ESP LTD B-50 Electric Bass

ESP LTD B-50 Electric Bass

With one P-style and one J-style pickup, the ESP LTD B-50 lets you customize your sound to fit any style. Perfect for beginners, this bass is a killer value.

Overall User Ratings (based on 362 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(362) (see rating details)
Submitted February 4, 2007 by a customer from cebridge.net
"A Diamond in the Rough"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I expect to enjoy this guitar for a very long time. If I got another product it would be an ESP B-55 or one of their 5 string basses. I would say that compared to all of the other basses that I have tried, this one is simply the best bass ever. Its got a great feel, and wonderful sound and looks awesome. If something ever happened to it I would totally replace it, most likely with the same thing or the five string version. The two things I like most about this bass are the sound and the feel.
Sound
I am just getting started in the bass world, but i have tried a lot of different basses and none sound as good as the B-50
Features
No accessories. Still it has a nice amount of features I would say. The materials used are great. If I had to change anything i might change the pickups to EMG's but really i wouldn't change a damn thing. The ESP pickups on it are really awesome.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use compared to a lot of basses I have tried. No learning curve, I'd say its great for a beginner and someone far more advance too. I certainly have no doubts about how far this bass can take me, the sky's the limit.
Quality
I would say that this bass is made really well, the neck is bolted on, but you'd really have to like run it over with a car to wreck this thing. I totally depend upon this bass and I think it will last a long time.
Value
Yes it is worth the price, you wont find a better guitar at a better price. Its worth more than I payed for it.
The Wow Factor
Its very simple, with a really great edge to it, its not overdone, but just right. I looked at it and was like 'hey I want that one!'
Musical Background:
Beginning Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal/Goth Metal
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 21, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"After spending a year with the LTD B-50, the verdict is: very satisfied."
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
100% satisfied with my purchase.
Sound
This was the first instrument I've ever owned, aside from playing relatives and friends various guitars and pianos, and from what I've seen this has a very solid, whole sound. Incredibly good for the price, but even setting that aside it has a terrific sound all by itself.
Features
The entire guitar feels very solidly put together, and with high quality materials. My only gripe is that one of the knobs has gotten a little bit loose after a year of constant use. Even then, it's perfectly usable. Compared to basses priced even four times as much, this bass feels very quality.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. Maybe a tad on the heavy side compared to some others, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. An excellent bass for beginners to experts.
Quality
I bought this for my beginner's bass, and probably do 1,001 things that you *SHOULDN'T* do to your bass, and it's taken everything in stride. It's even survived a move from Seattle to New York in it's cardboard shipping box and didn't even need a tune when it arrived. Very solid.
Value
I'd say this is the best bass guitar you can buy in it's price range.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to contact anyone regarding problems or complaints because there haven't been any!
The Wow Factor
I wish ESP would offer the B50 in a few more colors, although the glossy black I ordered it in isn't ugly in the least. Not the most aesthetically pleasing bass, but definately not ugly. All personal preference, but I'd say it's quite smexy.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
49 of 50 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2010 by a customer from comcast.net
"You can't beat the sound and quality at this price!!! GET IT!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Awesome bass for this price. Granted, a minor adjustment was needed but all basses should be checked anyway. There is nothing eye-catching (which isn't a major factor in my book) but the sound is what sold me. Having 3 of these (2 B50's, one B55) is probably the best investments I've made in music equipment.
Sound
The sound is fantastic if you like a deep, growly metal sound. I purchased a black cherry 6 years ago and loved it. I wanted a black one and for this price, you can't beat it. Playing Metallica tunes is great, other metal, whichever. This is the BEST deal you'll every find in an affordable bass.
Features
Didn't need anything extra. All I had to do was tune it up. Changed the strings, but who doesn't when you get a new one? Very simple knobs for tone and volume...that's all you ned.
Ease of Use
It plays extremely well with a minor action adjustment. Mine was a little high but no big deal. Took a while to get it just right without fret buzz but it's a small adjustment that makes it great.
Quality
Very good quality, never had any issues on the road with it. Haven't had to replace anything but strings. Great bass.
Value
Fantastic value. You won't find a better one at this price. I have a couple $1000+ basses with EMG pickups that growl nicely. This is DAMN close to those.
Manufacturer Support
Just picked a number midway. Never needed any support at all.
The Wow Factor
The seller was the sound. I played one a while back and loved it, so I bought one. Liked it so much I bought another. The 5 string variety is just as exceptional. Get it. You won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal, Hard Rock, Filth-Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
ESP B-50 LTD Bass Customer Review
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am sure I will be buying another ESP in the future. Afterall, one can't have too many basses right?
Sound
Just got this out of the box a few hours ago. I plugged it in, gave it a quick tune and have been playing non-stop for the whole time. It sounds GREAT. Not as deep and thumpy as my stilleto, but it sounds very comparable to my Ibanez srx500---Good tone. I did have to adjust the bridge slightly, but that's no biggie. It took two minutes. The strings are ok. I will jam some DRs on there and we'll be fine. I bought it because I had heard so many good things about ESPs and wanted to see how their under $200 models compared to Ibanez before I invested more. I will probably use this one for a few weeks and see how it goes....but I gotta say, it sounds great!
Features
Not much to it. But it's a bass for god's sake. You don't need much. The knobs are quality and look cool. The tuners are nice and tight. The bridge is quality. Good deal.
Ease of Use
Do you know how to play the bass? This is a breeze. Is this your first bass? I would say that you can learn on this nicely. The neck isn't too wide. The bass feels stout but not crazy heavy. It's got good balance (unlike an Ibanez which always feels neck heavy). I have killer expensive straps so I can't tell you how it would feel with a cheap strap, but it's pretty comfy.
Quality
The bass is BEAUITFUL! It looks like a much more expensive bass. It's sexy as heck and the finish is perfect. I couldn't be happier with the looks of this bass!
Value
I would say that the 2 bills that I paid for this was totally worth it. I am tempted to buy another just to have in the closet to give away at a show or something. I play with more expensive gear, and have been disappointed many times....NOT with this one.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with them
The Wow Factor
I can't wait to play this in front of women! It's sexy, sleek and very very cool. Much cooler than a woodgrain bass or some plain black thing.... I HATE the look of Fender basses---I think they look cheap (unless it's Sting's '59) so this thing is a nice change. It's great!
Musical Background:
Professional musician
Musical Style:
Rock/Pop/Jazz/Funk
35 of 37 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"No problems what so ever"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
this is the best sounding bass ive ever used and by all means ever owned.
Features
the pickups are really sensitive but not TOO sensitive so they offer a happy medium.
Ease of Use
VERY easy to get great sound from this instrument, very 'playable'.
Quality
ive dropped it, the straps have broken and its hit the floor, and when practicing in the basement ive hit it on the ceiling and the only mark on it is a small chip off the veeeery tip of the headstock.
Value
worth WAY more than the asking price. a must buy! :P
The Wow Factor
ive had many people say that my bass is sexy :P
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal/Speed Metal/Thrash
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"If you're trying to decide, buy it!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I love this bass.
Sound
This thing sounds awesome, I can go from playing pop punk to playing hardcore with the two pickups.
Features
The two pickups are amazing. I really didn't think I could find a bass with this good of a sound quality in it's price range.
Quality
This beast has 6 bolts holding on the neck, which is set really deep into the body, it's not falling off anytime soon. It's a little heavy though, but you get used to it.
Value
Best bass you're going to find in this price range. Period.
Manufacturer Support
I sent in the warranty, but I haven't had to actually deal with the company, but I'm sure they would be helpful.
The Wow Factor
Already have it, I play it off of a Behringer BX600 amp, it sounds awesome.
Musical Background:
In a band.
Musical Style:
pop-punk to hardcore
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Id buy this over anything!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Overall, this bass (im my opinion) will last you a long long time, i played this monster at my school ,who owns it, and you know it has to be durable and long lasting for a school to buy for a bunch of roudy kids.
Sound
Sound quality is amazing, just thru a 120w fender combo at my school. Pretty simple when it comes to details but deffinately shines with a Choppy or your standard low tone sound. Sounds something like Rob of metallica played when i saw them live in september, but he uses music man.
Features
Pretty simple with the 3 knobs and what not. NICE SMALL FRAME its amazingly light compared to a peavy six string i bought for more than double the price, now i wish i saved my money. Fretts are also easy to jump to
Quality
Seems rugged, and build tough! No humming on fretts when i played, and everything is built in sturdy.
Value
This thing is soo worth the cash. Im buying one after xmas, the sound ,durability, and esp quality, and you just cannot beat the price.
The Wow Factor
I want it like a porn star wants head
Musical Background:
Musician,hobbyist
Musical Style:
Metal, punk, rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2015 by Eric J Capasso in Streamwood, IL
"Great Bass"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well, I thought I had a problem with this bass. Come to find out it just needed a set up. Out of the box it looked like the nut slots were cut too deep and the bass was unplayable. I called my local guitar shop after contacting ESP witch they never emailed me back. The guitar shop asked me to check the neck relief. That was the problem, there wasn't ANY relief. After doing a setup. I use to work or help out at a guitar shop when I was a kid. I forgot that new guitars are not really setup out of the box. OMG this was great. I paired my B-50 with a Peavey Max 110 amp and just let it rip...
Sound
The bass is touchy. The pickups notice any touch of the strings. Sound is great with the Peavey Max 110 amp.
Features
The pickups are great. The tone control lets you adjust more I noticed. Seems like the tone is better then a normal tone control. This bass gives me the chance to play any type of music I want.
Ease of Use
After the setup, the bass is very easy. The neck is thin and not painted so I can slide up or down the neck easy.
Quality
Very good quality. Setup was easy and holding. No problems with going out of tune all the time. Body paint is great for being black. Nice shinny mirror like finish. Controls feel solid and not loose.
Value
Great value for a well made bass. I bought a Washburn bass years ago when I was working for a music store in my teens. I paid at least 3 times more for the Washburn then the LTD B-50. Really not much to compare too, but all I had was problems with the Washburn. The B-50, using the strings it came with, did a setup, great bang for a buck...
Manufacturer Support
Well. I emailed ESP about the nut problem I thought I had. It did look like the strings were deep in the nut. ESP never emailed me back. Prob thought I was the nut and didn't want to tell me it just needed a setup, didn't want to make me feel more stupider.
The Wow Factor
Like I said, I paired the B-50 up with a peavey Max 110 and when I started to play a little on it.... WOW... is what I said to myself. That's my wow factor
Musical Background:
Slight Beginner.
Musical Style:
Alt, Rock, Metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2012 by Gerry McGuckin in Walden, NY
"Unbeatable Value"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This bass is a terrific value, whether a beginner, intermediate of gigging musician. Elegantly simple, easy to set up and play, with a great array of tonal possibilities, the ESP B-50 is made of quality, SOLID materials! Easy on the shoulders as well as the hands and wallet, this is a bass I actually own two of!
Sound
The P / J active pups provide a wide pallet of tones
Features
All useful, no frills.
Ease of Use
Super easy, once properly set-up. Set it and forget it!
Quality
Built like a tank with nicer paint!
Value
UNBEATABLE value for $200!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Never needed 'em!
The Wow Factor
Not especially eye-grabbing- although it it of a smaller shillouette than most basses, it is most importantly VERY Well-made, (especially love the neck profile / heel joint .) Quality of instruments 3 times the price!
Musical Background:
Player / builder of custom guitars &bass'
Musical Style:
All types of Music
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"These guys are choice retailers. Your dumb to buy from some one else"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Probably one of the best experiences buy a product online. Fastest delivery i have ever seen (no joke). I will def use you guys again in the future.
Sound
obviously its no 3000 dollar bass but for that price range its excellent
Features
i got it with a package deal alla the stuff is sweet and im glad i bout it
Ease of Use
This is my first bass and im not music expert but it feels good in your hands and its a bass so its pretty easy to play
Quality
again its no 3000 bass but for the price the quality is good everything os nice and tight and looks like it should last a while
Value
Some really nice product for only 200 bones
Manufacturer Support
Wow To many times i have called support only to deal with some one from another country thats hard to understand, not with these guys. they were very straight forward a helped me with what i need. You cant ask for any more really
The Wow Factor
This babay will get you laid my freind!
Musical Background:
New Musician
Musical Style:
Punk, Alternative, Techno, Acid Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The best value for a first bass"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I plan on keeping this one for quite some time.
Sound
Really great sound for such a low price. Sounds great in the studio as well.
Features
Not much to it, just some basic tone controls
Ease of Use
GREAT for any metal bassist. Feels tougher than other ones I've tried out, in my opinion its the best value your buck can get you.
Quality
The volume knob was loose when I got it at first, but otherwise its been fine.
Value
The BEST bass to start out with, or a great back up bass for more experienced players.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
Everybody's so used to seeing the typical fender/squier bass shape, so this really stands out. I've gotten a ton of comments about how it looks expensive, and I also have the titanium color, which looks weird at first,but with stage lights it reflects a buncha different colors it looks great.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Progressive Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, Punk, Rock
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 3, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"awesome bass for under 200$"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
this bass sound awesome for the money i would tell anyone looking for a bass under 200$ about this bass i have a harkte stack and this bass blows everyone away
Features
at first i thought the pickups wasn't that great but when i pluged it in it sounded really good
Ease of Use
this bass plays really good i didn't get it new so i dont know how it is new but its got a fast neck
Musical Background:
active musician bass player
Musical Style:
funk rock red hot chili peppers
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2015 by Eric J Capasso in Streamwood, IL
"Second Bass In Years"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I like this bass a lot. Feels good, thin neck, over all build. I had a hard time out of the box with the neck. It looked like the strings were too deep in the nut, found out it just needed a setup done. Great tones, plays good, no buzz.
Sound
Sound is great. Just don't use cheap patch cords.
Features
Not much as features go. Comes with a 9volt battery, had to check when I got it. One screw on the battery cover is striped.
Ease of Use
The thin neck makes it easy to play without having to strain your hand to push on the strings.
Quality
Over all, its not bad at all. Other then the battery cover screw being striped the quality is very good. I haven't played in years so I'm getting the hang of it again and this was a very good choice to buy.
Value
Value is great. This bass can stand up with the other brand names, (at least I think so.) The last bass I bought was a Washburn bass back in 1990 and I paid 3x as much on that then the LTD B-50.
Manufacturer Support
Like I said, I thought the strings were cut too deep in the nut and the bass was unplayable out of the box after tuning. I emailed ZZounds about it and they put me in the right direction, but ESP never emailed me back. After looking up on how to do a setup, all is good now.
The Wow Factor
Well, my wow was doing the set up. I set the trussrod at .010 thinking I was going to have to set it at .020 after seeing how low the strings sat in the nut. .010 is great and with a some what low action makes it easy to play with no fret buzz. For the price I also thought that this wasn't going to be a good bass, but I was wrong.
Musical Background:
Beginner
Musical Style:
Alt. Metal, Rock, Classic Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
ESP B-50 LTD Bass Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
No beginner beats this
Sound
This thing sounds awesome!
Features
2 volumes and a tone but thats all you need for this thing
Quality
Wow this thing is built like a rock. This thing goes thru hell and its still sounds and looks great
Value
The 350$ i put into this were worth every penny
Manufacturer Support
havent had too!
The Wow Factor
Sleek and beautiful
Musical Style:
alternative, punk, metal, ska, jazz
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2009
ESP B-50 LTD Bass Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I don't plan on replacing my black maiden for years. Even when that day comes, I'm not trading it in, it stays on as my back-up. *I didn't know where to put this: after hearing my new bass for the first time, my keyboard and guitar teacher restocked the school basses, with ESP LTD B-50s.
Sound
I play this bass through an SWR working pro 10 and more than a few of my friends tell me "sex comes from that amp." I'm only told that while playing this bass, not my other (Yamaha BB200). It has a deep tone that really packs in the punch where it matters.
Features
The volume knob came loose after I bought it, but that doesn't really affect tone. Tuners are sensitive to the perfect degree.
Ease of Use
I love playing it. I'm female, so naturally i have smaller hands (proof of my small hands: I also play pro violin). Despite, I have no problems hitting notes without buzzing .
Quality
Again, the volume knob kills. Other than that though...I wouldn't be nervous taking it without a backup. Originally, I had only one beaten up strap between both my basses (still can't afford another case), when that strap popped off and my bass hit the floor, I found no damage to anything of the bass.
Value
IF YOU WANT A GOOD DEAL ON A BASS, YOU NEED TO BUY THIS!!! Like many of those reading this, I'm a high school bassist trying to pay for my passion. When I spend over $200, it better be on something worthwhile. Well, mission accomplished.
The Wow Factor
This bass redefines "plain black bass." It's not plain...it's infinitely sexy.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"good bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
overall this is a great bass for its price ive never had any need to call support or get it repaired
Sound
pretty good sound, slight buzz
Quality
this bass is almost perfect exept the plug comes loose and falls into the body, this is easy to fix, simply remove hte plate covering the plug, there is a washer on the inside, take it off put hte plate back on and put both of the washers on the outside, your problem will be solved (note: this voids the warenty)
Musical Background:
learning bass
Musical Style:
rock, funk: most of the sub genres
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2003
ESP B-50 LTD Bass Customer Review
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
great sound. its amazing all over the board, slapp, tapping, regular finger picking, and with a pick. it all sounds great!
Features
i dont like the knob and wiring configuration, but it works fine. just not my favorite layout.
Quality
yep
Musical Style:
fonky, jazz, drum and bass, a lot of slap and tapping stuff too.
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.