ESP LTD B-55 5-String Electric Bass

ESP LTD B-55 5-String Electric Bass

At an incredibly low price-point and loaded with all the features a beginner needs to get started, the ESP LTD B-55 is ideal for budding bass players.

Overall User Ratings (based on 143 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(143)
Submitted November 27, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A true value, excellent bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this bass, my first 5-string. Love that low B, but also the high frets on the first string sound sweet enough to play bass leads on. Very flexible, high quality, great palette of sounds and easy to play. Flawless.
Sound
Combo of pickups with independent control knobs offers a truly outstanding variety of tones, from bright and sizzly to dark and warm. I can play any style with this bass. A touch of overdrive really brings out the rockin' best of this bass, too.
Features
Great pickups, great tone control.
Quality
Solid, sturdy; quality finish.
Value
Having played it, I would expect this bass to cost MUCH more.
The Wow Factor
Not bad looking in titanium, but I prefer the look of the F-series... just didn't want that active pickup hassle.
Musical Background:
Musician, home recorder
Musical Style:
Eclectic, mostly rock
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2004 by a customer from msn.com
"GREAT ESP 5-STRING"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
this is an awsome bass in all aspects. i will keep this bass for as long as it lasts.
Features
i feel the selection of components was very good and made for a great bass. The most useful features are the volume and tone knobs. this bass has everything i wanted.
Quality
the finish on this guitar was flawless, no loose parts. this bass is very reliable. i depend on this for all my music needs. i dont keep a back up because i dont need one with this bass. this bass seems like it will last me forever.
Value
this bass was worth every penny i spent.
The Wow Factor
ive shown this to a couple friends and they were blown away by everything. this is much more than a practical addition to my setup.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock
22 of 23 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"this bass is cooler than most twice it's price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I dont see myself replacing this bass with anything that costs less than a grand. Since the day it arrived I've been using my B55 to practice, record, and just jam out.
Sound
This bass has great sound in the high end and is responsive and easy to play all the way up to the 24th fret. This is my first 5 string and the thunderous lows will keep me away from 4 strings for good.
Features
I love the wide range i get with a low B-string and 24 frets. The two volume controlls along with the tone controll let me get just the right sound every time wether its a deep booming sound or a jazzy snap 'n pop sound.
Quality
I was a little disapointed when I saw that the B55 was made somewhere in the pacific and only "inspected in the USA". The quality seems good so far,except for the knob that I had to rig in order to keep it from falling off.
Value
For twice the price I'm sure I couldn't get a better instrument.
Manufacturer Support
I hav not had any experience with this.
The Wow Factor
this guitar is a little thicker than i had expected but thats alright, it still looks wicked cool!
Musical Background:
hobbyist for years Amatuer recording artist for a couple of them
Musical Style:
rock, alternative,
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"ESP B-55 Bass"
i like everything about this bass and ill prob have it for a long time
Sound
i play metal and it is over all the best ive used so far
Features
the p and j pickups diffrent vibes but both great
Ease of Use
plug in and go
Quality
made from the best ESP/LTD
Value
the best price ever never get a deal like this
Manufacturer Support
in the e net or phone there in reach
The Wow Factor
the design and fetures are the top
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
ALL METAL
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"I own this bass for almost 2 years and I Love it"
at least 3-5 years
Sound
perfect sound ,,I also use a line 6 bass pod ,,,and I have recorded with olny the bass' sound and it was awesome
Ease of Use
too ease
Quality
the product is very reliable I don't have a problem at all
Value
yesssss it did worth the price
The Wow Factor
perfect
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock,alternative(funk)R.H.CH.P
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 23, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great Value. Ugly colour, Great sound."
I've never regretted purchasing this bass.
Sound
Great sound overall. I always have trouble with buzzing on some frets, had it taken in to sand down some frets and build the bridge a bit which helped quiet a bit.
Features
Not many accessories, three knobs, Volume, and tone knobs. Doesn't do too much. I adjust mostly on my amp because of this.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use for a bass player. It is quiet a stretch for a girl with small hands... but any bass will be.
Quality
Great quality for the money. I've owned this bass for 5 or 6 years now. No problems with it except the colour, and a few fets buzzing. Fret work was pretty cheap.
Value
Great bass for the price.
Manufacturer Support
Never had a big enough problem to ever call the company!
The Wow Factor
The colour drops the sexy appeal I think. The extra string on it compensates for it a bit. Once painted, it's sexy and simple! I also traded out the saddle and controls for chrome ones off of a fender guitar, a lot prettier.
Musical Background:
Active Musician/Hobby
Musical Style:
Jazz/Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2005 by a customer from applebank.net
"This 5 string rumbles!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own a Jackson and an Ibanez and this bass hangs in there with them. I'm very pleased.
Sound
It rumbles!!! It has a clean sound.
Features
It is a straight forward bass, what you see is what you get.
Quality
Well constructed for a bass under 200 bucks...very surprised. ESP has made a great bass for everyone to enjoy, even if you're strapped for cash.
Value
Wow! At this price, you would be crazy not to buy this bass. I got mine from this web site. Under $200 bucks, no shipping cost. It's just the bass though...nothing extra.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
Good looking bass, I wanted black but it was on back order so I bought Titanium instead. It still looks great!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist... 9 years
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Good Bass"
Sound
I love the sound of this bass guitar! Its the best rock and punk bass i've played on. If ur looking for a slap bass this isnt what u need though. THe strings on this guitar are somewhat closer so slapping is kinda hard.
Musical Background:
Play in two bands plus a jazz ensemble
Musical Style:
PUNK!!! rock and jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 4, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"IT WAS ONLY FENDER products Untill "ESP""
it's a keeper, it can't do all the sounds I'm looking for BUT 90% is very good . It's my live show bass
Sound
very impressive bass you must try it for your self. I'm very pleased.
Value
Very playable before set up. it's worth at least twice retail
Musical Background:
Musician not just a BASS player
Musical Style:
a little of everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2007 by a customer from msn.com
"Campbell has Heart attack due to shoking-ness of bass!!!"
I expect to be satisfied for years to came. This is nor beginner bas for me. I'm stuck now.
Sound
This thing sounds amazing!!! Put it next to a 500 dollar 5 string you can't tell the difference. Somehoew this Majical device cancelss all buzzing sounds if moving cable in jack or standard cable buzz. Great J trebble and Great P punch. I love the low B. BYE 4 stringers.
Features
Everything is easy to use. It has all the features you need. BAsic which is perfect for me to make a great sound fast no matter what I play.
Ease of Use
Simple!!! Nothing Comlicated at all!!! You can make any type of sound bass wise easily. Playable the second you get it.
Quality
Everything was perfect nothing loose or anything. Except for a part on the bottom of the neck. it looks like the wood was sanded down. but still looks good. Gives it a natural look.
Value
I would have thought it would be twice as much after hearing it. Even Dave Campbell had a heart Attack because he was so shoked as how chep it was.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had experience yet but I know ESP is always there becauseI have spoken to them before. They answer anything.
The Wow Factor
It looks basic but has the ESP "Metal" playing look basic like I like it and sleek as well.
Musical Background:
Hedbanger
Musical Style:
All rock and Jazz for school
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"omg..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I doubt ill be looking for another bass for a looooooong time, its just an all around amazing bass
Sound
awesome sound quality, I prefer the jazz bass sound.
Features
there were no extra parts
Ease of Use
This bass is by far the easiest bass to use that ive ever played
Quality
the only thing was a bolt that needed a little turn to fix it. but that was easy to do.
Value
The bass is worth every single penny, and its worth moch more beyond that too!
Manufacturer Support
THey were quick, knowlegeable, and answered all my questions Geddy Lee fast.
The Wow Factor
Everyone who has seen this bass has said its hot. it was actually a topic in science once.
Musical Background:
Ive been in a band, and I write solo songs.
Musical Style:
Rock, Hard Rock, Metal, Speed Metal, Christian Rock, Church Praise Songs, Country, Blues
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing Bass how sweet the sound!"
I have heard people call this a good first guitar. But I expect to use mine for many years to come. I love everything about this guitar. Everyone that sees it wants it and when they hear it they want it even more. What more could you expect from ESP?
Sound
This bass sounds awesome. I have played many other very expensive guitars but this one takes the cake. It has a clean punchy sound with sweet overtones. It also sounds great when slapped.
Features
This guitar has two pickups that both sound great alone or together. The bridge pickup has a clean midrange sound and the center pickup has a nice low rumble with defined highs. I like the fact that I can create so many different sounds with this bass.
Quality
If I layed this guitar next to a bass that cost over a thousand bucks or more you would not be able to tell the difference. I trust it to play and sound sweet for many years to come. It is built well and looks good. I have a silver one and it looks much better in person than it does on the picture. It looks very nice on stage under colored lights. However I wish they would have rounded the edges of the body a little more.
Value
I almost choked when I saw the price on this guitar! I actually thought it was a typo. If you want a great five string for an unbelieveable price than this is your guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I doubt that I will have any trouble with this guitar. But if I did I would'nt worry about calling ESP. They are without a doubt one of the best out there.
The Wow Factor
This guitar looks, sounds, and feels great!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Christian Rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"Awesome bass such a low price"
Sound
Awesome sounds quality tone
The Wow Factor
When i first saw this thing i thought it was the best thing since sliced bread for the price
Musical Background:
Bassist
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2005 by a customer from msn.com
"good 5 string for the money"
Sound
the action is pretty high past the 12 fret, other than that it's awesome
Features
there is no pick up switch of volume knob, you have to tweak all three knobs to get the right sound
Quality
doesn't stay in tune all that well
Musical Background:
bassist
Musical Style:
rock and metal
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great Bass not only for its price but also those going for a about 400 to 450."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Would give a 9.5 if I could.
Sound
A: Sounds great considering it has passive Pickup, but they are very good. The Bass makes the best of what it has to offer and fits my needs pretty well. I almost didn't buy it because I like tone controls on both pickups. I also thought about 35" scale over 34". After playing it almost 3 days straight over the weekend, that wasn't a problem at all. Responds well and I'd not trade it for some Basses I've tried that cost twice as much.
Features
Two minor. Second Tone control and Pick guard.
Ease of Use
Great action for me! Finger board is the perfect size.
Quality
Shokingly get a 10 easy. Great stiff neck, no string buzz even with cheap (IMO)strings and very nice Passive pcikups.
Value
So far I feel I got a great deal.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Funk-R&B, Classic Rock-70's mostly, New Wave and etc...
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great Bass not only for its price but also those going for a about 400 to 450."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Would give a 9.5 if I could.
Sound
A: Sounds great considering it has passive Pickup, but they are very good. The Bass makes the best of what it has to offer and fits my needs pretty well. I almost didn't buy it because I like tone controls on both pickups. I also thought about 35" scale over 34". After playing it almost 3 days straight over the weekend, that wasn't a problem at all. Responds well and I'd not trade it for some Basses I've tried that cost twice as much.
Features
Two minor. Second Tone control and Pick guard.
Ease of Use
Great action for me! Finger board is the perfect size.
Quality
Shokingly get a 10 easy. Great stiff neck, no string buzz even with cheap (IMO)strings and very nice Passive pcikups.
Value
So far I feel I got a great deal.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Funk-R&B, Classic Rock-70's mostly, New Wave and etc...
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2016 by kirk c in spartanburg, SC
"nice 5"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
good 5 string for the price, b string could be better but maybe string change would make a difference , good lows mids, and highs ive had this bass well over a year and it seems to get better tone with age. I would recomend this bass to begginer or experienced player
Musical Background:
I play at home trying to get better , just bass , rock, blues
Musical Style:
rock, blues, interest in jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2014 by Chris Ward in Bolivar, OH
"ESP 5 string bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great bass
Musical Background:
30 years. I play lead guitar, bass guitar, drums, and piano.
Musical Style:
Rock, Heavy Metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2009
"Best bass out right now"
till I cant play it anymore or if I break it
Sound
If you play any type of metal/hard rock you've got to get this bass. Hands down the best bass I've ever played and I've been in a band for 10 years.
Features
I really like the look because it's simple and if you play any type of metal you know that 5 strings are better
Ease of Use
Real easy
Quality
This bass is very well made. the only bass I will ever get is a ESP
Value
Worth every bit i spent I have no regets
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
It don't matter how it looks the only thing that matters is how it plays but it does look good
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
groove metal/thrash/hard rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.