844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20D-XZVK
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: EVH Wolfgang FR

A budget-friendly entry in the Wolfgang series, the FR Standard still comes fully equipped with EVH Wolfgang pickups and a Floyd Rose Special tremolo.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Indonesian made with upgrades" submitted April 12, 2015

By Steve Morton in Valdosta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 51 years
Music Style: All kinds
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I added an EVH d-Tuna and a EVH Wolfgang bridge pickup. It's a great guitar !!! Buy one you won't be sorry. Don't let the "Made in Indonesia" scare you off. I have guitars made in Nasville,Memphis,Corona,Mexico,China,and Indonesia. The EVH standard will stay with all of them.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great!!!" submitted March 16, 2016

By Monte Briggs in been wod wide, SD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 plus years
Music Style: Everything that came down the pipe.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Well this a quality product. I've played everything by artists design. Gibson, fender, ibanez, Kramer etc. Don't let this fool you cause it's made outside the u.s. this is a very good guitar. Very well made. I didnt see or experience any of the negative things I've read. A beast of a guitar. I won't put it Down. A very true guitar. Very true. So comfortable and balanced on your body and hands. You can't go wrong with this guitar. Don't let the price fool you. Its a stand up guitar. I just didn't care for the knobs. Nothing to sneeze at though.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2016 (Transparent Blue) Wolfgang Standard" submitted May 22, 2016

By Chris M in West Salem, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing 11 years
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The finest guitar I have ever owned. The neck is pure butter. I am astounded by the diversity of the Wolfgang pickups.they can scream like a banshee or sing like a bird, and the sustain is forever. Out of the box the guitar was pretty much ready to go. I made only a minor truss rod adjustment and that was it! My playing improved instantly due to the incredible play-ability of this guitar. I cannot put it down.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ZZ Sounds and my EVH!" submitted March 23, 2015

By Mike M in santa Barbara, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Bass, drums
Music Style: ROCK!!!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First of all ZZsounds is the best music store on the planet!!! every customer service agent is really helpful and smart. As far as my EVH guitar well, It's absolutely amazing!!! Thank you all involved....Mike M.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful Guitar!" submitted March 9, 2017

By Tim O in Bronx, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years playing, pro.
Music Style: Country, rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had to return an Ibanez I purchased (truss rod issues) and wanted something with a very thin neck and super play-ability. I've been playing Les Pauls and Tele's, And I'm not really a fan of Floyd Rose trems, but what the hell. The guitar came in perfect shape, and with just a tweak of the Floyd, the guitar lived up to it's name. Super nice neck, and hot but sweet pickups. It came set up with .009's ( I'm used to much heavier strings), and I'll probably keep .009's on it. Super fun, light and killer sound.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EVH Wolfgang FINALLY!!!" submitted October 12, 2017

By Carlos M in Stafford Springs, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro playing for 20+ years
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Blues, Jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: First I need to give credit to zZounds for being such a great company and for Jeff in customer service for being super helpful and friendly. The guitar is nothing short of incredible. The playability of the neck is amazing, the natural finish is perfect. No flaws whatsoever. I'm a Gibson and ESP player but this Wolfgang I have a feeling is going to be used quite a bit both live and at practice. Just ordered the EVH D Tuna for it. Next investment will be the EVH 2/12 cab with the EVH 5150 head and zZounds will be my go to. Don't hesitate on this guitar!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice Guitar" submitted January 12, 2017

By Monte Briggs in Martin, SD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Rock, metal and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This was a solid guitar. I've read reviews with fret buzz, but i never experienced that. It wasn't play it out the box ready. The pickups are adjusted from the box, but there was some fine tuning to adjust the neck and trem. when i was done, The guitar was rock solid and sounded awesome. The sound was much better than any other hum buckers.They clean up very well when the volume is turned down on the guitar. I'm pretty amazed for that much guitar in it's price range.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buying new gear made so easy!!" submitted July 12, 2015

By Brian B in Newark, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I currently play for One Pretty Minute, I'm 38 yrs old and been playing guitar since the 6 grade. I have a mess of different .
Music Style: Rock/metal/ and blues mostly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Always want new gear and feel the stuff you want is to far out of reach with high prices? Not to worry!! I always felt that way until I discovered zzounds. This company has solved that problem for every type of musician out there. With them I quickly learned that getting the gear I really want is possible. With their payment plans being so simple and easy getting my wolfgang was a dream come true. Service was so fast and top notch and I definitely recommend these guys no matter what you play. I had my guitar in about 4 days from purchase and the packaging was done very well to. I honestly couldn't ask for better service when getting what you want. Iv dealt with guitar shops for years and even have some really good friends that can get me about anything but unfortunately they will never be able to beat the price or turn time of zzounds. Can't wait to place my next order.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Eddie van halen wolfgang FR." submitted March 16, 2017

By Christopher Marriotti in Sharpsville, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 years . Epiphones, prof.
Music Style: Rock, metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased the blue one. Very nice smooth sounding guitar. Set back! This is not a free floating tremolo system. It only goes forward. No where does it say anything about that. Very disappointed about that, but ill live with it. Overall. 3 stars on the trem. 5 for the guitar itself. Shipping package was horrible but thank god no dents or scratches. Missing the Allen wrench that does it all.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not so good" submitted November 8, 2017

By Daniel S in Fairmont, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 37yr's Electric guitar, Played in a band in the 90's. But the music changed bars shut down or changed there format .
Music Style: Metal, Hard rock, 80's hairband music, And of course my own...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar manly for the tremolo bar witch would be my first. Sadly I could not get a good sound out of it.? I thought an EVH guitar would have been a great guitar since its a EVH guitar but it was not worth the money. I bought a Jackson for $300 and it sounds great on my amp on any setting! The whammy bar works great! Not like the EVH. Don't buy not worth the money!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20D-XZVK. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!