Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Evans Black Hydraulic Drumhead

Evans Black Drumhead

Built with a layer of oil in the middle, these 2-play drum heads deliver a big, fat, juicy sound with reduced sustain and hard attack -- perfect for rock.

Overall User Ratings (based on 45 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(45)
Submitted December 25, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing drum heads!"
Bass is a little tricky to get right but it could be just me.
Sound
Toms sound like thunder. Snare is perfect.
Features
Oil. OIL!
Ease of Use
You know how to install drum heads?
Quality
Durable plastic ply.
Value
Decent price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't yet tried it.
The Wow Factor
Sexy pitch black.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
All
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2014 by Jerome S in Lincoln, NE
"Evans Black Drumheads"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased a Tama Imperialstar 5 peice ready to rock kit, and after set up I thought I had made a huge mistake because of Tama's single ply heads and the ringing they produced. These drums really rang longer then I prefer to listen to. After calling custermer service and upon their advice of buying better heads I chose the Black Hydraulics and having 39 years of experience I will never give up the black heads. They sound amazing, look fantastic on my midnight blue kit, and are extremely durable. I love these heads.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 39 years, currently jamming at home, with freinds playing guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
I was 4 years old listening to Alice Cooper, so welcome to my nightmare, classic rock, metal, and heavy metal. nothing like a li
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Sound is Top quality w/o Dampening"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These Hydraulic heads from Evans are beautiful. I bought a PDP 20th Anniversary kit and wanted black heads and no dampening. The toms still bounce though tightened very loose. I do not have to dampen them at all...which is aesthetically great! I prefer a little resonance like "deep toms." These heads deliver that "deep tom" sound, without the annoying ring that requires dampening. I kept the stock reso's on my kit for now. However, if pairing new reso's with the Hydraulics, I would recommend thinner ply's to keep the resonance a little. However...however.... :) if you want a "dead thud"...then pair with thicker ply reso's. In conclusion, these heads are fun to play and would highly recommend.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 15, 2013 by Joshua S in FITZGERALD, GA
"best of evans"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All I have to say is TRY THESE HEADS. I would recommend tune these heads at a high tone and they will have a deeper sound than any other head and still loud enough for live concerts... I love them
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
hard rock, gospel, a little bit of classic rock, and very little country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
Evans Black Head Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
100% better than a regular plastic head. If you like to play rock and other banging genre related music I'd recommend these heads. They amazing for doing fills with just toms and snare alone! A tip I'd recommend to make these heads sound their best is to tune the tom at the best tightness for its size top and bottom-(if needed.
Features
The slick color and look of the oil how its not a flat black but a gloss black.
Quality
Yes I think my heads were made very well. when i placed my head on the shell of my tom it fit perfectly. I dont have any back up heads because I just dont need them these only heads can last me for a while. They hold really well I dont have to worry about them tearing a getting a hole in them.
Value
Yes these are definitly worth goin the extra few bucks
Manufacturer Support
I havent dealt with the comp. before but I have used their merchandise and thats what made me purchase Evans heads. I dont think i will need to deal with the company because my productis just so awsome I just cant complain about anything.
Musical Background:
band drummer
Musical Style:
rock/hard rock
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2015 by Richard Bengali
"awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased Evans blackheads for all my drums and let me tell you how awesome they look. The sound these heads brought out in my drums is amazing. Also the power is incredible. I play now and pictures and stuff fall off the walls in my studio. I am so glad I purchased these heads and will continue to buy the same ones forever. Just wish they made them in a 6 inch. You won't be disappointed with these heads.
Musical Background:
I've been playing drums a long time and love my practice and jam time.
Musical Style:
Hard rock. Heavy metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2011 by a customer from centurylink.net
"Beat Them for LIFE !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
being professional with Evans heads , i am not worried about busting a head while playing out... i hit hard and they can take any drum stick i use.
Sound
I have played other drum heads before. not one sounds as good or is responsive then the Evans hydraulic black heads. I play Christian Rock and classic and heavy rock. one of the most easiest head to tune. from install to playing in less then 10 minutes. The heads give a deep clean sound . Any one who has a drum set should use the Evans line. I even put on a reverse dot snare head . i was looking for a new snare for a deep sound , so i tried a new head first, glad i did. now i have a snare that sounds great. they are worth every dollar.
Quality
The Evans heads are made to last. the last set i owned , i had blue Evans hydraulic and they lasted 10 plus years and still sounded great. the black ones sound deep , professional all the way.
Value
you can't believe how great they sound until you try them. the band members are shocked how great they sound. price worth... my opinion.. nothing better
The Wow Factor
Black goes with any color...
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2008
Evans Black Head Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
this drum head sounds awesome on my snare definatly recomending it to all my friends
Features
no accesories needed
Ease of Use
easy just take of your old head put this one on and listin to the fat wet tone it gives off
Quality
this is the best made product i've ever used its gloss black finish looks nice on my set
Value
for 16 bucks.. the best price.. a steal
Manufacturer Support
never gonna use them
The Wow Factor
this head is sexy gloss black.. best head you could ever get and its only 6 dollars more
Musical Background:
active musician in a band called armaggeddon
Musical Style:
rock, metal
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to