EVH Eddie Van Halen Wolfgang Special Electric Guitar

EVH Eddie Van Halen Wolfgang Special Electric Guitar

Shred like Ed on this very special Wolfgang guitar -- with a carved top, a speedy maple neck, EVH Wolfgang pickups, and an EVH D-Tuna on the Floyd Rose trem.

Overall User Ratings (based on 33 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(33)
Submitted March 20, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"So good, I had to buy a second one."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's everything you'd expect from a guitar designed and tested by a legendary musician, who should be considered in the same breath as Les Paul. The guitar performs just as you would think it would, considering it's designer. It has nothing obtrusive or ancillary, but has all the bells and whistles you'd expect from an instrument of its caliber. The fit and finish are exceptional (the Miami Blue looks stunning in the matching headstock paint). The neck is the smoothest and most perfectly balanced I've ever played. The body is just heavy enough to make the neck tilt upward: perfect for the two handed tapping that made its innovator famous. It has all the best qualities of the Gibson Les Paul and the Fender Stratocaster, both which Ed loved, but could never fully reconcile without making modifications to them to fit his preferences. It is a long standing, timeless and classic design that will ensure for many years to come, and a great guitar for beginners and professionals alike. I only regret that I am unable to find the striped model, but this one is a perfect addition to my growing collection. I cannot recommend the brand enough. Looking forward to adding even more to my gear collection. The one I ordered had a totally slack truss rod: perhaps an oversight at the factory (or somet new thing done intentionally for shipping?). I had to tighten the truss rod quite a bit to bring some relief to the neck: it had an upward bow, causing the low E string to lay on the first 2 frets. I corrected the problem, and now the E string sings perfectly.
26 of 26 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 8, 2020 by Aaron H in Evans, GA
"Slickest electric guitar I have ever owned"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received mine back in April 2019... Hands down, fit and finish-everything flawless. It is the slickest guitar I have ever owned. Love the fact that with all the variants from different companies over the years, Eddie has changed very little over all with his design, save for some wonderful upgrades to the components. It is like having the best of the Gibson Les Paul, and the Fender Stratocaster, all rolled into one. I cannot say enough positive about it. I will definitely purchase a few more for myself. I loved the special model so much, I went out and bought one of the standard models for my oldest. Truly some of the best guitars out there.
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2021 by Clayton T
"Freaking phenomenal!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Seriously a perfect guitar in every way. Quality and craftsmanship is even better than I could have hoped for "oh, and did I mention that the one I bought is a blemished?" The neck, the pups, the FR, and electronics are of absolute highest quality no exaggeration here at all. If I didn't know for sure that this beast was made south of the border you wouldn't be able to convince me that she's not an American or Japanese made. As far as playability, she's FAST and Comfortable. Exactly what you would expect being a creation of the master of rock guitar. Also equally impressive is TONE Yes she rocks. Now for you country rockers out there..... YES! She is more than capable of getting those tones as well heck she cleans up so well you could play jazz and classical. Don't let the EVH stereotype influence you believe me when I tell you that the Wolfgang Special is great in any arena or venue you need the best guitar sound possible for. I own a WG standard as well and for the money I would say it's worth every penny but it's definitely more suited for hard rock. My next purchase from zZounds will be the striped 5150 and will definitely let you guys know what I think after we get together. In case anybody is wondering I also use a EVH 5150iii 6L6 50watt 2×12 combo.
Musical Style:
I'm a serious hobbyist striving to acquire the best possible tones a guitar is capable of producing
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2020 by Gary C in Mt. Juliet, TN
"Love these guitars!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my 4th Wolfgang and 3rd EVH model (1st was a Peavey) and I love them. It was set up great right out of the box and the finish was perfect. Very versatile guitar and I have no complaints.
Musical Background:
30+ years
Musical Style:
Metal, rock, blues
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2016 by Kris Bloom in Nampa, ID
"SOOO worth the $$"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own several EVH guitars. The stealth with the ebony fingerboard is just stunning. Plays like a dream and feel great! Looks awesome.. better than pics..
Musical Style:
Rock... AC/DC, Van Halen, Def Leppard, Metallica etc
36 of 37 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2021 by John Riffle in Loganville, GA
"Extremely satisfied"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had a Peavey Wolfgang around 2003 and always regretted selling it. I don’t regret it anymore. Purchased the stealth color. This guitar is everything you read about. A cross between a Les Paul and a Strat. I absolutely love my Custom Les Paul but this guitar is a quarter of the price. The EVH Wolfgang feels almost perfect in my hand. Everyone has their own taste. I prefer the 60’s slim taper on my Les Paul’s and there’s just something extra special about this neck. Sound is amazing, feel is amazing. Feels like butter going up and down the neck. Only issue i am having is slide guitar. I play a lot of slide and i just tried the EVH briefly and really had to concentrate on pressing down harder than i normally do but that’s ok i can use my Les Paul if i have to for those songs. Highly recommend this Wolfgang especially for the price!
Musical Background:
Over 40 years experience playing guitar
Musical Style:
Any and everything
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com in Palm Coast, FL
"This Thing Rocks!!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is one of the best feeling guitars I've ever held. The neck is super smooth and fast, and the action is amazing. I love the D-Tuna feature. It does require some fine tuning, but a huge time saver when throwing in a dropped D tune here and there. When I say this guitar never goes out of tune, I mean IT NEVER goes out of tune. It's a head turner as well. It bought the tobacco sunbust, and it is georgeous. The pickups are a little too thin for me, but if your handy with the EQ, it's an easy fix. I use it primarily with my Roland GR-55 and it is amazing. The guitar rocks. Worth every penny to me. The fact that zZounds payment program makes it so easy, it was a no-brainer.
Musical Background:
Active Musician 35+ Years
Musical Style:
Rock, Dance, Poppish Rock
30 of 31 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2019 by Charles W in Cushing, OK
"Great guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought the new cherry burst paid extra for next day shipping arrived early great packing job and guitar was in perfect condition zZounds rocks easy guitar to play and the pickups rock
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 3, 2015 by ERNESTO F in miami, FL
"AWESOME, JUST SIMPLY AWESOME!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received this incredible guitar this week and playing it everyday! I've been playing guitar for more than 20 years on USA Strats, Gibson Les Pauls, Charvel's, ESP, PRS, just to name a few and all great guitars, but this EVH Wolfgang Special is outstanding!. The finish is impeccable, the overall quality is perfect for MIM. I was worried about the quality and they are very well built. I see why they are constantly on short of supply. Demand is high. All I did was lower the action to my liking, pluggd it to a Eganter Renegbade that I also purchased through Zzounds, set my settings and played for hours. Later played through a Mesa Boogie and Marshall and real nice sounds from all amps. Very diversified guitar for all styles of music. Clean channel sounds sweet. Roll down the volume and cleans up real nice when adding some fuzz/distortion. Guitar is a true screamer with great harmonics, easy bends, tight feel on the neck for very easy playability. The D drop tuner works like a charm. Even though I hardly use that, but nice to have when I need it. I honestly give this guitar a true 10 on a 10 scale. Very impressed with this guitar. They come with EVH strings and are pretty damn good. I use Ernie Ball Pure Nickel. Go ahead and buy it. I got the Tobacco Sunburst and just beautiful yet a rocking look.
Musical Background:
25 years, guitar, bass, drums, play guitar for a band Radio Stereo in Miami
Musical Style:
rock, pop, funk, blues, reggae, Latin
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2016 by Luke F in Borger, TX
"EVH WOLFGANG STEALTH SPECIAL"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered a blemish and saved 200 or so dollars. When it came in I went over it and was unable to find anything wrong with it. Guitar plays and sounds better than my 2004 PRS CE24 so yeah I am more than satisfied with this guitar! It came setup just the way I like it straight out of the box. Floyd rose stays truly in tune better than any other floyd rose that I have owned and tuning was easier than most floyd roses. High quality built instrument.
Musical Background:
23 years playing guitar. Gigging in a band for 8 years
Musical Style:
Rock, alternative rock, hard rock, blues, pop rock, classic rock.
22 of 23 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2016 by J.R. C in Corpus Christi , TX
"incredible!!! "
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got the guitar yesterday Vintage White (aside from the little Dtuna issue I am having) the guitar is incredible my feeling while playing the guitar I feel like a Les Paul and a Strat hooked up and this is the end result. Guitar was set up well no complaints. Thank you zZounds!!!!
Musical Background:
Been playing since was 13 I am 46 Guitar, Bass
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com in Sacramento, CA
"Good guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've not played in years but started to again recently. Bought an amp, Boss gt100 and this guitar. The finish is great, I got the vintage sunburst model. The pickups sound good too. Very easy to play and fun to play once you set it up properly. The stability of the bridge is great, definitely stays in tune. The bad side, mine came with a couple issues. The selector switch has a short in it. Very annoying. Even at a grand, it should have better quality control. Also, the tone knob is very stiff. Volume is incredibly smooth, but the tone knobis very stiff and raised from the body too much. Setup was awful. That's not surprising, but a better setup out of the box would've been nice. It sounds like a Wolfgang. It has a lot of versatility to it. Without the issues, all tens. Mine could've just missed a little QC. I still love it.
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2016 by Michael Keiling in Rochester, NY
"Glad I Did It"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best Guitar I have ever owned. Highest quality sound, finish and attention to detail . came set up from the factory right out if the box. Amazing neck. Incredible pick ups. EVH Floyd Rose with D-tuna never goes out of tune works perfect every time. I currently own a EVH striped series guitar that is s great guitar as well but the Wolfgang Special is definitely a better made, better quality guitar. Buy one you will be glad you did. I'm keeping this one forever!!
Musical Background:
35 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, hard rock. acoustic, Christian Rock
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2019 by Johnny T in Anderson, SC
"Great guitar!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got the polar white Wolfe for my anniversary. I pulled it out of the box. Tuned it. And played it for about 3 hours. Packed it up, and played it at church for about 400 people. It does way more than rock. It is a very versatile guitar with a great range of tones. I’m very happy! Used to own the USA made Peavey Wolfgang special in black. This is on par with that guitar and then some. I love the arched top too! My only complaint was in the bridge pickup, there were 2 screws that were not screwed in all the way like the rest. And by that, I mean that two of the screw heads were almost even with the arched top. Not a huge deal, just never bought a new guitar with that issue. Other than that, a great guitar!
Musical Background:
Semi-pro player
Musical Style:
Praise and worship, urban worship, rock, blues
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2021 by a customer from hotmail.com
"My piece of rock culture"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was pretty determined to get my Wolfie Special, mainly as an ode to one of music's great icons & innovators. Also somewhat out of urgency, as I sense this line may be coming to an end not far down the road. I got the Ivory/ebony fretboard, emulating one of Eddie's two primary stage axes, and paired it with a Factory EVH TSA latch hardcase (purchased elsewhere), complete with asymmetric Eddie stripe motif. If you have a Wolfie, you know they're a different bird. Compact in size and feel, it may (like me) have you asking "where's the rest of it?" , as it feels like it's about two inches short in either direction. It is an acquired taste, especially if you're used to playing a, say, Les Paul. I got mine in a slightly uncharacteristically weighty (for a Basswood body) 8+ pounds, which I am thankful for, as I can't tolerate light guitars; less weight=less tone/less resonance. As with any Floyd-equipped guitar, it'll need some good Floyd set-up & tuning. Been lucky to date with fretwork on new guitars, but my luck ran out slightly with this one, with several *very mildly* prickly fret ends on both sides. My Indonesian Wolfie standard had no issues like that. Despite that minor inconvenience, the balance of the guitar is very sound. My mission is accomplished!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2016 by Rod Gosser in Seattle, WA
"AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered the EVH Wolfgang Stealth Mexico model half expecting it to not have all of the features that I wanted, i.e. carved top, etc. But when it arrived and I pulled it out of the box, MAGIC!!!! This guitar is superb. The Wolfgangs are amazing guitars as is, and this one I bought as a starting point to build my own version on the EVH 2015 Tour Relic Guitar, and it is so beautiful I will have to order another one just to have a regular Stealth model. Free three day shipping, easy payments, incredible product (although not the USA model, the Mexico version I got is still superb), zounds.com will have a lot of business from me in the future. Highly Recommended!!! The only thing I had to do was unwrap it, and set up the Floyd Rose, Intonation, and set the action how I wanted. I do that all myself so that was no biggie.
Musical Background:
20+ year guitarist
Musical Style:
ROCK
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2021 by Wesley C in Estill Springs, TN
"Well Made Hot Rod"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve been wanting one of these for a long time because EVH was my musical hero growing up in the 1980s. I finally ordered the quilted maple top in charcoal burst and it arrived a couple of days ago. The guitar is flawless and plays like a dream. It was setup pretty well right out of the box, but the intonation needed to be set. No big deal. The neck is one of the most comfortable necks I’ve ever played on. I’m going to get the frets leveled and dressed to my liking, but there really is nothing wrong with them, but I like the tops a little bit flatter and the ends a little bit more smooth. The top is an extremely nice piece of quilted maple with a lot of depth. The bridge pickup can nail the EVH tone through the right amp, but I’m still trying to decide whether or not I like the neck pickup. It sounds good playing leads above about the 9th fret, but it’s a bit flubby on lower notes and double stops can be a bit messy/muddy.
Musical Background:
Since 1982
Musical Style:
Rock and Roll
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2015 by Jason P
"What I was looking for. "
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted a inexpensive guitar with two humbuckers and a Floyd Rose. Being a Jackson fan for many years before I went to Les Pauls'. I started off playing a few Jackson, Ibanez and then I played a few EVH Wolfgang USA/Japan models. I was impressed with the overall feel of the guitar. I just had to have one. Even though I've been playing since 1988 my skills are all that great and I couldn't justify a USA model and the Japanese models were flat tops. Which there is nothing wrong with the flat top. It wasn't what I wanted. I was glad when EVH(Fender) released a MIM arch top Wolfgang. I pre-ordered it and once I received it. Set up the guitar to my liking and played it for a good eight hours. The guitar is overall a good guitar. The fit, finish is good, plays great, sounds great, and sustains. The value of the guitar could be a little better. In my opinion it should be more aligned with other non-USA guitars in the value department. Again this is my opinion. Being a pickup winder and I was going wind a set for my Woflgang. I'm not as the pickups sound great and clear with high gain. I'm using a Tubemeister 18. ***I put 5 for MFR Support. This isn't true as I had to put something. I put 5 because I haven't used them.
Musical Background:
Jam at home for 25 years on Guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, or whatever I can learn
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2021 by a customer from GMAIL.COM
"I just can't believe how great this thing is"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I honestly did not buy evh guitars or even charvel guitars with floyds or anything for many years even though Edward was my favorite. I looked at all of them, and the price point, and I thought they look cool but I couldn't enjoy one because I thought they were cheap and I can't play as well as Ed or anyone really, thought I would be let down and disappointed but I finally said, Just try one. This guitar was 999. I believe that becuase of back orders it was just made a few weeks ago and out of the box it was perfect in every measurable way.I can't believe how good it feels in the hands, the feature set, and I swear I was wrong about these pickups.They just sound immense into my mesa tc 50 combo. SO easy to play and the tone is fantastic, it's worth more than 999 to me. I can't believe the fit and finish either, not one scratch or problem with the finish, just no faults. If you are on the fence, it can do so much and plays so well you will be surprised
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2015 by Mike C in Atlanta, GA
"Wolfgang Special"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I chose the black cherry burst and couldn't be happier! The guitar looks fantastic, feels fantastic, and plays incredibly well. The neck is its best attribute, as the back side is unfinished and not oiled down with anything. Feels great! I plan to buy another (natural finish).
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
Rock
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Ivory Wolfgang Special/Purchased OCT 2021"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First, I was impressed. It seems the quality coming out of Mexico on these Specials and standards continue to go up. The guitar looks amazing, the ebony fretboard is clean and really smooth.The color is great, and the cream colored binding makes it look really classy.The fit and finish...absolutely no complaints. It's certainly sturdy. The first thing I noticed when I picked up for the first time was how "sturdy" it felt. The neck is amazing.It plays really well, the pickups sound great. The frets are great.My only complaint is the pickup switch is still a bit snappy. It's not as smooth as it could be, so it could be replaced sometime. Definitely can pick up some noise on the switch between pickups if you don't guide it with your hand instead of flicking it.I'm certainly glad I bought another Special.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2015 by Robert Callahan in North Las Vegas. , NV
"This Wolfgang ROCKS!!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used to have a favorite guitar and now I have a new favorite and the EVH Wolfgang special is it. This guitar is phenomenal straight out of the box. The tone, neck. Tremolo. All. 5 stars plus. If you are looking for a new axe I highly recommend this baby.
Musical Background:
Playing since I was about thirteen.
Musical Style:
Rock, all!!
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Just do it"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Far and away the best non usa guitar I've ever played. I had wanted one for awhile to the point I was afraid it wouldn't live up to the expectations I had in my mind. It did and then some... and then some more. The pickups sound incredible. The neck is fast and smooth. Some guitars beg you play them a certain way and lend themselves nicely to a smaller group of styles whether you're playing lead or rhythm. This guitar begs you to play anyway you want. I have 3 guitars that cost more than this and none of them are as great as this one. Needed a setup for my liking out off the box. Small oversight on my part... not a free floating bridge.. only can dive in it... makes since with the d tuna... doesn't change my opinion about one bit. Best bang for the buck I've ever spent... if you're on the fence.. get off and just do it!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2021 by Dave M in Chicago, IL
"Great shredding guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unbelievably well-made smoothest neck I’ve ever played - great set up, sounds and plays like a dream. Eddie would be proud.
Musical Background:
Playing for 30 years
Musical Style:
All genres but mostly rock.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2022 by Lorenzo L in Las Vegas, NV
"I did the same thing first I bought a special then I bought a standard OMG"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wolfgang guitars is like having 2 guitars in one a gibson les paul and a fender Stratocaster the weight is perfect and the neck is smooth as a women's neck and whisper an screams even louder the Floyd' rose is spot on only bad thing is for a guitar at thst price should have a solf case gig bag . My one complaint..
Musical Background:
Been teaching an playing for 40 years
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues , Fusion , R&B , Instrumental atmospheric...
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2015 by Leon Snow in Los Angeles, CA
"EVH Guitar and Amp"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unbelievably awesome....bought EVH guitar and twin amp....best purchase I ever made...WOW Factor 10+ (not enough stars)....I bet Fender is kicking themselves for not coming out with this a long time ago....If you are thinking about buying these and don't...you made a BIG mistake....10 stars across the board (even though 5 is all that's offered)...I have no affiliation with any of these companies...JUST DO IT...you won't be sorry
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
All
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2020 by Todd Schaeffer in North ft myers, FL
"EVH Wolfgang special"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought an EVH Wolfgang special from zZounds and this guitar hands down is one of the best sounding,feeling and playing guitars I have ever played I am extremely happy with my EVH Wolfgang special it’s badass
Musical Background:
I play guitar for 35 years
Musical Style:
Rock/ metal
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"AMAZING in every way !!!!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I own over $70,000 in guitars " collector here " and i love both my special and USA version ,..Due to the feel and comfort , they are my go to guitars , actually the USA is my all time favorite in my collection.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2016 by Joseph D in Allen, TX
"Beware Les Paul players"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, so a I bought the EVH Wolfgang Special. Pulled it out of the box and it was absolutely gorgeous. It's a beautiful guitar. I loved the stealth black paint on the body and the neck was silky smooth. Here is my drawback: I'm a Les Paul player. I wasn't expecting it to feel like a Les Paul. I actually bought the guitar as a second guitar in case of string breaks, etc. I played the EVH at rehearsal the other night. The tone is superb on either pups. It cleans up very well by rolling the volume back. My only negative about this guitar is it just felt uncomfortable to play. That is only because I have solely played Les Pauls for years now. I am sending it back to order a Custom Lite Les Paul. ONLY because it just didn't suit my playing style. I didn't like that fact that the Floyd Rose can only dive bomb and you can't pull pack on the Tremolo bar because the FR sits on the body. Please, don't take my criticism of this guitar as the guitar is not a good guitar. The build is of high quality coming from Mexico. The neck is fast. But again, the only reason I don't like the guitar is because of how it felt to me personally. You may like how it feels. To each his own, right? Don't be afraid to buy the guitar. It's a quality made instrument! I didn't have any interaction with the factory but I gave it a 5 anyway. The only 3 star was ease of use because of how it felt, again.
Musical Background:
38 years as a performing guitar player
Musical Style:
80s Metal and Classic Rock
11 of 17 people (65%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2015 by Jason S in Bristow, VA
"EVH Eddie Van Halen Wolfgang Special"
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this guitar from Zounds and it arrived today. Guitar is very well made. Beautiful paint and just a stunning instrument. It is in need of a setup badly. I have a hard time believing that Fender would let this guitar out the door without setting it up. Now i have to spend another 200.00 to set it up correctly. Lots of string buzz. Floyd is different than what I expected but seams sturdy. Strings were rusty. Will need to change them now. Should not be the case with a 1000.00 instrument. Great looking guitar that i am sure will sound great once setup properly.
Musical Background:
3 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
15 of 25 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2017 by Carlo Cabrales in Milwauke, WI
"Very Disappointed"
Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Out of the box the guitar had a short in the pickup switch or wiring. the frets are terrible, they overhang the neck way to far, the high E constantly gets hung up when I'm playing. I have had this for over a year and never play it. I have a 400 dollar Jackson I bought from zZounds that plays 90% better than the Wolfgang. Love Eddie but this is not what I expected. Way overpriced...
Musical Background:
30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock
10 of 20 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2019 by charles wilbur in cushing, OK
"2nd review"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar thinking the specs were the same as the ones they use to make in japan I recently bought a used one that was made in japan the pickups on the japan and china are the same ones used in the usa wolfgang the tuners and neck r better on the japan and china one the one I bought from zZounds is made in mexico neck dose not have birds eye maple an the tuners are not the pearl ones it has a carved top is the only plus after a /b the pick ups thru a 5150 lbx you can tell a big difference wht fender r evh stopped putting the usa pickups in the special idk but the guitar is not as good as the ones they made over seas still a good guitar just not as good they dropped the ball on this lets hope they start making them like they use to
9 of 20 people (45%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Not so good"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
The fit and finish on this Mexican-made guitar is terrible! The cheaper Indonesian-made version I have is much much better. Fender should be ashamed of themselves for turning out product like this. The frets are not finished on either edge. They'll cut you if you're not careful. The binding on the lower bout is much wider than on the upper bout. The toggle switch is noisy, doesn't engage well, and is cheap feeling. The intonation setup on arrival was not only severely off on the lower strings, but required moving to the alternate saddle screw location on the Floyd bridge. I have other Mexican-made instruments as well. They are all substandard, but this one is the worst. Cannot recommend any Mexican-made Fender instruments.
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.