Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
ESP LTD KH202 Kirk Hammett Signature Electric Guitar

ESP LTD KH-202 Kirk Hammett Signature Electric Guitar

Ask not for whom the LTD KH-202 tolls. This Kirk Hammett-approved ESP is built to shred, with a fast-playing maple neck, LH-301 humubuckers and a Floyd Rose.

Overall User Ratings (based on 277 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(277)
Submitted December 4, 2008 by a customer from live.com
"A really great guitar"
I expect I will be happy with this product for along time, This is my first ltd and I will probably never play another brand.
Sound
The sound overall is good. I really only use the bridge pickup with the tone wide open. I did think that with both pickups activated the sound was muddy and a little dull but like I said I dont really use both. But yes the sound over all is good.
Features
I would say the best. The guitar came with all the proper tools and they all fit where they are suppose to. I think the features are all good because it's desighned to kirks specs so I cant complain about what I think it should or shouldn't have, It is what it is suppose to be.
Ease of Use
I would also say the best. As far as sound...well there are alot of factors that come into play, like amps and what not. The kh 202 is very playable and the manual is very clear on how to properly care for your guitar. Also it seems to be compatable with the rest of my gear so I give this section a 10.
Quality
Well you get what you pay for if that helps at all. There are some flaws on my kh202, nothing major but that's to be expected with any guitar that comes off of an assembly line. They all can be fixed. I think if you take care of this guitar I'm shure it would hold up on the road, just regular maintenance and cleaning. I dont think anything would break untill something does actually break..lol. I am always leary of floating bridges that the studs might rip out of the body if you put too much ass on it, but thats with every guitar that has one not just the ltd.
Value
The value rocks if your a starving musician like myself. I give it a 10.
Manufacturer Support
I give it a 10, because I havent had to deal with them yet and honestly I don't think I will ever need to. Innocent untill proven guily..lol
The Wow Factor
The look is awesome, you can't ever go wrong with and skull and crossbones. I was however a little dissapointed with the hardware. The advertisement said it was black hardware but in fact it came with nickel hardware, but no big deal it can be swapped.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
metal
47 of 48 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"It's worth every penny."
This is a guitar that you really would like to own. And it's worth every penny. I am truly glad it was this cheap too.
Sound
Incredeble sound, And using a Line 6 Spider II makes it even better.
Features
I got the guitar. That gotta count as a feature. :D And I really like the bridge too, It feels softer than any other floyd rose ever in some kind of way. I also like that it has one Volume for each pickup.
Ease of Use
It's really easy to use. I still just love the sound of it.
Quality
This guitar is so good. <3 I hope it will last for the rest of my life.
Value
If you think of how it is to play and that it acually has ESP-EMG and Floyd Rose I could pay a grand for it. (If i could afford it since I'm just a kid)
Manufacturer Support
Well. There has been no need to call the support.
The Wow Factor
This guitar is like it has some kind of soul, just like a really good guitar should be.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock and all kinds of metal.
22 of 25 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2005 by none
"GET THIS GUITAR!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will always have this guitar and i will last a long time and sounds awsome.
Sound
This guitar is AMAZING. I played this for the first time and right before christmas and i love it. It sounds awsome and the tremelo isnt all that bad either. The skulll and bones look awsome. If you like metallica or megadeth or any other rock this guitar is perfect. If you get this guitar it will not let you down.
Features
The box it came in had a 2005 esp catolog and an owners manuel. There is a package with the tremelo bar in it and an extra string if you want factory setting
Quality
The guitar will last a long time for me and when you use the tremelo it hardly ever gos out of tune.
Value
This guitar is worth every penny and you wont be broke after you buy it and i reccomend you buy strap locks so it doesnt fall.
Manufacturer Support
The company was easy to reach and it only took 1 day to arrive.
The Wow Factor
The guitar looks Amazing and its easy to play
Musical Background:
lead guitarist in a band
Musical Style:
metal, hard rock, metallica, megadeth
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2007 by a customer from Hotmail.com
"ESP Kirk Hammett Guitar"
Overall its a decent guitar for the price This was my first Esp/Ltd Guitar and I have over 7 guitars have like $2000 les pauls and stuff I still play this more than anything else. Its my favorite and main guitar that I own.
Sound
You Get all The Classic Thrash Hevay stuff metallica used to make and you will sound just like kirk hammett.
Features
Skull n bones inlays- KIller awesome feature Floyd rose Licensed tremolo(comes w/bar)- Awesome feature hardly evergoes out of tune and u can do some crazy trem Inverse headstock- Just like Kirk Emg HZ Passive pickups-good pickups for the price of this guitar BAsswood body- smooth glassy kind of body Maple neck and rosewood fingerboard- smooth easy to play.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use everything about it is awesome!!!
Quality
Very good quality for a cheaper ltd of KIRK HAMMETT sounds great.
Value
This guitar is totally worth buying for anyone who is a fan of metallica or just wants a nice shredding guitar I used to have an IBanez RG but I wanted another guitar with about the same shape that has emgs and double locking trem!
Manufacturer Support
Great!
The Wow Factor
Very Sexy Guitar Its kirk hammetts and it looks like you can play guitar great even if you can't
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"KH-202 yes..."
i love this guitar and i cant wait till it ships to me and when i get it i will play it for 4 days straight.. ok maybe not but a long time.
Sound
This guitar has a really awsome heavy sound when you use it with a good amp. i was at a guitar store and i got it turned up the amp and played a single power chord and it was so awsome and so heavy that i fell in love with the guitar.
Features
The floyd rose locking temolo system was nice. oh and it has an awsome headstock and the strings are real close to the fretboard so its easy to fret.
Ease of Use
Well you see ive only played about 15 guitars in my life and out of every single one this is the easiest to play.
Quality
well see i dont know this... because i used it in a store but it seemed solid..
Value
this guitar is totally worth the price. i would pay thousands to sound like metallica ok well maybe not thousands since you can get this for $419 and sound like them.
Manufacturer Support
pssh i dont know
The Wow Factor
wooo doggy this guitar is sexy..
Musical Background:
Active Musican
Musical Style:
Metal Hard Core and anything that starts with metal and ends with lica
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Dangerous Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am now an esp customer for life.
Sound
I have owned a Les Paul Studio and Fender Standard start. I could never get the sound I wanted out of either. I eneded up selling both recently purchased this guitar and was totally blown away. I will never buy another brand of guitar ever. This thing is dangerous!
Features
Floyd Rose locking tremelo is awesome!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Hard Rock
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2008 by a customer from comcast.net
"its made out of awsome(:"
i will keep it the rest of my life
Sound
it has a really good distortion and clean sound a little to much hum in the background but i guess thats why they call them humbuckers
Features
the floyd rose is awsome, major whammy abuse
Ease of Use
plug it in, turn it up, and ROCK
Quality
the lock-in tuners dont always stay in tune if you use the whammy bar alot just tune it daily
Value
great price
Manufacturer Support
they were nice they didnt really anwser my questions though
The Wow Factor
the skull in-lays are awsome
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, alternative
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"BEST VALUE GUITAR EVER!!!"
This is the best value guitar ive ever seen.take my advice.BUY THIS GUITAR!!!!!! i am going to be an ESP customer for life now
Sound
This guitar sounds awesome! i played my friends guitar and i was blown away.i can play basically anyfin.sounds brilliant playin metallica especially One.
Features
The floyd rose tremolo system is great.my vintage strat is rubbish compared to this guitar.i had a dual against my friend i used the whammy bar he used the floyd rose.he won easy.and i love the skull and bones on the neck.
Ease of Use
Its so easy to make this guitar make great sounds.you sound good even if your useless.GET THIS GUITAR!!.cos its easy 2 learn on but can still keep with the pace when you get good.
Quality
Very reliable.Build like a rock.my mate has dropped his so many times yet his still hasnt dented or chipped even marked.Great quality
Value
When he told me how much he paid i was shocked.Such good value its unbelieveable.id would pay at least $1500 for this guitar
Manufacturer Support
He hasnt had 2 use the company
The Wow Factor
i want this guitar bad.im hopefully going to get it.then ill beat my mate.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist at the moment
Musical Style:
Heavy Metal
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awesome, what to say?"
Awesome, just awesome. If you want more then the awesome sound it already gives, get EMG 81 actives, you'll be impressed.
Sound
The tone is awesome, the EMG H4 pickups give low feedback and nice sound. If you want to go pro, get EMG 81 pickups. With these, i'd give 15/10.
Features
The locks are very usefull, i wish i had these on my Strat copy ( yes a COPY, first cheap guitar ). The inlays are nice, it gives a "death" style at first sight. I prefer the Strat's type whammy bar but it is still nice and easy to use.
Quality
I'm sure as hell it would go through WWV. It's just well-made what can I say?
Value
770$ CAD for it, it is just awesome. A guitar like that I'd pay arround 1500$ CAD for it.
Manufacturer Support
I'd say 10 since I never had to deal with them. I don't have an ESP guitar. But as no one on the reviews had to deal with them, it means the guitar is awesome and dosn't need compagny's support.
The Wow Factor
WELL I WANT IT BAD. I'm getting it in 3 days :D
Musical Style:
Metal/Heavy
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 26, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This guitar is my favorite.This guitar may just be your new favorite too.It will make you feel a little bit more like Kirk Hamme"
I like the look of it the most.I use all of my other guitars the same amount.I like this one the most because it is a Kirk Hammett signature and it will never get stolen.
Sound
This guitar sounds very good.
Features
I love using the tremelo bar.
Quality
It is made perfect.I can depend on it and I don't have to worry about anything breaking unless I want to break it.It is appropriate for use on the road.
Value
Yes.
Manufacturer Support
The company was good.
The Wow Factor
It has a nice shape to it.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist.
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal.
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2004 by a customer from msn.com
"AMAZING GUITAR!"
its all great!
Sound
no, i love it
Features
the skull and crossbone inlays make it looks so much better! kirk hammet has good taste!
Value
yes
The Wow Factor
everything is amazing!
Musical Background:
drummer in a band, used to be a guitarist
Musical Style:
rock/metal
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2004 by none
"READ THIS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
GOTTA LUV IT
Sound
This thing is heavy-o-rama! I love it! I took it to skool after getting it for x-mas, and all my friends were jealous of the sound and look. It barely gives any feedback and no extra noises, just the heavy tone it outputs. It is the best guitar I have ever played for palm-muting. IT IS VERY HEAVY!!!! Better than any gay Les Paul or Stratocaster!
Features
The skull and bone inlays are awesome! I coundnt get people to stop saying how cool it is. I'm in 8th grade and my friends and I just impress everybody with the looks of our guitars(namely mine). The body is sharp looking. The Bridge(floyd Rose) and locking system are great. I only have to tune it like once a month!
Quality
This guitar is made well and is just AWESOME! I wouldnt trade it for any other guitar. Not even a 1957 Les Paul Black Beauty. I put Zack Wilde strings on which sound great, but the factory strings on this guitar are great also.
Value
This is the best value this side of Everything!
Manufacturer Support
Never needed em'
The Wow Factor
IT IS SEXY BABY. once u get it, it is so cool that you want to hug it and you dont even want to touch it.
Musical Style:
classic to metal
8 of 12 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
ESP KH-202 Kirk Hammett Customer Review
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
the sweetest guitar out there
Sound
the sound is sweet
Features
all the features on it is the best
Quality
quality is 110%
Value
a really good price
The Wow Factor
i want it
Musical Style:
metal and rock
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2008 by a customer from aim.com
"This guitar is worth so much more. WHAT A DEAL"
I expect I will have this for atleast five years cause i play constantly
Sound
The sound of this product is fantastic the emgs really do it some justice it sounds great through pretty much any setting. I myself have a line 6 spider 3 and it sounds great on insane and clean i really dont think there is anything better than that.
Features
Somethings I really enjoy is the whammy bar it can withstand some heavy stuff. Plus the skull and crossbone inlays a beastly.
Ease of Use
It does not take much to make this guitar sound great all you have to do is plug it and fix your output through the pickups. Both pickups have seperate volumes so set it to your prefrence.
Quality
It is quite sturdy I doubt I will find any problems
Value
I am so happy with my purchase for this price you are getting THE greatest deal.
Manufacturer Support
none needed
The Wow Factor
This thing is sexy as anything all black body with the whammy MMMMHMMM tasty
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Heavy metal, Rock, Punk, Classic Rock, Hardcore
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Not for beginners, but is an awesome heavy sounding guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
My daughter is a beginner. This is not a beginner guitar. Changing the strings takes experience. No access to strings from the back. This was challenging even for her guitar teacher who works on guitars for a living. But, she loves it and idolizes Kirk Hammet. She loves the sound and the shape. If we didn't have change the strings every two weeks (recommended), this guitar would have gotten a better rating.
Musical Background:
mother of guitatist
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"If you like Metallica get this guitar!!!!!!!!!!!!"
I think I will have this guitar forever. Even when I upgrade I will always use this guitar to play the heavy Metallica songs.
Sound
Nice heavy metal sound. If you want to sound like Kirk get this.
Features
I'm not too good with the Floyd Rose but for making the guitar have some tremelo it sounds really good.
Quality
Well built. Very solid.
Value
Great price.
Manufacturer Support
ESP brand is the best. I have two ESP guitars and one ESP bass and I love 'em all.
The Wow Factor
It looks strong and agressive and if I had another chance to buy a guitar I would definitely buy this one.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Heavy Metal
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Stay away"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Do not purchase this guitar. I’ve had nothing but problems with the nut and bridge.Several luthiers have taken a look at it and they all say the guitar is just a river of problems.The guitar had a bolt from the neck glued onto the body. It was broken so they didn’t bother putting another one they just glued the bolt top onto the neck to make it look like there’s a bolt. The nut is not the correct size, so it will not stay in tune and the bridge cannot maintain the strings. Beware After swapping the pickups for the bone breaker set, it does sound amazing. I just wish it would stay in tune
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2007
ESP KH-202 Kirk Hammett Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
buy this guitar
Sound
great, sounds really cool with Master of Puppets and fade to black
Features
the floyde rose bridge kicks ass and has great action. thew skull and crossbone inlays look raw
Ease of Use
really light and easy to play
Quality
best out there
Value
it really depends on who you are but for me it was affordable
Manufacturer Support
never needed
The Wow Factor
stripper sexy
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2005
"rock on"
ill take this guitar to my grave i love it so much
Sound
it sounds like kirk hammet is right in the house with u. it sounds really good on master of puppets
Features
yes the most useful feature is the flyd rose tremolo
Quality
the best guality ever blows the heck out of gibson les pauls
Value
its worth it id pay at least 1,500 for it
Manufacturer Support
havent needed to deal with them
The Wow Factor
its the sexiest guitar ive ever seen
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock ,metal
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2004
"Must Buy for Metallica Fans"
I will keep this guitar until I die
Sound
The tone that the KH202 puts out is vintage METALLICA. From shredding solos to all the rhythm stuff this guitar is amazing. The sound is rich, thick and heavy, just like Metallica
Features
WOW Floyd Rose is AMAZING! You can pull off mind blowing dive bombs with this thing and the guitar never goes out of tune. The hardware is solid and hasn't given me a problem yet. The skull and crossbones give this guitar a great Metal look, but dont worry they aren't to hardcore.
Quality
Solid as a ROCK!
Value
AMAZING GUITAR FOR THIS PRICE. If your a Metallica fan you must buy this guitar, the price is just too good to pass up.
Manufacturer Support
N/A havnt dealt with them..cuz its solid as a rock!
The Wow Factor
Very sexy guitar!
Musical Background:
In a band
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2004
ESP KH-202 Kirk Hammett Customer Review
Sound
this guitar Sound exactly like Kirk's guitar when he uses it on his songs although the sound is brilliant on his songs the guitar is also very good for all other songs i can play
Features
This guitar has 24 frets which is brilliant for playing most solos it has scull and cross inlays which i think looks amazing and finally he uses EMG-HZ H-4 set pickups which are very good
Quality
this product is very reliable you can realy do crazy stuff with this guitar before it will brake and it hasn't broken with me (yet!)
5 of 10 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2004
ESP KH-202 Kirk Hammett Customer Review
Sound
it is sooo good on solo's
Features
sweet humbuckers
Quality
if its kirk hammets you know its good
9 of 13 people (69%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to