Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
ESP LTD SCT-607B Stephen Carpenter Baritone Electric Guitar, 7-String (with Case)

ESP LTD SCT-607B Stephen Carpenter Baritone Electric Guitar, 7-String (with Case)

Evoke the distinctive, dissonant style of the Deftones with this baritone 7-string. A pair of multi-voiced Fishman Fluence SRC pickups set this axe on fire.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted January 29, 2014 by Jerry Griffin in Las Cruces, NM
"Out of box review! GREAT GUITAR"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar, fresh out of the box! beautiful! plays like a dream.
Sound
The sound is amazing. The EMG pickups offer a very tight and clear bass response and the high notes sing. When played through a clean channel the sound is very crisp, and the distorted channel is very clear and the notes come through very clearly.
Features
I love the locking ESP tuners and the Tone Pros bridge. I think the overall features are great!
Ease of Use
Plug this thing into any amp and it's sure to blow you away! the play-ability is very easy, although the action was a bit high for my taste, but that's an easy adjustment to make. I'm already a 7 string guitar player, so the switch was natural, but if you're going from a 6 string to this particular 7 string, the switch will be easy.
Quality
Very well built, solid construction. The neck thru is incredibly smooth. I feel like this guitar could take on a tank, its so solid.
Value
This product is well worth the money, especially with the Zzounds payment program! BUY IT.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with manufacture support.
The Wow Factor
HUGE wow factor. I don't see myself using any other guitar than this one!
Musical Background:
intermediate guitar player
Musical Style:
Metal/ death metal/ hardcore
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"Finally a 7 string I am happy with"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW
Sound
The EMG 81-7s are really brutal, but when it comes time to clean things up the tone is crisp and all there. The alder body really helps this guitar ring out chords and notes forever.
Features
The pickup configuration is my favorite of all the features. At first, I had problems with the middle pickup getting in the way but after about an hour of playing I adapted to it. I really enjoy the look of the middle/bridge configuration a lot as well, but the sound that comes from both pickups being on when playing cleans was everything I have been looking for.
Ease of Use
Going from a 6 to a 7 string was very easy. I didn't have to mess with anything, just plug and play.
Quality
The quality of this guitar is absolutely amazing. I plugged it in right out of the box and did not need to do anything to it. It came set up perfectly and the intonation was spot on, never had it go out of tune.
Value
For $1000 its everything i could have asked for
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with it!
The Wow Factor
When I first saw this guitar I knew I had to have it and when it came in the mail and I played it for a couple days, it was like Stephen Carpenter made this guitar just for me. It's perfect in every way and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a solid 7 string.
Musical Background:
Playing metal for years!
Musical Style:
metal, djent
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2014 by Anthony Jenkins in Twin Falls, ID
"My favorite ax"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is fantastic! You may be apprehensive because of the pickup placement like I was at first but if you lower it it doesn't get in the way of your pickup. This guitar looks sleek, and plays even better. But a fair warning to those with small hands, the neck may not be one you can get to liking. It's a heavyweight, but for big guys like myself it's perfect. You're definitely not going to be disappointed in this purchase!
Musical Background:
9 years of guitar. Gig and play at home
Musical Style:
Hard rock hardcore metal djent
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2014 by Nathan K in Reading, PA
"Beautiful guitar with great tone and punch "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned many guitars over my tenure of playing and this is by far my favorite. It features high end components and gorgeous looks for a great price. Locking tuners, tone pros bridge, EMGs, and a fast neck. This thing pumps out some punishing lows and good cleans which I credit to the hefty alder body. You can not beat the sound and looks for the price, I have received more compliments on this guitar at shows then I have with any other instrument. I gave it a slight knock in ease of use due to the weight but what you lose in shoulder pain you gain in fat tone so it is really a non issue. I have had this guitar for about a year now toting it from town to town with no issues so I have not needed to contact manufacturer support. Abrahams tank for the metal masses buy with confidence.
Musical Background:
12 years on the guitar. I am currently playing in a touring band and doing professional recording
Musical Style:
Metal, hard rock, hip-hop, electronic, blues
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2016 by Tim S in Janesville, WI
"Stephen Carpenter signature series LTD 7 string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received my order promptly, was Pleasantly surprised when the guitar arrived, straight out of the box in standard 440 tuning, dead nuts on, no set up needed for action or anything else, plugged in and started playing! 3 months later I have changed nothing other than strings. I play around 10 - 15 hours every week and in a band. My only little complaint is that the bridge pickup is set back far enough that it sometimes gets in the way when I'm picking.
Musical Background:
been playing for over 30 years. play guitar only anymore. Amature that plays in local bands as a hobby.
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2017 by Angelica Kim in Claremont, CA
"Just played it. 1st thoughts..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar sounded very clean when plugged in directly w/o effects applied. Wonderful sound when applying effects as well. neck action is nice. 2 things I would consider if you haven't played this guitar and are going to purchase by internet:: 1. The pickups are located next to each other so a slight modification in your strumming hand position will be needed. 2. The neck is very wide and not friendly to shorter fingers. You may need to find a different position on the neck to play certain things. Otherwise it is a fine guitar with an absolutely beautiful finish that shines even in a dimly lit room. the pickguard and pinstripe around the body have a matching shell like pattern that I thought was a nice touch. My first ESP and I am very impressed. Made in the USA too very nice.
Musical Background:
35 years guitar, bass, and violin
Musical Style:
Rock and classical
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2014 by Chris S in Justin, TX
"This is an amazing instrument!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is truly one of the best guitars I have ever had the privilege of owning. Right out of the box this thing was ready to roll. Great quality, great sound, and just an all around beautiful guitar.
Sound
This thing is perfect for playing really any style of music you wanna use it for. From heavy, high gain distortion, to beautiful clean tones, it can do it all. The EMG active pickups are very balanced and can produce any tone your heart desires
Features
The features on this guitar are awesome! I love the locking tuners and TOM bridge.
Ease of Use
I went from a 6 string to this 7 string fairly easily. Now I will say, if you like a flat fast neck, this guitar isn't for you. The neck on this guitar is very easy to play, but it is beefy.
Quality
The quality is second to none. From the beautiful finish, to the high quality parts used to build this beauty, you will not be disappointed
Value
This guitar is an exceptional value at its price, it should honestly cost more than it does!
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with the manufacturer
The Wow Factor
The overall wow factor is amazing! I catch myself just looking at its beauty when not in use. I've gotten several compliments on its sound and beauty. I promise this guitar will not disappoint you.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for nearly 15 years
Musical Style:
Rock, heavy metal, blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Not worth the money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve had this guitar for a little over a year now and I’ve had to had the truss rod adjusted a few times due to the neck bowing (it’s always stored in a controlled room, don’t have this problem with other guitars), now the bridge needs to be replaced as that is also bowing in the middle. Beautiful looking guitar and it sounds great but its not worth 1300 dollars.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2015 by Faith P in Pomona, CA
"Great guitar, but weighs a ton."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I absolutely love this guitar, it built perfectly, sounds amazing and provide so good range in tones even with the oddly positioned "neck" pickup (and there are some crushing tones coming from this guitar, as well as fat rich cleans). It also has fantastic playability. My only complaint is the weight of the guitar, if you aren't ready for the weight, or a small guy like me it's kind of a pain.
Musical Background:
Been a musician my life, currently playing professionally and teaching guitar.
Musical Style:
Metal, progressive.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2017 by M W in Shawnee, KS
"Ehhh.."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Judging by the reviews, I was expecting this to be a monster but was waaay disappointed. The pick ups are just a huge no for me. Which is strange because my Agile has EMG 707's and I LOVE them. But, these 81-7's are just weak. Out of the box it was unplayable. New Strings, and Pickups are a must. Also, my neck was like a boat with the bow in it. And the action was so low. All I got was an ear of fret buzz. After getting it setup with proper strings and some proper pickups though this is a great guitar. Looks GORGEOUS as well. Would say it's a solid investment guitar, but at $1000 its not an easy investment to make.
Musical Background:
Touring Musician
Musical Style:
Metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 3, 2016 by a customer from live.com in Brooklyn, NY
"Not Good."
Been a long time fan of Stephen Carpenter and Deftones. Guitar is well made and sounds good, heavy and tight as you would expect, also looks great. I wanted this guitar for about a year prior to buying it. Was very exited once I got it. But was dissapointed. This guitar is simply NOT comfortable. It's really heavy, I wouldn't mind that at all if it wasn't so neck heavy too. Playing it standing up is very hard. You literally have to hold the neck with your left hand while playing so it doesn't tip over. Plus the neck is finished in thick gloss and and it sticks to your hand once your palm start to sweat a bit. Playing it is very difficult. Maybe it was my particular guitar that has this problem. Wish I got an Ibanez. Would NOT recommend it.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2016 by Michael S in Ransom, IL
"Needs some work"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
ConsNeeds better pick ups right off the bat, the emg 81-7's just dont cut it, very quite and no balls, this guitar isn't balanced very well either, the head stock end wants to fall downward soon as you let it go, the battery housing has to be unscrewed ever time you need to change the 9 volt so youll have to do some body work to swap that out for one flips openProsLooks amazing and once i put the stephen carpenter signature fishman fluence pick ups in this beast it sounds amazing, plays like a dream too, just sucks it needed so much work before it was a good guitar, at $1000 i expect at least a battery compartment thats not a pain in the ass
Sound
After new pickups, thicker strings and a better set up this guitar sounds amazing, but be prepared to do some work to it to get a great sound out of it, it is not out of the box friendly!!
Features
Stock pickups blow, battery housing has to be screwed open and closed to change out 9v, terribly balanced and uncomfortable to play
Ease of Use
Had to do a ton of work to this thing before i could stand playing it, new pickups and battery housing
Quality
Product is great quality, its just the aesthetics of it that ruin it
Value
No, theres tons of better 7 strings you can buy for the price, this guitar is a huge let down. It should be priced at about $500
Manufacturer Support
Didnt have to contact them
The Wow Factor
More of a "wow! I cant believe how much this guitar sucks out of the box!" Make sure you order new pickups and strings with it cause youll need them
Musical Background:
15yrs playing guitar, lots of bands, tons of shows and studio work
Musical Style:
Everthing from sinatra to berried alive and all the things in between
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to