Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottom Slinky Nickel Wound Electric Guitar Strings

Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottom Electric Guitar Strings

This unique pack of electric guitar strings pairs lighter high-gauge strings with thicker low-gauge strings for easier soloing and a bigger bottom.

Overall User Ratings (based on 42 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(42)
Submitted March 6, 2015 by Brad H in Wichita Falls, TX
"Great strings"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These strings are fantastic. Don't pay any attention to the reviewer that stated to switch to regular strings every couple of sets. If your neck is twisting, you need to take better care of your neck, truss rod relief and all that. Probably need a better guitar in all honesty. I've been playing these strings exclusively for 6 years. I keep my stuff in drop C and drop B. I've even had these in standard and drop D tunings, never had an issue with my neck on any of my guitars! If you string and set up the guitar the right way you'll fall in love with these strings and never look at another brand again.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, lead guitar in metal band
Musical Style:
Hard rock, metal
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Amazing strings, good value!!!!"
I love these string, I got a pack of ten a year ago and only used TWO sets. These are also good to do dive-bombs, cause the set I used before these broke the b and high e string.
Sound
well, they're thick strings, good for de-tuning I guess???
Features
if they came with a string winder, it would be great.
Ease of Use
thick and noisy, just how I like it!
Quality
my last set lasted me about 2-3 months, and I kept goingfrom drop b to standard then drop a then drop b then drop cthen standard again then drop d, etc.....
Value
great value
Manufacturer Support
didn't need to
The Wow Factor
if you like playing drop tuned songs, these are the strings for you.
Musical Background:
Unsigned Band
Musical Style:
Nu Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Hard Rock, Punk Rock.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2017 by John O in Jenks, OK
"Ernie Ball Skinny Tup/ Heavy Bottom"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are great strings for playing in lower tunings. They keep good tension and don't go slack on you. Great strings for a great price. Besides, you need to keep your strings changed more often, if you play a lot.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for 35+ years.
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"BUY THESE STRINGS"
Its Ernie Ball.. nuff said...
Sound
For anything metal, probably the best strings ive ever used. I had used hybrid slinkys for the longest time, then i found these and im hooked.
Features
uh... they're guitar strings. If they came with a little dude that would put them on for me... that would be cool....
Ease of Use
again... see above
Quality
the best of the best. Ernie Ball has the king of strings.... it doesnt matter what music you play... they have a string for you
Value
i buy them at a little guitar shop for $8... and i dont mind paying that for strings because they REALLY last.....
Manufacturer Support
never needed to complain...
Musical Background:
Lead Guitarist
Musical Style:
Metalcore/Death Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2004 by a customer from netscape.net
"BUY THESE"
only strings ive used been playing them and gone thgouh 2 packs and working on a 3rd only bad thing is that you need tortex picks cause there thick strings and they shred fenders
Sound
deap sounds very versitile nice lound great for punk
Features
there strings
Quality
look and feel great allmost never break
Value
best strings for the $$
Manufacturer Support
dunno there strings
The Wow Factor
only strings worth twanging
Musical Style:
punk, old punk, street punk, and some trippy
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2004 by a customer from earthlink.net
"Excellent set o'"
Just all in all great strings. Need I say more?
Sound
Just your regular old EB strings. Sound fine to me.
Features
(Kind of an odd category for strings)...Only one other produst like it: D'Addario EXL140s (10-52). I love the feel of high 10s, but not on my low E, A, and D strings. They're perfect for me.
Quality
Well, I love EB strings. They hold up well for me. These are no exception.
Value
See all above comments - I LOVE SLINKYS!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with 'em...
The Wow Factor
Again, kind of bizarre. Silnkys all have cool, retro packaging, and the strings are so soft (?) and "slinky."
Musical Background:
Just for fun, ma'am
Musical Style:
Jam, Blues, Folk, Texas Blues, Classic Rock, Chicago Blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2012 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Good strings but..."
These are good string but beware.. Every 3rd set of strings put on a set of regular 10-46 or 11-48.REASON BEING: The uneven tension between the Skinny top, and the Heavy Bottom WILL and I repeat WILL IN FACT twist your guitars neck.. Your guitar needs a break from these every few sets. I suggest every two or so. BUT don't get me wrong these strings rock. Just keep in mind, these are very bad for your neck.
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
these strings are extremely durable and clean sounding and well they are ernie ball man u know ur getting quality
Sound
these strings are extremely good for fast and crunchy metal riffs so if your into that kind of playing style i really recomend these strings
Features
well idk they are ernie ball man i mean wat u expect
Ease of Use
these strings are fatter than other strings so if u are just starting out i wouldnt recommend them they could hurt ur fingers a bit
Quality
these string are very durable
Value
these are well worth 7 dollars
Manufacturer Support
umm idk havent had any problems yet
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Metal, Pop Punk, Happy Hardcore
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2008
Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review
Just really great strings.
Sound
Sound good, great for metal in that you can just pound away at them.
Features
just thick enough to be durable on the bottoms, and skinny enough on the high strings to be solo-able
Ease of Use
easy to play on.
Quality
Dont hardly break. Ever.
Value
Well worth $8
Manufacturer Support
Ernie ball has great support for everything.
The Wow Factor
Good looking strings in my opinion/
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2006
Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review
i think these strings make a guitar alot more versatile, e a and d are gonna feel thicker, which is better, g b and e are gonna feel like fishing fire which is way beter for fast solos.
Sound
when im practicing i basically play slayer and metallica, youll have a crap load of fun with these strings if your into that, i can also get that chunky bottom end,sledge hammer pantera sound now that i wasnt getting at all with the generic strings that came with my guitar
Features
um well, there strings, i guess they slide pretty good.
Ease of Use
for metal riffs these stings make life alot easier, believe me, kick ars for metal riffs
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to