Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Edward Van Halen D-Tuna Drop D Tuning System

Edward Van Halen D-Tuna Drop D Tuning System

Drop from E to D with ease with this Drop D tuning system. The D-Tuna kit includes a D-Tuna, Allen wrench, spring, and 2 replacement string locking screws.

Overall User Ratings (based on 62 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(62)
Submitted December 1, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"No more "wait a sec - I gotta de-tune this thing...""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Overall I love this thing. Gone are the days of wondering if I have enough slack in the fine tuner. No more looking for that allen wrench. No more having to pause / mute / tune / un-mute. I use it on a custom strat with a surface mounted Gotoh floyd, so I did not have to block or mod the trem at all, but I'm considering doing just that on my other guitars with floating floyds, as 'pulling up' can be done by pressing on the string screws - not a big concern for me anyhow because as it turns out, I'm not Steve Vai. But seriously, if you're doing much tuning or having to switch guitars mid-set, you need this thing. I would replace it if needed, but I doubt it ever will. Simple ideas are always the best.
Sound
No sound, but there are no problems with sustain, string height or anything else.
Features
Only one feature, and it does it well.
Ease of Use
Gave a 7 here just because it is not that easy to grip when pulling out to dropped D. Pops back it easily Maybe I should smear some 'gator grip' goo on it or something?
Quality
Only complaint is how easily the fine tuning set screw moves. This needs to be a nylon lock screw or something a bit harder to turn, as mine needs to be adjusted every week or two.
Value
Worth the money. If you do a lot of detuning, buy it. I don't think there are any other items that do exactly what this thing does. If you have a non-floating floyd it's a must-have bargain.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with 'em. If it breaks I'll just give Eddie a call, right?
The Wow Factor
It completes me. It had me at "Add To Cart". Gives your guitar a groovy 'modded' look.
Musical Background:
30 years. Multiple instruments, mainly guitar. Professional experience, now mostly home studio projects.
Musical Style:
rock, reggae, blues, alt, metal
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
EVH Drop-D Tuning System Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
It was a little hard to comprehend how to install it at first. Then I found an installation video on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNHEudK9mI0 The unit works perfectly! And the functionallity is great!
Musical Background:
Intermediate Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock - Zeppelin, Tom Petty
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2012 by a customer from Yahoo.com
"EVH D-Tuna on 7 string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Works great, exactly as advertised. Super simple to install. I use it on a 7 string that is strung E-A for drop D. It works perfect. Highly recommended if you want to near instantly change from E to D.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
All styles
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 25, 2013 by Thomas Korink in Fort Valley, GA
"Floating Bridge Review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play multiple styles in multiple tunnings so this was a must!! I have this installed on my ESP EC-1000fr and absolutely love it. Being that this axe has a Floyd Rose floating trem, you have to also install an extra piece hardware to stabilize the bridge, I prefer the Rockinger Black Box. All in all this is awesome and well worth every cent!!
Musical Background:
Been playing 16yrs...Favorite Guitar is my ESP EC-1000fr
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal, Country, Blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 29, 2015 by Hugh T in Sacramento, CA
"Thank God Someone thought of the D-Tuna!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Listen up you less experience guitarists, this is NOT a "Tuner" as one of the first review thought. IT IS a D-Tunning mechanism. It is created to instantly drop your E to a D at a pull of a switch. NOT designed to "tune" all your strings. That's the job of a tuner. First of all, it had been my long time wish to be able to just drop my low E to a D on my locking tremolo. My regular "non locking tremolo" guitars have done a great job but I can't dive my strings when doing songs like "Eruption" or those dives sections you hear in "Bark At the Moon." Frustrated. NOW I don't have to switch guitars during stage performances. I've been playing with this thing for a few days now...and I just wanted to give my thoughts about it before my ears become too adjusted to it. First, WHAT YOU GAIN: Instant dropping from E to D with ease and no more need to switch your precious double locking tremolo axe. Second, no more need to constantly unlock and readjust your springs to redo the D tunning.WHAT YOU LOSE: the full bass response you normally get in the low E. This is due to the E locking boot being raised up from the tremolo in order to switch back to an E tuning (because the Low E is actually tuned to the D while the D-Tuna is DISENGAGED. So while in E, the string has to vibrate the sound thru the D-Tuna before the sound is transferred to the tremolo itself. So in a way, the D-Tuna kinda filters out the Low-Mid bass frequency that produces that warm mid-bass sound. In a sense, the low E then sounds slightly thin (at least to my ears). SECONDLY, no matter how much I had tried to move/adjust my neck, bridge, and springs, I can't get the strings to stay in complete tune. Because the unit tunes all your strings while in the D, by switching (or engaging the D-Tuna switch) to the E, at least two of the 6 strings tend to sound a little sharp. This may not be true for everyone, folks. It may just be that I need to spend a bit more time readjusting my tremolo boots to get better intonations. Maybe that will do the trick? who knows.But, for what it does, it's a great item. I wouldn't switch it to standard tuning for recording though because of the slightly flat notes in the two strings. I'll like use my standard LP.
Sound
Loss of mid-bass frequency - thereby, causes the low E to sound slightly thin.
Features
simple push/pull. great invention. Functions as it should.
Ease of Use
Easy to engage and disengage from E to D (visa versa).
Quality
so far it seems well made. But we'll see about that by this time next year or two.
Value
Great price,.
Manufacturer Support
have not needed yet.
The Wow Factor
the WOW factor? Well, one word. Awesome (overall), but I gave only 3 stars under sound because it does filter out the thick mid-bass I kinda want to hear in my E string...so this kinda drop in sound quality for me.
Musical Background:
30 years experience musician - lots of stage and studio time
Musical Style:
Metal, progressive, classic rock
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2019 by lawrence breiden in Green Lane, PA
"JUNK!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Doesn't work! Can't get it to tune properly. It will only tune either D to Eb or D# to E.Also the included "instructions" are totally worthless.Unfortunately it's non-returnable so it's going right in the trash!
Musical Style:
everything
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 4, 2020 by Walt Milancuk in Chardon, OH
"So far it sucks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received my D Tina watched many videos just to be on the safe side, seems easy enough. I get it all put together and I can't get it to tune, the d tuna goes into the body of my guitar when trying to adjust the E. I just spent 43 dollars on something that is non returnable and doesn't work. EVH sure knows how to rob people.
Musical Style:
All kinds
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Use your tuner or a fork and save your money."
Sound
It does nothing more than drops the low E string into D. It does not set up the other five strings. You still have to tune the rest of the strings as normal. Your tuner, a piano, or a plain old five dollar tuning fork can do the same thing. My point is this; If it dropped the tuning of all six strings with a single click it would be awesome. Since it only does low E and you have to tune the rest of the strings as normal, you can save yourself some money by using a tuner (if you have one), or a plain old tuning fork.
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Metal
5 of 196 people (3%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2008
EVH Drop-D Tuning System Customer Review
If you need it you need it. That's it. If you don't need it, I wouldn't get it 'just for fun'.
Features
If you have your bridge blocked and set up right, it works as advertised.
Ease of Use
It's very convenient on stage, but tuning is more annoying beforehand. I found that you can't really use the fine tuner on the low E anymore, so you need to keep your allen wrenches handy and use the tuning key on the headstock. I would also adjust it every couple weeks and make sure it's working right because the adjustment seemed to vary with the age of my strings. Finally, it did make using the trem a little bit stiffer because of the blocked bridge.
Quality
It's very solid. The chrome on mine got scratched on the face where it rubs on the trem but you can smooth it with some fine sandpaper.
Value
This is exactly what I would expect it to cost. Other companies make drop tuners that are similarly priced, though not for a Floyd (that I know of).
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2008
EVH Drop-D Tuning System Customer Review
Sound
first of all, the first person is an idiot..it is meant to put your guitar in drop D on the E string thats it! it works great, saves a lot of time
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2008
EVH Drop-D Tuning System Customer Review
This is a great thing to use if you need to drop D fast. That way you wont keep your audience waiting
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2006
"REVEIWER NUMBER ONE DOENSNT KNOW WHAT HES TALKIN ABOUT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
the first person who reviewed this is obviously dense drop D is when ONLY the low E string is lowered to D EADGBe => DADGBe (that way the root-5-octive or powerchord is a barr chord on the 4,5,6 strings) i find it hard to beleive that he plays "metal" and doesnt know what drop D is so yah on that note its a great product
31 of 32 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2006
"Great!!"
Ease of Use
GReat, unlike the previous reviewer (who is ignorant about how to use it) it works great, you have to block your trem system so it is a down only system, this is the only way it can be done, it is impossible to drop a string on a floating bridge without affecting the others.
38 of 39 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2006
"The D tuna: a fantastic product"
I first want to to start this review by saying i did not actually purchase a D tuna, it came equipped with my wolfgang. This is a fine way to drop your low e to d tuning in less than 5 secs. Which is perfect for any VH cover songs. It was designed with that in mind. Which would explain why it does not change the tuning of other strings. In the end the D tuna performs nicely and adds an easier way to achieve more sonic capabilties on your guitar.
Musical Background:
Active Muscian
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, anything thats got balls and inspired
24 of 53 people (45%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to