Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Epiphone Les Paul Special II Player Pack
BACK IN STOCK

Epiphone Les Paul Special II Player Pack

Perfect for beginners of all ages, this package includes a Les Paul Special-II LE guitar, amp, gig bag, picks, tuner, cable, strap, and even online lessons!

Overall User Ratings (based on 753 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(753)
Submitted January 4, 2019 by lewis bailey in dexter, MO
"GREAT guitar and package!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Ordered this yesterday, and less than 24hrs its in my hands. zZounds is simply the BEST!!Ive played guitar most of my 50yrs,and now getting my son into music. As a parent,never buy expensive gear cause you'll never know if they'll stick with it. But don't go so cheap,they'll get frustrated and quit.Epiphone is owned by Gibson,and makes some of the best guitars available.This package is AWESOME. The guitar is stunning,perfectly set up right outta the box,and includes all the accessories.Sound is great,neck is laser straight,action is perfect,amp gives a TON more than you'd expect for the size. Seriously...I've owned a bunch of guitars,and don't let the price fool you..this is a fine instrument. It holds its own any day against any $1500 one on the market. Its good enough that if my son doesn't stick with it,I'll be using it. Seriously.. You can't beat it at this price.Your basically buying the guitar and getting everything else for free. Second time ordering from zZounds and, they are amazing. They'll keep getting my business
Sound
Sound is awesome. I can go from super clean tones for blues playing,to a great Guns n Roses sound.
Features
Components are well made. No one needs $100 knobs,when these do the job.The pickups are awesome and really pack a punch. The agathis body makes for a great warm sound.
Ease of Use
A guitar is only as good as the hands its in.Plain and simple.It plays amazing. Great intonation,neck floats thru my palm like butter,the fretwork is clean and a dream.
Quality
product is made very well. Its solid built and as with every Epiphone I've owned,the craftsmanship is spot on. I expect it to last eons just like every other one I have.
Value
its worth twice the selling price,and is what other strive to be in the guitar/amp package market
Manufacturer Support
haven't ever had to deal with them as I've never had any issues.
The Wow Factor
its an epiphone,they all have amazing finishes on them,and this is no exception.The toggle switch at the bottom is a great thing.
Musical Background:
40yrs,guitar,bass and keyboards
Musical Style:
all
36 of 36 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great LP axe for a low price, just don't expect too much from the extras."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The LP Special is a GREAT sounding guitar for the price, but "caveat emptor"...the amp that comes with the Player Pack is extremely low on the quality scale. It's fine for practice and learning, but leave it at home and buy a decent rig if you're going out to jam with anybody.
Features
Got some picks, decent tuner and an OK strap, but the gig bag is awful.
Quality
The guitar is very comparable to its (sure, better...but expensive!) Gibson cousins. Great axe for a beginner, and I'd even take it on stage with no worries or shame.
Value
The guitar is well worth the cost...the accessories and amp, well...
Manufacturer Support
Gibson...the best!
The Wow Factor
Great, but still ain't a GIBSON Les Paul.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Metal
73 of 75 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2004 by a customer from user.com
"Epiphone Les Paul Starter Pack"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
If this were a $1,000 guitar I'd have some complaints, but for the money I can't think of a better starter pack to get everything you need at once for a good price. Recommended!
Sound
This guitar gives you about five sounds. I like to play it clean with the knob on treble most of the time, but the amp handles distortion and tone changes well also. I can't say I've played it with any other amps though. Sometimes it's a little too tinny, more akin to a Squier than a Gibson, but I still think it's great for the money and I probably won't get a new one for a year or more. Even if I do I'll keep this.
Features
Even the pick-ups are great!
Quality
I don't think Epiphone cut any corners. They really proved to me that they respect and value beginner guitarists.
Value
$240 is an insane price to get everything you need all at once. If you are a parent and are looking for a pack to get your son or daughter I would recommend this one.
Manufacturer Support
No I haven't.
The Wow Factor
I've always preferred solid body guitars for some reason, and I like the all-black design I chose. My ten-watt amp actually shook my room the first time I tried it. I assumed it would sound as quiet as watching someone play guitar on TV, but I was taken aback by how much noise ten watts actually is.
Musical Style:
Polaris, Pixies, etc.
90 of 94 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2014 by gerardo barillas in hialeah, FL
"buyer beware.. buy separately"
Bought the layer pack at a different vendor. The amp was bad and contacted gibson for warranty, you have to ship the wholepack back for service, they cannot service only the amp or the guitar if there is a problem. Since its part of a pack and they might have to swap it, you better have everything that came with it. If you buy ever ything separate, you might spend around the $260 range, i know i did, but i was able to get a better amp than the one it brings. As far ad the guitar, and the humbuckers, they are top notch, worth more than you pay, i got the black one, beautiful, just research the guitar alone all over the web and you will see. The sound can be upgraded later but not necessary. I did notice the individual guitar i purchased had an assembled and inspected sticker in the US, VS. The pack said assembled in china and inspected in the US. Both made in china but the assembly was different. For the sound and money you spend, the best deal out there. Compare it to the next les paul epi out there and you will see you are getting a 400 to 500 dollar guitar for under 150 if you shop. Gibson even did a follow phone call with me after i returned the pack and purchased it separately. Now, i have 3 guitars and this is my second favorite after my acoustic epiphone. Careful, look for string buzz when buying quickly while you can return it, more prevalent on the 5th and 6th string. No matter what people say, no guitar out of the shop should have any, this one did not, the second one had to return it twice until they found one that was perfect. Speak to the sales rep and have them test for this before they ship it or be very patient in the back and forth, this is just a top, you might not encounter this, and people out there are comfortable with doing their own adjustments on their guitars, but this can be an indication of neck problems or other hidden issues, you or your kid does not want to be discouraged with a nice purchase. Again just a tip, the 1000 dollar guitar had buzz and this one was perfect so it does not matter what the price is.
Musical Background:
aspiring musician and hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, hip hop
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Get Playing Now!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to keep this guitar for as long as it will still play...and if anything goes wrong with it, I will most-likely seek to find a replacement part rather than a replacement guitar unless cost proves to be an obstacle. This was the most affordable and feature-packed guitar within it's price range (and even outside of it in a few cases too). Down the road, if it were stolen, I would probably buy an identical replacement. My favorite feature about the guitar is the guitar itself, though the sheer awesomeness of the amp comes in a close second (big volume, great effects)...but my least favorite feature is that I'm picky over picks and don't particularly like those that it came with.
Sound
Really awesome rich sound. It can either be played with a very "clean" sound with little or no distortion, or with the simple twist of a knob and push of a button on the amp become seriously crunchy. Exactly what I was hoping for when I ordered it. I have not yet tried it with other products or had opportunity to record it in my very low-tech home studio.
Features
It literally has everything you need to get started. The amp is great, the strap is comfortable, the tuner is good, and the gig bag is awesome. The only things that I would improve on at all are perhaps the picks (maybe making them a little stiffer? Rather than being quite so flexible? Maybe that's just me...) and perhaps adding a short section to the DVD about chord formation so that you could pick up some basic chords right off the bat. But other than that, I can't think of any ways to improve this product.
Ease of Use
I went from the stiff and stubborn strings of an acoustic guitar to this...and man oh man, what a difference! The guitar plays more easily, it feels better to hold, it looks cooler...it's just amazing. The amp enabled me to adjust my own sound until I got just exactly what I was looking for, with a wide variety of other possible tones still available. Very playable.
Quality
Quite frankly, it is the most sturdy looking and feeling instrument I have ever seen. Fantastic quality. Absolutely no scratches or blemishes anywhere on the product, and everything was in excellent condition out of the box.
Value
Cheapest I could find after shopping around. And the low price guarantee is really comforting as well.
Manufacturer Support
When I opened the box I discovered that the electronic tuner advertised was missing, and that my kit included a pitch pipe instead. So I immediately went down and called the company to request the necessary replacement part and was met very warmly by an employee who was able to order the replacement part extremely easily. My only problem was that while the guitar only took two days to arrive, the tuner took more around a full week to get here. So as long as you're more patient than I am, everything should be fine. That seven days is well within the advertised waiting period for products shipped by this company, so there is really nothing at all for me to complain about.
The Wow Factor
Awesome knobs, cool silver and gold accents on the black finish along the fretboard and body...just a sweet-looking guitar.
Musical Background:
Deejay, musician, and recording engineer.
Musical Style:
Christian rap, techno, dance, and alternative rock.
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2011 by a customer from AOL.COM
"QUALITY GUITARS AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
AS A HOBBYIST, I WILL KEEP THIS FOR AS LONG AS IT LASTS. I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO REPLACE IT WITH THE SAME MODEL, BUT I MIGHT BE TEMPTED TO UPGRADE EITHER.
Sound
FOR A BEGINNER GUITARIST, I HAVE TO SAY THAT I AM SATISFIED WITH THE WAY IT SOUNDS, BUT I HAVE NOT HAD ENOUGH EXPERIENCE WITH OTHER SIMILAR PRODUCTS TO MAKE ANY COMPARISONS.
Features
THIS GUITAR PACKAGE HAD EVERY ACCESSORY NECESSARY TO MAKE IT A FULLY USABLE AND COMFORTABLE PIECE OF EQUIPMENT RIGHT FROM THE START.
Ease of Use
THIS GUITAR IS VERY PLAYABLE AND THE SOUND I GET IS EVERYTHING I EXPECTED.
Quality
IT SEEMS LIKE EVERY EFFORT WAS PUT INTO MAKING THIS PRODUCT AS PERFECT AS IT IS. THERE ARE NO COSMETIC BLEMISHES AN MECANICALLY IT SEEMS TO BE 100%.
Value
IN MY OPINION, THIS PRODUCT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY AND I MADE THE PERFECT CHOICE FOR WHAT I WANTED IN A GUITAR PACKAGE.
Manufacturer Support
HAVING JUST PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT, I HAVE HAD NO REASON TO DEAL WITH THE COMPANY THAT MADE THE PRODUCT, BUT I FEEL CONFIDENT THAT THEY WILL TREAT ME JUST AS WELL AS THE COMPANY THAT SOLD IT TO ME.
The Wow Factor
AS A PRACTICAL ADDITION TO MY SETUP, I LIKE THE WAY IT IS MADE AND THE WAY IT FEELS TO ME AND THE COLOR OPTION HELPED MAKE IT APPEAL TO ME.
Musical Background:
HOBBYIST
Musical Style:
BLUES
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2003 by butcherme
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Sound
The sound is amazing. I have never heared something so loud yet so crisp. It is perfect for the punk rock that I like. I think other guitars would mess up the sound of this great guitar. It would sound great live in a concert or something. It sounds great in a garage or a recording studio. The only thing I use with it is a pick and it still sounds great. There is nothing to make this guitar better.
Features
The most useful accessory was definately the amp. Nothing is not useful in this package. I don't wish for anything more. Everything fits perfectly in this package.
Musical Style:
punk rock
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 20, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"THE BEST WAY TO START!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm gonna be using this guitar until I find a better one. Or until I get a new one =)
Sound
It's my first electric guitar, so I'm not sure...it sounds good.
Features
The DVD is definitely helpful. It's a complete guide on guitar basics, from tunning to how to change strings. The picks are ok, and so is the amp, but not bad at all for the price.
Ease of Use
I was able to mess around with the amp, and got used to it in a few hours of playing... it could'nt be any easier.
Quality
Looks and feels pretty solid; it wont break on my any time soon... but it depends on how well you take care of it.
Value
Great quality all around for a STARTERS PACK, I don't think there's a better one for $199.00
Manufacturer Support
Haven gotten the need to use them, but it seems to be that they are prettu helpful and flexible with returns.
The Wow Factor
My first electric guitar!!! I love the way it feels when I slide my fingers on the strings.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2015 by Justyn J in Albuquerque, NM
"Epiphone Les Paul Special II Player Pack"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an excellent pack for the price. When it arrived, it had the Gibson label on the box, which solidified its authenticity. With the ability to order this pack immediately, under a great payment plan, I received it within two business days, as was stated, and couldn't have asked for more. Not only did it come complete with amp, but also various accessories (cable, picks, strap, etc.) that made it playable right out of the box. I am both a professional musician and instructor. I needed something of both quality and reliability, but also something that I could fit in a small space in a room. I am very pleased with this product, and with zZounds.
Musical Background:
Professional musician and instructor.
Musical Style:
Various musical styles.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2015 by a customer from hotmail.com
"great quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a blemished guitar, thinking that as a beginner maybe I would quit soon so I didn't really care if it came with some scratch, it's been a month and I haven't found the scratch or dents that in the ad supposedly come with, for beginners it's really nice, hope in one more year practicing upgrade an sg.
Musical Background:
guitar beginner
Musical Style:
Psychedelic rock, punk rock, southern rock... etc.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2016 by Alexander H in West Bend, WI
"Great Product - Great Price - Great Service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I thought I'd take a chance and purchase the "Blemished" Ebony guitar pack, the price was so good. Amazingly it arrived 2 days later, even though I didn't upgrade the shipping - I'll be honest, I opened the package with a little trepidation as to what a "blemish" might be...........I still haven't found it, everything is in great condition, like new. SUPER impressed.
Musical Background:
Beginner - first electric guitar
Musical Style:
rock, hip-hop, country, blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2005 by a customer from msn.com
"Great beginner guitar for a great price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very satisfied with this guitar. Really a great deal for the money.
Sound
Great beginner guitar. Sounds great. Nice tone. Only problem is that is goes out of tune easily.
Features
Has all the basics.
Quality
Looks fine. Electronics are good. If it had better tuners, it'd be perfect.
Value
Excellent value for the price. A very playable guitar for a great price.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
Glad I have this guitar. Great as a back up.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Ecletic mix of rock 'n' roll
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"If you want a great guitar, you better get this one... evryone loves a les paul.. they rock.. try one!"
its so wonderful.. i borrowed one from a band member and played a lot better than my peice of junk ibanez.
Sound
this product is awesome... thats why im getting one of my own!!!!!!! :)
Features
comes with everything!
Quality
this guitar lasts for a while... ive been through 3 ibanez's in the past 2 months
Value
CHEAP!
Manufacturer Support
never needed help.
The Wow Factor
its sexy!!
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Totally awesome guitar rocks the kit world"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
will always keep it until i break it. I am sure I will upgrade, but you always keep your first guitar for momento sake
Sound
The sound from this guitar is wonderful, with a high end amp it sounds like a top of the line product.
Features
it could use a better amp but for a starter kit the amp holds it own.
Ease of Use
it is so easy to play, its amazing the quality sound and how forgiving the guitar is for people like me with big hands an fat fingers.
Quality
no blemishes or scratches, was packed and delivered damage free, and as of today no problems at all
Value
awesome price for what we received
Manufacturer Support
did not need to contact, guitar was ready out of the case to play after tuning of course. I do recommend to have the guitar set up by a pro just to insure top quality performance. Mine needed just a little tweak here an there but nothing serious, just keeps the guitar in tune for longer.
The Wow Factor
it could be a little more flashy, but its price and the styling is worth it an made me lust over aquiring this guitar lol, I just knew this was the guitar for me when I seen it
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock Alternative Country
18 of 20 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2021 by Brendon M in Los Angeles, CA
"Nice guitar and starter set at reasonable price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
During the pandemic I decided to get back to the guitar--had lesson back in high school in the mid-80s and then remained the "World Champion of 30 Licks" as I can play that many song intros but not entire song. Wanted an electric to learn on again (check out the Gibson DVD series "Master the Guitar") and did some research and reviewers rate the Les Paul style guitar in this "Player's Pack" consistently well. Once tuned it sounds great and it's nice that this kit includes a practice amp. Only shortcoming is the included tuner - following directions, my guitar was out of tune. I have experience with tuning and I knew right away, "This thing is not correct" and followed the tuning instructions with the Gibson DVD set I ordered separately (you can also download guitar tuning apps for your smartphone that are quite good -- Fender Tune for Android is great).Also, kudos to zZounds for the Fedex shipping included with the price of the guitar set!Great product, great service -- will back for more music supply needs in the future.
Musical Background:
Intermediate -- and needing practice
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2015 by Paul K in Tucson, AZ
"Perfect way to inspire a future musician!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was purchased as a gift for a teenager to inspire him and to allow him to explore his musical interests. So far, so good! This Player Pack, along with the millions of videos on YouTube, gave him everything he needed to try on his own. The seed is planted! The Epi LP is perfect for him and will take him as far as he wants to go. Technique and muscle memory learned here will easily transfer to any future upgrade. The small amp is plenty loud to let the neighbors know that a musician is in training next door. Fortunately, there is a headphone jack to keep the peace. For the price and completeness, this is the perfect start!
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Not so bad, for the price"
Features
Mine didnt come with the amp, but havin two knobs is a lot easier. the tune-o-matic bridge is quality as always tho
Quality
Like all gibson/epiphone guitars the finish and materials used are quality and i dont see anything braking any time soon, apart from the neck bends inwards slightly after a while, but thats nuthin a good ol alan key cant fix
Value
for the price this guitar is definatly one of the best out there and for beginers it would be an ideal first guitar.
The Wow Factor
i have this guitar in black and it also comes with skull graphics that make this guitar quality. u dont normally get a guitar tht looks this good for under
Musical Background:
i play guitar
Musical Style:
Alternitive/heavy shit
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2011 by a customer from mindspring.com
"Outstanding Axe for the Bux!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Got this for my 11 year old on the Autisim Spectrum; he has been playing an acoustic for a year now, and has been practicing hard. He wants to be a Rocker....So I rewarded him with this set up. what an awesome combo for the money. Thanks Epi! As far as sound is concerned....It's a $150 guitar...but sounds much better. I would have been a bit happier if US Inspector #23 would have taken the time to check the tone. The Tone Pot was shorting out on the body... The third fret is a touch high...leaving some vibration. I'll file it down as it becomes apparent that this guitar is a keeper.
Quality
I'd give it a 10 for the money....But that is not what they are asking. I'd give my Treasured Gibson LP a 10...but I wouldn't sell it for the $4500 appraisal.... So take it as it is....this is an awesome axe for the bux
The Wow Factor
Hey...It's a Les Paul.... The shape itself induces arousal!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock R&B
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"play through a good amp to realise its potential!!"
gut guitar but could do with better accesories
Sound
decent sound off the guitar but the amp isnt that great just loud. the distortion channel is awfull. i bought a marshall mg50dfx(dearer than the guitar but i got a deal on it)and this guitar is great played through that. my 2 friends have fenders and they say that it is a good starter guitar.
Features
i had to buy a new gig bag because the one you get is a joke. the pocket at the front barely holds a lead and if you put anything more in there the guitar wont fit. buy a better lead because the one you get is too thin and too short and looks like it will snap, it will do you for two or three months. i bought a new amp aswell.
Ease of Use
plug and play! nice light guitar and is a good starter pack.
Quality
epiphone kept the cost down with the accesories, and i have replaced most of them. the guitar has a few dings and sratches but still works perfectly. i have read that the frets pop out and that the guitar is rubbish but that hasnt happened to me and i have been playing it for 10 months now.
Value
good for young begginers or parents buying the guitar. im 15 and have changed most of the accesories. it was 270 euro
Manufacturer Support
ill give them the benefit of the doubt! i got a 1 year warranty from the shop where i bought mine.
The Wow Factor
good guitar for the money but be prepared to spend another 50 euro buying new leads and gig bags
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
indie rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 23, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"It dont get no better!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
overall.. best guitar i got.. i think its better then all my frends guitars to.
Sound
sounds nice.. espeically for the price.
Features
came with everything i need. perfect starter.
Ease of Use
real easy to use. and learn knew stuff.. my first guitar. helped me a lot.
Quality
everything good.. only thing is a string broke but they cost bout 4 dollars.. and the only reason it broke wus cus i was tunin it the rong way and it snapped in half,
Value
great value.. i recomment everyone to buy this as thier first guitar.. hell, id buy it again if i had to.
Manufacturer Support
great. orderd it saturday nite and got it wed. after work.
The Wow Factor
sex appeal? hah its prett sexi.. i was so excited to open it when it got here.. by little brother came running to me and said YOUR EPIPHONE LES PAUL SPECIAL 2 IS HERE! lol.
Musical Background:
hobby
Musical Style:
i play soft rock and even some hip hop,
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2014 by Steve B in Desert hot springs, CA
"If at first you don't succeed...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the first guitar that they shipped the D string had a 12th fret harmonic on the 13th fret. Never experienced that on any guitars I have owned. The rep at zzounds never experienced that either. He said pack it all up and emailed me a ups return label. The second one arrived in a week and this time it was a "normal" guitar. I was very pleased. I have been playing since early sixties. You can't beat the price. Kudos to the support team on this one. Thanks!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2017 by Dillon C in Cleveland, OH
"Bought the "Scratch and Dent" Player Pack"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Enough has been written about the package as a whole on the internet, but I have to say zZounds products and customer service were amazing. I wanted a guitar to beat up on, and not take my better ones when I go to my brothers house. I purchased the "scratch 'n dent" model of the Epiphone Player Pack. It came, and I was blown away by the quality. You just gained a new customer from your competition. Thank you for the great axe!
Musical Background:
Jam at Home
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2004 by a customer from cursedprophets.com
"A Buy this guitar its sweet"
great guitar good for beginners to pros I dont really think that the "cheaper" brand causes any difference in sounds its a gibson guitar no matter how you put it and gibson doesn't make a bad guitar even there cheap brand is effin sweet So I would say if you are going to buy a guitar stay with epiphone I play on both and I dont really notice that much difference in sound and I have been playing for 5 years so I should know what I am talking about by now
Sound
This guitar rock no ifs ands or buts about it the only thing I would say to do is throw some slinks on this bad boy and rock out
Features
When I bought this guitar it didn't come with amps or anything it just came with a guitar period so I cant really give it a bad rating for buying what I wanted
Quality
Ok on the quality the guitar hold up pretty well the only thing that I have really noticed is that the knobs on it come loose after a bit and need to be tightened up but the body of the guitar holds up like a champ I have dropped this guitar and nothing on it not even a scuff
Value
well ill tell you what when I bought this guitar I paid $399 thats when they first came out with this guitar and had no deals on it so I would say whatever you pay for it its better then what I got it for
Manufacturer Support
Well I dont know about you but my guitar has a lifetime warrenty on it and they hold true to it but to be honest with you I have never had to call them about anything cause the guitar is nice and doesnt require much work to be done to it
The Wow Factor
Ha I own it
Musical Background:
I play Drums and Guitar
Musical Style:
Dude I play everything But mostly punk
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"ATTENTION BEGINNERS!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was my first guitar and ive owned it now for about 8 months, now im ready to upgrade probably to a more expensive Epiphone Les Paul with a carved body. But i will always keep this guitar.
Sound
For the price, the sound is pretty good. This was my first guitar and i was very satified with it.
Features
it came with a gig bag, amp, and tuner. After about a month the bag torn but the amp and tuner work great. Also the amp is only 10 watts, i think at least 20 would be a lot better.
Quality
The finish is magnificent, the hardware is flawless. Everything was very well made. the only thing i would change is better pickups
Manufacturer Support
never dealt with company
The Wow Factor
The "Les Paul" design is beautiful
Musical Background:
Part-time Musician
Musical Style:
Blues Rock
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"I got the Epiphone Les Paul Special And found that for the price I payed for it I could not bet it any place If you like to play"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great
Sound
I just got my new les Paul Epiphone special 11 player pack on Monday I love the sound that it has and the performance best sound that I have gotten so far I know that I will get many hours of use out of it Thanks .Jesse
Features
Yes I got other things with it like the Bos Tu2 Tuner pedal I use it the most. and the headphones I use the less but they are great also.
Ease of Use
I think that it is the best that I could buy thanks again
Quality
all are great
Value
I do think so
Manufacturer Support
service that I got was the best
The Wow Factor
great
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2018 by Aaron Dye in Tacoma, WA
"Nice starter pack"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice starter pack. The guitar is actually really good, has a Les Paul feel, sounds great and stays in tune. The amp pretty much is good enough for a beginner but i would invest in a little better one fairly soon. Tuner comes in handy, standard black strap with an E on it, Epiphone sticker and user manual
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar going on 10 years
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2004 by a customer from hm.com
"Awesome Guitar."
A looooooooooong time. Supplement it, keep it but seek an additional. Yes, I chose it because it looks like a Gibson, its a good price, and it lasts a long time before it screws up.Yes, Yes, nothing else, what shape it has, like a Gibson Les Paul. Nothing.
Sound
It's a great sounding guitar, worth the price, which is very good. This guitar sounds great which is why I have one. Even in different settings it suonds great, same when its played by itself , and with other instruments. I'm using this with my friends drums and a bass. I don't have any tips to make it sound better.
Features
It has great features, the most useful would be the amp it comes with. The least useful would be the videos and books. It has great parts and its just awesome.
Quality
Yes, great, no, very, depend on it, yes, the color, loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong.
Value
Yes defenately.
Manufacturer Support
Yes, yes, yes, yes, no, no, no, haven't had to.
The Wow Factor
I just dont like the color.
Musical Background:
Active Mucician
Musical Style:
Rock.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2006 by a customer from netscape.net
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll Keep it, but I will get another guitar as my playing improves....What if you built a basic guitar that had really good mechanical workmanship and was upgradeable. ie, better pickups, better knobs, lockable tuners, split volume and tone knobs(push/pull)...additions could be easy and done by the owner or a local shop....this way the little guy could get more use out of the original purchase and upgrade a little and save for a top liner sooner....this would also let them know you cared about them too, and not just the money.
Sound
Everyone is shocked by how loud the guitar is for a starter....Good Job! Maybe offer a pickup option to upgrade, Maybe add two more knob pots ( Push/Pull knobs)to split and seperately control the pickup halfs....
Features
Good tuner! Needs at least one set of extra strings, Its a little heavy. The shoulder strap is a little cheap. Include a stand. oh, and the bag needs a bigger pocket, like the gibson starter pack had...
Ease of Use
The guitar sounds good for what it is and costs, it is a good starter insturment. Better than the other kits....it has alot of good features like the tuneable bridge....
Quality
the neck is a little loose. it needs something to hold it tighter.
Manufacturer Support
NA
Musical Background:
Beginning Hobbist
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Jazz
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Good stuff"
Actually, I'm looking for new gear now. I'm still going to use the guitar, but the amp won't be loud enough soon (it's 10 watts / great for practicing alone or with a friend) but I'm going to try and move up to getting a new set of gear, probably a Fender Thinline Telecaster and a hot rod deluxe if I have the money. Anything 35watts plus. Except crate. I hate their amps.
Sound
It's spooty and such. I normally just use one humbucker at a time though instead of both on at once.
Features
The bag is terrible. Absolutely horrid. I was going to a friend's house with it and the strap ripped and the guitar fell to the ground, damaging the strap nut. Also, get a new strap for the actual guitar, as the one that comes with it isn't that good either. The selector switch died on me after a year or year and a half too. Also, get a better cable... This one is too thin and looses quality after a while.
Quality
Eh, it's okay for that. Still goin strong.
Value
I think it's really damn good, good value and good guitar.
Manufacturer Support
no, actually I haven't dealt with them yet....
The Wow Factor
BR>
Musical Style:
Rock, alternative, ska, punk, flamenco, spoo
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2020 by Gary E in Ludington, MI
"Bought blemished guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one of the blemish guitars and to be honest I couldn't find anything wrong with it. Great deal for the money.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2015 by Tim S in Annville, KY
"First time buyer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This is the first time I bought from zZounds.com and I must say im impressed. The only things I wasn't really satisfied with was the packaging. Everything was packed in two boxes so its not really a big deal, but the outside box was pretty rough, so I was nervous about opening it up, To my surprise however, everything was in excellent condition. The shipping was really fast, and affordable and everything arrived when it was supposed to. I would definitely recommend zZounds to anyone and have been. Great experience
Sound
I bought the player pack Epiphone Les Paul special 2. This is my first guitar. I have to say the guitar sounds so good. The included 10 watt amp, has the Epiphone brand on it, so I don't know what the amp actually is, but all I have to say about that is WOW 10 watts really blew me away. I didn't think 10 watts would be that loud. One thing to keep in mind is this amp is NOT a Marshall stack, so don't expect it to perform like one. That is one thing a lot of reviewers really get under my skin with, they compare a 10 or 15 watt amp that costs 30 or 40 dollars to an amp that has 10 times the power and 10 times the price and are mad when it doesn't sound like a Marshall, people its not a Marshall, be real and you will be impressed. Now on to the guitar. This is my first guitar so I don't have a lot to base my experience off of, so I let my buddy who has been playing for 20+ years have a go with it and he said it was great, and of course he could make it talk so it sounded great in his hands. I love this guitar, there is a tiny bit of fret buzz on the 14th fret but since im just starting out it doesn't bother me, that is it, that's all I can fuss about. I cant say enough good about this guitar, I love it. It is not neck heavy, it has a fast neck on it, its good quality and built extremely well. So many people will say it doesn't sound like a Gibson Les Paul, but I challenge anyone who says that to show me one thing they can do on the Gibson Les Paul that they cant on the Epiphone and ill admit im wrong. Theres a reason that so many people use a epiphone to practice with, its because they are great guitars. I hesitate to call this a "budget" guitar because it is built so well and plays so nice.
Features
Far as features go it is pretty standard. The guitar is pretty much a les paul junior far as I can tell. All the standard bells and whistles. Amp is pretty much the same.
Ease of Use
Extremely easy to use. I never learned to play guitar but I have had several in my hands over the years and I have to say this one rates up there with the best of them. Everything is right where it needs to be and does exactly what it should.
Quality
Ive only had the guitar for a week and a half, but im not worried about it because its a Epiphone. You just cant go wrong with epiphone. If you want to label it as budget you can but its at the top of the food chain with "budget" guitars. I truly expect this guitar to last a lifetime. Im certainly not going to part with it. I may buy others later on when my talent catches up with my ambition, but this guitar will stay with me.
Value
Yes its easily worth what zZounds is asking for it. The guitar itself sells for almost more than the price of the whole pack. Even if you don't need the other stuff that comes with it, you can not go wrong with the price. But for someone like me who is just starting to play, this pack is a dream come true.
Manufacturer Support
no experience with this. Im sure if I ever need them though there wont be any problems.
The Wow Factor
When I opened the box the guitar was packed in I literally caught my breath. I got the Ebony, and the paint job is so well done and so black that it looks like you could reach into it and pull out a blob of black paint, then throw in the chrome hardware and forgeddaboutit
Musical Background:
I do not play profesionally, but I have played drums most of my life and just started the guitar.
Musical Style:
rock, hip-hop, country, blues, Christian, electronic, chillwave ragtime, Balinese reggaeton...
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 29, 2004 by a customer from operamail.com
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Of coarse I will supplement it> The sound is unique. I can't live with just 1 guitar. But this epiphone will always have a special place in my heart. My guitar playing has improved 10 fold. But when I needed a good cheap guitar Epiphone came through for me. I will now always stick with epiphone and epiphone products.You can't beat it!!!
Sound
the special 2, is a very unique sound. You either love it or hate it.Epiphones in general follow this same rule. I happen to love it!!For the price: the quality is very good, it sounds great, it looks great, its simple( which is a good thing) and is made by Gibson(or a brach of gibson).
Features
I wish it came with more pick-ups. The selection of components are good. For $200.00 canadian, it was the best $200.00 I ever spent.Overall you get what nyou pais for and even more>
Quality
me and My epiphone don't go any where without each other. she can stand up to the best of them!!!I trust her with my life!!!! Of coarse she's not perfect but I will have her till I die. So in short giving her a 10 sums it up. Need I say more.
Value
ABSOLUTELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Ihave not needed to contact the company at all. I should not even rate the support but anyway.
The Wow Factor
It's a gibson!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Musical Style:
grateful dead (jazz, blues, rock, country etc...)
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2007 by a customer from Gmail.com
"Wonderful =)"
I can not see myself replacing this guitar. I will keep it, even if i do buy any other guitars, I know I would still play it.
Sound
This product sounds wonderful. Straight out of the box (tuned of course), this guitar can make whatever sound you want it to. Very good quality pickups, Amp is very nice for a 10 watt.
Features
Great feeling picks, Great amplifier and amazing guitar itself, Tuner works well most of the time, DVD I think would be extremely helpful for beginners.
Ease of Use
Very easy to operate and make beautiful sounds. Comfortable, low action strings, smooth pickup switching, smooth Volume/Tone knobs on guitar.
Quality
Very strong feeling guitar, smooth and comfortable, Chrome Hardware looks great, smooth glassy knobs look and feel great, Pickups look very good on guitar.
Value
This was a very good deal for such a good guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I have not needed any support or service, this guitar is great.
The Wow Factor
Very attractive guitar. Hardware and pickups and knobs look simply wonderful on the smooth, even, shiny black finish.
Musical Background:
Learning Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Alternative.
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2016 by Paul V in Hampton, AR
"Best Deal!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best Deal for the money..Everything one would need to get started..Way better than what I started with.
Musical Style:
Rock and Roll,Blues,Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"A simple and easy Les Pual knock-off"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall I thought it was a good set. It will last me a while and it came with some pretty good stuff. Love the bag, like the strap, happy with the amp, and satisfied with the guitar and picks.
Sound
For what I payed for this, the sound is fine. It sure as hell cant compare with $3000 guitars but its ok. The pickups are a little muddy, and on the amp it came with it doesnt matter what mode you set the toggle switch on. It has a nice distorted sound, but when im trying to get a clean one i really can't seem to find it. Over all its what you pay for.
Features
The pack came with all the promised accessories. I recieved 3 picks (all the same size, different colors), the guitar (duh), a 10 watt amp, an instructional DVD ( didnt help at all), a pitch pipe, a strap, and a bag. All-in-all i thought it was a good deal. I like the amp the most, can get pretty loud and has a headphone jack.
Ease of Use
It is a very simple guitar. Its a Les Paul knock off with 2 knobs ( tone and volume), and a three way toggle switch. The frets are extremely easy to get used to. If you put some heavier strings on it, its very easy to play. Its got pretty good sustain as well.
Quality
The finish on this was fine. I couldn't find a single scratch on it no matter how many times i searched it. The input jack was very sturdy and isn't coming loose anytime soon contrary to what ive heard. As far as bringing it on stage, i would use it as a back up if i changed the pickups. Just be carefull not to bang it around too much, the paint will chip off.
Value
For a begginer pack, its not bad but its not great. Ive played along friends with their starter guitars and this is better than any Yahmaha or Sqier. As far as Ibanez starters, I think they are a bit better depending on what you get. But you get what you pay for.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed to deal with the company yet (knock on wood), but as far as zzounds service it was crazy. They shiped it on a monday and it came the next day, no overnight shipping or anything like that. Thanks guys.
The Wow Factor
I mean I obviously wanted it to buy it, but its nothing too special. I feel its a good starter set with a nice finish, but the ebony smudges relativley quickly. Its a nice guitar but not the greatest. I would suggest it though, but if you have other guitars of higher quality don bother.
Musical Background:
Active musician. Im around alot of instruments and own other guitars.
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Hard Rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"Great guitar, great features, great price and its sexy! great for a beginner like me!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i will keep this guitar for several years. ill upgrade the pickups and amp in a couple of years though, but for now its great.
Sound
The soud is good. i crank up the gain and put on the boost it sounds really nice. i always like to have the knobs all the way up for a really nice sound. ONe problem is that there is buzzing in the 5th and 6th string however i think this is because of the tune o matic bridge. Im am going to go to a shop later and have that fixed
Features
The amp isnt the best. its good for me as my first guitar and it still sounds pretty good. my favorite feature is the guitar itself. its very nice and ill keep it for several years. ill upgrade the pickups in a year or so and obviously upgrade my amp aswell.the picks are good and the instructional DVD was very helpful to me.
Ease of Use
this guitar is very easy to use.,
Quality
the cosmetic aspects of the guitar are good. no blemishes or scratches. However after a day, the silver thingys (im not sure what there called lol) that hold the jack in place fell off and i wasnt able to connect to my amp, there is also buzzing in the 5th and 6th string, but that can be fixed in a shop.
Manufacturer Support
WHen i opened my box i noticed that instead of a tuner, there was a pitch pipe. i was fine with that except the pitchpipe didnt work.i called zzounds and they sent me an e-mail and a new tuner is on the way. i also called them when my jack broke. they offered to send me a new guitar and have me return this one but then i fixed the jack myself. The zzounds employees are extremely nice and helpful.
The Wow Factor
I love the way this guitar looks. i got the ebony finish because i didnt like the sunburst but now, i like the sunburst better...oh well shes still a beauty!
Musical Background:
Beginner hobbyist
Musical Style:
basically any kind of rock (punk, metal classic, i love it all!)
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Owner Review"
great guitar to learn on i want a new guitar to get better range in sound giving it for my brother to learn on will last a long time
Sound
This guitar has a nice clean sound but once you want to play big distort power cords its not that great i have tried to use a distort petal on it but it crackles out
Features
The guitar came with a case a useless tuner i went back to the store and bought a proper tuner it would be nice to be able to use more sounds cause you ether get nice and clean or a little distort
Ease of Use
Easy to use and get the sound you want but very limited sound unlike a real Les Paul
Quality
Great Quality perfectly straight neck and not a scratch on the thing with a perfect finish
Value
For the guitar and amp you get great value
Manufacturer Support
never had to deal with them good sign
The Wow Factor
it's a copy of the Classic Les Paul enough said
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Epiphone Les Paul Special II"
I literally stopped liking electric guitar as a whole for months because of the lack of motivation from playing this guitar. In that meantime, I bought an electric-acoustic PR5-E and I still love it and play it more than the Special II. Some final advices: if you are an absolute beginner and a Les Paul fan, do get this package simply for it's value, however, I guarantee that you'll want to buy higher end guitars soon.
Sound
The sound...well how should I put this: the clean sounds boxy and muddy, but if you spend some time tweaking your amp, the sound isn't all that bad. The distortion is where it fails: too grindy---there's very little density and thickness to the tone. It also would not hold a note in tune, and there's very little to say about sustain...
Features
I got the 15W amplifier. Overall it's an okay amp at low volumes. If you crank it up, all kinds of buzzing and fuzzing comes out of it even if u don't touch anything. The strap is ridiculously uncomfortable, the guitar itself squeezes *very*, *very* tightly into the gig bag. Not much versatility on the guitar itself. Only 1 volume and 1 tone knob. The pickups are very weak. The worst feature might be the tuners---HORRIBLE, would not let the guitar stay in tune.
Ease of Use
I have no complaint against the feel of this guitar. It's not that heavy, the neck feels comfortable, Action can be adjusted. Overall it feels okay.
Quality
The quality of the guitar seems to be solid. Nothing has fallen apart yet. The finish is very beautiful, the guitar doesn't dent easily. I would not use this guitar for performances due to the sound quality, however...
Value
This package is very decent for beginners. Has everything one needs to start playing.
Manufacturer Support
no opinion.
The Wow Factor
When I bought it, I wanted the Les Paul look and I loved the cherry sunburst finish. I still like how it looks, just not how it sounds.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic rock, Acoustic, Metal, Blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2021 by a customer from comcast.net
"Great Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great starter or gig guitar. Stays in tune. The worst thing is the amp. Horrible. Low marks for the amp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"warped neck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a beautiful guitar with great sound. The day it came in I had to take it to our local guitar shop to have a new string put on. When they looked at the neck they said it was warped and asked if I ordered it online, when I said yes, they said that's probably how it got messed up...because the guitars either sat in a hot warehouse or from shipping. Had to have the neck worked on and had them put on some new strings that wouldn't be so rough on my son's fingers. When I let zzounds know the neck was warped and I had it repaired all they had to say was you can send it back and we will send another one. I responded... "Why would I return it when I already paid to have it fixed. I was just letting you know the neck was warped when it was received"
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"damn good starter guitar pack"
Sound
good sound for an affordable guitar
Features
not as much as other les pauls but still good for a starter
Quality
it's a les paul!
Value
amazing deal for the price
The Wow Factor
i have it!
Musical Style:
rock, punk, emo, ska
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2014 by M T in Newbury Park, CA
"epiphone lp player paci"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First service, great $
Musical Background:
50+ beginner
Musical Style:
Whatever
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2008 by a customer from earthlink.net
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
forever
Sound
its got great sound i love it has a good rock sound
Features
it has good featurs for the tuner were is it i never got one me and my friend had to tune it for a long time
Quality
it is a sturty i play in a punk band so there's a lot of moveing but it held up
Value
its worth it
Manufacturer Support
its got easy pick ups its got good strings
The Wow Factor
its great and it has a cool look
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
punk rock "oi"
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2017 by James D in Checotah, OK
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was the replacement for my first attempt at buying this product. It arrived in perfect condition. Playable right out of the box, it almost looked as if it had been professionally set up for me. Everything was on the money, must more than I expected for what I spent.
Musical Background:
Have not played long and only electric guitar and bass guitar at home
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, rockabilly
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
u will be usatisfied
Sound
crappy guitar ridiculous price its a piece of trash
Features
amp suks
Quality
it broke in two pieces in just 1 week
Value
this guitar is worth a dollar
Manufacturer Support
heavy
The Wow Factor
its an ugly guitar the babes odnt wont want u with that
Musical Background:
head guitarist of band
Musical Style:
rock
8 of 26 people (31%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 16, 2017 by James D in Checotah, OK
"Missing and Broken"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered an Epiphone Les Paul Special II Player Pac in vintage sunburst. Granted it was listed as a "Blemished" item at a discounted price. I received the order in the specified time. When I opened the package I found that the picks were missing, the free lessons access was not included as it was suppose to be. There was no manual or adjustment tool. I continued and hooked up the guitar after inspection, to the amp. The amp was in perfect condition. I began to use the provided tuner and it identified all the strings as D chord. I tuned the guitar with another tuner I have and began to play it. The 3 way toggle switch is loose and moves when the guitar is played causing a scratching noise that is audible through the amp. It's not the mounting nut that is loose but the toggle itself "jiggles" inside. The switch must be replaced. The action is higher than that of an acoustic guitar, fixable when I get a tool. I contacted support by email with no response, but I did get a bizrate survey instead. I contacted them the next day via online chat from their site. They offered to replace my package with another but did not have it in sunburst, only black. Not an issue but I would have to send this package back, then start the purchase process all over again after waiting for a refund to my CC. In my experience that cant take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks. I am going to see what the repair will cost me before I decide. My suggestion would be that someone check these blemished items to see what is in them and let the customer knoow when they order. By the way visually the guitar is perfect as it the amp. Another reason I am hesitant to send it back as what I get in return is really a crap shoot.
Musical Background:
Guitar, play at home, several years
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Rock, Grunge and most anything else
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"has a great sound"
this guitar is a keeper. The only other guitars i would get would be acoustic, 12 string, double neck, or semi hollow body
Sound
this thing p
Features
just a bad strap, every thing else is really good, the tuner is the best one i have ever owned. needs a better amp than that one. This guitar sounds amazing in a half stack.
Manufacturer Support
never needed service
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
jazz, rock, blues, polka, classical
4 of 29 people (14%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2009
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Sound
It's a great guitar to start off with when your a beginner, but once you start to develop a keene musical ear you soon realize that it doens't have great tone. Also to me the action seems really high and the frets aren't as could as they could be. This is all my own opioin so disagree with me if you please.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2008
"good for beginners"
Sound
the overall sound is great. i play through a yamaha tube amp and its sounds great. a good effects pedal would really bring out the potential
Features
only having one tone control and one volume control really limits what the guitar can do.
Ease of Use
one of the easiest guitars i own. quick neck and easy handling make it great for beginners to learn how to manuver the neck
Quality
does not stay in tune long. easy to string. action could be lowerd or raised depending on preference
Value
good price for what you get
Manufacturer Support
never had to use it, but good coverage
The Wow Factor
good for beginners but there is room for improvement. i've had it for a year and a half and have upgraded to the epiphone sg prophecy gx
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2008
"perfect starter guitar with an awesome price, Get It!"
I will keep using this guiatr untill I get better,
Sound
It is a great sound for beginers or people that have already played.
Features
The tunner is great! It really helps when you brake a string.
Ease of Use
It prety easy do do it with just the guitar. You will get awesome sounds if you buy a distortion pedel.
Quality
This guitar has a great quality structure. But you do have to always keep the screws tightened. Especialy the ones at the top. It's not a peoblem.
Value
I think the guitar should be more money because it it such a nice starter guitar with nice accesories.
Manufacturer Support
had it for awile and never needed support.
The Wow Factor
The sunburst looks the best.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2007
"Really good finish and great guitar, etc...."
I would be satisfied with it for about 2 years and then I would be do for a new guitar....
Sound
The sound has a buzzing noise, but you can bring in the guitar to a guitar store and they can fix that for you. It has a good gain and if you crank the gain and the volume it sounds really cool.
Features
The guitar has good pickups.But the tuner is not that good. Go buy another one. The DVD is really good for beginners. It teaches you chords and the parts of the guitar, tells you how to tune a guitar and it tells you what to do if your guitar strings break. At the end of the video, it plays the song ''Louie, Louie.''
Ease of Use
It's okay..... It's a good beginner guitar.
Quality
The finish is excellent and it has a nice sunburst color. When i used it the pickups got a little scratched but you can't see the scratches that well. The guitar gets dusty but you can go to a guitar store and by a special kind of cleaner to use on the guitar.
Value
This guitar is unbelievable. It's a great guitar with a better price.
The Wow Factor
My friend Paul really likes the guitar.........
Musical Background:
used to play drums
Musical Style:
rock and alternative.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2007
"Epiphone Special II POlayer Pack"
It's so, so, so, so cheap. It's fantastic for beginners (like I was a year ago), but now I'm alot better and I upgraded to a Roland Cube 60 amplifier recently and will be buying a ESP LTD KH202 to suit my level of playing now but its perfect as a first electric guitar
Sound
The amp is an ok practise amp at 19Watts but has a very muddy overdriven sound and good look trying to be heard over drums! With a better amp (for me a Roland Cube 60), the guitar has a very good overdriven sound despite the poor pickups. But for $200 what do you expect!
Features
2 knobs on the guitar-1 volume & 1 tone. 3-way pickup selector in a very awkward position. Instructional DVD, cord amplifier, picks.....
Ease of Use
Plug it in!
Quality
I have let the guitar fall a few times and the paint scraped off and a chunk of one of the tuners fell off. Loads of scratches from picks bt they arent noticable. Alot of buzz on the 5th and 6th string which isnt good. The frets arent very smooth. The tuners keep your guitar in tune for about an hour!
Value
It's a steal!
Manufacturer Support
Havent ever needed them, which is good
The Wow Factor
The guitar looks beautiful with the ebony finish
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2007
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Sound
its the best sound even tho it has cheap pick ups my friend has the same thing but gibson pick ups and sounds even better than the cheap pick ups i have.
Features
it came with good accessories but i wish it included triangle picks more than anything but still a good pack for intermediates and beginners.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2007
"Thisss issss thheee besssttt guitaaarrr eveerrrr."
This guitar is just a great one. All of my friends want one.
Sound
This guitar sound smooth and awesome. It's the best sound I've ever heard!You'll be very happy with this sound.
Features
This guitar has a great amount of accessories. It comes with a instruction book and a really helpful DVD.
Ease of Use
This guitar is easy to play...
Quality
This Les Paul has a smooth finish. It's black finish looks really good on this guitar.
Value
This guitar has a great price for a great guitar.
Manufacturer Support
This company is very friendly. If you want to by this guitar they will help you if you need help.
The Wow Factor
This guitar attracts girl. I've been there.
4 of 12 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2007
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
BUY THIS GUITAR.
Sound
this guitar has a great sound. the knobs on the guitar work great.
Features
The tuner is not bad and the amp is good. the instructional video was very helpful.
Ease of Use
This guitar makes whatever sound you want it to.
Quality
the guitar is sturdy and will last. the strap isnt great but you can get a nice one for cheap money.
Value
Compares with anything..
Manufacturer Support
did not need it but it sounds like its good.
The Wow Factor
this is a beautiful guitar.
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2006
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Sound
This guitar is just a rebadged Gibson Epoch with worse pickups, but it is still good. I replaced the pickups with really expensive ones, and the sustain is incredible. If you want to keep a note in a solo, this is the guitar for you. The distortion is a little too dirty just with an overdrive stompbox, but add some delay or wawa and it sounds like a charm.
Features
Of course it included accessories, it is a pack. The gig bag was a tight fit, but it doesn't slide or anything. The cable was horrible and I replaced it and the amp was bad, but I gutted it and made it the head of one of my towers.
Ease of Use
The neck is really fat compared to the body, but since it is the only guitar I own now I can't complain. I'm getting some new "real" Les Pauls later this year and next year, but I know I will still be using this one. Unless my house burns down and the guitar is turned into ashes.
Quality
The guitar was made sturdy, considering it has a bolt-on neck. I was swingint it and it smashed through my wall into the next room, but only the wall was demeged. The paint chipped but I got some touch-up paint for that and now it looks as good as new.
Value
Definitely worth the price, but for beginners to intermediate only. That's why I'm getting other guitars.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
Looks really good in Ebony with chrome hardware and pickups. Wish it had trapezoid inlays...
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Guitarist in Band
Musical Style:
Metal all the way.
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2006
"Pleasantly Surprised"
I expect to be satisfied with this guitar for at least another five years. I would just make some tweaking here and there.
Sound
The sound is very good. There is no hum or buzz, and everything sounds good. Weather it's clean or distorted, it sounds great. The sound quality is very good. Everything is responsive. This guitar is very compatable with my music style. It sounds great either live or in a recording. I have recorded many songs, and I have played shows with this guitar. I did upgrade the pickups, though, because they were open coil, which only looks good on a fat guitar.
Features
The question is: "Did this product not include accessories?" It came with everything, gig bag, strap, picks, chord, tuner. What more could you ask? The most useful features of this guitar are the easy to use tuning knobs, the smooth fretboard, and the slim design. It weighs much less than any other Les Paul that I've ever played. All the hardware is chrome or assorted colors(depending on which color you buy), mine's black.
Ease of Use
It is pretty easy to get great sounds out of this guitar. It is very playable. You would have to be a moron not to be able to play a song on this guitar. The neck width is perfect and there is no friction, so you can easily move around for barre chords. I would reccomend this guitar to beginners. I can do some solos, just not ones that have extremely fast finger movements without some tweaking. I have had to put lemon oil on the fretboard for that.
Quality
This product is made well. The paint can easily be chipped. Mine already has a bunch of chipped paint on the headstock. I don't worry that something will break, and I have played a few shows with it. I would recommend it for use on the road. It is very durable. To be honest, I have dropped it at least ten times. Those were all because of the crappy strap, but it is still fine.
Value
This product is worth the selling price. It is a good guitar. The only bad things are the strap and the pickups, which can easily be upgraded.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to use their support yet, but I've heard it is really easy to work with.
The Wow Factor
This guitar looks very good. The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that it is not round. Most Les Pauls are bulgy, but this one is flat. You canb hardly call it a Les Paul, but it is a good guitar.
3 of 22 people (14%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2006
"Wors guitar evr played"
Save your money and get a gibson or fender.
Sound
I was actually surprised on how bad this actually sounded.
Features
What Features.....
Ease of Use
I dont like the rosewood finger boards.
Quality
Right out of the box the WHOLE neck was loose and almost fell off.
Value
What can you expect from a guitar that is so cheap
Manufacturer Support
Diden't even bother just returned it.
The Wow Factor
Doesn't look the same as a normal les paul in person.
6 of 16 people (38%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2005
"awesome guitar"
probably out my ten guitars my favorite one to play
Sound
greatest sound you've ever heard
Features
what mor could a beginner want than an entire les paul package for under $300
Quality
one of the best guitars i've ever owned, and i've got 10 others, this being my first
Value
i value this guitar as much as my custom gibson les paul
Manufacturer Support
never had any trouble w/ this guitar but had warranty question and the epiphone people ROCK
The Wow Factor
what sexier than a les paul for $250? an entire players pack for $250
Musical Background:
professional musician
Musical Style:
ROCK
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2005
"Sexy guitar"
this guitar is great and reliable and is my # 1 guitar
Sound
This guitar rocks and sounds great. The amp blew out but i think thats because i played it to hard. The case is nothing speacial but it is nice. the video is very imformative and helps. the tuner is great and works nice. I like the guitar because it has two open coil humbuckers and it gives it a sweet hard rock sound. Other than that this guitar is nice and the package is ok.
Features
just a les paul nothing special
Quality
hasent broke yet
Value
good guitar for the price
The Wow Factor
i love it with a firery passion like no other
Musical Background:
band
Musical Style:
punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk punk
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2004
Les Paul Special II Pack Customer Review
Sound
OH MY GOD!!!!! The warmest and fullst sounding guitar i've ever played. If you're looking for an amazing playing and sounding guitar buy this one!
Features
It could use a econd tone, but I just like the control of 2 tone knob instead of one. It has amazing tone with just one though!
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us