Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone PR5-E Compact Jumbo Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Epiphone PR5-E Compact Jumbo Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar

Warm up your sound with this jumbo acoustic-electric. The PR5-E features a Mahogany body and neck and a Rosewood fingerboard with split diamond inlay.

Overall User Ratings (based on 119 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(119)
Submitted April 13, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The PR5E acoustic Electric from Epiphone is a smart buy and you should get one before the price goes up. It's worth more than th"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll definately play this guitar for a very long time. It does what I intended it for.
Sound
This guitar was great to play right out of the box. It has a full tone and was setup just the way I like it. The PR5E sounds great plugged in too. It's electronics sound amazingly crystal clear and can cut through when other instruments are playing. The fit and finish were excellent except for one spot where the neck joins the body. It looks like whomever sprayed the neck didn't get all the way to the body but other than that it is all in all an excellent instrument.
Features
I do have to give low scores for the end peg jack combo. I had to cut a larger slot in a strap because the peg is too large to accept a regular sized strap hole. This was a minor thing.
Ease of Use
The different sounds you can get with the PR5E are exceptional and the tuner is spot on.
Quality
Like I said before, except for the missing finish on the neck where it joins the body it is perfect and a great looking guitar for the price.
Value
Dollar for dollar you won't find a nicer playing and sounding instrument. It kind of reminds me of the Martin Aura series with the 000 body style.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with support yet so I can't say how they are. I can however say they have been exceptional in the past as I have 4 Epiphone guitars.
The Wow Factor
It's beautiful and the 2 piece back really sets the instrument apart from others in this price range.
Musical Background:
pro/semi pro musician
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, jazz, country and blues.
47 of 47 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2012 by Cliff B in E. Falmouth, MA
"Classy acoustic electric"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice out of the box, but I did have to finish the neck setup and do a little tweaking to get the action right. I bought this to replace a 26 year old Alvarez that needed a neck reset. My dollars were well spent on the Epiphone rather than a reset job.
Sound
The sound is good accoustically, but it really shines amplified...very smooth sounding...
Features
The wood and craftmanship are grade A. I like the gold tuners, makes it look more expensive. I got the natural wood finish cause I have too many black guitars at the moment!
Ease of Use
Plays great after a good setup, I have to have low action on all my guitars.
Quality
I am hoping this lasts as long as the guitar it repaced...26 years, we'll see how it ages.
Value
Worth the price and then some!
Manufacturer Support
Yes I did deal with Epiphone on a choice of wood fretboard issue, they were good and responded well.
The Wow Factor
To me it stacks up well against the Gibsons for way less money!
Musical Background:
Been playing since the sixties; pro from time to time, Guitar/keys.
Musical Style:
jazz standards to rock/folk.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2012 by Jimi M in Sumner, WA
"Overall an excellent value for the buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My ex-wife purchased one of these for her daughter and I must say it is a fine instrument overall. I do have to agree with another reviewer about the nck joint though. There is maybe a 1/4" where it is not finished but other than that I cannot find any flaws in the finish. It is a beautifully appointed and a beautifully plaing instrument. What amazed me after plugging it in is that it cuts through just about anything else on stage. It has am amazing presence and the e-sonic system is spot on as far as tuning and sound shaping go.
Sound
The sound of this instrument unplugged is just like alot of other acoustics except that the shallower body is perhaps a little less bold sounding. J You just have to adjust your strumming/picking to keep up. Plugged in this is a sound monster and can esily outdo any other acoustic in the mix. The E-sonic piclup system has a dead on tuner and is easily adjustable for many different acoustic tones., wether that be laid back like Clapton or balls in your face lead sounds. It's fun to work with the different tones this axe has to offer.
Features
The materials used in the manufacturing process are top notch. Solid Spruce top, Split Mahogany back with a beautiful joining, and Mahogany sides. Rosewood neck and nice inlays, rosette, etc. make this a fine instument that should cost more. (but don't tell anyone). The one thing that griped me was the endpin/jack. It is too big for a standard size strap hole so you have to cut a strap to make it fit, otherwise it will keep unplugging from the pressure of a too tight strap that is warped out of flatness.
Ease of Use
It is very easy too get various acoustic tones from this guitar. The pickup system is great. It played great right out of the box and the string height reminds me of many electricks that have been lowered. Easy playing guitar for an 13 year old learner. Although I play it more than she does. That's why I am getting myself one too.
Quality
Like I said, except for the lack of finish near where the neck joins the body it is perfect. Please fix this before I get mine. Taken proper care of it'ts another lifetime instrument from Epiphone that will just get better sounding with age. I contribute that to a Solid Sitka Spruce top.
Value
It's actually worth more than you will pay for it. Take my advice though and get the case that fits this guitar from Epiphone. Protect it like it cost hundreds more.
Manufacturer Support
Epiphone is a solid company if you ever have to use their support. Out of at last 10 Epis I own I have only had to use service once and they were right on the problem solving it in no time at all.
The Wow Factor
It's a good looking, nice playing instrument that will have the fans (girls) looking to whoever is playing it. That to me is Sexy. A sexy guitar and a good player will always get the attention.
Musical Background:
I've been a pro musician for a long time now.
Musical Style:
Classsic rock, country rock, jazz and alot of originals.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 1, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"GREAT GUITAR !"
i will never get tired of this guitar, even though i will buy others and have others, this is my favourite.
Sound
nice clear crisp sound better than most acoustics, good for background and rhythm
Features
really good features, what more could you want from an acoustic guitar?
Quality
well the strap knob could have been metal at the base the battery socket could have been made alot better the guitar stays in tune for long, good, very good ! this guitar is tough, it fell twice,SMACK against the floor and still looks and performs perfect ! overall the guitar is sexy tough and smart
Value
this product is worth far more than the price, you'll get more than your money's worth
Manufacturer Support
never needed repairs or had any problems and i had thsi guitar for over 2 years now and i use it everyday
The Wow Factor
this guitar attracts chicks from afar !!!! the neck is sleek and sexy and the curves are very appealing
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative & Jazz
14 of 19 people (74%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"Not just a guitar, an artwork."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If this guitar was ever broken, stolen, or damaged, i would buy again without a doubt.
Sound
Good Sound overall. Very good for chords, Not so much on the bass end.
Features
Just a great guitar. Not looking for anything special.
Ease of Use
Pickup will stay on it it has battery in it. Otherwise its Very Simple.
Quality
Epiphone quality can't be beat, just isn't possible.
Value
Worth every Penny.
The Wow Factor
I have yet to see a better looking Guitar!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Blues, Jazz, Oldies, Country, Folk
3 of 7 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2004 by mickeyd
"Slightly disappointed."
If it sounded better out of the box I would have given it an 8 or 9. If the tune-up works then I would reduce the 6 down to a 3 as I don't feel that I should have to lay out additional cash in order to get an instrument to sound good. My wife bought me a Washburn accoustic electric several years ago and I wasn't pleased with it then but now, after playing what I assumed would be a better guitar in this Epiphone, the Washburne feels and sounds three to four times better.
Sound
A friend of mine owned an Epiphone years ago and the sound was excellent. I guess I anticipated this one being the same. On the high end the sound is tinny, the strings rattle - there is no way to adjust the bridge height. I am bringing it to a shop to see if they can help. I bought a set of Martin strings but this did little to imporve the sound.
Features
I have to admit that this guitar has a beautiful look. I purchased the sunburst style and aesthetically speaking, it's near perfection.
Quality
Again, from an aesthetic standpoint it's near perfection. The material is good and, although I question Epiphone's choice of low paid Chinese workmen, the craftsmanship seems to be good.
Value
As with all musical instruments, any site that had this product had it for the same price. No great value here one way or the other.
Manufacturer Support
They put up with my complaints about slow delivery due to backorder problems and compt me free case (albeit a cheap one made of cardboard). Don't know how they will respond after I bring the guitar in for a tune-up.
Musical Style:
Country / Rock / Classic Rock
7 of 14 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Fairly Disapointed."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My advice to you, is to buy a regular acoustic, and if you can help it, stay away from Epiphone, then install a pickup seperately.
Sound
Sounds thin, virtually no bass, despite different strings.
Features
The preamp stopped working less than a month after buying the guitar. Had been used twice.
Ease of Use
The circuit remains active as long as the battery is in the slot. Very annoying.
Quality
The fact that things went wrong with very light use tells me that it is very poorly made.
Value
As far as it goes, you get what you pay for. If you cheap out on a guitar, especialy one with components such as this, the guitar will cheap out on you.
Manufacturer Support
Contacted Gibson/Epiphone to resolve the issue, was told to take it to a licenced dealer with the reciept, and it would be covered. I was then told by the dealer that i had to pay up front and Gibson/Epiphone would reimburse me.
The Wow Factor
Im not going to lie, the guitar looks beutiful with the shape and the sunburst.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Progressive, Alternative, some Metal.
3 of 7 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2006 by a customer from charter.net
"Great acoustic guitar unplugged."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This guitar plays well and has good tone.My only complaint is that the bridge isn't grounded so there is a buzzing noise when playing through an amp which I find to be very annoying.Guitar should ground out when you touch the strings.I wouldn't recommend this if you want to hook up to an amp or studio board.
Musical Background:
Active Musician ,Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Melodic Rock
3 of 9 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"My Guitar, best bang for the bucks!! SEXY!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Till the Day I die, witch I hope is quite a while, I want to sing a few more song's to my friends and to the Lord. Sincerely Elvis
Sound
This Guitar with the right Amp, sounds real nice, one of the best Standard Electric Guitars I've heard, would recommend it to all Country players, you can get that ol Country sound that Hank, and lefty, and Merle, and all the Country Greats had in there Music. I love this Guitar, and want to spreed the word about it. It also has a turner built in, witch is so nice you don't have to unplug, to tune. Sincerely, Elvis Aron Preston.
Features
Just a fantastic sound!!
Ease of Use
Just strum a note, and you will see right away, you made the right chose in buying this Guitar.
Quality
This Guitar is one of the best Guitars I've ever had! I owened one other just a little better, and it was a Gibson, wide body, that had a super sound, I still Love this one, and will play it a long time. Elvis.
Value
More! I would have paid much more, here, in the local music markets, so I'm very pleased in my purchase, and intend to buy another Guitar from zZounds shortly, I want a Big body sound that is offered with Epiphone, It's a cutaway also just jumbo bodied. Thanks to zZounds, I can have the Equipment I need, at a low price down, and pay it in 4 monthly payments, that makes it ez to own new, and Fantastic stuff. Always Elvis
Manufacturer Support
None.
The Wow Factor
My Guitar is Sexy, wish I were,..... still.
Musical Background:
35 years doing an Elvis show and Gospel
Musical Style:
Soft and Gentle
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"My Guitar, best bang for the bucks!! SEXY!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Till the Day I die, witch I hope is quite a while, I want to sing a few more song's to my friends and to the Lord. Sincerely Elvis
Sound
This Guitar with the right Amp, sounds real nice, one of the best Standard Electric Guitars I've heard, would recommend it to all Country players, you can get that ol Country sound that Hank, and lefty, and Merle, and all the Country Greats had in there Music. I love this Guitar, and want to spreed the word about it. It also has a turner built in, witch is so nice you don't have to unplug, to tune. Sincerely, Elvis Aron Preston.
Features
Just a fantastic sound!!
Ease of Use
Just strum a note, and you will see right away, you made the right chose in buying this Guitar.
Quality
This Guitar is one of the best Guitars I've ever had! I owened one other just a little better, and it was a Gibson, wide body, that had a super sound, I still Love this one, and will play it a long time. Elvis.
Value
More! I would have paid much more, here, in the local music markets, so I'm very pleased in my purchase, and intend to buy another Guitar from zZounds shortly, I want a Big body sound that is offered with Epiphone, It's a cutaway also just jumbo bodied. Thanks to zZounds, I can have the Equipment I need, at a low price down, and pay it in 4 monthly payments, that makes it ez to own new, and Fantastic stuff. Always Elvis
Manufacturer Support
None.
The Wow Factor
My Guitar is Sexy, wish I were,..... still.
Musical Background:
35 years doing an Elvis show and Gospel
Musical Style:
Soft and Gentle
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to