EVH Eddie Van Halen Striped Series Frankie Red White Black Relic Electric Guitar

EVH Eddie Van Halen Striped Series Frankie Red White Black Relic Electric Guitar

Based on Eddie Van Halen's iconic Frankenstein guitar, the EVH Striped Series Frankie is loaded with a directly mounted Wolfgang humbucker and a D-Tuna.

Overall User Ratings (based on 6 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(6)
Submitted June 1, 2020 by James Bradley in Jacksonville, FL
"I Got Mine"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pre ordered mid February just hit the door last night..was the only review here I promised I would review again when received and played.. It was great out of the box although I will adjust the string height down.. Still good action very playable and the intonation it's fantastic.. Tremolo mounted straight to the body per Eddie Van Halen's specs and it plays very well and stays at tune even with the strings that it was shipped with... Played thru Marshall DSL 100EVH DistortionEVH PhaseBrown sound coming thru So very easy to get IT to squeal..Frankie's distress looks and feels very authentic.. Much more realistic than I expected.. Bottom line this icon of a look is now in my hands couldn't be happier ..convinced it will cause me to be more motivated to enjoy and play..
Musical Background:
5th plane nearly 50 years... played in garage bands all the way to orchestra styled performances..
Musical Style:
Rock Blues Gospel Funk
22 of 23 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2021 by Steve D in Elora, TN
"EVH Frankie Red White and Black Striped guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Placed my order for the EVH EVH Frankie Red White and Black striped guitar, Friday 7-30-21 and received it a day earlier than expected Tuesday 8-3-21. This guitar exceeds all expectations for the price. If you know how to properly set a Floyd Rose style temolo, which it tedious in it's own right, it will consistently stay in tune after excessive abuse. The EVH Wolfgang pickup brings out the harmonics like you've never heard from any other pickup. I highly recommend this guitar for all Eddie Van Halen fans. You will not be disappointed!!!!
Musical Background:
35 years playing guitar 20 years professionally
Musical Style:
80' rock/metal, death metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2022 by Johnny T in Anderson, SC
"Wow! Pure magic!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
First off, this thing is incredible! I am blown away by the versatility of this guitar! The fit and finish is top notch! Hats off to the crew that put mine together. I have no idea how they make this thing look so old and new at the same time. The relic was perfect imo. I am not interested in a Frankie clone. I wanted something that would be a fitting tribute to the king! And it is. To everyone looking for a clone guitar… I don’t know what to say. To quote a movie, “There can be only one!”. We will never have another Eddie Van Halen and there will always be one and only one Frankie! That being said, this Frankie Relic is darn close to perfect! The neck on mine is more comfortable than my strat I’ve had for 18 years. Feels like an old friend from the start! The workmanship in the neck alone is something to be admired. No sharp fret ends, and all frets polished very well. The tint on the neck isn’t too dark, nor is it too light. It is exactly what I was looking for. The paint job is where this guitar differs from other “tribute” models. It is painted in the same order King Edward painted his. And is hand worn. Not EXACTLY like Ed’s. But, it is a perfect tribute. Very fitting. The hardware is of exceptional quality on mine. However, I do plan on upgrading the teem block in the future. Not needed, just preferred.The tone man, the TONE! I love playing this thing! It is now my number 1 guitar. I own a wolfgang special in polar white and I have owned the Peavey wolfgang special in black (1st production run from the Mississippi factory). I like this guitar better than the other two by far. The pickup absolutely SCREAMS when you need it to. And it cleans up really well when you roll the volume back. Perfection! The dynamics I get out of the pickup are awesome. The King was really on it! So glad I got this guitar! It might just be mine. This is the only one I’ve played. But, all in all this is an awesome guitar and an exceptional value. This kind of attention to detail would cost you dearly from other comparable manufacturers. GO GET ONE! You won’t regret it.
Musical Background:
35 years playing. Professional player.
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues, gospel, R&B
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2021 by Danny K in Frisco, TX
"Frankie review"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received the guitar about 3 months after being on back order. Soooo pleasantly surprised!!! The relic truly is a relic. Felt completely broken in right out of the box. Only had to drop the action on the strings a little bit but it screamed all day that day. The feel and neck of this guitar is one of the best I have ever had. This is probably my 17th guitar I've had and my 6th EVH guitar.(Peavey W-gang 1997...Fender W-gang 2009... W-gang USA 2015...and 2 W-gang specials 2020/2021) I highly highly recommend it. Even looking into getting the neck pick up hooked up in it, that would be amazing! Reminds me of my 1997 and 2009 W-Gangers but without the neck pick up. Those 2 guitars screamed as well!!! This Frankie is awesome and super slinky to play the tremolo system is nuts..Hope this review helps.. D Kaz
Musical Background:
Rock and blues guitar
Musical Style:
Rock and blues guitar.. I'm an 80's kid, go figure...
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 5, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"RELIC problems"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Guitar looks cool till you really inspect the "Relic" job, It looks like a child did it. In most ares it looks like someone got an ice pick and went to town on it and the got a sander and skipped around the whole perimeter. Looks stupid, not even close to a good relic job. SMH!! I'd pay $800 for something of this nature but would still have to relic it PROPERLY. :(
6 of 20 people (30%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2020 by James Bradley in JACKSONVILLE, FL
"Frankie relic rocks"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I cannot comment on the authenticity of the guitar in my hand or the playability since I have not received it.not sure if they'll even post my review but I wanted to be the first to review the concept and I have pre-ordered it and can't wait..I almost purchased the striped series guitars since I do love the look but they weren't close enough and I didn't want to attempt to mod.I recently became fascinated again with the concept that a guitar would come out that was affordable and lo and behold it's been released as a pre-order and I didn't know it until yesterday.From what I see in the demonstrations and then NAMN videos and the likeness of the reproduction that's been done I'm just excited once I get my hands on it will tell you about the playability..
Musical Background:
40 + years playing guitar and multiple other instruments
Musical Style:
Rock and roll blues country gospel
7 of 27 people (26%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.