Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ernie Ball Super Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Guitar Strings - 9-42 Gauge

Ernie Ball 2223 Super Slinky Electric Guitar Strings (9-42)

Nickel plated and round wound, this legendary guitar string features big tone in a thin, comfortable gauge. Just ask Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck, and Angus Young.

Overall User Ratings (based on 75 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(75)
Submitted April 22, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"its a classic good ole american string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
been useing Ernie ball strings forever 30+ years and there's no need to switch for they play and sound as good as anything out there and the price is right if you shop around a bit.
Sound
this is the all time american classic string. They sound and play well after you break them in a bit. One set last about two gigs if i'm lucky but thats the way it is with most strings.
Ease of Use
put them on a wail
Quality
I've heard that all strings no matter what brand are made by one or 2 company's but out of all the strings i've tryed these feel the best to me.
Value
shop around and buy them by the dozen and you can find them just over 3 bucks a pack. Best value imo
Manufacturer Support
no need
Musical Background:
30 + years guitar and pro sound
Musical Style:
classic rock/ blues
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"they are worth it. buy them!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
im use to 9-42 strings,so i will always gravitate towards these strings. and they dont cost too much...unlike bass guitar strings.
Sound
When i play with these strings on my Ibanez Stagestar(stratocaster type guitar) they play pretty awsome. when i pluck the 1st,2nd, and 3rd strings, the thicker ones echo. i dont know if this is normal,but im use to it.
Features
six metal wire strings dude...what else is there?
Ease of Use
if you know how to put the strings on and tune it, your good. :)
Quality
these are the first brand of guitar strings i bought. they never let me down. if i remember, they last for about a month or two i think. if they broke,it was because i try to string bend on the 22nd fret of the highe string.(i dont know if that is normal or not)
Value
awsome guitar strings for about five dollars...hell yeah its worth it.
Manufacturer Support
support??? for guitar strings??? if they break just get new strings.
The Wow Factor
sex appeal??? the pack is pink...its kinda sexy. LOL!! kidding. these do have appeal to me. i get them when i have money and on the back, it says metallica uses them. so, i think that is pretty cool.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal/Nu metal/Trash
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2018 by GLENN BAKER in Chillicothe, MO
"THESE ARE THE BEST THAT I'VE FOUND BAR NONE !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been using these "slinky" strings for many years, have never even thought of any other strings. They finger easy, do not break, asound great and a set will last me for two months anyhow.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 70+ years, now retired but still play every day for therapy !
Musical Style:
OLDER COUNTRY, ROCK-N-ROLL AND ROCK-A-BILLY. I GREW UP WITH THIS MUSIC AND HAVE NEVER CHANGED.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2018 by John Dunn in Garland, TX
"Best strings I've ever used"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've used Fender, Gibson, Dean Markley, GHS, and most every other string out there and I'm always coming back to Ernie Ball. Those strings feel so smooth and usually last me 2 months a set. Give 'em a try
Musical Background:
I've played live and in bands for 15 years
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Industrial, dancepop. Whatever I get inspired to play
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 23, 2014 by Dana G in East Hampstead, NH
"Love the super slinkys"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have used many brands of strings including Ernie Balls regular Slinky strings and I do like them but I like the Super Slinky strings better. Clear tone, I am very happy with these strings and I have them on a Gibson Les Paul, a Washburn and a Fender Strat.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 30 plus years,electric and acoustic guitar, piano, trumpete and drums.
Musical Style:
Mainly classic rock and my own.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"awesome strings, screw the rest of you"
Sound
i love the feel, if you want the dive bomb effect, but ton't have a whammy-bar, these strings are easy to bend. i've had mine for 14-ish days and they have not broken and i play deathj metal, heavy strumming.
Ease of Use
easy bending
Quality
strong, but small
Value
cheap, but good
Manufacturer Support
i love ernie ball
The Wow Factor
girls love the sound of my 'super slinkys'
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
metal, rock, alternative
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2007
"DON'T BUY"
Sound
the sound is dull and not very resonant
Quality
break way to easily, i broke 5 in 1 week (I am not a hard strummer)
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Jazz, Metal
1 of 8 people (13%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2005
"Slinky Dinky"
Sound
Not bad. They make sound, and it sounds like a guitar. Hasn't brought out the tone in mine the way other strings do, but they aren't exactly shostrings, either. They seem to lose their brightness rather quickly in my experience.
Quality
They go from crisp to dull in about two weeks from regular play (about an hour a day), and I've had more than a few break while simply putting them on; a problem I havn't had with my usual brand.
1 of 8 people (13%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2005
Ernie Ball Super Slinky Customer Review
I SAY CONVERT TO DEAN MARKLEYS!!!
Sound
hmm.. lets see, sounds are very nice to be honest. But i have more to say...
Quality
these are the far worst strings i've ever played in my life, quality is ridiculous. These things last only for a few days, and few days it takes just to keep it in tune!! Ok, so for a few days, these things are smooth and silky for awhile, then the b string starts to corrode like hell!
Value
good value! ...for such a cheap product.
Manufacturer Support
hmmm.. thank you for having these stupid bands at the back so we can buy your cheap product, i give a ten for a 'trying' support.
of 8 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to