Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
EVH Eddie Van Halen Striped Series Electric Guitar

EVH Eddie Van Halen Striped Series Electric Guitar

Each Striped Series guitar is modeled after one of Eddie Van Halen's homemade masterpieces -- with an EVH locking tremolo and D-Tuna for easy drop D tuning.

Overall User Ratings (based on 23 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(23)
Submitted April 24, 2020 by Corey Blanks in Cleveland, OH
"EVH Striped Series, White and Black"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I approached this guitar with the same expectations I would have had for any Mexican made Fender. MAN, was I wrong! I ordered it as a second to my Gibson SG Standard. I wanted something a bit more Shreddy and I figured it would be a guitar I played sparingly when I had the urge to rip an 80's hard rock solo. Beyond that, it would make a pretty accent piece. HOLY **** this thing blew me away.The finish is excellent, definitely a poly coat but it doesn't have that inch-thick clear coat that most Fender Strats seems to have. It feels thinner for sure.My neck was perfect, I see a fair amount of complaints towards the fret ends sticking out, but I got lucky I guess. It feels better than any American special or standard strat that I've played. It's more like a 60's slim profile Gibson but MUCH smoother thanks to the lack of finish. The fretboard is perfect for chording and flattens out nicely around the 12th fret.I didn't have any issues with intonation or the Floyd Rose positioning out of the box, however it came with 9 gauge strings which are too flimsy for me, especially tuned down a half step as it arrived. Swapping for 10's and intonation for standard tuning was a breeze. D-Tuna works perfectly. you just have to make sure the bridge rests on the body when not in use.Lastly, the pickup. I'm not even sure how to describe it. It's extremely hot but also perfectly articulate. Every note rings, harmonics jump off of the strings, there is no muddiness regardless of volume, and yet it isn't shrill or biting like a Dimarzio. The low friction volume pot feels very well built and I have no concerns about it wearing out. I don't know what magic they are using but this pick up cleans up without adding unwanted low end when rolled back.I was really expecting a sub-$1k import guitar to feel and sound like a sub-$1k import guitar. What I got was something far more versatile and of a higher quality than a lot of American Fender's I've played. It's not just a gimmick to sell that EVH paint job, this thing delivers in every way that counts.
22 of 22 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2020 by Iain M in Boston, MA
"Evh red white and black stripe"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So got my guitar today, the finish and neck looked amazing. I was very pleased with the way it looked as I had bought one that said it was blemished or something to that affect (didn’t notice any issues). Plugged it in and it sounded killer!! The only issue I had was that it didnt come with a hex key for the locking nut but a quick stop at ace solved that and the guys threw in a $25 gift certificate to make up for it when I called to ask what size allen wrench i needed. Great job guys!!
Musical Background:
30 years of playing music
Musical Style:
All styles
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2020 by William H in Rochester Hills, MI
"EVH guitars are awesome."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first EVH and after owning MANY guitars in the last 50 years of my life and most of them in the last 5 years I will say this. This EVH 5150 is one of the best guitars I have ever played. It's very comfortable to play, it stays in tune like a champ, the paint work is incredible and flawless, sound quality is incredible, the EVH D-Tuna Floyd Rose is the best. And well it's a fricking Eddie Van Halen guitar!! What more can I say??
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 38 years on guitar and bass. Played in bands in the past but I jam at home now for fun.
Musical Style:
Hard rock and metal.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2017 by John F in Canton, GA
"Nice axe for the money...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is built by Fender in Mexico. The craftsmanship and component quality is much better than any of the Mexican Strats I have seen. I have 3 US Strats and this EVH ranks close in my opinion. I love the neck, it is quite different than a strat neck, less radius on the fretboard and the profile is more of a U shape. It is unfinished which I like better than even the satin finished ones. I saw some complaints with the fretwork, mine is no different than any of my US strats. The EVH humbucker is awesome, great sustain yet articulate. If you are looking for versatility buy a strat. If you want a hard rock distortion machine this is a great choice.
Musical Background:
Guitar hobbyist, been playing a little over 30 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues and metal
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2017 by shawn caudill in georgetown, KY
"evh red black white "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely amazing right out of the box. The guitar comes ready to play, the feel in your hands the tone the way the fret board feels while you play is unmatched. I've played high end Gibson's and Fender's wouldn't take either one for my evh. To some it may be a little plain with one pick up and tone knob but trust me that's all you need.. Any true evh fan will love and greatly appreciate this guitar hands down i promise you will not be disappointed. And zZounds.com is an amazing place to work with on making your dream guitar come true
Musical Background:
jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock/ metal
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2017 by Jim George in utica, NY
"EVH Striped Series Guitar Red White & Black"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The guitar looks & sounds incredible. The action on the neck is amazing. Naturally it needed to be set up but I am 100% satisfied with this purchase!
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for about 35 years. I played professionally at one time, touring threw Italy, Switzerland & that area
Musical Style:
I love to play Rock, Hard Rock & Metal. I'll play anything actually except that hip hop crap.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2018 by Michael A in Potlatch, ID
"Nice guitar, Needs some setup and a little fret finishing work"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As I have seen with some other reviews, the fret edges are sharp and require some finishing. This being an unfinished neck that was no problem! Some 1000 grip wet/dry sandpaper and about a half an hour to mask the body and sand the edge of the fretboard and frets. If this was a finished neck that would be a different story! The Floyd Rose: FR came adjusted as advertised with the D-Tuna and resting against the body. I removed the D-Tuna(extra hardware was included to convert the FR back to standard setup without D-Tuna) , adjusted the spring tension to allow the FR to float(FR had plenty of clearance, it was simply pulled at a back angle against the body). Interestingly the intonations were not set at all, they were all in a straight line and had not been adjusted in any way! I set these myself anyway as factory setup is usually close but rarely spot on.Now it's ready to play! End result was awesome!! Quality of the wood and fret leveling is excellent, plays fantastic! Pickup is better than average and sounds good, no need to change it. Body is light(I have the black/yellow version), neck is unfinished and more rounded than a strat neck. This is a great guitar with good hardware and plays wonderfully but be prepared to put a little work into it.. I have been looking for a strat with a Floyd Rose on it and this works perfect for what I was looking for!
Musical Background:
Playing way too long to admit and carbon-date myself! Strings. Mostly hobby at home anymore.
Musical Style:
Blues, metal, rock, attempting slide and classical/acoustic
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Very cool lots of mojo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I waited six months on back order to get this guitar and let me tell you it was worth it. The guitars finish is amazing I ordered the black and white striped because it reminded me of his 78 eruption guitar. The wolf gang pickup is pretty cool. It is hot but cleans up nicely when you roll the volume back. The Floyd rose stays in tune well and isn’t clunky like some non Floyd branded bridges do. Now let’s talk about the piéce de résistance the neck. I’m mostly a Gibson /epiphone fan only owning one fender guitar with a vintage style neck that I hate. This guitars neck is not like an ordinary fender. There is not a lick of finish on it. The board is wide but thin and very very fast. I am thoroughly impressed and enjoy this guitar.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2018 by Thomas B in Houston, TX
"Not Disappointed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unboxed this bad boy yesterday. First impression, the finish is KILLER. The neck is smooth and fast. The frets are fat, just the way i like em. Had to do some set up. Adjusted the saddles on the bridge to get it to intonate correctly, and had to loosen the spring tension on the bridge to make the vibrato smoother and easier to use. The pick up isnt as powerful as the EVH Frankenstein pick up, but if you crank up the pre gain a bit, this thing roars. Nice edgy tone. In clean mode it is super punchy, like a strat on steroids. You cant go wrong with this AXE. Made in the same factory as the Mexico Fenders, the fit and finish are of great quality........
Musical Background:
self taught, 1st guitar bought from a pawnshop in 1980. played rhythm and lead guitars in a two piece band.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, rock-a-billy, alternative rock.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 15, 2019 by Tom Kennedy in Roseville, MI
"EVH Striped Electric guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love the simplicity of this well built guitar.With just one tone control knob it's ready for flat out jamming. I like the fact that it's built by Fender. It has a great tone and excellent playability.
Musical Background:
30 year guitar acoustic and electric, home studio one daw
Musical Style:
rock, blues, heavy metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2014 by scott s in baldwinsville, NY
"THE BROWN SOUND"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
simply put this guitar has one purpose to rock period it plays and sounds exactly like it should many reviews have mentioned frets sticking out and poor fretwork when i received mine the frets did protrude a little but after about a week the wood expanded and it is as smooth as can be very playable almost as if the wood expansion was accounted for during the build
Musical Background:
playing for ten years played every thing from 100 dollar samicks to 5000 dollar les pauls and this guitar is worth it
Musical Style:
rock
14 of 16 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2018 by Carrie G in San Antonio , TX
"5150 Replica "
What an awesome guitar this one is. It's hot EVH Wolfgang pick compares to a mellow JB. Nice playablity and a real screamer.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2013 by Patrick M in Clinton, MA
"EVH Red Striped Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I opened the box, took the packing off, tuned it up and was ready to go. Everything was in perfect order and the guitar is amazing. The pickup sounds great and delivers great balanced tones. The action was perfect for me. I haven't deployed the D-Tuner yet as I have just been so thrilled with everything else. I do have to admit that after a little while I did get distracted while playing at the paint job. It is so cool to look down and seeing what Eddie saw all those years on tour and in the studio.
Musical Background:
Approx 30 years of playing in bands and jamming at home.
Musical Style:
Rock / Top 40
19 of 23 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2016 by James D in COLCORD, OK
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Perfect right out of the box. Was even setup for E-flat tuning. Like you would expect, the neck was built for speed and the Wolfgang pickup has enough crunch for any type of music. Definitely nails the brown sound. The single volume knob provides some interesting tonal properties. Historically, I'm a Les Paul player who ends up with back/shoulder pain. This guitar is much lighter comparatively. No problems with the frets as a couple of other reviewers have stated.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 40 years. Professionally for 30.
Musical Style:
Hard rock/Classic Rock/Metal
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 23, 2013 by Blake K in Ste. Genevieve, MO
"Bumble Bee"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got the guitar today. I had to make a couple changes to the action. A few tweaks here and there she was ready to go. I will note the fret work stinks and the ends of the frets are a bit sharp and the Floyd was stiff and clunky feeling. My tech will take care of that. Also I am not a fan of the D Tuna. Prolly never use it much. After some basic tweaks I plugged it into my Plexi Clone and was blown away! The tone from the pickup is very responsive and clean sounding. All notes ring out with out muddiness. The neck took an hour or so to get used to. The neck is a little chunky on top them thins out to the 22 fret. If you like Ibanez or Jackson necks it will take some time to get used to this one. Now for the single volume knob. This pot is very fast and smooth feeling. Roll back the volume and you get a tone close to a neck pickup. Nice and warm no ice pick tones here. Things I do not like about the guitar. Fret work stinks and at this price point the setup should have been better. The tuners are no better than what you get on a standard mexi strat. The fine tuner for the low e sting adjustment is limited due to the D tuna. I wish the guitar was not done in Poly. The rattle can replicas look more real. The price is a bit high for what your getting. Hate to say it but this guitar has that cheap chinese knock off guitar feel. What I like about the guitar. The raw wood feel of the neck. The pickup is killer The volume pot is the best I have owned and used The over all tone of this guitar clean and dirty is killer.
Musical Background:
playing on and off for 39 years
Musical Style:
80's Hair Metal and 80's Alt.
19 of 28 people (68%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2014 by Scott D in Searcy, AR
"Great!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Experience with ZZounds was perfect. Got guitar in 2 days. Perfect condition and sounds fantastic
Musical Background:
Jam at hom
Musical Style:
Rock
5 of 8 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2014 by Justin M in Moses Lake, WA
"EVH Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The frets were not filed down. it kind of hurts to play the guitar. I couldn't send the guitar back because zZounds sent the guitar in the case I ordered to fit the guitar so there was no box. I'm going to have to pay the local music shop to do the work for me which will cost me $200 to $300 to have it done. I figured paying $899 I was going to get a guitar that was playable. I didn't. VERY disappointed.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 30 years
Musical Style:
Country and Rock
21 of 29 people (72%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2014 by ben c in pittsburgh, PA
"great service not so great product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
simply put this is a $400 guitar for $900. i expected for this price that i wouldve gotten a product that at least matched the ibanez, schecter or esp/ltd's that i own as well as epiphone. but it was not even that quality. neck has terrible fret work and was cutting up my fingers. wont even play it until i take it to a shop to have that taken care of. its a novelty guitar, if you buy it, buy it for that reason knowing that you will probably have a bit of work to do to it first. sound is fine, sounds much like my rg series ibanez. not a floating tremelo so had to set that up myself. buy this guitar because you like the paint job and maybe the d-tuna, otherwise buy a much nicer schecter or ibanez. you'll get way more bang for the buck. i bought this for the evh factor and looked like a fun guitar to own, but i expected better quality for the price.
Musical Background:
20+ years semi-professional live and studio
Musical Style:
rock, hard rock, pop, top-40, ska...
21 of 31 people (68%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2016 by a customer from hotmail.com
"EVH Guitar Red with stripes"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the box Awesome looks and sound and I couldn't be happier I play now more than ever!
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 17, 2014 by Robert W in Grand Rapids, MI
"EVH Striped Series - Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar came setup almost perfect. I had to shave down a screw for the locking nut, because it stuck up just a little too far to lock down the G & B string so the whammy would throw them out of tune. Once this slight adjustment was made, you can whammy the shit out of this thing and it stays perfectly in tune.This is the best guitar I have ever had so far, I mean the intonation is perfect. I can play anywhere on the neck pushing down on the strings and I am perfectly in tune. I have heavy fingers too and it sounds great no matter where I'm at. The pickup sounds great, and on my tube amp after backing down, it cleans up really nice. It cleans up even better than my Les Paul does. You then put the volume back on 10 and it screams to high heaven.If you like using a Floyd Rose and have always had problems with guitars not staying in tune, especially when you want to go drop D, this is your guitar. I can use the D-Tuna to go to Drop D quickly where it is still perfectly in tune, and then back to E without being out of tune at all as well as whammy the shit out of it and it is still perfectly in tune. The tone is great, very smooth and versitile backing down on the volume to clean it up or give it a nice slight crunch, this guitar is amazing for sure.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for over 30 years, mostly playing for just myself now, but will be getting into a band sometime soon.
Musical Style:
I play mostly hard rock, but like to do a little rockabilly here and there as well.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2014 by Robert W in Hamilton, MI
"EVH Striped Is A Great Buy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is a lot nicer than I expected. I have had quite a few guitars over the years and I find this guitar to be top notch. The guitar stays perfectly in tune, whether dive bombing, or going to Drop-D and Back to E, it is still perfectly in tune. The neck has a really nice profile, it is so easy to move up and down the neck as well as anywhere I put my fingers, the intonation is perfect. A Gibson Les Paul is not forgiving if you have heavy fingers, this guitar keeps in perfect pitch no matter where I'm playing. I really like the tone of the Wolfgang pickup, it could use a little more bottom end I think, but maybe I just need to play with my amp/effects a little more. You can have your tube amp with some nice gain to it, then just drop the guitar volume down and it cleans up really well which I'm very happy about. I back down the volume on my Gibson LP with BBPro's and it does not clean up as well as the Wolfgang Pickup. The more I play the guitar, the more I like it and would recommend this guitar to anyone who is even remotely thinking about picking up one of these. You won't regret it! :)
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for over 30 years. I just play for myself mostly, but will be starting a band in the near future.
Musical Style:
I play mostly 80's hard rock, but like the new Metal/Hard Rock as well.
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2018 by christopher perry in spring creek, NV
"EVH 5150 guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a 5150 EVH guitar and put a FU-tone total upgrade & loved it but I also bought another 5150 EVH guitar . this one I am going to leave stock . It resonates just fine , the first one went right into tune , and was easy to upgrade and keep in tune , however it needs a shim put in the nut at the headstock , but a lot of guitars get a shim job . but this second one does not require a shim or any adjustments , the harmonics chime and this wolfgang pick up is crunchy and it cleans up nicely when ya roll back the volume, but I've been building 5150 guitar kits for five years and playing guitar for 33 years and I rate my first one a 93 and my second one a 95 ,out of 100 and trust me I scrutinized the hell out of these guitars , and playing wise the neck is smooth and fast and full sized . the guitars are beautiful and fun to play and yes I gigged with my first one and the crowd response was cool. I had to let a total stranger play it for a min.
Musical Background:
playing guitar for 33 years
Musical Style:
blues rock heavy metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2018 by christopher perry in spring creek, NV
"evh 5150 striped guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hey this is a FUN guitar . the Neck is the coolest part , SMOOTH . at first I thought it was a little too chunky and Wide . it was nowhere near in tune . I don't think it is intonated. I threw a quick Floyd rose pro tune job on it and plugged into my dual 100w EVH 5150 lll halfstacks . I had the most FUN , I've ever had and the action is Low and she stayed in tune . I'm planning on doin a FU tone upgrade , but debating on whether or not it needs it . EDDIE JOB WELL DONE
Musical Background:
I've played over a 1,000 gigs
Musical Style:
BLUES . ROCK . HEAVY METAL MELODIC METAL psychedelic rock progressive rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to