the guitar i received from zZounds was worth the $1000 ticket.
Musical Background:
started playin while elvis was
Musical Style:
southern, blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2014 by Lee Miller in Tallahassee, FL
"Wonderful Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is simply amazing. Great sound, craftsmanship and play-ability.
Musical Background:
Playing for only 3 years.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues,metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 31, 2015 by larry l
"American stratocaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar for my son as a birthday present. It is a beautiful guitar. The quality of this guitar can only be made in the USA. It sounds better than it looks the pick ups are awesome and put out a strong high quality sound. Overall a great buy and am very satisfied with the buy.
Musical Background:
Guitar and banjo
Musical Style:
Rock, bluegrass and christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2012 by Khairi W in Buford, GA
"Fender 2012 USA Std Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely wonderful guitar! Sounds remarkable, plays amazing, and is very well made. Not a single blemish on it. The setup out of the box was great, intonation was perfect and it was already tuned. The only thing i had to do was raise the action a little bit (only because i like it a little higher up than most players). It sounds absolutely gorgeous. I don't know why but for some reason the pickups at first didn't seem very hot, but after a few days they picked up distortion a lot better so I'm assuming they just needed to be broken in a bit. My previous guitar was very poorly made squier strat so as you can imagine im very happy with this upgrade. If you are having a tough time choosing between a MIM strat and a USA, its well worth the extra money.
Musical Background:
Played trumpet in middle school but stopped after 3 years, picked up guitar a few years later and have been playing for 3 years.
Musical Style:
I don't really have a particular style, I hear something I like and I explore the internet for tabs or sheet music!
5 of 8 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2014 by Steve P
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The service at ZZounds was great. The guitar arrived the next day. Guitar was in great condition, great tone. Setup was to factory specs. I changed strings, set it up the way I wanted and let'er rip. Great!
Musical Style:
Blues/Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2014 by Andy Davis in Atlanta, GA
"American Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar for the price!
Musical Background:
20yrs, gig occasionally
Musical Style:
Play mostly R&B, funk, and blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2012 by a customer from hotmail.com
"If it ain't broken don't try and fix it"
2012 Olympic white Stratocaster with maple neck, the guitar itself feels great but I must say that the fat 50's pickups are not that much to my liking because with a clean amp they are ok but not that much better than the previous alnico V pickups. However with some gain and distortion on my Marshall jcm 2000 amp it becomes clear that these new fat 50's pickups are a step backward with gain and in the distortion department because I am getting funny overtones for starters and that even after adjusting and fine tuning the pickups and even more disappointing is the bridge pickups which has to be dialled right back in the tone to get a half decent rock sound out of it. I just feel that the previous alnico pickups did a better job for playing rock and lead guitar due to a higher output in contrast to vintage specs with lower output as on the custom shop fat 50's pickups. I ordered myself some alnico v pickups because I thought that they sounded better in the 2008-2011 model strat to my ears and did exactly what I wanted them to do. Apart from my disappointment in the new fat 50's pickups my all maple neck had a slight dint right on the edge near the lower e string between the second and third fret which didn't impress me either but can I can cope with that one as I am sure it will have more dints in time. Also the Fender SKB guitar case wasn't in perfect order either because the hinges were not properly riveted to the case which makes the lid feel very loose (I wonder what the Fender inspector was doing that day?) In my humble personal opinion all in all not such a great upgrade compared to the previous model because the guitar itself is still the same apart from the pickups which people have been changing anyway to suit their taste, I believe it to be more hype and to sell more guitars than an actual improvement as such. My motto is why try and fix something if it ain't broken.
Musical Background:
been playing about 5 years guitar as a hobby and jaming with friends
Musical Style:
blues, rock and some jazzy stuff
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2014 by Bob W in Minot, ND
"800 guitar, 30 dollar case...1500 bucks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For whatever reason, Fender has pulled back on quality, and has increased the price...The custom pickups should be called the 120 hum specials. I've been debating on sending it back...It rattles like a squier. Extremely disappointed in the case...A few years ago you got the TSA bulletproof model, the one that comes with this one is the type where the hinges and latches break right away. Forget about bringing it on a plane, they won't let you. A 60 year model should be "all-out" in regards to customer experience, and not maximizing profit margin. The price has gone up, and quality has gone down. There's not a whole lot more to say.
Musical Background:
40 years...semi-pro
Musical Style:
Hendrix blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2013 by Kris Edwards in Seaside, OR
"Sienna Sunburst American Standard Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, ZZounds is the BEST site on the net for all things music. They have earned a customer for life from me.. Now, on to the guitar. It arrived quickly and when I opened the case I was very pleased. It seems cliche` to say the pictures don't do it justice, but that is definitely the case here. The finish was excellent and after plugging it in, there was no disappointment with the sound. The neck feels and plays great, but I was surprised at how light in color the rosewood fret board was. I think this will be fixed with some proper conditioning if I choose to darken it, but it actually looks pretty good with the sunburst. I will eventually upgrade the tuners to locking ones...that was the only feature of the deluxe that I was actually willing to pay for. I can live without the S1 switch. Action was perfect for me out of the box. After the tuning/intonation I played for hours ;) If I wasn't at work, I would be playing it now. I have no regrets in paying the extra money for the Sienna Sunburst finish. The ash wood grain and aged plastic parts really give a great look to this guitar. Finally, If you're on the fence about standard vs. deluxe and aren't in a spot to physically play them before you make your decision, I can say this: The standard does NOT feel like a cheap guitar. As I said, the tuners for me are the only obvious upgrade, but the existing ones certainly don't feel cheap. I have no experience with the S1, but for me, five tone choices are plenty. Beautiful insturment! NO regrets. Thanks zzounds!
Musical Background:
At home jammer
Musical Style:
blues/rock
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2012 by Gary W in Indianapolis, IN
"I must have got a guitar built on a friday"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The tone knobs are very hard to turn and the high E string keeps coming out of the nut. It plays and sounds great though. I think $1100 is a bit on the high side. It comes with heavy duty case. You could probably drop it down a flight of stairs and it wouldn't hurt the guitar. I'll let someone else try it though.
Musical Background:
Always been a hobby but have more time to play. I play mostly guitar. Jam with friends.
Musical Style:
Rock and roll, blues, prog stuff.
7 of 14 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2012 by j r in newberry, SC
"2012 Strat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this five days ago and it is awesome. It sounds awesome and I am very satisfied from day one. I like the fat50s pickups and all the other features in general. The shipping was fast and nicely packaged no damage or no scratches. zZound is great, thumbs up to them!
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2013 by KEN TAYLOR in HERMITAGE, TN
"WORST SADDLES EVER!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
THESE SADDLES BREAK STRINGS...FIX?...GRAPH-TECH SADDLES...GREAT GUITAR AFTER THAT......
Musical Background:
PRO PLAYER
Musical Style:
WHATEVER...
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2014 by Sidney G in Kennewick, WA
"Strats through the ages"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I find that US strats have a quality feel and sound to them. I have owned MIMs, MIJs, and Squiers. I think that qualifys my opinion.
Musical Background:
40+ years 6 string and I just normally jam at the local places
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, Christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2014 by Sidney G in Kennewick, WA
"The best yet"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Having already purchased a 2011 model, I was enticed by this newer model with hotter pick ups. This new 2012 model just hit the nail on the head with its' new look and sound. Fender keeps outdoing itself year after year
Musical Background:
Have been playing off and on since age 14, I'm 61. I rock out at jam nites,Christian music, and play guitar, bass and some drums
Musical Style:
Rocking out is my favorite!
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2015 by johnny moss in borger, TX
"american strat blonde beautiful"
This is my third strat, all wonderful. Would buy another if I ever need to. Played in country and rock bands all over Texas and Oklahoma. It was admired everywhere, helped me get through college, tremendous.
Musical Background:
55 yrs violin,piano
Musical Style:
COUNTRY ,ROCK,BLUES GOSPEL
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us